Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Soundwave 2011

LESStar58

Their set lists have been pretty consistent so far this year (according to setlist.fm), something along the lines of this:

Road Zombie
So Far Away
I Won't Run No More/Bad Luck (one or the other)
King of Fools
Mommy's Little Monster
Sick Boys
Machine Gun Blues
Ball and Chain
Through These Eyes
Bakersfield
Gimme the Sweet and Lowdown
Down Here (With the Rest of Us)
Reach for the Sky/Cold Feelings (one or the other)
Making Believe/Still Alive (one or the other)

California (Hustle and Flow)/Prison Bound (one or the other)
Can't Take it With You
Ring of Fire
Story of My Life

Guarnteed that is how they will start and end the club shows. I hope they leave Road Zombie off the SW set and just cram as many songs as they can in to 40 mins!

Munky

Anyone else see Maiden on Thursday, was a great show:

1. Satellite 15... The Final Frontier Play Video
  2. El Dorado Play Video
  3. 2 Minutes to Midnight Play Video
  4. The Talisman Play Video
  5. Coming Home Play Video
  6. Dance of Death Play Video
  7. The Trooper Play Video
  8. The Wicker Man Play Video
  9. Blood Brothers Play Video
  10. When the Wild Wind Blows Play Video
  11. The Evil That Men Do Play Video
  12. Fear of the Dark Play Video
  13. Iron Maiden Play Video
<LI class=encore>Encore:
  1. The Number of the Beast Play Video
  2. Hallowed Be Thy Name Play Video
  1. Running Free Play Video
The stuff off Brave New World is brilliant live.

what an incredible day, finally got to see the great man but such a huge disappointment when Stonesour went over their time, when their time was up they said "we got two more songs for you"

what a bunch of unprofessional low life scum, as a result Primus only did 5 songs, including a song off their soon to be released CD

Harold, Fish On, Jerry the Race car Driver, Blue Collar tweekers and their new song. They took gear out onto the stage (electric cello) that they never even used, obviously Seas of Cheese was on their list but Les being the true peofessional said they had to finish on time so we missed out on 2 songs

apart from that a brilliant day

Sevendust, Devildriver, Dimu Bogir, Slayer, Rob Zombie were stand outs for me especially Rob Zombie, best metal band I saw all day.

I've never seen a band empty a stadium like Iron Maiden, most people left well before they finished, how they are the main band is beyond me, so many better bands than them on the day, they were on the list on reputation only imo. I reckon half of the 50,000 people left before they finished.

Stone Sour were the best band there, BFMV put them over time, and the band before them put them over time. Who are Primus anyway? I know they did a song on the south park soundtrack. They were just there to fill time just like one day as a lion, so were probably told they were only allowed to do 5 songs, either that or they have no respect for their fans and cut their set short.
Speaking of one day as a lion, why oh why has zac gone and done this? What a massive fall from grace. Definately no RATM.

Sevendust were awesome, thought the vocals could have been a bit louder. Ill Nino impressed me heaps with their act. Been listenin to these guys for years and their energy on stage was awesome.

Bullet for my valentine, what a joke. What the hell was with the sound? There was no sound for 3 minutes into their first song, once they fixed it, it still didn't sound right. Luckily the band is good enough so the show was still pretty good.

30 Seconds to mars - What a bunch of mainstream sh*t. Why the hell are these wannabes at soundwave? (I didnt go to see them, just had a break in the stands when they were playing)

Queens - Awesome as always, great live act.

Anberlin - By the time i saw them I was pretty spent for the day, but put on an awesome show.

zombie jesus

Stone Sour were the best band there, BFMV put them over time, and the band before them put them over time. Who are Primus anyway? I know they did a song on the south park soundtrack. They were just there to fill time just like one day as a lion, so were probably told they were only allowed to do 5 songs, either that or they have no respect for their fans and cut their set short.
Speaking of one day as a lion, why oh why has zac gone and done this? What a massive fall from grace. Definately no RATM.

Sevendust were awesome, thought the vocals could have been a bit louder. Ill Nino impressed me heaps with their act. Been listenin to these guys for years and their energy on stage was awesome.

Bullet for my valentine, what a joke. What the hell was with the sound? There was no sound for 3 minutes into their first song, once they fixed it, it still didn't sound right. Luckily the band is good enough so the show was still pretty good.

30 Seconds to mars - What a bunch of mainstream sh*t. Why the hell are these wannabes at soundwave? (I didnt go to see them, just had a break in the stands when they were playing)

Queens - Awesome as always, great live act.

