Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Team List Tuesday

Como Connection

I generally approve of much you say CC, and I appreciate phrasing to the most part... unlike most crappy comments you at least tend to explain rather than appeasing the crowd and whipping each other into mob comments... I’ll have to look at that game and see your point. Sorry for he rant style, but pissed at something else right now, and the coach bashing and player bashing in the forum is 99% bs even when I agree with the comments :)

Anyway, it’s fine to disagree, and in general I try to be constructive and positive. I love the dragons and hate the hate so to speak. That’s not meaning people shouldn’t diasagree with stuff... just hate whipping a dead horse of an idea... back to my wine!

And may we crunch parra on Sunday! And I hope Lomax stars!
SD
Day two in Scotland now and we have really enjoyed it.
What lovely friendly people the Scots are!
I'm impressed.
I look forward to the updates as I doubt I will see much footy in the next six weeks.
Take care.
CC

blacksafake

SD
I'm impressed.
I look forward to the updates as I doubt I will see much footy in the next six weeks.
Take care.
CC
The Scots are good friendly people CC.
A word of advice though,If you're in Dundee don't mention the Glaswegians(Glasgow people).:)
My wife's family are from Dundee.

The stats for the CC game last week have been posted and make interesting reading:

Surely Lachlan Timm and Jai Field aren't far away from at least a bench spot.

8 Lachlan Timm Prop Played 67 mins - 18runs 216m - 81pcm - tackle breaks 3 - offloads 1 - tackles 34 2 missed.
6 Jai Field Five-Eighth Played 80 - trys1 goals 7 - 14runs 139m - try assists 4 - line break assists 3 - linebreaks 1 - tackle breaks 8 - tackles 5 1missed

Jackson Ford seems to be developing his game well also
12 Jackson Ford 2nd Row played 80 - trys 2 - 19runs 209m - 71pcm - linebreaks 3 - tackle breaks9 - offloads 2 - tackles 19 3missed

And for those wanting Jonus Pearson into 1st grade then:
5 Jonus Pearson Winger played 80 - trys 0 - 8runs 78m - 29pcm - 2 tackle breaks - tackles 0 missed 2
These stats for Pearson are not what you would call pick me for 1st grade, no wonder McGregor is sticking with Rava.
Compare to the other winger, a rookie, who is still eligible for JF
2 Jason Saab Winger played 80 - trys 2 -18 runs 163m - 53pcm - 2 linebreaks - 1tackle break - tackles 6 3 missed

full stats link
https://www.nswrl.com.au/siteassets...-bears-v-st-george-illawarra-dragons-rd-7.pdf
Who were the two centres in CC? Who played inside Pearson and who played inside Saab. I'd love to see both Saab and Peraon in first grade as they both seem to have the speed and skills to make a difference; especially now that Lomax is playing right centre.

A good centre and make a winger look good e.g. Cooper inside Morris and Gasnier inside Nightingale.

Dragonslayer

Who were the two centres in CC? Who played inside Pearson and who played inside Saab. I'd love to see both Saab and Peraon in first grade as they both seem to have the speed and skills to make a difference; especially now that Lomax is playing right centre.

A good centre and make a winger look good e.g. Cooper inside Morris and Gasnier inside Nightingale.

Centres were SSE (who is still qualified for JF) and Runciman.

LINESPEED

The stats for the CC game last week have been posted and make interesting reading:

Surely Lachlan Timm and Jai Field aren't far away from at least a bench spot.

8 Lachlan Timm Prop Played 67 mins - 18runs 216m - 81pcm - tackle breaks 3 - offloads 1 - tackles 34 2 missed.
6 Jai Field Five-Eighth Played 80 - trys1 goals 7 - 14runs 139m - try assists 4 - line break assists 3 - linebreaks 1 - tackle breaks 8 - tackles 5 1missed

Jackson Ford seems to be developing his game well also
12 Jackson Ford 2nd Row played 80 - trys 2 - 19runs 209m - 71pcm - linebreaks 3 - tackle breaks9 - offloads 2 - tackles 19 3missed

And for those wanting Jonus Pearson into 1st grade then:
5 Jonus Pearson Winger played 80 - trys 0 - 8runs 78m - 29pcm - 2 tackle breaks - tackles 0 missed 2
These stats for Pearson are not what you would call pick me for 1st grade, no wonder McGregor is sticking with Rava.
Compare to the other winger, a rookie, who is still eligible for JF
2 Jason Saab Winger played 80 - trys 2 -18 runs 163m - 53pcm - 2 linebreaks - 1tackle break - tackles 6 3 missed

full stats link
https://www.nswrl.com.au/siteassets...-bears-v-st-george-illawarra-dragons-rd-7.pdf

Yes - it’s a truism that if a coach selects on form you’re likely to get the best results.

And no one can whinge

And this Forum would be out of business

Jai has it and should be on the wing instead of Rav because he’s an infinitely better footballer,

Ah but an inch shorter & 7 kg lighter say the ragdoll naysaying brigade who think a winger has to run the ball into forwards on kick return (thus the current love of size) rather than go round the defence.

Jai in space with his speed & ball handling skills, linking with Duff & Zac, would transform the attack

Jai @ 86kg & 5’11”
&
Duff @ 80kg & 5’10”

with Zac & Lafai for protection
would not only hold their own but render opposition defensive patterns useless

And let’s face the facts:

It’s the trio that Mary went for in his most desperate (in thePrelim Final no less) hour of need

Form demands his inclusion.

Rav or Jai?
- it’s a nobrainer

George Dragon

Yes - it’s a truism that if a coach selects on form you’re likely to get the best results.

