Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Team List Tuesday

Dea

Pleased with the swap of Lomax and Aitkin. Lomax showed his potential at the end of last year as a centre. Maybe Aitkin doesn’t sit out for 70 minutes but might be used to help out the forwards to better manage fatigue, not only for this game but the season?

Wingers still cause me concern. I recognise both are learners but they don’t look to be running as hard or fast as they could. Last weeks game where one got in the clear and instead of taking on the fullback he passed back to a player surrounded by defenders is an example. Hopefully they continue to improve.

Dragonslayer

Before we all get too excited about Aitken being benched and Lomax being selected his preferred position lets wait a couple of weeks and see how it pans out.
I wouldn't be surprised if its some policy that Mary has where he rotates the backs and they all get a week on the bench.
Next week could see Pereira to the bench with Lomax back to the wing for all we know.
Don't count your chickens.....

I would also like to add an air of caution for this team announcement made yesterday.

It was said that this was the SQUAD to face the Eels. Although it appears to be in positional order (and it may prove to be so) only Lafai has the #4 next to his name.

As you said Crush, lets not count our chickens until they actually run out onto the ground on Sunday.

LINESPEED

I would also like to add an air of caution for this team announcement made yesterday.

It was said that this was the SQUAD to face the Eels. Although it appears to be in positional order (and it may prove to be so) only Lafai has the #4 next to his name.

As you said Crush, lets not count our chickens until they actually run out onto the ground on Sunday.

Yeah after 5 years Euan’s not going to take this on the chin easily ( and will be calling in the ‘ leadership team’ / loyalty debt)
PS
That’s what happens when a coach sucks up to players, makes promises & tries to be everyone’s mate

I’ll invoke my favourite Shaun Marsh analogy(so sorry):

1.Coach favourite in Marsh (EA)

2.Young guy (ZL) begrudgingly given his usually one chance (2semis) to prove himself

3.Unlucky & misses out (or creams it in ZL’s case)

4.Coach reverts quickly to type, reselects Marsh (or bro) - no renewal (ZL sent to Coventry)

5.Young kid gets second chance years later. There’s a conga line of young cricketers who’ve suffered this

So yeah Zac’ll need 3 tries or TAs to bed down #3

....And then some

Unless of course Mary’s:
1. Been leant on
2. Had an epiphany
3. Sick of the constant flak
4. Realises his 5 yr protection racket of the #3 position’s been exposed
5.Grown some balls
6.Playing a deflection game

LOL
And feel free to add No 7,8,9,10 as you wish

I can hardly believe that the footy gods actually got into Mary's head and convinced him to drop Aitken and put Lomax centre. Aitken doesn't have to get injured now. The footy gods certainly work in mysterious ways.
He made that change on what basis?
McGregor shafted Lomax this year based on what? Pre season form?
Experimenting with him playing on the wing?
Playing a couple of 10 minute cameos off the bench?
All to accommodate Aitkin.
Now suddenly, Lomax gets picked in the centres while Aitkin is relegated to the bench.
I love the fact that Lomax is finally starting at right centre but I am also trying to figure out McGregor's logic?
What is it that made him make that change after 7 rounds?
Then I look at the bench and Latimore is still in our prop rotation.
So we are going into the Parra game with only 3 genuine prop forwards and a guaranteed drop in intensity once Vaughn and Graham have a rest.
I don't get it.

Dragonsteve2

Bravo for good old common sense rather than chest thumping pedantry.
You are a good man and enunciated your point in a first class manner.

Coming from you, OT, your compliment has given me a real lift. In a world where we have to confront terrorism, bigotry and increasing political discord in our own country we should all be looking for common ground. Amongst Dragons supporters there is room for healthy exchange of thoughts but no place for pedantic criticism.

On another matter I remember well your ongoing support for Kurt Mann which I shared. Poor bugger - it seems he would have been better off sticking with the Storm. Mary labelling him a utility has really set his career back.

Coming from you, OT, your compliment has given me a real lift. In a world where we have to confront terrorism, bigotry and increasing political discord in our own country we should all be looking for common ground. Amongst Dragons supporters there is room for healthy exchange of thoughts but no place for pedantic criticism.

On another matter I remember well your ongoing support for Kurt Mann which I shared. Poor bugger - it seems he would have been better off sticking with the Storm. Mary labelling him a utility has really set his career back.
Yes poor old Kurt is stuck in a revolving door and all because we either didn't buy the right bloke for the job required or we never persisted long enough (probably a bit of both)
I agree with you that he would have been better placed to have had another year or 2 at Melbourne to round him out as footballer skilled in 1 position with the ability to play another if required.
Re pedants etc I often think they are far too busy trying make something perfect that doesn't require it.
IMO it is incumbent upon all of us to try and understand what someone is trying to say rather than be pre occupied with correcting it and very often whilst doing so having no understanding whatsoever of what they said.

