Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Team v Chooks rd4

SmashEmBro

Probably not, with their 1-5 and Keary and Cordner out

Looks like a change up in the backs, Manu to 5/8th and Drew Hutchensen to 9, with Morris switching to centre. Still doesn’t sound like Sualii will get a run, but hey if they’re going to bring in the next big thing, leaving it as late notice as possible would take a whole heap of pressure off him

LeagueNut

Random stat: Brett Morris has played the most matches against the Warriors (14) without ever losing. This round might be our last chance to put a dent in that record.

Round 10 2006: Warriors 16 Dragons 22
Round 8 2009: Warriors 11 Dragons 12
Round 20 2009: Warriors 4 Dragons 29
Round 13 2010: Warriors 20 Dragons 22
Round 3 2011: Warriors 12 Dragons 25
Round 25 2011: Warriors 22 Dragons 26
Round 25 2012: Warriors 6 Dragons 38
Round 26 2013: Warriors 10 Dragons 19
Round 2 2014: Warriors 12 Dragons 31
Round 7 2014: Warriors 10 Dragons 20
Round 3 2017: Warriors 12 Bulldogs 24
Round 23 2018: Warriors 26 Bulldogs 27
Round 22 2019: Warriors 6 Roosters 42
Round 11 2020: Warriors 10 Roosters 18
Round 4 2021: ???

spear tackle

Random stat: Brett Morris has played the most matches against the Warriors (14) without ever losing. This round might be our last chance to put a dent in that record.

Did Manu Vatuvai ever play in a win against the Dragons? I remember an interview with him where he said it was the only NRL team he'd never beaten but it was a few years before he retired I think.

JJ

I have these memories of Trent Merrin monstering our lads

Scott

Sam Walker debuting against us has the feel of Amos Roberts in 2000, Widdop in 2010 & Luai in 2019. All 3 debuts were spectacular!! Lets hope it doesn't happen again.

Meth

Did Manu Vatuvai ever play in a win against the Dragons? I remember an interview with him where he said it was the only NRL team he'd never beaten but it was a few years before he retired I think.

2016?

Oh...

sup42

The Dragons played a specific plan against the Warriors, and it worked for over twenty years.

Their backs do endless dummy half runs which invariably catches out the Warriors lazy B defenders, because a speedy back will reach that lazy guy jogging back with his back turned every time.

The other thing they did to really exploit the Warriors laziness was to do a Warriors on the Warriors, with multiple off loads....and because the Dragons did not drop the ball or knock on...and because they backed up the runner with a support runner, they beat the Warriors at will better than any club in the NRL.

The Warriors do not play against second phase well at all, it is because they are not hardened to put in effort on effort, they think the work stops when you stop the first hit up...tell me I am wrong.....

TheDMC

The Warriors do not play against second phase well at all, it is because they are not hardened to put in effort on effort, they think the work stops when you stop the first hit up...tell me I am wrong.....

Totally agree - we are absolutely awful at defending against second phase, have been for years.

LeagueNut

Manu vs Dragons - played 11, won 1, lost 10.

Round 13 2005 - Warriors 18 Dragons 32
Round 10 2006 - Warriors 16 Dragons 22
Round 18 2007 - Warriors 44 Dragons 16
Round 24 2008 - Warriors 6 Dragons 34
Round 8 2009 - Warriors 11 Dragons 12
Round 20 2009 - Warriors 4 Dragons 29
Round 13 2010 - Warriors 20 Dragons 22
Round 25 2012 - Warriors 6 Dragons 38
Round 26 2013 - Warriors 10 Dragons 19
Round 7 2014 - Warriors 10 Dragons 20
Round 22 2005 - Warriors 0 Dragons 36

P.S - thank you for the great question, but curse you for giving me a whole new range of stats to look up...

Edit: I've found that Ben Matulino had a 0-11 record against the Dragons while in a Warriors jersey, but then he beat them while playing for the Tigers in 2018.

Meth

Manu vs Dragons - played 11, won 1, lost 10.

Round 13 2005 - Warriors 18 Dragons 32
Round 10 2006 - Warriors 16 Dragons 22
Round 18 2007 - Warriors 44 Dragons 16
Round 24 2008 - Warriors 6 Dragons 34
Round 8 2009 - Warriors 11 Dragons 12
Round 20 2009 - Warriors 4 Dragons 29
Round 13 2010 - Warriors 20 Dragons 22
Round 25 2012 - Warriors 6 Dragons 38
Round 26 2013 - Warriors 10 Dragons 19
Round 7 2014 - Warriors 10 Dragons 20
Round 22 2005 - Warriors 0 Dragons 36

P.S - thank you for the great question, but curse you for giving me a whole new range of stats to look up...

Edit: I've found that Ben Matulino had a 0-11 record against the Dragons while in a Warriors jersey, but then he beat them while playing for the Tigers in 2018.

Was he playing though?

Wasn't on the score sheet

JJ

fox sports reporting Fus to centre and Montoya to wing. Happy with that tbh
Kind of yeah whatever for me

always thought Fus had a big future at centre or fullback, but he’s just been disappointing

Montoya is just, meh...

Blair

I'm feeling a little apprehensive about today's game. The 'waiting around' does that, ay? It's much better just getting straight into it, I reckon.

Don't think about anything but footy in that ;-)

But seriously, the Warriors can be dreadful in this fixture away to the Chooks. It's warm and dry in Sydney, so we might see some nice back play, second-phase moves, and the like. Let's run those big Roosters forwards ragged.

SmashEmBro

I'm feeling a little apprehensive about today's game. The 'waiting around' does that, ay? It's much better just getting straight into it, I reckon.

Don't think about anything but footy in that ;-)

But seriously, the Warriors can be dreadful in this fixture away to the Chooks. It's warm and dry in Sydney, so we might see some nice back play, second-phase moves, and the like. Let's run those big Roosters forwards ragged.

Ive really been looking forward to this weeks game, but yea it’s absolutely dragged.

The Roosters are a good team and really, as long as we’re competitive and show some heart I’m happy.
I’d like to see us offload and back each other up. If we can do that we’ll be in the ball game. If not, Roosters by plenty IMO

nswarrior

Big game today - if we win this we are right in the thick of the action for the season

if we lose it will be a season where we are 9th or 10 and need a few wins to make the 8 all through the season

Blair

With clocks going back an hour in NSW that's another hour to wait for kick-off. FMD.

Friday was a holiday too, so that seemed like Saturday and today seems like Monday night!

FMD x2.

It's still morning here...