Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Superthread LXIX - Honouring Mork from Ork - RIP Robin Williams

whall15

Today is one of those days where I wouldn't mind having access to Jubilee Avenue.

Dragons fans are holding up relatively well in the "public access" area of the forum but I reckon the tears would be flowing like rivers in Jubilee Avenue.

Nothing too bad.

Reading that article, it's over.

My gut instinct was always that he wouldn't come again.
The only thing that kept me hopeful was the forum gossip and media speculation and assurances he was a done deal.

Now bit by bit it's all dried up.

Goddam it.

The Easter Egg years
The Brownie years
The Dragons Footy years

Now the Mary years. f**k

Nein News reporting he may sign with the Broncos as early as today.
What a fkd way to start the week.

And the Gong Mafia dances a jig. f**k.

This is honestly the first time i have been filthy on the "Illawarra side" of the merger. O'Connor coming out making those type of comments were abhorrent considering his position within the club. If we are trying to look like the kings of amatuer hour, well congrats objective achieved.

Leaves a really bad, bitter taste in my mouth.

wow, win 3 games and secure yourself the job. What a rabble we are becoming (if they do sign mary).

What qualifications does he have to ensure us he is the best candidate for the job?

He has had 4 wins against mediocre or under strength opposition. 5 year deal.

so he is a low rent messenger boy nuffy.

what does the fact he sits on our board say about us?

If this is all true, we should have known better with Bennett. We forgot how he left us and took half the team.
We were the diversion to what he really wanted. He used us...

f**k. This. Shit.

If the club ends up with Mary, it proves weve learnt absolutely f**king nothing from the last 3 years. We miss out on Bellamy, and rather than chasing the next best coach (anyone from Hasley to T.Smith to Macquire) we end up with Steve f**king Price again. We miss out on Cooper Cronk, and rather than play hardball to try and pull DCE we end up with a consortium of reserve grade halfbacks.

Get on the phone right now and do what needs to be done to pull Maquire, Smith, Wane or whoever the REAL next best coach is out of their current job and get them here, and let Mary drop back to hi rightful role as assistant coach, or better yet go to ESL to see for sure if hes got what it takes.

is roy doing us a favour? breaking it in fairfax before being reported might give bennett the shits and come to us.

clutching...

I'm now seriously worried about those "Merrin to the donkeys" rumours...

Damn he played us lol

f**kn oconnor what a dickhead

Well this is a great way to start a monday f**king morning!!!!

To compound it we will probably get belted tonight as well...

At 64 bennett time may have passed. His recruitment at the knights was weird.

We will get no-one - Bennett was our best hope for signings

Wayne has no excuses at the Knights. He gave up. He's a quitter.

Mary has the mongrel we need.

I wanted it to happen so bad i let myself believe.

I dont know what bothers me more... missing out on Bennett.. or knowing we will end up with Mary...

If we do the obvious and appoint Mary.. I wish him and the club the greatest success... I hope to end up with egg on my face.. eat a few humble pies...
If he turns out to be a failure then I hope all our board and CEO fall on their swords....

Let me back up SMZ here, as of last Friday I was told by two sources that the deal was done, hence the Webster article

- One very high up in the NRL & the other within the Dragons

I've been told this morning that the loss against the Sharks sealed Griffins fate, they wheels were put in motion behind the scenes after that and the feelers were put out last Tuesday (directly to Benny) after their loss against the Panthers

So essentially we lost out on Benny because of the Sharks.

merkinS

No. Tim Grant was coming on the proviso of Bennett. Same as Kasiano. f**kin Sharks killed 3 deals for us

I Posted before about that loss to the Sharks being the catalyst

Strewth I detest that club.

Today is one of those days where I wouldn't mind having access to Jubilee Avenue.

Dragons fans are holding up relatively well in the "public access" area of the forum but I reckon the tears would be flowing like rivers in Jubilee Avenue.

some tears, but nowhere near the level or quality that flowed in the souffs forum when bennett picked the knights over the rabbitohs...

lol -

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...ions-in-the-joint-venture-20140721-zv8cz.html

particularly-

"Now they are unlikely to accept anyone else after the former Test centre's impressive effort to turn around the fortunes of the team since taking over eight weeks ago following the sacking of close mate Steve Price."

and-

"Since McGregor took over the coaching reins, there is a vibe at the Dragons that hasn't existed since before Bennett's arrival in 2009, and McGregor has strong support from the playing group, who respect him and enjoy the more enterprising playing style he has introduced."

