Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The 2013/2014 Off Season Thread

You blokes just worked this out?:)

....and less of your money is tied up in the physically depreciating asset (the building).

Good choice Avenger.

Cheers mate. My father's generation are dropping like flies and every funeral I have been to lately gets me thinking about my own mortality and what's important in life. Thought I'd be happy in this stupidly big home but I'm not. Too much maintenance.

Ron Jeremy

How long does it take to get to the city from these two spots?

from clontaff via bus when there is school holidays about 25 min, with kids back at school 40 sometimes, Military rd can be a shit stain, but it isn't that bad coming home from the syd, just early mornings around Balgowlah heights can be initially messey up until Cremone.

From Neutral bay however not far, i walk from my place in Neutral bay to the syd - 30 min to wynyard, many people do it.

Great area mate, you wont see a bogan, good quality of people and rarely ever do you see a fight.

Ron Jeremy

Oh Avenger, depending where you are, better of cathcing ferry, i dont as i am tight arse and valuable betting money.

eels81236

How old are the tin lids? How long will they be eating at home regularly for? There is no use living on top of the cafe's and restaurants if you rarely use them. Save yourself a dollar and move a few streets away. Then as the pains in the ass move out, downsize again to a nice penthouse with no maintenance where you want it and never cook at home regularly again.
Simple in theory.

from clontaff via bus when there is school holidays about 25 min, with kids back at school 40 sometimes, Military rd can be a shit stain, but it isn't that bad coming home from the syd, just early mornings around Balgowlah heights can be initially messey up until Cremone.

From Neutral bay however not far, i walk from my place in Neutral bay to the syd - 30 min to wynyard, many people do it.

Great area mate, you wont see a bogan, good quality of people and rarely ever do you see a fight.

Thanks RJ. Plenty of rich tradie bogans here in the Shire but around the Hacking River is super nice with top people . It's just that I have done it all already here. I'm a bit bored of it.

I have a battle on my hands though. Mrs Avenger is hellbent on the east. Proper east not where Maroubra Eel lives.

Time is on my side, My daughter doesn't finish school until next year.

Delboy

My dad always told me rent is 100% interest! try to avoid it

That was from someone who came back from the war and rented, go figure

An old dude parked his car on Bondi Beach today. For those who know the area, getting the car all the way onto the sand is not easy. Well done Digger.

1013727_10152209737299015_15988138_n.jpg

It is definitely wasted money in the context of your nest egg, but what price living in a good location? I lived in a shit hole when I was a child and I don't want my kids to go through the same thing just so I can avoid contributing to some other merkin's mortgage.

The idea has some merit, but given our current tax system, so does renting the place you live in and borrowing against a rental property. Who'd a thunkit?

I guess it largely comes down to the relative rental and ownership markets which move together closely for apartments etc, but can be quite different for detatched houses.

Question: If you won one of those lottery homes on the Gold Coast, would you keep it or sell it?