Before we all get too excited about Aitken being benched and Lomax being selected his preferred position lets wait a couple of weeks and see how it pans out.
I wouldn't be surprised if its some policy that Mary has where he rotates the backs and they all get a week on the bench.
Next week could see Pereira to the bench with Lomax back to the wing for all we know.
Don't count your chickens.....
If Pereira or Rava have a bad game, it will be Pearson's turn to show his stuff. Let's hope our wingers score a heap of tries against the Eels.

Now suddenly, Lomax gets picked in the centres while Aitkin is relegated to the bench.
I love the fact that Lomax is finally starting at right centre but I am also trying to figure out McGregor's logic?
So we are going into the Parra game with only 3 genuine prop forwards and a guaranteed drop in intensity once Vaughn and Graham have a rest.
I don't get it.
He read Possm's post.

SnowDragon

I read all the comments on Aitken and still think you guys are too harsh. There have been some fair comments, and then there is the hate comments that seem to suggest that nothing but the best in each position is good enough...

Now my view is Aitken has done enough to hold his position.

That said, I would have started with Lomax in round 1, and due to kicking I would bring in Lomax now as well, but not because Aitken has played poorly. Sometimes decisions are made because somebody else forces their way into a team.

The only concern I have Ravalawa, but I don’t see somebody else forcing his way in atm. Pearson seems more natural, but I saw mistakes in the limited viewing of him. Now I have also seen much improvement in Ravalawa, and I would persist a few weeks more at this stage before swapping. His catching and positional play has improved heaps I would say so I am hopeful. I do wish Aitken could play wing as I see him in our best 13, but others are correct to say he makes a very good bench option if you want a back which Mary obviously does...

... and JP is playing awesome in my opinion.. a few mistakes sure, but the development hapere is great, and his response to mistakes, and his attitude is fantastic. His catching seems so solid recently, great kick returns. Reminds me of Mansour.

Dragonsteve2

I don't get it.

Dennis,
With all due respect, trying to understand Mary's logic is a dangerous and potentially mind-numbing activity. To me there was no need for thought at the start of the season. Zac was the incumbent centre who had proved himself through the tightening of the right defence his inclusion brought at the end of last season. But then Mary muddied the waters by putting him on the wing in the trials. He looked less effective there. Meanwhile Mary had his hands full trying to sort out how 5 spine players would occupy 4.spots.
While the vulnerability on the right was made clear in the Souths and Knights games the situation was then complicated by Euan playing at his best and Widdop's injury removing the goalkicker.
The need to include the goalkicking Lomax became paramount after Lafai's kicking vs Manly. Hence the Zac/Rava swap as illogical as it was to carry an inexperienced winger on the bench. Had Jai Field been on the bench instead of Rava we may have beaten the Roosters.
So finally Mary has reached the correct decision. Perhaps his assistants helped him. Maybe Barrett or Fitter had a word in his ear. Even Gould could have had a word - I hear he listens to him.
Big Jeremy? There may be some justification for concentrating on Aitken's move to the bench this week. Maybe Mary noticed Lattimore's lack of impact vs the Roosters but did not want to make a 2nd change. Or maybe he is saving Latts to be the easy dropping should JDB get a reprieve(or a decent replacement signed). Alternatively he may not have noticed that looked less effective.

Overseas dragon

I don't get it.
JOIN THE CLUB DENNIS

Dragonslayer

The stats for the CC game last week have been posted and make interesting reading:

Surely Lachlan Timm and Jai Field aren't far away from at least a bench spot.

8 Lachlan Timm Prop Played 67 mins - 18runs 216m - 81pcm - tackle breaks 3 - offloads 1 - tackles 34 2 missed.
6 Jai Field Five-Eighth Played 80 - trys1 goals 7 - 14runs 139m - try assists 4 - line break assists 3 - linebreaks 1 - tackle breaks 8 - tackles 5 1missed

Jackson Ford seems to be developing his game well also
12 Jackson Ford 2nd Row played 80 - trys 2 - 19runs 209m - 71pcm - linebreaks 3 - tackle breaks9 - offloads 2 - tackles 19 3missed

And for those wanting Jonus Pearson into 1st grade then:
5 Jonus Pearson Winger played 80 - trys 0 - 8runs 78m - 29pcm - 2 tackle breaks - tackles 0 missed 2
These stats for Pearson are not what you would call pick me for 1st grade, no wonder McGregor is sticking with Rava.
Compare to the other winger, a rookie, who is still eligible for JF
2 Jason Saab Winger played 80 - trys 2 -18 runs 163m - 53pcm - 2 linebreaks - 1tackle break - tackles 6 3 missed

full stats link
https://www.nswrl.com.au/siteassets...-bears-v-st-george-illawarra-dragons-rd-7.pdf

Frank Facer

The stats for the CC game last week have been posted and make interesting reading:

Surely Lachlan Timm and Jai Field aren't far away from at least a bench spot.

