Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The 2014/15 Off Season Thread

It's funny how how little things make you happy. Here I am in Bangalow at the local pub and a fairly large lizard is just roaming around freely. I love this part of the world.

Water Dragons mate, they are every where up here

They occasionally drop into my pool for a swim but they shit in the pool

Still there it seems. We used to hang on our own little beach and drink beer like the Corona ads.

the greenies will never allow it to be developed

Byron shire has 10 green councillors and one labour, libs not allowed

the greenies will never allow it to be developed

Byron shire has 10 green councillors and one labour, libs not allowed

Well that bunch will certainly keeps those pesky jobs away, which will keep prices down and development at a minimum.

#NotInMyBackYard

No development allowed in Bryon, Maccas and KFC have tried for ages but they wont allow them.

There is no land available, you have to buy an old development then knock it down but good luck trying to get development approval for a replacement.

If its a 3 storey walk up you lodge the plans with council then in the land and environment court the next day because every development gets refused but state govt approval will over ride it in the courts and take 2 years so people have stopped trying.

Unemployment is high by choice, they dont wanna work.

Joshuatheeel

Really byron is what it is because of the greens/lefties - while it is pretty f**k crowded now in peak season and a hell of a lot more developed then it was 20 years ago, it still has that hippie feel to it. Development that the greens/lefties have stopped would have totally destroyed the place/hippie vibe there thus potentially killing the tourism trade that visit because of its "cultured" type feel.

There are plenty of other coastal towns out that developers can run a muck in - gee my coastal town is a developers paradise at the moment, totally changing the whole town with one of the biggest development projects a nsw town has seen.

Agree. As much as the tree huggers are in everybody's sights for everything, what would the shire be like without them ? Just another Port Macquarie or Coffs Harbour I reckon.

Thanks Twiz re: water dragons. I'm at Main Beach today. It's perfect. Not too crowded. Mostly families and locals. Going to the Beach Hotel for lunch. Later dudes.

Always good when jobs are being created. Obviously there are sectors however that are retrenching.

Bottom line is that it's a negative result with more people losing jobs than jobs being created.

Numbers will look worse next time they crunch the numbers as the 2014 school leavers will be added.

Maybe next time Gronk, or the time after.

Then again, I think all these figures should be taken with a grain, make that a mountain, of salt.

http://www.smh.com.au/business/the-...to-61-37000-jobs-created-20150115-12qors.html

Someone

fox sports 1 are having 'club days' over the next few weeks, the Eels are on this Sunday. I think its like 12 classic games from over the years. just a heads up.

I saw that there is Sharks game from 2005ish. Is that the game we won 70+ ?? I'd like to see that again. I was at the game and the Sharks players just imploded.