Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Bomber Morris Issue

So you are looking at replacing a coach who has upset his underperforming players with a list of coaches known for upsetting their underperforming players.
Hasler will never leave manly
Bellamy won’t ever coach against the storm
Bennett if you want the cap worse than it is now
Macguire will sack Fifita straight away
Flanagan can duck off
Green nothing without JT
Toovey, why is he high profile? Because he was on fox sports?
McDermott struggled with an open cheque book at Wolfpack. Never tried in the nrl. Style wouldn’t translate.
And most of those coaches would have found a way of moving those underperforming players on somehow someway.
Bennett example Burgess retires, Roberts walks away from contract, where are we at Moylan won't go, Graham he is best mate.
Fifita was getting more unfit as season went but Bomber still picked him

snout

Hannays probably the worst signing this clubs ever made and we are in the grand final with some previous efforts.
We have needed a thorough top to bottom cleanout since the great night Oct 2.

A sheens.
Henry.
Toovey.
An old hard head as a 2nd.
Nouse.
Success.
Balls.

Morris will pay the price for this mates roster of crocks bludgers and posers as hes been shored up with a bloke of hannays non-stature

Tiger Shark

Hannays probably the worst signing this clubs ever made and we are in the grand final with some previous efforts.
We have needed a thorough top to bottom cleanout since the great night Oct 2.

A sheens.
Henry.
Toovey.
An old hard head as a 2nd.
Nouse.
Success.
Balls.

Morris will pay the price for this mates roster of crocks bludgers and posers as hes been shored up with a bloke of hannays non-stature

Why's he the worst signing we've ever made ?

snout

Why's he the worst signing we've ever made ?
Coaching wise.

He comes to us with a resume that wouldnt get him a job with high school footy team.

In the history of this game when a head coach has been sacked the interim has immediate success. Its a simple formula. The players are rejuvenated with the change and want to show it was him - not them.

Not only were the cowboys worse when hannay took over from green...they went from bad to very bad to diabolical.
I purposely watched a couple of his pressos to see what he was like in the headlights because it amazed me how he made them worse and he was clueless.
He exuded all the hope and inspiration of a bloke on deathrow. It mades sense then. A team that was full of stars and needed someone to believe in...someone to just get them enjoying it again.
Hannay ain't the guy.
Good luck bomber

Craigshark

I remember the cackles and bleating with the terrible signing of Steve Price back I the day....

yeah but Flanagan at least was somewhat experienced and a bit of a hard arse. Morris needed a hard arse with experience and no desire to be the top coach. Hannay isn’t any of those.

Tiger Shark

Coaching wise.

He comes to us with a resume that wouldnt get him a job with high school footy team.

In the history of this game when a head coach has been sacked the interim has immediate success. Its a simple formula. The players are rejuvenated with the change and want to show it was him - not them.

Not only were the cowboys worse when hannay took over from green...they went from bad to very bad to diabolical.
I purposely watched a couple of his pressos to see what he was like in the headlights because it amazed me how he made them worse and he was clueless.
He exuded all the hope and inspiration of a bloke on deathrow. It mades sense then. A team that was full of stars and needed someone to believe in...someone to just get them enjoying it again.
Hannay ain't the guy.
Good luck bomber

So what was your opinion on Sandercock?

Chimp

McDermott struggled with an open cheque book at Wolfpack. Never tried in the nrl. Style wouldn’t translate.

Have to take issue with this - McDermott inherited a squad that had been put together by Argyle where he’d paid ridiculous overs on long term deals whilst in the lower leagues - Ricky Leutele was the highest paid centre in the rugby league world, playing in the league below Super League. They only played 6 games in Super League and struggled to get 17 players on the pitch as their salary cap was so goosed, they could only afford a 25 squad. They actually had to play a trialist in 4 of those 6 games to make up a 17 man squad. McDermott cannot be judged on any of his time at the Wolfpack.
Instead look at Leeds where he became the most successful coach in Super League history.
Winning the title numerous times, with a fair turn over in squad throughout his tenure, including a title win after losing 3 of the clubs champion stalwarts.
McDermott isn’t particularly a technical coach, but an outstanding motivator and someone who helps nurture a winning team culture.

snout

So what was your opinion on Sandercock?
I was at a coaching seminar about 5 years ago and trent barrett and kimmorley and some other ex-players were were keynote speakers.
Barrett was hands down the standout. Very impressive.
Explained the complexities of the game in simple and well thought out contexts. Well spoken. Intelligent. Motivational.
It is no surprise to me a team like penrith were massive under-achievers last year under lvan but then win the comp a season later after barrett joins them.
No surprise their halves went to 11 on the dial working with him.

