Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Stalled and stagnant Sydney clubs

AdelaideSharky

This is BS. RL games on Ch9/GEM draw much higher ratings in Melbourne when the Storm are playing. A couple of years back there were more people from Melbourne watching the GF than from Brisbane. It's common for people in Melbourne to wear Melbourne Storm apparel. They've been good for the game in Melbourne.
Melbournians are just as clueless about other sports that aren't AFL like the rest of the AFL states are.

I wore an Adelaide Adrenaline ice hockey beanie on my honeymoon and the locals mistook it for a Crows one.

It doesnt matter how many NRL viewers are watching in Melbourne. Thast really just a bonus and hopefully a growth opportunity. The rest of the country wants to watch the Storm more than nearly every other club. Thats why they are so valuable and why they sit a top the Tv audience charts most years.
That's true, but they've also grown RL in Melbourne in a way that wouldn't be possible without them. I've been critical of them over the years but I've come to appreciate what they've done for our game in enemy territory. I don't like seeing them pummel my team all the time, but it's good to see people in Melbourne saying "rugby league" instead of "rugby" and actually watching the game.

Melbournians are just as clueless about other sports that aren't AFL like the rest of the AFL states are.

I wore an Adelaide Adrenaline ice hockey beanie on my honeymoon and the locals mistook it for a Crows one.
Not many people would be familiar with the Australian Ice Hockey League. We don't even have a team in Brisbane.

Storm have arguably carved out a bigger niche in Melbourne than the Lions have in Brisbane. Most fumbleball fans in Brisbane are Victorians who've emigrated. Plenty of Storm fans are AwFuL supporters who've adopted the Storm as their second team. Storm have created a market in Melbourne for our game that didn't exist.

Colk

It's pretty telling how much people really don't care about the Storm in Melbourne despite all these years of success that they're being shunted to 9's secondary channel

They weren’t on FTA at all in their early days so that would indicate that they are growing. Same with those shitty swans and dwarfs on 7mate.

Colk

haha, no it isnt, its to be popular across all the tv audience. Ch9 doesn't care how many watch Storm in Melbourne, if they did they'd put it on the main channel and promote the hell out of it in Melbourne. What they care about is the fact Storm are one of the most watched teams on TV. Thats why they show them, PTV even more so as the Storm are in the top 3 audiences on PTV every year and often feature in the most watched game of the year. There's a reason Ch9 show Storm as many times as a big Sydney club like the Eels and its got nothing to do with Melbourne audiences!

If a Perth NRL club can become top 3 watched clubs on PTV and generate significant enough interest on FTA nationally that they are shown more often than some of the Sydney clubs then I think everyone would consider it a success no matter how many viewers it got in Perth!

Sharks are on FTA as many times as Raiders. Hmmm where's your argument now??

I think that you would want an audience in Perth at least

reanimate

Agreed. North Sydney is one of those markets which can be improved. Some do need sides though.

As I have stated (and others on this forum) we’re not about killing any of the Sydney sides. What we’re disagreeing with is this notion that all of the Sydney sides are well supported or that nothing needs to be done when obviously that is contrary to reality.
Some definitely need sides, i.e. Perth, whereas markets like the North Shore need to covered by existing teams and resources.

The Roosters are investing in a growing footprint on the central coast. I suspect they are being held back from doing much on the North shore by the Bears and Seaeagles who understandably in the current set up feel its their turf.
There is little sign that Cronulla are growing anything other than a bit better bank balance and a take up by Jnrs of the game in the region. Their stadium is capped at 12k and they cant even get close to that this season despite putting a winning team and good coach together and being away from home for 2 years. You'd think Sharks fans would be falling over themselves to go along to Shark park!
Dragons need to go 9 & 3, gong and SFS. finish off WIN stadium and get their big latent fanbase engaged. Dragons were a classic club who relied on their pokies and when that started to dry up they were in trouble. Sharks take note.
Investment on the North Shore being held back has little to do with us. All sides are held back from doing anything official with the North Shore and bringing it under their banner as long as this still exists- https://www.northsydneyjuniorleague.com/

Until it’s killed off and the area redistributed to other clubs, like what happened with Newtown, or the NRL/NSWRL moves away from the district model, there’s nothing stopping Vlandys announcing the Bears as the 18th team, rendering any money spent there by Manly or the Roosters wasted and redundant. That’s highly unlikely, but the North Sydney district needs to be abolished to encourage investment by existing NRL teams, otherwise it remains a possibility.

Colk

Financially the league clubs are stronger than the afl ones.

It’s not about people in Sydney or Brisbane who watch the storm lmao

it’s how many watch them in Melbourne. This is why they are on gem most of the time

Evidence on the first point?

I mentioned in an earlier post that the swans and dwarfs are on 7mate - is that a failure for them? They are recognised brands in Sydney now so I wouldn’t think it would be.