8 Lachlan Timm Prop Played 67 mins - 18runs 216m - 81pcm - tackle breaks 3 - offloads 1 - tackles 34 2 missed.
6 Jai Field Five-Eighth Played 80 - trys1 goals 7 - 14runs 139m - try assists 4 - line break assists 3 - linebreaks 1 - tackle breaks 8 - tackles 5 1missed

Jackson Ford seems to be developing his game well also
12 Jackson Ford 2nd Row played 80 - trys 2 - 19runs 209m - 71pcm - linebreaks 3 - tackle breaks9 - offloads 2 - tackles 19 3missed

And for those wanting Jonus Pearson into 1st grade then:
5 Jonus Pearson Winger played 80 - trys 0 - 8runs 78m - 29pcm - 2 tackle breaks - tackles 0 missed 2
These stats for Pearson are not what you would call pick me for 1st grade, no wonder McGregor is sticking with Rava.
Compare to the other winger, a rookie, who is still eligible for JF
2 Jason Saab Winger played 80 - trys 2 -18 runs 163m - 53pcm - 2 linebreaks - 1tackle break - tackles 6 3 missed

full stats link
https://www.nswrl.com.au/siteassets...-bears-v-st-george-illawarra-dragons-rd-7.pdf
Thanks for providing that info.

I thought Timm was impressive in the trial. I liked his intent. His stats on the weekend were terrific. I think he should definitely be getting a run ahead of Latimore.

Ford looked like a good prospect from the little I have seen of him. He looks like a genuine footballer.

watatank

Thanks for those stats. It would be nice if the NSWRL website could update their page so we can look up the stats summaries for players rather than relying on stat reports from respective games.

Surely Pearson would know that he needs to have high involvement to even stand a chance of playing. He didn't jump out much stat wise from QLD Cup either last year from memory (did score a reasonable number of tries though)

SnowDragon

SNOWDRAGON DON'T YOU WATCH GAMES ?????????????????

Aitken cant defend check stats as they will show you this.
Won't pass the ball and gets beaten in the air etc etc etc

Mate, watched every game at least once over the past 3 years (was difficult to see games prior to that as not broadcast over here in the Nordics).

I’ll continue to watch, and try to keep an open mind. I understand the passing issues (but it’s not been an issue the last weeks imho). Also, his positioning can be an issue, but he tackles well I believe (can fall off when he rushes in though). Still I think this is group mentaility kicking in...

All players make mistakes, Overall I think you see what you want. Any hint of a problem and this forum has a gang mentality approach, whearas on your favourites you tend to ignore or “understand”. Although I understand it, nobody had a go at James Graham for his lazy D that allowed the last try...

Como Connection

Mate, watched every game at least once over the past 3 years (was difficult to see games prior to that as not broadcast over here in the Nordics).

I’ll continue to watch, and try to keep an open mind. I understand the passing issues (but it’s not been an issue the last weeks imho). Also, his positioning can be an issue, but he tackles well I believe (can fall off when he rushes in though). Still I think this is group mentaility kicking in...

All players make mistakes, Overall I think you see what you want. Any hint of a problem and this forum has a gang mentality approach, whearas on your favourites you tend to ignore or “understand”. Although I understand it, nobody had a go at James Graham for his lazy D that allowed the last try...
Cannot agree with your thoughts.
I have my own opinion which tends to agree with a lot of our members regarding EA.
What is your statement on his lazy, incompetent non effort to get hold of the ball at a very important stage late in the match again Easts.
CC

SnowDragon

Cannot agree with your thoughts.
I have my own opinion which tends to agree with a lot of our members regarding EA.
What is your statement on his lazy, incompetent non effort to get hold of the ball at a very important stage late in the match again Easts.
CC

I generally approve of much you say CC, and I appreciate phrasing to the most part... unlike most crappy comments you at least tend to explain rather than appeasing the crowd and whipping each other into mob comments... I’ll have to look at that game and see your point. Sorry for he rant style, but pissed at something else right now, and the coach bashing and player bashing in the forum is 99% bs even when I agree with the comments :)

Anyway, it’s fine to disagree, and in general I try to be constructive and positive. I love the dragons and hate the hate so to speak. That’s not meaning people shouldn’t diasagree with stuff... just hate whipping a dead horse of an idea... back to my wine!

And may we crunch parra on Sunday! And I hope Lomax stars!