Anberlin - By the time i saw them I was pretty spent for the day, but put on an awesome show.

Where's that Star Trek face palm pic when you need it? Kids these days, I don't know. :?

BLKOUT!

Lol @ loving Bullet For My Valentine but calling 30 Seconds To Mars "mainstream sh*t". They are both cut from the same cloth.

simmo1

I've never seen a band empty a stadium like Iron Maiden, most people left well before they finished, how they are the main band is beyond me, so many better bands than them on the day, they were on the list on reputation only imo. I reckon half of the 50,000 people left before they finished.

Just got back from the Sydney show, and it was the complete opposite. Incredible performers. Rocked the house.

Millencolin were awesome but cut my favorite song from pennybridge. highway donkey.i think they ran out of time. they better f**king play it tomorrow night.

Pennywise still f**king have it. the new singer is a perfect fit i was really impressed. just have to see how they go with the song writting now.

and lol at all the metal bogans

beave

I dont know what twizzle was on about, maiden were absolutley amazing in Brisbane and are legends in the music world. People leaving was more of a reflection of how hot and long the day was more so than Maidens performance.

QOTSA sounded like utter shiite. Homme needs to get off the piss, it was unbearable listening to it.

Slayer were amazing as well, feel sorry for the Sydney folk. Ear infection indeed, Araya sings about the angel of death and he goes down with an ear infection?????? ;-)

Munky

Would have been interesting to see if the Slayer performance in Sydney would be allowed to go ahead.

The crowd that had gathered was far outside the designated stage area and if there had been the massive crush that you generally have it would have been a little hairy.

Slighty annoyed that Maiden played the exact same setlist as they did in the sideshow.

That said, When The Wild Wind Blows is an absolutely epic song and sonuds awesome live.

Blood Brothers and Wicker Man are just such good songs to have in a big crowd.

DB

What a day yesterday..... I'll rank the performances I saw.

1. Queens of the Stone Age- Probably the best I have seen them. They were incredible, and to end on such an epic fond like Song for the Dead was amazing. Made a vow to see them everytime they come to Australia from now on.
2. Slash- Such a legend, and massive influence of mine. Was awesome, and Myles Kennedy is amazing on vocal. Paradise City was the best song of his set.
3. Gaslight Anthem- One of my favourite bands, and did not disappoint. American Slang and 59 Sound was the stand out from the set.
4. Millencolin- Such a crazy atmosphere. Second heaviest crowd I was in after QOTSA.
5. Sum 41- Only got there for the last three songs, but saw Still Waiting, In Too Deep and Fat Lip. Was absolutely packed.
6. Iron Maiden- Was good, not mind blowing.
7. Primus- Good funk sound, but not my cup of tea.
8- One Day as a Lion- Was disappointed. Expected more as I did enjoy the EP they released.
9- Stone Sour- Was good for what it is. They are better at doing the heavy stuff then when they do the slow sh*t.
10- Sevenfold- Not my kind of music but it wasn't terrible.
11- 30 Seconds to Mars- Absolute sh*t. Such rubbish.

Munky

What a day yesterday..... I'll rank the performances I saw.

5. Sum 41- Only got there for the last three songs, but saw Still Waiting, In Too Deep and Fat Lip. Was absolutely packed.

Outside of these three songs they were pretty average.

The ultimate in generic music.

natheel

yesteday was awesome. great set up for sydney

highlights for me
Social Distortion
Millencolin
Bronx
QOTSA
Nonpoint
Sevendust

all these bands were awesome but missed pennywise coz too buggered to stay after the bronx, so going to their sidey tonight

Maiden, Slash, QOTSA were the best shows I saw...Rise to Remain was pretty impressive imo. Also enjoyed The SWord, All That Remains

yesteday was awesome. great set up for sydney

highlights for me
Social Distortion
Millencolin
Bronx
QOTSA
Nonpoint
Sevendust

all these bands were awesome but missed pennywise coz too buggered to stay after the bronx, so going to their sidey tonight

If your a big pennywise fan like me i think you will be impressed with Zoli's vocals

Lol @ loving Bullet For My Valentine but calling 30 Seconds To Mars "mainstream sh*t". They are both cut from the same cloth.

Where did I say I love them? But anyway to say they are cut from the same cloth is ridiculous. They are nothing alike. I can not see any similarities whatsoever. Welsh hardcore vs american commercial hmmm. Bfmv may get one song on jjj in a week 30stm r on what all radio stations on high rotation. But we are all entitled to our opinions I guess.