Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Stephen Kearney will need lots ot luck swimming with Eels

Kearney will go okay...it depends on how long the Eels ae prepared to give him a go before they chuck him in the bin for no reason as well.

He would have learnt a lot from Bellamy and will look to build a strong culture in the team at least because he has a hell of a job to build it at the club as a whole.

Bigfella

Stagger, is Brent read's column ghostwrittenby Dennis Fitzgerald, or Bartman?

I have seen a few of his columns an they are all along the same
lines. Not a lot of fact, but plenty of vitriol.

What is his story?

Like a lamb to the slaughter

This X1000, poor bastard has to keep that awful CEO happy, the board and imparticular that brainless wonder Price.

And worst of all Princess Hayne.....

Parra's already set the precident that if you dont make the finals you'll be sacked so best of luck to him. Even if you do make a GF the year before.

Fair dinkum Parra's head coaching job has become more precarious then the Souffs poisoned chalice!

Noa

Unfortunately Kearney will be a success at Parra. As for what type of coach he is, see the job Madge done at an underperforming club in England as a template.

This X1000, poor bastard has to keep that awful CEO happy, the board and imparticular that brainless wonder Price.

Parra's already set the precident that if you dont make the finals you'll be sacked so best of luck to him. Even if you do make a GF the year before.

Fair dinkum Parra's head coaching job has become more precarious then the Souffs poisoned chalice!
Precarious? They punted one coach since Hitlers body was still warm ffs! And Fitzy replaced the coaches 3 times in 3 years, not the current mob.

No one said the same when Brian Smith took over Easts after the Stuart, Anderson and Fittler coached them in 4 seasons, with ALL of them sacked I believe!

And at least Ray Price won comps without breaking the rules!

Personally I reckon Kearney is yet to prove himself as a FG coach. But what have we to lose? Ando should have done better - the thing for me is he DOES have GF halves, but Morts stopped developing once he made FG. Kearney comes from a club who transformed another nuffy half called Cooper Cronk.

Parra has a top 4 squad and should be performing accordingly.

skeepe

Precarious? They punted one coach since Hitlers body was still warm ffs! And Fitzy replaced the coaches 3 times in 3 years, not the current mob.

No one said the same when Brian Smith took over Easts after the Stuart, Anderson and Fittler coached them in 4 seasons, with ALL of them sacked I believe!

Personally I reckon Kearney is yet to prove himself as a FG coach. But what have we to lose? Ando should have done better - the thing for me is he DOES have GF halves, but Morts stopped developing once he made FG. Kearney comes from a club who transformed another nuffy half called Cooper Cronk.

You still living in that fantasy land where telling a coach that his services are no longer required past the end of his contract isn't the same as sacking him I see.

When you get a 6-7-9 then your right until then the below is applicable to you......

funny-pictures-cat-has-delusions-of-grandeur.jpg

boxhead

B-b-but they got Daniel "future Origin star" Mortimer...

Yes, go and laugh at us.
If he had played the way he did in 2009 this year, then he probably would still have that tag.

We are serial under-performers and serial over-achievers; when we have tonnes of expectation (2010, 2008, etc) we fail miserably.
But when we have no expectations at all, we soar (2005, 2009, etc).
I'd rather this trend didn't continue to be honest.....it sucks being tipped as premiership favourites after being grand finalists and not even making the eight :eek:

In any case, we have Jarryd Hayne, we have a young Mortimer looking to improve (hopefully), we have young Anthony Mitchell who will eventually become our long-term hooker, we still have our old veterans, we should be fine.....missing the eight is very likely, but hopefully we won't be as inconsistent as we have been this year.

Hopefully Kearney can bring a breath of fresh air to the club.....if we had even part of Melbourne's culture and structure at the Eels, we would do 100x better.....all credit to the Storm, any club would want that culture.

boxhead

When you get a 6-7-9 then your right until then the below is applicable to you......

funny-pictures-cat-has-delusions-of-grandeur.jpg

No, he's right-in a sense. Any expert will tell you that on potential, and on what we know they can achieve, Parramatta should be in the top four with the team they have-exact same with the Raiders. Hell, they got to a grand final with Jeff Robson and Daniel Mortimer+Matt Keating as halves and hooker (with Kingston off the bench obviously).

We seriously under-performed sadly, like we have a tendency to do.
Until the Eels actually play to their potential, they won't ever achieve anything.

boxhead

Robson > McCrone

Depends.......Robson never lets you down, McCrone is young enough to potentially get better.
McCrone by a mile if he can play well without Campese.

I think though that McCrone has an easier job than Robson as McCrone already has a dominant half with him (Campese) whereas Robson's team are headless chooks......

simostorm

Paul Kent seems to think the Eels are in a bad state.. and are on the way out..

Didnt sound to promising from what he stated.. but.. he is just a journalist.. they talk more rubbish then anything else.

1 Eyed TEZZA

Paul Kent seems to think the Eels are in a bad state.. and are on the way out..

Didnt sound to promising from what he stated.. but.. he is just a journalist.. they talk more rubbish then anything else.

He has never stopped putting sh*t on us and frankly we don't care.

Which paper do you write for?

Yeah I bet any coach would hate to have him. :roll:

One of the game's genuine superstars, a club leader and only 22 years old so still teachable (this year he learned how to be a ball-player).

And unlike Anderson, Kearney will have Hayne's respect.

It's got nothing to do with not making the finals - Parra were already looking for a new coach halfway through the season. Comments from the board indicate Anderson had communication problems with players and staff, and the systems he had put in place weren't up to scratch.

Since Brian Smith grew stale (after 10 years at the club) we've had a couple of nuffies who've hardly set the coaching world on fire after they left us.

Parra's a big club with a lot of fans, and they can afford to give mediocrity the arse even when it's still under contract.

One thing the club has lacked for a long time, is a coach with presence (ie. tall, with a big face). Smith, Taylor, Hagan (?), Anderson... all good tacticians (honestly I don't know what Hagan's strength was) but none of them seemed to be able to get the players up when it was needed. Not only that but none of them seemed to be able to recruit the stars of the game - match winners have big personalities and they all refuse to play for coaches who aren't tall, or who have average-sized (or smaller) faces.

A big club needs a coach with a big face, and finally Parra has their man.

boxhead

Yeah I bet any coach would hate to have him. :roll:

One of the game's genuine superstars, a club leader and only 22 years old so still teachable (this year he learned how to be a ball-player).

And unlike Anderson, Kearney will have Hayne's respect.

It's got nothing to do with not making the finals - Parra were already looking for a new coach halfway through the season. Comments from the board indicate Anderson had communication problems with players and staff, and the systems he had put in place weren't up to scratch.

Since Brian Smith grew stale (after 10 years at the club) we've had a couple of nuffies who've hardly set the coaching world on fire after they left us.

Parra's a big club with a lot of fans, and they can afford to give mediocrity the arse even when it's still under contract.

One thing the club has lacked for a long time, is a coach with presence (ie. tall, with a big face). Smith, Taylor, Hagan (?), Anderson... all good tacticians (honestly I don't know what Hagan's strength was) but none of them seemed to be able to get the players up when it was needed. Not only that but none of them seemed to be able to recruit the stars of the game - match winners have big personalities and they all refuse to play for coaches who aren't tall, or who have average-sized (or smaller) faces.

What?

Johns Magic