Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The 8th immortal?

Who's your 8th immortal?

Lockyer captained club, state and country to victory in 2006 (4th premiership), if not for a knee reco he would've captained 6 straight origin series.

Daley took over the NSW captaincy at age 22 with numerous rookies/inexperienced guys in the side.

QLD could of won the last 4 series without Lockyer.

mongoose

Cronins 4 fair dinkum premierships beat Meningas 3 cheated ones. And if you count BRL comps I'll count his 2 for the Gerringong Lions.

Cronin has not only a grandstand, but an entire GROUND named after him. He has TWO medals named after him. Cronin was also scored the only points in a winning GF. Meninga bludged off the work of others.

As for his disgraceful series of sooks, he should be ineligible!

Cheated? Stop being such a troll, we were over the cap in 91, the year we lost the GF. I think most people here know deep down that Mal is front runner to be the next immortal. Just leave the great man alone. He's an icon of the game and a household name all over the world. :)

Mr Fourex

Cronins 4 fair dinkum premierships beat Meningas 3 cheated ones. And if you count BRL comps I'll count his 2 for the Gerringong Lions.

Cronin has not only a grandstand, but an entire GROUND named after him. He has TWO medals named after him. Cronin was also scored the only points in a winning GF. Meninga bludged off the work of others.

As for his disgraceful series of sooks, he should be ineligible!

You're really reaching now aren't you.........:roll:

I'm still waiting for you to put your mate Sludge's record up against Meninga's

Let's see how that stacks up......

Alfie.Scared me whenever he got the ball against the bears.4 premierships to Johns 2,Johns played hooker to KIMMORELY,when i think of Johns in Origin i can recall that game in 2005 and getting dropped by Jamie Goddard and thats about it.

I think you mean 1997.

Tommy Smith

Ultimately, i would like to see the new ARL Commission re-invent the Hall of Fame, with an actual HoF museum somewhere at NRL HQ including a separate "Immortals" wing. They could also start up a website honouring these players in the HoF because they don't even have one!

Id also like to see them implement a 5-year retirement rule, maintaining the current 36 players in the HoF. And at the conclusion of Rnd 26 they could have this "Immortals" ceremony by inducting five pre-WWII Immortals and five post-WWII players, including one Immortal. Then every year they can have a HoF ceremony and ballot like they do in the NFL.

So you've currently got:

Pre-WWII:------------- Post-WWII

Dally Messenger-------- Clive Churchill - Immortal
Dave Brown------------ Reg Gasnier - Immortal
Wally Prigg------------- Johnny Raper - Immortal
Harry Bath-------------- Graeme Langlands - Immortal
Harold Horder----------- Bob Fulton - Immortal
Frank Burge------------- Wally Lewis - Immortal
Vic Hey----------------- Keith Holman
Jimmy Craig------------- Arhtur Beetson - Immortal
Chris McKivat------------ Mal Meninga
Duncan Thompson------- Norm Provan
Sid 'Sandy' Pearce------- Ken Irvine
George Treweek--------- Brian Bevan
Arthur 'Pony' Holloway---- Brian Carlson
Joe Pearce--------------- Ron Coote
Charles Fraser----------- Ken Kearney
Tom Gorman------------- Duncan Hall
------------------------ --Peter Sterling
---------------------------Harry Wells
---------------------------Keith Barnes
---------------------------Mick Cronin

And that's according to wikipedia because i can't find an actual ARL source.

So this year i'd induct the following five pre-WWII Immortals:

Dally Messenger
Harold Horder
Duncan Thompson
Frank Burge
Dave Brown

All are just as worthy as the post-WWII Immortals so it's time they were showed the same respect.

As for post-WWII id include:

Noel Kelly
Steve Rogers
Glenn Lazarus
Laurie Daley
Alfie Langer

Id be just as happy to see the likes of Ken Thornett, Billy Smith, Eric Grothe Sr, Brett Kenny, Ray Price, Brad Clyde, Brad Fittler, Andrew Johns. They'll get their turn no doubt.

with Norm Provan named the next Immortal.

I'd look at adding Joey as an Immortal in 2013.

Jason Maher

A couple of points of order:

- Ryan Girdler holds most of the Origin points scoring records ascribed to Meninga by fourskin
- Goddard vs Johns was 1997
- Rod Wishart is clearly the next Immortal

Big Pete

Jason Maher said:
- Ryan Girdler holds most of the Origin points scoring records ascribed to Meninga by fourskin

Girdler kicked the most goals in a match for Queensland?

He was right about having the most points in Origin by the by.

Tommy Smith

Longevity/no. of Tests should not be the key factor in selecting an Immortal. Steve Waugh was not a better batsman than Don Bradman.

Just as Mal Meninga was in no way a better Rugby League player than Andrew Johns. It's really not even close.

Jason Maher

Girdler kicked the most goals in a match for Queensland?

He was right about having the most points in Origin by the by.

Missed the "for Queensland" bit. Thought he mentioned most points in a match as well. This is why you use the quote button. ;-)

Anyway, here are the reasons Ryan Girdler should be an Immortal:

- an Illawarra junior
- a better goal kicker than either Mal or Crow
- most points in an Origin match and series (32 and 52)
- equal most tries in an Origin match (3)
- I'm sure he played for Australia at some point or other
- he's the only bloke on the Footy Show who's marginally funny
- the ladies love him

Mr Fourex

Missed the "for Queensland" bit. Thought he mentioned most points in a match as well. This is why you use the quote button. ;-)

Anyway, here are the reasons Ryan Girdler should be an Immortal:

- an Illawarra junior
- a better goal kicker than either Mal or Crow
- most points in an Origin match and series (32 and 52)
- equal most tries in an Origin match (3)
- I'm sure he played for Australia at some point or other
- he's the only bloke on the Footy Show who's marginally funny
- the ladies love him

Yeah........I'd say you miss out on quite a few things JM

Brains being one of them

Ryan Girdler.......FFS !!!

Fourex he is joking...lighten up.

For the record though i think David Baysari and Tricky Trindel should be nominees....i though about Ewen McGrady, but i dont think he would turn up to the event so i eliminated him

Mr Fourex

Well.........it's hard to tell with some of the shit that comes out of his keyboard, whether he's serious or not.

Apologies Jason.

:)