His time at sea eagles was a non-event. For a number of reasons beyond his control.

In answer to sandercock l have no idea.
With coaching I put a lot of stock in listening to a guy and hearing his philiospohies- hearing him after a win or a loss.
Seibold was exhibit A. He could send an insomniac into a coma. Broncs wouldve been yawning in the warm-up.
That was my previous point about me listening to hannay.
Massively underwhelming. Backed up by the performances of the cows when he took over.

2012....Sharks Year

I was at a coaching seminar about 5 years ago and trent barrett and kimmorley and some other ex-players were were keynote speakers.
Barrett was hands down the standout. Very impressive.
Explained the complexities of the game in simple and well thought out contexts. Well spoken. Intelligent. Motivational.
It is no surprise to me a team like penrith were massive under-achievers last year under lvan but then win the comp a season later after barrett joins them.
No surprise their halves went to 11 on the dial working with him.

His time at sea eagles was a non-event. For a number of reasons beyond his control.

In answer to sandercock l have no idea.
With coaching I put a lot of stock in listening to a guy and hearing his philiospohies- hearing him after a win or a loss.
Seibold was exhibit A. He could send an insomniac into a coma. Broncs wouldve been yawning in the warm-up.
That was my previous point about me listening to hannay.
Massively underwhelming. Backed up by the performances of the cows when he took over.
Proof in the pudding will be how Barrett goes at the dogs over the next couple of years although intelligent is not a term I’d associate with him. Plenty have used the term “dumb as dog shit”. Pennies didn’t win the comp either mate.

So Bombers assistants have been

Dymock
Sandercock
Hannay

I am noticing that none of them are going to question him, or experienced enough to basically go to the board.

If he is a coach like Robinson, Bellamy, Bennett then you can understand young guys.

Even Flanno had Steve Price former first grade coach, and I believe was a Bennett assistant

snout

Proof in the pudding will be how Barrett goes at the dogs over the next couple of years although intelligent is not a term I’d associate with him. Plenty have used the term “dumb as dog shit”. Pennies didn’t win the comp either mate.
They won the minor premiership.
The true test of the best team all year.

Im just providing a summary of his presentation at a coaching seminar.
I was there. I heard what he had to say and how he spoke.
He came to the pennies this year.
They won the comp.

Why do you say hes not intelligent?
Whos the 'plenty'?....can you provide just one name?

carinashark

I really like bomber, he has brought on the younger guys ,kept us in the eight whilst playing games with three millstones around his neck. If he can last this season he will be rid of Flanno’s excesses. But will he? Hannay is a safe choice as assistant. Like you drop Bomber and get Josh, so don’t drop Bomber. But what if you loose 9 in a row? As it is a clean out of Biblical proportions is on the horizon. That might get players more motivated, but with signings like Tolman wins might be thin on the ground. Bomber has to keep improving the younger players, keep that core and look for more. No more Tolmans,Woods and Moylan. Say goodbye to Chad,FiFi and Graham they have earned their place in Sharks history.

Tiger Shark

They won the minor premiership.
The true test of the best team all year.

Im just providing a summary of his presentation at a coaching seminar.
I was there. I heard what he had to say and how he spoke.
He came to the pennies this year.
They won the comp.

Why do you say hes not intelligent?
Whos the 'plenty'?
Can you provide just one name?

Are you referring to Barrett ? pretty sure the Panthers didn't win the comp.

And to confirm you're completely writing off Hannay and having a sook about it but didn't form an opinion on Sandercock last year when we signed him who has a less inspiring track record. Got it.

Bomber has appointed some assistants with a track record not to write home about.

Wasn't the club looking at Sheen's to mentor Bomber, and did he not block that