And no one can whinge

Jai has it and should be on the wing instead of Rav because he’s an infinitely better footballer,

Ah but an inch shorter & 7 kg lighter say the ragdoll naysaying brigade who think a winger has to run the ball into forwards on kick return (thus the current love of size) rather than go round the defence.

Jai in space with his speed & ball handling skills, linking with Duff & Zac, would transform the attack

Jai @ 86kg & 5’11”
&
Duff @ 80kg & 5’10”

It’s the trio that Mary went for in his most desperate (in thePrelim Final no less) hour of need

Rav or Jai?
- it’s a nobrainer
Where did you get Jai and Matt weight from

SnowDragon

And no one can whinge

Jai @ 86kg & 5’11”
&
Duff @ 80kg & 5’10”

Rav or Jai?
- it’s a nobrainer

Interesting to pick Jai on the wing... has he played there before? Defence and high ball?

I assume we will loose Hunt in Origin, and Jai will come in. Does it make sense to bring him in on the wing for a game first?

Not convinced with him on the wing tbh... but looking forward to him performing during Origin :)

SD
I'm impressed.
Take care.
CC
If you get back to Edinburgh and you have time I suggest a visit to
Valvona & Crolla

https://www.valvonacrolla.co.uk/

A fantastic delicatessen and eatery and some of the best pies and cheeses money can buy.
Been there a couple of times and never left dissappointed although probably a little poorer.

blacksafake

And no one can whinge

Jai @ 86kg & 5’11”
&
Duff @ 80kg & 5’10”

Rav or Jai?
- it’s a nobrainer
Not sure about him on the wing but you’re points re his speed & skill are valid. Maybe if he modeled his game on Corey Thompson from the tigers who ain’t that big as well but he goes ok. Knows the shortcuts which comes from experience.

j0nesy

He made that change on what basis?
McGregor shafted Lomax this year based on what? Pre season form?
Experimenting with him playing on the wing?
Playing a couple of 10 minute cameos off the bench?
All to accommodate Aitkin.
Now suddenly, Lomax gets picked in the centres while Aitkin is relegated to the bench.
I love the fact that Lomax is finally starting at right centre but I am also trying to figure out McGregor's logic?
What is it that made him make that change after 7 rounds?

Then I look at the bench and Latimore is still in our prop rotation.
So we are going into the Parra game with only 3 genuine prop forwards and a guaranteed drop in intensity once Vaughn and Graham have a rest.
I don't get it.

You know what I think think the tipping point for Mary was? I think it was Aitken’s non-attempt to dive on the loose ball against Easts. Mary strikes me as the sort of coach that backs players that give it their all. That was a particularly lazy piece of play from Aitken and I reckon he’s getting a kick up the ass for it. Don’t be surprised to see him back in the starting side next round though.

Warabrook saint

He made that change on what basis?
McGregor shafted Lomax this year based on what? Pre season form?
Experimenting with him playing on the wing?
Playing a couple of 10 minute cameos off the bench?
All to accommodate Aitkin.
Now suddenly, Lomax gets picked in the centres while Aitkin is relegated to the bench.
I love the fact that Lomax is finally starting at right centre but I am also trying to figure out McGregor's logic?
What is it that made him make that change after 7 rounds?
Then I look at the bench and Latimore is still in our prop rotation.
So we are going into the Parra game with only 3 genuine prop forwards and a guaranteed drop in intensity once Vaughn and Graham have a rest.
I don't get it.
The things you point out in your post is the reason most on the forum don't want him as coach......he's clueless. Fittler pointed out last week at half time that we were aimlessly running around without a plan. But he only decides to say that after his mate mary gets a 2 year extension. :angry:

So now we have 3 more years of garbage
Mary has what he wanted, over 1.5m for the next 2.5 seasons. If sacked he still will have over 2.5m for this period. SGI knew what they were doing when the extended Mary and won't feel bad when they finally sack him before contracts end. These days they have the funds to cover this and I'm sure have factored this into their deliberations.

So don't give up, I'm sure Mary won't be with us for 2.5 seasons.

The Damo

You know what I think think the tipping point for Mary was? I think it was Aitken’s non-attempt to dive on the loose ball against Easts. Mary strikes me as the sort of coach that backs players that give it their all. That was a particularly lazy piece of play from Aitken and I reckon he’s getting a kick up the ass for it. Don’t be surprised to see him back in the starting side next round though.
Yeah I reckon that was the clincher. In his interview he actually said that Aitken hadn’t been meeting his standards for a few weeks, then that non-effort on top I think was the last straw.
I actually suspect Mary will give Zac a decent shot this time. Barring him having a shocker, Mary tends to stick with his selections when they are done on his version of form and give them time.

The things you point out in your post is the reason most on the forum don't want him as coach......he's clueless. Fittler pointed out last week at half time that we were aimlessly running around without a plan. But he only decides to say that after his mate mary gets a 2 year extension. :angry:
Just look at Bellamy's reaction to Melbourne's loss yesterday.
In his eyes, totally unacceptable and no one's position is safe if they don't perform.
What Hasler has done with a second string Manly outfit is another example.
You can't help but wonder if a serious coach was given our roster and junior nursery to work with, what our potential really is.
Just treading water with McGregor.

Saint_JimmyG

Interesting to pick Jai on the wing... has he played there before? Defence and high ball?

I assume we will loose Hunt in Origin, and Jai will come in. Does it make sense to bring him in on the wing for a game first?

Not convinced with him on the wing tbh... but looking forward to him performing during Origin :)

Nicholls will cover Hunt during SOO.