Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sydney Sharks

taipan

They should have already done that, take your lowest attractive home game
Like Titans, Cowboys or Warriors, the rest play at Kogarah

That makes the situation worse.You have a crap drawing game, where the leagues club gets some revenue form beer sales and paying members in smaller numbers and SFA visitors, but you fork out large sums of air travel/accomm.You may end up being further behind.

My view take games to Wagga,Port Macquarie ,if you have to.Play pre season in Fiji .

taipan

Sharks won't be going anywhere, much like Manly-Warringah, if the NRL decided that Sydney had too many clubs theyd move a club that would survive a relocation, not those clubs who are dependent on their area,
Souths and Roosters to Perth and Adelaide respectively

Clubs will be moved, when they put up the financial white flag .And if grants continue that need not be the case.

2012....Sharks Year

"No need to",they are already pushing for entry and it's the lobbying by the Sydney FC that is is putting barriers in its path.You need to keep up to speed.They wanted to build a soccer stadium near the Loftus tech, which struck hurdles.If you give any competitor an inch they'll take a mile.

You even admitted yourself the turfing of the Force was an opportunity for the NRL to bring in a team in Perth.Yet you take the opposite view when it comes to a Sydney club like the Sharks.Seriously!!!!

The point is there are many kids who play soccer here and quite a few follow the Sharks.A relocation will obviously put them wholly into soccer, and the numbers of Sharks fans in toto would be lost to the game in the Shire.And from social media comments fans elsewhere would have no interest..
Which doesn't seem to sink in.Sheesh even union has a following here plus AFL.
A strong junior league thus has notsenior club to aspire .

You are beginning to sound like the ARU officials who removed the Force.The difference being the Sharks have a 50 plus year tradition and contribute to fanbase/merchandise and Tv ratings to the NRL.The Force were lost in a sea of AFL tragics and its TV ratings were below the Maginot line.

What a dumb comment" if the Sharks moved out and developed the stadium with apartments'"what happens to their Leagues club, losses would increase.Game days even till they started refurbishing brought in revenue to the old Leagues club. Thats one of the reasons they purchased the Kareela golf club as an interim though smaller revenue stream.
In addition people who have purchased units and live there or will live there, all bought in the knowledge of clear space(the football ground) being there.The Council have stipulated it must be for sport.The additions to the restaurants are also being built on not only looking over the Bay ,but the football ground.

You have learnt zero from the effect of the SL war with teams either being flicked ,or merged.The result did not bring a rise in ,crowds ,which have been up and down since.It resulted in large numbers of people being lost to the game.Why? Because the population has increased dramatically in the past 20 year, and NRL numbers have not.

Now what sort of long term guarantees have the Pirates got in place?Leagues club where no pokies allowed there? Sponsorship (long term) big companies)when the economy now looks like going into recession? You are swimming in a sea of AFL there, so how to you plan to ensure you are there for the long haul and not need bail outs?
Your crowds have been fickle in the past, what happens with a few years of crappy performances?What happens to a run of losses, if you have no Leagues club to prop up? What assets does the club have?
Pretty hard to reason with Perth Red regarding the Sharks Taipan. Quite a few years ago (when we were financially busted) he got his hopes up that the Sharks would fold and W.A would be the beneficiary with a new team to fill the hole. All that's happened since is the Sharks have achieved financial stability through the development and have gone from a dire situation to being very secure and having a state of the art leagues club and hotel complex being built as we speak. Throw in the fact that we finally won a premiership and the Perth Pirates are no closer to existing than they were a decade ago and you have one very bitter old Pom. He spends too much time delving into annual reports of clubs looking for prospective chinks in their armor. (What a hoot that must be) He also knows very little about the logistics of getting around Sydney and absolutely nothing about the Shire folk and their passion to stay in the Shire in our albeit outdated stadium. The other thing is that a game day experience consists of an hour and a half to 2 hours tops for most punters and plenty are happy to cop the lesser facilities for that short period of time in exchange for an atmosphere that you can only achieve in grounds such as Shark Park.... Leichhardt and Brookie ect.

T-Boon

And your team where would you like that to be relocated to ,so you can follow them on social media?

Eels, as I've said I would be fine with them relocating (not merging) as I don't have any real affinity with the town of Parramatta.

T-Boon

Cronulla is like Manly. Too hard to get to for away fans. That's why crowds are crap. Move them both somewhere better.

