Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Case for Adelaide.....

The Great Dane

You know banning pokies (or gambling in general) won't stop people gambling and/or getting addicted to gambling, it'll just push it into the dark, away from where people are offered support if they need it, away from where it can be taxed and controlled, to a place where none of the profit goes back into the community in positive ways, and instead of just filing for bankruptcy terrible things happen to people that can't pay their debts...

God help us if Pokies are banned, and not because of any effect it'll have on RL, or sport in general, but because prohibition doesn't work and it's effects on the community would be way worse than any that pokies (or gambling in general) could ever have!

The Great Dane

I think within the next decade we might start to see them only allowed in casinos, or other licensed venues at a much more limited capacity. Any business (or NRL club) who's survival depends on gambling money may be looking a bit dire if this is the case
So instead of at least some of the money being fed back into the community in positive ways it'll all go into some fat cat casino owners back pocket.

Corrupt pollies and their rich mates will love that idea.

greenBV4

So instead of at least some of the money being fed back into the community in positive ways it'll all go into some fat cat casino owners back pocket.

Corrupt pollies and their rich mates will love that idea.
not saying i agree with it, just what I think
The casino's are too politically powerfull for there pokies to be taken away

The Great Dane

not saying i agree with it, just what I think
The casino's are too politically powerfull for there pokies to be taken away
The pro sport industry is at least as politically powerful, if not significantly more so if you could get every disparate part united behind the same cause.

I mean imagine the political power that the AFL, NRL, CA, etc, could wield if they were all pushing the same political agenda. It's actually a kind of scary thought.

greenBV4

The pro sport industry is at least as politically powerful, if not significantly more so if you could get every disparate part united behind the same cause.

I mean imagine the political power that the AFL, NRL, CA, etc, could wield if they were all pushing the same political agenda. It's actually a kind of scary thought.
true, although a good majority of AFL clubs are moving away from it of their own decisions, only 5 of the victorian clubs have licenses past 2022, and 3 of those don't need the income for their bottom line - so the AFL might not bother supporting keeping them if it came to that

either way, if more NRL clubs could become less pokie reliant the better, it means more funds could actually go to the community and the clubs would be safer if such legislation ever did come in

You know banning pokies (or gambling in general) won't stop people gambling and/or getting addicted to gambling, it'll just push it into the dark, away from where people are offered support if they need it, away from where it can be taxed and controlled, to a place where none of the profit goes back into the community in positive ways, and instead of just filing for bankruptcy terrible things happen to people that can't pay their debts...

God help us if Pokies are banned, and not because of any effect it'll have on RL, or sport in general, but because prohibition doesn't work and it's effects on the community would be way worse than any that pokies (or gambling in general) could ever have!

as we have seen with smoking, a combination of education and restricting ease of access leads to reduction in usage. and that’s before we go into the morality of rl clubs relying on gambling to be relevant

taipan

It's not rocket science.
NRL clubs are fully aware of the issues with poker machines.They just have to look at reduced turnover within their Licensed clubs.Some clubs now are reducing their reliance.
Likewise they would be also aware of the uncertainty of FTA TV and Pay TV in the future.
That's why upgraded stadiums are a must for the future to encourage attendance and membership, and chasing other income sources.

titoelcolombiano

I think ideally Adelaide should be a relocation... possibly with a brand tweaking. But if you're going to bring in Adelaide then kill 2 birds with 1 stone and push a Sydney club out.

Sea Eagles are native to Adelaide.... there's your two birds (no pun intended) one stone.
  • Brooky problem solved - tick
  • Australia's 5th biggeset market gets a team - tick
  • Sea Eagles brand and history stays in the NRL - tick
  • Frees up the entirey of Sydney north of the harbour for the Roosters to take ownership of - tick

MugaB

Sea Eagles are native to Adelaide.... there's your two birds (no pun intended) one stone.
  • Brooky problem solved - tick
  • Australia's 5th biggeset market gets a team - tick
  • Sea Eagles brand and history stays in the NRL - tick
  • Frees up the entirey of Sydney north of the harbour for the Roosters to take ownership of - tick
Ahhh but the colors are wrong, swap the teams around tito.
Roosters are the SA colors,
Currently no SFS, so no stadium,and dont really need it, tick. No juniors, to worry about, tick, no fans turn up, tick, no real need to be in sydney, where as manly couldnt survive a relocation, Roosters would thrive

titoelcolombiano

Currently no SFS, so no stadium,and dont really need it, tick. No juniors, to worry about, tick, no fans turn up, tick, no real need to be in sydney, where as manly couldnt survive a relocation, Roosters would thrive

I'd agree with that but Uncle Nick has bought half of Bondi for the Roosters so they aren't going anywhere. They are one of the most financially stable clubs in the league now with a very solid asset base.