So what happens if Manly absolutely belt the pants off them tonight and halt the impressive turnaround?

Seriously, you would think that mob would learn after they handed Price an extension on the back of a handful of good games a few years back.

I'm not saying Mary may not end up being a good coach, but for christs sake, play the field a little.

The whole thing smacks of "oh well, we missed out on plan A, lets forget all the other options and go straight to plan Z as its the easiest thing to do".

lol -

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...ions-in-the-joint-venture-20140721-zv8cz.html

particularly-

"Now they are unlikely to accept anyone else after the former Test centre's impressive effort to turn around the fortunes of the team since taking over eight weeks ago following the sacking of close mate Steve Price."

and-

"Since McGregor took over the coaching reins, there is a vibe at the Dragons that hasn't existed since before Bennett's arrival in 2009, and McGregor has strong support from the playing group, who respect him and enjoy the more enterprising playing style he has introduced."

So what happens if Manly absolutely belt the pants off them tonight and halt the impressive turnaround?

Seriously, you would think that mob would learn after they handed Price an extension on the back of a handful of good games a few years back.

I'm not saying Mary may not end up being a good coach, but for christs sake, play the field a little.

The whole thing smacks of "oh well, we missed out on plan A, lets forget all the other options and go straight to plan Z as its the easiest thing to do".
Welcome to the world of having Peter Doust in charge. Everything is done by a whim and half a case of Crown Lager...

It's only natural that Samsung would sell their TV's to a distributor cheap enough that the distributor can add some mark-up and still sell these rebranded TV's cheaper than the actual Samsung branded televisions sold by the manufacturer.

I mean, it's marketing and economics 101 all rolled in together. BF has just saved the university system countless hours and millions of dollars in costs by combining the two.

Lets just call it merkinomics 202.

actually this kind of thing happens all the time.. if a company is specialised in a particular area, they can either choose to keep their skills as competitive advantage, or can use these skills to produce and sell more of their speciality to the industry, thereby increasing their revenues and also improving overhead recoveries in their factories. this can also help to control the market as they can make their own brand to a better 'spec' whilst knowing what their competitors are actually selling...

example one for economies of scale: VL commdores using nissan engines

the RB30 engine, which was the mainstay of the australian built skyline was a strong solid 6 cylinder motor made by nissan japan. holden needed a new 6 cylinder motor, which nissan sold them and were therefore in direct competition to the skyline being sold at the time..

1804d1113886657-rb30-standard-rocker-cover-dsc02184.jpg

in addition, should kogan be using samsung screens / components, this is a prime example of the importance of brand equity...

in essence, the true test of brand equity is if there are two of a product sharing many similar traits, or exactly the same traits and characteristics, but different brands, what premium is a customer willing to pay to secure the better brand..

and there would be people who would just would never stretch to buy a samsung, so they are out of their market - so why not capture some of their spend via selling to the company who will be selling to that consumer..

example two for brand equity: (also car related) toyota lexcen.

in essence, a commodore in everything but name. built by holden, sold badged as toyotas, and competing at a cheaper price than the equivalent commodore.

b546b_holden_commodore_toyota_lexcen_manual__75922.1339460490.1280.1280.jpg

plus you've also got the examples of pharmaceutical companies selling the active ingredient on to other companies who produce generics which are in direct competition to brands (eg sigma pharmaceuticals who also have herron brand)

so looks like it could be BF 1, DKOR 0...

here you go, sir..

8975775-large.jpg

*shrugs*

I have a 55" Kogan 3D LED Ultra HD TV, and I couldn't be happier.

I paid $999 for my Kogan TV, but a similar TV for a name brand would have cost muh more.

I don't care if snobs laugh at me - I love my TV.

Misanthrope

I'm getting to my wits end with this school.

I've been frustrated for weeks with things and just itching to get out, and now my pay is three days late. Not like I need money for things like posting things home or eating.

Dragon2010

I'm getting to my wits end with this school.

I've been frustrated for weeks with things and just itching to get out, and now my pay is three days late. Not like I need money for things like posting things home or eating.

On your final day, you should do something extreme. Teach the kids about the radical west, a bunch of swear words, leave rotting fish in the apartment. Leave with a bang.