Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

I reckon around $500k a season, its what he will achieve for us that makes him worth the bucks.
1. Speed and results
2. Other players will want to come.
3. He will want to be here.

That sounds like a good deal for him as well. The problem is you don't want to get involved in Melbourne's games. We released Matterson and we shouldn't be paying other clubs with other players or money to get players.

simmo05

That sounds like a good deal for him as well. The problem is you don't want to get involved in Melbourne's games. We released Matterson and we shouldn't be paying other clubs with other players or money to get players.
Just seems that the other clubs know how to deal with this stuff, instead of immediately going to water and doing whatever the player wants. Who on here that was championing mattersons immediate release to free up extra cash still believes it was a good move?? Player swap would have been handy right about now...

I have no problems with what happened with Matterson, I think no one realised what a goose LM would turn out to be. We still have the cash and other players will come on the market.
Besides, who would we have swapped him for at the Eels?

This is tough isn't it. I was adamant we should make him play or get a deal but I can understand the decision to release him.

I don't understand though why we let them go and other clubs make them stay. There is no trade system in the NRL.

Shredder

Im happy to pay JAC as much as he wants.
We need to attract top players and if we have to pay "overs" so be it. The reality is that we need to and having a player like him in the squad may attract others.
We need to be smart here and we have a stack of cash this year, spend it wisely, but that also includes spending as much as required to nab an international in his prime.

simmo05

I have no problems with what happened with Matterson, I think no one realised what a goose LM would turn out to be. We still have the cash and other players will come on the market.
Besides, who would we have swapped him for at the Eels?
Jennings

gordsy

Even the titans stood firm with Arrow. They told him to piss off when he wanted to join Souths this year. We shouldn't have caved so quick with Matter-dog

They de registered Matt’s manager.

Latrell probably knows less than we do, only that he’s been told to f**k off by the roosters.

After his dumb twitter antics too...

That’s the way to run a club.

Even the titans stood firm with Arrow. They told him to piss off when he wanted to join Souths this year. We shouldn't have caved so quick with Matter-dog

There seems to be a big difference between them though. From the outside Arrow seems like an ultimate professional who if he is made to stay will do and will do his best. Remember the current Australian coach is involved with the Titans, he’s papers will he crossed forever if he acts like a bitch.

Matterson by all reports was off with the entire coaching staff and was told to piss off on mad Monday by the playing group. If he stayed chances are he’s a little bitch and sulks around becoming a huge distraction. I would have liked a better result from losing him and the fact that the NRL just allow it to happen is a joke, however it appears it was all we could do.

It doesn’t seem like we will be fielding the strongest outfit in 2020, but a deficit of elite talent could make for a very strong psychological bond between the players and staff.

Wins against the odds will attract quality players who may be feeling a bit listless. You consider a player like dwz who has had a new lease of life with a struggling dogs outfit. Players notice that.

The teams at the top are often shedding amazing players they can’t afford to keep or get tired of. lm fits into the latter category.

Our chair goosed out a bit over lm, but he will only learn from that grotesque and foolish misjudgment.

gordsy

There seems to be a big difference between them though. From the outside Arrow seems like an ultimate professional who if he is made to stay will do and will do his best. Remember the current Australian coach is involved with the Titans, he’s papers will he crossed forever if he acts like a bitch.

Matterson by all reports was off with the entire coaching staff and was told to piss off on mad Monday by the playing group. If he stayed chances are he’s a little bitch and sulks around becoming a huge distraction. I would have liked a better result from losing him and the fact that the NRL just allow it to happen is a joke, however it appears it was all we could do.

Didn't know the extra details so I take back what I said then. Thanks for filling me in mate .

super_coach

Some talk of a meeting today or tomorrow with Trell. Tigers apparently a little apprehensive about putting their offer back on the table. Concerns centre around motivation and head space.

They might also know he is basically a done deal at Souths and want exit this whole saga, rejecting Trell rather the opposite.

Das Hassler

Some talk of a meeting today or tomorrow with Trell. Tigers apparently a little apprehensive about putting their offer back on the table. Concerns centre around motivation and head space.

They might also know he is basically a done deal at Souths and want exit this whole saga, rejecting Trell rather the opposite.

If we're absolutely positively sure he doesn't want to be here then we SHOULD have a meeting telling him we want him in his premiership winning and rep position i.e.centre under commandant Madge and officially re-offer him the 1 mil per season. ...it would be a stretch for the NRL to then give the ok to souths for anywhere near half that.

Perth Tiger

If we're absolutely positively sure he doesn't want to be here then we SHOULD have a meeting telling him we want him in his premiership winning and rep position i.e.centre under commandant Madge and officially re-offer him the 1 mil per season. ...it would be a stretch for the NRL to then give the ok to souths for anywhere near half that.

Exactly, we have to start playing the bullshit power-play game with the NRL.

Then when they give the go ahead to Souths anyway we can try and get some sort of kick back behind the scenes.

Maybe we can get on the Referees approved list for once for the 2020 season

BrotherJim05

If we are gonna offer Latrell a contract make sure its A. Long Term, B. Less Money than we offered before

If he rejects in then we know its complete bullshit that he is committed in any way coming here

gordsy

From memory doesn't the figure go off your contract. So if he is on 400k at the chooks then souths have to sign him for a minimum of 334k?? (400k - the 66k he has been paid by the chooks re Nov and Dec wages)

Well its all over, can't say I am not glad. So much for Easts standing strong? Not sure how the NRL can accept this either, but it is us.

https://www.news.com.au/sport/nrl/r...t/news-story/af483c9be2af316770371ece0aefdf85

Latrell Mitchell agrees to join South Sydney

Latrell Mitchell will reportedly sacrifice a stack of cash after agreeing to terms with South Sydney, finalising his divorce from the Roosters.

Fox Sports reports Mitchell has agreed to a deal worth $600,000-a-season for two years, with the Roosters to kick in an extra $120,000. It represents a significant pay cut compared to what he would have earned had he remained at Bondi — where the Kangaroos back was offered a multi-year deal worth $800,000 a season.

macnaz

Hard to believe the Roosters would kick one cent to help Souths. Although it does sound as though he will be there it also state's "reportedly " , so still another journo hoping his info is true.
Anyway looks like AJ for us and another year of being an also ran.