Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Bachelor 'How To' Thread

Misanthrope

Why called hobo stew?

Because it's something a homeless guy could throw together on the road. Vegetables, meat, some gravy - pop it in tin foil and throw it in the fire.

Also I assume you mix everything together before wrapping it in the foil.

Cut up the veggies, toss it all in, and let it cook.

roopy

the proper way to cook bubble and squeak is to put a bit of onion and an egg for every three cupfulls of vegetables into a mix that is about half mashed potato and the rest anything you want.
once you make up that mix you get a handfull of mix and roll it in flour, then fry it in butter.
Since all the veges are already cooked, you just need to let the heat go through it to cook the egg and let the flour and butter form a crust on the outside. It only takes a minute to cook.

IanG

the proper way to cook bubble and squeak is to put a bit of onion and an egg for every three cupfulls of vegetables into a mix that is about half mashed potato and the rest anything you want.
once you make up that mix you get a handfull of mix and roll it in flour, then fry it in butter.
Since all the veges are already cooked, you just need to let the heat go through it to cook the egg and let the flour and butter form a crust on the outside. It only takes a minute to cook.

YUM! I've made it with a combo of mashed potato and pumpkin along with other veges. Including cabbage.

My bachelor tip is:
Toothpaste can be used to cover up holes in walls from nails & tacks to get you through the agents inspection.
Hey! it means you get your bond back without repainting!

IanG

no one has said the obvious - a cooked chook once a week can turn into half a dozen meals - chicken salad - chicken stir fry - just a bit of chook when you are hungry.

You're on the money there. 2 at a time. I get the COLD ones from Red Lea (Chickadea) Usually about $6 each.

a loaf of bread in the freezer is good. two slices in the microwave for 15 seconds gives you fresh bread whenever you want it - rather than throwing out two thirds of a loaf every second day.

A must along with some rolls as well.

I also buy the heat treated milk because you can always have 5 or six in the fridge rather than running out of fresh milk all the time.
I've been doing that for year.

Some great ideas in here! The ones myself and my housemate have/use a lot are:

- Toasted sangers

A staple but more often than not have them for breakfast.

- Variety of microwaveable stuff
I make my own by making meals and putting them in containers.

- The pasta & sauce meal
Always have packets in them in the cupboard

- Wok + heaps of rice (lots of our meals come through those two)
I just use a frypan and cook rice in the microwave.

- Frozen vegies that you can quickly boil up, usually gets thrown in the above
Not only Frozen Mixed Veges but also peas and beans.

- The $8-$12 roast/pub meal/all you can eat at your local RSL/pub. For you Brissy people I visit the Greenbank RSL once a week and they have some good cheap feeds, and great steaks!!!
Yeah I often get the Chef's special if it's any good at the Diggers. $11 but if I have my $3 off coupon it only costs me $8 for a meal

- The only one I can think of adding, is to avoid having Maccas/KFC/HJ's more than once or twice a week as you will stay pretty healthy and is $20+ saved that you can put towards that slab of beer :D
I very rarely have those. Lats time I had Maccas was a month ago and even then it was breakfast.

Misanthrope

How did I forget the good old, Bilo/Coles/Woolies BBQ chook? Usually dirt cheap if you head in 30-60 minutes before closing time. Hell, working there, I'd get 2-4 of them for $2 each on a slow day. Food for the rest of the fortnight if you prepare it right :lol:

IanG

How did I forget the good old, Bilo/Coles/Woolies BBQ chook? Usually dirt cheap if you head in 30-60 minutes before closing time. Hell, working there, I'd get 2-4 of them for $2 each on a slow day. Food for the rest of the fortnight if you prepare it right :lol:

Only bummer is the cold ones usually sell out early. So you need to get there early in the morning to get them I've also bought the hot ones when reduced as well. but I put 'em in the fridge as soon as I get home.

IanG

Here's one that hasn't been mentioned.

Find out where the nearest 24/7 Servo is. It can be an absolute lifesaver if you run out of something late at night

IanG

Yeah your not wrong there Dutchy.

But alot of the recipes within are Bachelor Chow only. Could cause damage to Married and taken men

IanG

I'll add something else too.

Pizza Hut at the moment have what they call a "Dinner Box" combo for $24.95. A rectangular shaped Pizza, a Tuscani Pasta, Garlic Bread and 6 chicken wings with creamy garlic dipping sauce.
That's my dinner for 3 nights. Had the pizza ad garlic bread for dinner last night, tonight having the pasta (I got the meatball nepolitana) and the Chicken Wings tomorrow night, just cook up some frozen mixed veges, easy as.

IanG

IanGs Christmas Bachelor tips.

To save yourself from cooking in that period between Christmas and New Years.

- Get a couple of salads whatever you like. For me its pasta and potato salads.

- A couple of the all purpose Woolies chooks.

- If you've had a ham that'll also last well into the New Year.

- Try and swipe as many left overs from the rellies as you can.

- Also buy a pudding at the supermarket when they open back up again. Chances are they've been reduced for quick sale. That and a carton of custard and thats desert. If they have the ones in a tin then get 2 and keep the other one for next year

- Do plenty of grazing too. You'll be bound to have plenty of chips and lollies left over. In my case they were a bunch of stocking fillers.

IanG

If your microwave kacks itself and you need to heat your plated dinner up in the oven. Cover the plate with al-foil and pre heat the oven to 100c and then put it in there for 1 hour or until it's heated through. I can't take credit for this because I asked about this on another thread when mine kacked itself a while back.