Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

South premiership in next 5 years?

?

Jason Maher

Inglis is the shining light there and they have a couple of gun forwards but the spine doesn't impress me that much.

Dogs to win 9 before Souffs make 21.

LOL. I'd rate Souffs spine over the Dogs. Barba is good but horribly inconsistent. Reynolds is like his Souffs namesake - potential, but very inexperienced. Hodgkinson and Keating are both shithouse. Ennis is good, but not in the same class as Luke (except in the grub stakes, where they're neck and neck). If only you hadn't missed out on Keiren Foran, you might be able to talk about a Premiership in the next 5 years.

Back on Souffs, if they can find someone better and younger than Sutton at 6, they have the core of a very good team that will threaten in coming years.

HowHigh

I think Bunniesman has actually made me dislike Souths

That aside, they are a very good team on paper and have had some bad luck with injuries. If they can stay healthy they're a great chance at breaking their drought even as early as this season.

Mr Fourex

An elite hooker in Issac Luke.

An elite spearhead forward in Sam Burgess who has only shown glimpses of what his potential is. Imagine if from here he is able to put together 10-20-30 games together.

Arguably the best player in the world when in form at fullback in Greg Inglis.

A halfback who hasn't put a foot wrong in his first dozen games, keeping in mind he is straight out of toyota cup with a year on the sidelines. He seems to be switched on between the ears both on and off field.

That right there is a great core to build around. We have depth. A number of solid players who deserve games aren't getting them because of competition for spots. Plus exciting young talent in the pipelines in Keary, Hunt, G Burgess, Ha'angana, Roberts.

On top of that the most important ingredient, a coach who knows what he is doing.

We have the squad to win a premiership. We have the coach to win a premiership. Hopefully with some luck it is around the corner.

I see you've failed to mentioned John Sutton in your appraisal.....?

Leaving out the NRL's laziest footballer makes sense. At the moment much like your inconsistent defence has been in the past.......he is your weakest link.

Otherwise, the rest I agree with. Impressed with Reynolds. Issac Luke has always impressed

Inglis to fullback was the right move all along. I've said for years that fullback is GI's best position.

Burgess.......you'd hate to hang to chances on him. Physically weak and injury prone.

The thing with Souths is that they will/can put 30-40 points on any team ........on their day. Unfortunately in the past they will let in more than they score.

Defensively and mentally they are becoming IMO a lot tougher.

Definite semi final hopes this year and a premiership isn't as far away as the LOL@ gang will tell you.

BunniesMan

LOL. I'd rate Souffs spine over the Dogs. Barba is good but horribly inconsistent. Reynolds is like his Souffs namesake - potential, but very inexperienced. Hodgkinson and Keating are both shithouse. Ennis is good, but not in the same class as Luke (except in the grub stakes, where they're neck and neck). If only you hadn't missed out on Keiren Foran, you might be able to talk about a Premiership in the next 5 years.

Back on Souffs, if they can find someone better and younger than Sutton at 6, they have the core of a very good team that will threaten in coming years.
Suttons long term place is in the back row.

We have Luke Keary in Toyota cup who I'm really excited about. I've heard your mob has made him an offer so hopefully we can secure him and put him in the #6 jersey within the next 12 months.

And Fourex, firstly about Sutton. He isn't a world beater but considering he takes up as much capspace as a squad player playing NSW cup, he is certainly value. Maguire has improved him defensively and turned him into a consistent week to week solid player.

As for Sam Burgess, learn the difference between "physically weak" and "injury prone". They are far from the same thing and he is certainly not the former. Benji had a string of bad injuries and then one day they just stopped and he's been fit for a number of years now. All of Sams injuries have been impact injuries through bad luck, with a limb getting put in a bad position under a player and that sort of thing.

For all we know he could go 10 years without another injury like that.

Someone

next 5?

i reckon out of the next 5 premierships:

Storm:2
Brisbane:1
Bulldogs:1
and maybe knights 1.

But thats just my opinion/prediction. If rabbits are to win it i reckon the best shot is next year injury free all guns firing.

Fire

I hope so. Every fan deserves to experience the feeling of their team winning a Premiership, and Souths fans have gone without for a while now. Plus, it's a foundation club, and how does the saying go, "when Souths are doing good, Rugby League is doing good". Their coach seems like a decent fella deserving of a Premiership, too. Hope you lads get it this year or soon.

LOLs all around there.

Barba horribly inconsistent? You've just proven you haven't watched a single game all 2012 involving Canterbury. If you have, you're full of shit.

Reynolds yup. Hodkinson shithouse? I'd agree Keating (a bit like Roberts hes only good for one top game every few weeks)... but Hodkinson is a very good player with a heap of potential who hasn't had the chance to control a side since he left Manly, chiefly through injury.

Luke a class above Ennis? Now you're just having a laugh. Luke couldn't even grab the #9 jersey to start the season FFS.

But of course, we won't win a premiership in the next few years. :lol:

in all seriousness I think that well win in this yr, and possibly the next 1-2 years afterwards.

Were now the richest club in the comp surpassing the Broncos & also posessing the best administration, have the largest and most talented junior base (and have managed to ward of poaches like the Rorter$ from taking our best ones), have the worlds best player in Inglis and most importantly we have the best upcoming coach in the league.

Its our premiership too lose but I know that this is our year, its been writen in the scripts

How about the Raiders?

South what?

Perth?
Brisbane?
Albury?
Dapto?
Hobart?

I honestly don't know who you may be referring to.

yobbo84

Luke a class above Ennis? Now you're just having a laugh. Luke couldn't even grab the #9 jersey to start the season FFS.

I don't mean to be rude, but do you have any mental geniusation symptoms? Impaired cognitive functioning? Seriously it's no laughing matter. You should seek help for your sake and for the qualify of life of all around you.

All their points come from inglis and Taylor, their halves aren't inthe top 10 pairings in the comp IMO

Then again saints won a comp with a halves pairing of Soward and Hornby, halves aren't important as they were 5 years ago

It's definetaly a possibility

yobbo84

As for the poll question, winning a premiership is as much luck (injuries, suspension, draw, etc) as it is skill, so who knows whether or not it will happen.

I do however think we have all the ingredients to be a consistent top 4 team over the next couple of years.

BunniesMan

Lol Timmah.

Go around and ask the comps 14 other coaches. I reckon easily more than 10 would take Luke before Ennis.

Luke is the 2nd best hooker in the game.

All their points come from inglis and Taylor, their halves aren't inthe top 10 pairings in the comp IMO

Then again saints won a comp with a halves pairing of Soward and Hornby, halves aren't important as they were 5 years ago

It's definetaly a possibility
To be fair, Most of their points have come from Everingham and Reynolds (119 of their 250 points)

Inglis and Taylor have contributed 57 points.

But I do know what you're meaning, just wanted to be a smartarse lol

And Fourex, firstly about Sutton. He isn't a world beater but considering he takes up as much capspace as a squad player playing NSW cup, he is certainly value.

Bahahahahaa my room mate plays touch footy with suttons mrs, you couldn't be anymore wrong

the dude

Despite what some people have against Issac - he is, in my opinion, the 2nd best hooker in the game. He is a big part of our go forward and the reason Inglis and co are given so many good opportunities.

Our #1 and #9 are top 2 in the league.. Our #7, I hope, will be one of the best 5 halfbacks this time next year.. On top of that Sutton does his job nicely, and his kicking game has improved 10 fold this season.

I believe we will win a comp in the next 3 years.