2012....Sharks Year

Cronulla is like Manly. Too hard to get to for away fans. That's why crowds are crap. Move them both somewhere better.
Actually a good point in regards to the difficulty in getting away crowds to travel to both peninsulars to watch their sides play. Unfortunately if you moved either of these sides to centralised stadiums...what you would pick up in away support would not even go close to making up for what you would lose in loss of home supporters who won't travel.

T-Boon

Actually a good point in regards to the difficulty in getting away crowds to travel to both peninsulars to watch their sides play. Unfortunately if you moved either of these sides to centralised stadiums...what you would pick up in away support would not even go close to making up for what you would lose in loss of home supporters who won't travel.

Play 4 games a year at Shark Park and 8 at SFS. The 4 at Shark Park will be well attended and the club will be growing its supporter base by playing at SFS and calling themselves Sydney.

How hard is it to get a train then tram from Cronulla to SFS?

20years and no crowd growth despite on field success. The catchment is too small if we want to the NRl to thrive and get to 20k plus crowds and club sustainability that comes with it. Cronulla, manly, titans etc are a great example of why we need a vibrant second division. At moment too small for nrl, too big for Nsw/Qlnd cup.

taipan

Play 4 games a year at Shark Park and 8 at SFS. The 4 at Shark Park will be well attended and the club will be growing its supporter base by playing at SFS and calling themselves Sydney.

Mate you really need to look at the logistics ,the scheduling, when you are commenting on outer edge NRL clubs.
Considering not many away fans come to Manly and Cronulla, that in itselff shows those other clubs fans
are not willing to go out of their way to travel.

A simplification.Depends what the schedule is weeknights, you are kidding for people who work in town and want to bring their families.What time do you expect to get home with a 7.45pm game on a weeknight,via the trains.Where is the expressway running from Sydney to the Shire?
Seriously you have no idea.Let alone a 6pm Friday night game.

That's like asking how hard is to get to Mascot terminal .

BTW some of the Eel's crowds at ANZ were not that great ,before they went back to home base.Perhaps they were not keen on the travel.

Notice you were against an Eels/Panthers merger.Perhaps you're getting the message mergers are cactus.As is relocation.
Under the current conditions and economic climate it ain't going to happen, as the NRL have spelt out.

taipan

20years and no crowd growth despite on field success. The catchment is too small if we want to the NRl to thrive and get to 20k plus crowds and club sustainability that comes with it. Cronulla, manly, titans etc are a great example of why we need a vibrant second division. At moment too small for nrl, too big for Nsw/Qlnd cup.

The game itself taking into account population growth in general ,has barley grown, so it involves all clubs
This catchment area is crap, when you have decent size junior League ,and still get people to attend in stadiums ,which will be or are being upgraded in the future.

Brisbane has a huge catchment area ,in heartland yet for 2m people averages 30k ,more than doubling the Shark's crowds in a pop 230k.This with the only NRL club in the city.And a decent stadium.
Titans 600k catchment area and heartland crowds ordinary, catchment there means SFA.
Storm pop 4m plus ,the Storm in a brand new stadium, finals and G/F many times avge what 19k.No juniors in their first squad.
Perth in a pop of what 2m ,AFL obsessed.Had a club whose fans went to water when SL came in.Had one downpour I remember and the crowd stayed away in droves.
Yep 2nd division is suitable.No Leagues club, no long term sponsorship from big companies, an economy there that is hardly going gangbusters,no TV watchers for the NRL, plus travel costs.

taipan

And Manly,Penrith and Campbelltown are easier for away fans? I'll get you a Transport map of Sydney with all the roads.
And Parramatta to Wollongong is a breeze.What are you smoking?
What makes you think ANZ stadium is easy to get to for away fans?

NB Sydney crowds for just about all clubs are nothing to write home about, with the exception of the eels with a brand new stadium on their doorstep..Which makes your views about what other clubs( without such home luxury) should do, look rather hollow.Or hypocritical.

Let's see them have a few bad years and check the loyalty.

2012....Sharks Year

Mate.... travelling anywhere in Sydney is a pain in the arse at the best of times. The fox coverage has made it too convenient to sit in the comfort of your own home rather than battle sydney traffic or public transport for hours. Maybe by offering season ticket holders half price away entry fees you might get a few people more interested in travelling.