Considering from our side, 30 years ago we had no presence at all in the second biggest city (soon to be the biggest city) in Australia, having a brand that is recognisable would be a good thing, I would have thought

Apparently though we should just go back to the NSWRL and then wonder why the game becomes about as popular as Rugby Union.

Menaiduck

Some definitely need sides, i.e. Perth, whereas markets like the North Shore need to covered by existing teams and resources.

Investment on the North Shore being held back has little to do with us. All sides are held back from doing anything official with the North Shore and bringing it under their banner as long as this still exists- https://www.northsydneyjuniorleague.com/

Until it’s killed off and the area redistributed to other clubs, like what happened with Newtown, or the NRL/NSWRL moves away from the district model, there’s nothing stopping Vlandys announcing the Bears as the 18th team, rendering any money spent there by Manly or the Roosters wasted and redundant. That’s highly unlikely, but the North Sydney district needs to be abolished to encourage investment by existing NRL teams, otherwise it remains a possibility.
The north Sydney region now has under 50 teams. The situation is dire and requires serious attention.

I think that you would want an audience in Perth at least
of course but its not where the value is. Being popular across the country is ideally what the Tv stations and NRl want. Growing a new audience in a new metro area is a nice bonus.

Wb1234

haha, no it isnt, its to be popular across all the tv audience. Ch9 doesn't care how many watch Storm in Melbourne, if they did they'd put it on the main channel and promote the hell out of it in Melbourne. What they care about is the fact Storm are one of the most watched teams on TV. Thats why they show them, PTV even more so as the Storm are in the top 3 audiences on PTV every year and often feature in the most watched game of the year. There's a reason Ch9 show Storm as many times as a big Sydney club like the Eels and its got nothing to do with Melbourne audiences!

If a Perth NRL club can become top 3 watched clubs on PTV and generate significant enough interest on FTA nationally that they are shown more often than some of the Sydney clubs then I think everyone would consider it a success no matter how many viewers it got in Perth!

Sharks are on FTA as many times as Raiders. Hmmm where's your argument now??
Omg this is amusing

so the measure of success is for the storm to develop no juniors but manage to build a good squad of Queensland and nz juniors whom people in nsw and qld like to watch on tv ??

you should do comedy

Wb1234

This is BS. RL games on Ch9/GEM draw much higher ratings in Melbourne when the Storm are playing. A couple of years back there were more people from Melbourne watching the GF than from Brisbane. It's common for people in Melbourne to wear Melbourne Storm apparel. They've been good for the game in Melbourne.
The storm and swans are very similar clubs. Great crowds and great membership. Yet when it comes to growing tv viewers in their home states are an absolute failure

for the growth of the game it’s about new clubs who can actually grow tv viewers eg dolphins, Ipswich, central coast and New Zealand

Wb1234

of course but its not where the value is. Being popular across the country is ideally what the Tv stations and NRl want. Growing a new audience in a new metro area is a nice bonus.
So you are admitting that a Perth nrl team will be unable to grow viewers in wa ? Lmao

Wb1234

Evidence on the first point?

I mentioned in an earlier post that the swans and dwarfs are on 7mate - is that a failure for them? They are recognised brands in Sydney now so I wouldn’t think it would be.

Considering from our side, 30 years ago we had no presence at all in the second biggest city (soon to be the biggest city) in Australia, having a brand that is recognisable would be a good thing, I would have thought

Apparently though we should just go back to the NSWRL and then wonder why the game becomes about as popular as Rugby Union.
Since covid the arlc has increased funding to all clubs by 35 million pa ie almost 2 million extra per club

in the same time frame afl has cut funding to its clubs.

nobody has said get rid of the expansion teams that’s a straw man argument.

AdelaideSharky

Hogwash

They only have 3 junior clubs, maybe 1 or 2 players came from these clubs pre Matts days
It's a bit of a furphy to suggest there's only 3 junior clubs in the eastern suburbs.

There are more clubs in the Roosters' eastern suburbs area than people forget about. There's been a long running turf war between the Roosters and their neighbouring nemesis South Sydney where the latter got the junior boundaries redrawn in their favour thanks to the power they had at NSWRL HQ in the 1950's that's never been readdressed.

I've got no love for the Chooks but there are a few clubs in the South Sydney Juniors that technically should be in the Sydney Roosters Juniors/Easts Juniors. Getting those clubs back would increase the Roosters junior talent pool immensely.

Hogwash

They only have 3 junior clubs, maybe 1 or 2 players came from these clubs pre Matts days
Like I said, who cares where kids play U8's? Its turning the talented 16 and 17 year olds into first graders that matters in terms of talent pool development

So you are admitting that a Perth nrl team will be unable to grow viewers in wa ? Lmao
doh! Show me where I said that,
I said as far as Tv value is concerned that's not what floats their boat. Overall audience numbers is what matters. A bigger audience in a key metro region is a nice bonus though which is what Perth and Melbourne gives us.

I see you are now conveniently ignoring the Ch9 club allocation slots I've shown you lol