Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Tail Gate Parties....how come we don't do them in Australia?

betcats

With the exception of very few over here our stadiums wouldn't be able to facilitate the idea unfortunately.

The Cowboys stadium is :shock:

bills5.JPG

bills1.JPG

bills2.JPG

bills4.JPG

Thats a f**ken footy stadium.

A significant portion of Dogs fans are from non anglo cultures. A significant portion of Sharks fans are xenophobes.

Xenophobes and foreigners don't make a good mix.

Some fool in a Sharks jersey will probably stab a Mediterranean Descendant. The Mediterranean Descendant will get 400 of his cousins to drive to the shire the next weekend to bash random innocent people. Half the shire will then disgrace the australian flag while bashing anyone with a tan.

Cronulla riots round 2.

Bigot. Great redneck cop you'll make.

sretsoor

I would have thought in Australia we dont have tailgate parties as it was not required. We always had the option of watching all grades leading up to 1sts, even now we have TYC and NRL so there is no need to mill around in the car park waiting for the gates to open for the main game. They're already open.

Canard

x2

As far as everything except the product on the park goes (and even that is arguable), NFL and College Football > NRL by so much that we aren't even talking the same galaxy.

The main thing that makes their game so awesome is the tradition. From the Lambeau Leap to Auburn's war eagle to GT's sloppy jalopy to VT's Enter Sandman to the Stanford scatter band, it is something we have way too much cultural cringe to ever really develop ourselves.

I reckon the NRL would be going alright, incompentent leadership and all, if our sport was the major football code in a population of 300m+.

But being one of 4 codes in a country of 25m isn't as easy.

counterpuncher

Had a fantastic experience tailgating at a Chargers home game in San Diego. Was a bit apprehensive about "drinking in the carpark" after having missed out on tickets, but it was brilliant.

They are monster car parks, seperate sections for family parking, tailgate zones and the RV/winnebago areas as well as the VIP stuff. You could even reserve season spots. The tailgate zone cost roughly $55 bucks per car from memory.

Great atmosphere, literally hundreds of BBQ's going, kids playing football, music pumping, it was like a carnival. Behaviour was on the whole very good, Americans are not shy in telling a "yahoo" to tone it down and will always be backed up by others. Unforgettable experience.

No idea how it could ever work here, but it sure beats overpriced beer and lukewarm pies.

LazyDreamer

The ultimate Australian sporting tailgate party is the prime example of why it wouldn't work here - the Bathurst 1000. Allowing that sort of BYO boozefest turns it into something that's no longer about the sport & more about getting fall down drunk. The fact people at Mt Panorama have to be restricted to one carton of beer per person per day is testament to this.

I also can't help but wonder if the higher legal drinking age in the States makes a difference. Purely because you'd have underagers participating & there's a world of difference between a pissed 20yo & a pissed 17yo.

To entertain the idea here, we'd have to have a 'no glass containers' rule to stop people being seriously injured when some drunk moron glasses the bloke next door coz his kid's footy bounced the wrong way & touched the moron.

And we could kiss decent NRL crowds goodbye, as people (esp families) would stay away in their droves rather than be seated near stacks of maggoted morons already pissed when they enter the ground.

Moffo

The ultimate Australian sporting tailgate party is the prime example of why it wouldn't work here - the Bathurst 1000. Allowing that sort of BYO boozefest turns it into something that's no longer about the sport & more about getting fall down drunk. The fact people at Mt Panorama have to be restricted to one carton of beer per person per day is testament to this.

I also can't help but wonder if the higher legal drinking age in the States makes a difference. Purely because you'd have underagers participating & there's a world of difference between a pissed 20yo & a pissed 17yo.

To entertain the idea here, we'd have to have a 'no glass containers' rule to stop people being seriously injured when some drunk moron glasses the bloke next door coz his kid's footy bounced the wrong way & touched the moron.

And we could kiss decent NRL crowds goodbye, as people (esp families) would stay away in their droves rather than be seated near stacks of maggoted morons already pissed when they enter the ground.

correct

Hutty1986

Put any group of bogan, white trash revheads together anywhere and they'll get on the rums and start sh*t

legend

Why not make them alcohol free and family freindly so your average NRL loving bogan isn't interested...

TheDMC

Why not make them alcohol free and family freindly so your average NRL loving bogan isn't interested...

I'm all for family friendly and non-bogan/yobbo infestations, but not even a few icy cold ones? That would, um, suck.

A significant portion of Dogs fans are from non anglo cultures. A significant portion of Sharks fans are xenophobes.

Xenophobes and foreigners don't make a good mix.

Some fool in a Sharks jersey will probably stab a Mediterranean Descendant. The Mediterranean Descendant will get 400 of his cousins to drive to the shire the next weekend to bash random innocent people. Half the shire will then disgrace the australian flag while bashing anyone with a tan.

Cronulla riots round 2.

Been to quite a few cronulla games and I have to admit they are easily the most laid back jovial fans around, no malice at all in them.

docbrown

Start with the Hall of Fame game at Homebush. It should have a family carnival atmosphere with fans meeting players outside the ground. Have skills sessions for kids, muckaround matches, live music etc.

rabbitohs

I know it's Adelaide but we have them before every AFL game here. A huge grassy car park next to AAMI stadium helps.

There are kids events, bands, organised barbies and people with their own set ups. Some have decked out their whole vehicle especially for game day barbies.