Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Soocer World Cup or a Premiership?

What would you prefer?

• Australia to win the World Cup

Votes: 52 25.4%
  • My team to win a Premiership

Votes: 153 74.6%

when it comes to media inches/minutes, corporate $'s, kids taking up sport etc they are as much a competitor as any other sport. Only difference with soccer is that we not really competing for bums on seats with them due to different season times.

Bumble

Please stop using words like 'we' and 'they'.

A lot of RL fans watch football as well. I'd say I know more that do than don't.

But you do win the 'Biggest Paranoid Bogan of the Day' award so good work :thumb

The Tank

It's not an argument of what sport you prefer, it's an argument of how massive a thing it would be if we won the World Cup. It's so ridiculously unlikely that I would much prefer it then the Broncos winning a premiership, even though I like rugby league way more.

Err, no it's not. It clearly states above the poll "Which would you prefer?". Of course, a World Cup would be massive and would mean more for "Australia". But personally, I would rather Penrith win the Premiership.

And I love soccer, especially the World Cup. I'm just not as passionate about the Socceroos as I am about Penrith. It'd be nice if both happened though. :D

Screw soccer. Boring sport
In 2006 when Lucas Neil fell over and cost Australia the game vs Italy was absolute gold.

pantherz9103

Screw soccer. Boring sport
In 2006 when Lucas Neil fell over and cost Australia the game vs Italy was absolute gold.

Yeah and Rugby League is always so exciting isn't it?... The truth is that most sports when played well are interesting and entertaining. Most of the world has no idea what Rugby League is, atleast through 'soccer' Australia has the chance to get some more recognition as a sporting nation with the 90% of the world that says 'Rugby League, what the hell is that?'

Doomednow

I'm happy with Australia winning the World Anything. Even in soccer, a sport I'm largely indifferent to. It doesn't make sense to rate a premiership over it, but I probably still would. I've never been a huge soccer fan, but league is my first love, plus I'd love the bragging rights over my mates who support other teams. I don't know, I admit it doesn't make much sense but I'd probably prefer the premiership. Definitely pretty stoked with either though.

analyst

know any newer countrys with economys like the 2 i mentioned? and im not talking about renamed countrys neither, funny how people around here are quick to sink the boots in but then they up and vanish like a fart in the wind when they're proven wrong.

vanish? settle down...you think im on here 24/7 ?

Assuming your correct regarding economies (which if you want to know Australia isnt in the top 10 of worlds biggest economies) im sure there are other statistics which the US and AUS share, what the f**k does that have to do with anything? I wasnt even debating economies ,if you dont know why most of the world (consisting of countries with the biggest economies mind you-not that it even matters) enjoys watching the game then you are ignorant to that knowledge ,like you said yourself- its beyond you.

Furthmore if you want to include economies into the equation, it only shows the strength of the game to have these poorer nations being able to hold football matches despite finacial disadvantages, now england have somthing like 20 teams in the EPL any 2 teams will pack out their staduim every single match, manly v brisbane got 7,000 over the weekend the EPL's average crowd attendance for the 08/09 season is more than double that of the NRL's 2009 season.

Whoosh

Hahah soccer world cup ?? It's like asking King Tigerman if he'd rather blow in Angelina Jolie's mouth or on her tits isn't it. never going to happen. This side is as f**king sh*t up front as in the great Eddie Thompson days. That pot smoking, pancake making, clog wearing dutch spastic is the most negative prick to ever manage a side. And craig moore makes Daniel Fitzhenry look like Usain Bolt

Great post!

With the soccer world cup looming, I thought it would be interesting to find out whats more important...Australia to win the wold Cup or your team to win the comp.

I don't think i would waste my time thinking about this.
The storm have more chance of the premiership this year than you aussies have of winning the world cup:D

chunk

I don't think i would waste my time thinking about this.
The storm have more chance of the premiership this year than you aussies have of winning the world cup:D

G'day mate.

You are right, we are next to no chance of winning the World Cup.

Having said that though, if we were to play you Pommies in the World Cup I think the smart money would be on the Aussies. ;-)

Just another sport we would dominate you guys in.

How good would that game be, it would be one of the biggest sporting events in Australia's history.

Yeah and Rugby League is always so exciting isn't it?... The truth is that most sports when played well are interesting and entertaining. Most of the world has no idea what Rugby League is, atleast through 'soccer' Australia has the chance to get some more recognition as a sporting nation with the 90% of the world that says 'Rugby League, what the hell is that?'

League is exciting...very exciting.....big Kev Excited. I dont care about the rest of the world and what they think of the NRL.

Gus22

Hahah soccer world cup ?? It's like asking King Tigerman if he'd rather blow in Angelina Jolie's mouth or on her tits isn't it. never going to happen. This side is as f**king sh*t up front as in the great Eddie Thompson days. That pot smoking, pancake making, clog wearing dutch spastic is the most negative prick to ever manage a side. And craig moore makes Daniel Fitzhenry look like Usain Bolt

Funny stuff.
Could have done without the mental image of King Tigerman blowing however.

Someone should tell Pim that it is unlikely they'll win the tournament by every game 0-0.

On the actual pole, had the Tigers not won in '05, I wouldn't hesitate in going for the NRL Premiership. Now I would perhaps, possibly put an Aussie WC win marginally ahead - maybe.

How about West Tigers winning the World Cup with Fitzhenry the Golden Boot winner.

analyst

For Australia as a national side to win anything at all would be more benifitial to Australia as a whole than for any club team of any code to win their respective premierships, I love the NRL its the best game to watch but its more of an unselfish thing to want an Australian side to win for the rest of Australia as oppose to my club side winning for my own interests and the other fans of that club.

Really your taking about a very small minority of fans when talking about any one club compared to the rest of Australia who would also include folks who dont watch soccer or NRL ,those folks who have even the slightest interest in general sports would want Australia to win a world cup over any club side's premiership.

G'day mate.

You are right, we are next to no chance of winning the World Cup.

Having said that though, if we were to play you Pommies in the World Cup I think the smart money would be on the Aussies. ;-)

Just another sport we would dominate you guys in.

How good would that game be, it would be one of the biggest sporting events in Australia's history.

The smart money is on England winning our group and the aussies finishing bottom of theirs, so we will be spared the humiliation of losing to you at football:roll:

Nevan_

Why are people saying Australia will never win the World Cup? It's very probable that we will.....One day.

Because of the FFA's national curriculum, the National Youth League and the prospective A-League club academies, in 50 years, the average Australian Footballer will be far superior to todays players. So who knows, Australia may someday win the World Cup..I just hope it's in my lifetime.

Stick to your VB and Holdens and leave the discussion to the people with a brain, Bruce.

Iconic Australian brands...why am I not surprised you'd want to belittle them?

Because they're both things Bogans love.

Inferno

hahaha, stupid question.

I'd take a sharks premiership over any other sporting win you could care to name.