The Great Dane

as we have seen with smoking, a combination of education and restricting ease of access leads to reduction in usage. and that’s before we go into the morality of rl clubs relying on gambling to be relevant
Smoking rates were already going down simply as people were becoming more aware of it's dangers, the same is true of problem gambling BTW, so we don't need to introduce draconian laws that infringe on peoples freedoms to get them to change their behaviour, just educate them and they'll do it themselves.

In fact many studies show that drug use went up, way up, after the introduction of strict drug laws and that a similar thing is happening with nicotine in younger generations. It's seems that if you ban or try to curtail certain things that it makes it edgy and cool to take part in those things as a minor form of rebellion against the status quo.

It's also a slippery slope. It starts with drugs and gambling but it doesn't end there because all the same arguments that are made to try to curtail or ban the use those can be used for all sorts of things, and if you give people that power they will take it, and they already are.
Contact sports is a great example, there're already people calling for children to be banned from playing contact sports on the same grounds as they do cigarettes or other drugs, and it's only a matter of time before that expands to banning them outright.

Smoking and gambling aren't really comparable either as smoking can impact on peoples rights in a way that gambling simply can't, but that is a whole other discussion.

The Great Dane

Sure but the White-breasted Sea Eagle (i.e. the type in Manly) are found across half the globe, so it's not that impressive lol.

Removing the only team in North Sydney just doesn't make any sense.

Smoking rates were already going down simply as people were becoming more aware of it's dangers, the same is true of problem gambling BTW, so we don't need to introduce draconian laws that infringe on peoples freedoms to get them to change their behaviour, just educate them and they'll do it themselves.

In fact many studies show that drug use went up, way up, after the introduction of strict drug laws and that a similar thing is happening with nicotine in younger generations. It's seems that if you ban or try to curtail certain things that it makes it edgy and cool to take part in those things as a minor form of rebellion against the status quo.

It's also a slippery slope. It starts with drugs and gambling but it doesn't end there because all the same arguments that are made to try to curtail or ban the use those can be used for all sorts of things, and if you give people that power they will take it, and they already are.
Contact sports is a great example, there're already people calling for children to be banned from playing contact sports on the same grounds as they do cigarettes or other drugs, and it's only a matter of time before that expands to banning them outright.

Smoking and gambling aren't really comparable either as smoking can impact on peoples rights in a way that gambling simply can't, but that is a whole other discussion.

Ah if only life was so simple and people did what was best for them. Of course it isnt and the researchers suggest the social ostracisation of smokers and the banning of it indoors has been one of the biggest motivating factors for stopping. Like gambling the easier to access and more socially ok it is the more people will do it, regardless of its health or social impacts.

Now you could be very liberal and say its people lifes and if they want to f**k them up thats on them. There is a strong argument for personal responsibility for sure, but like wearing seat belts, or motorcycle helmets or banning smoking indoors etc Govt's feel a responsibility to protect people from themselves (and major capitalist influencers that would love to see you drinking 5litres of coke a day to wash down the three KFC meals)

The contact sport argument is a nice straw argument as there are many many health and social gains from playing sport and the Govt knows this. Sht they let people beat hell out of each other in a cage so I think RL is safe for now lol.
Protecting people from getting brain injuries that cause them to have dementia in later life is not a bad idea and risk minimization is the goal, not risk eradication (which understandably is the AMA's goal).

As for pokie use, if you dont think access plays a major part look at pokie use in WA compared to NSW and tell me your argument. Fortunately pokie use is declining, but the bad news is losses per user are still climbing.

But back to the morality issue, for a sport that wants to be seen as a social values organisation it is at odds with clubs relying on gambling for funding. We'll get there as more clubs wean themselves off it but we are still a long way to go, especially in NSW.
Just look at the expansion debate, the strength of many Brisbane bids has been put up due to their pokie revenue.

titoelcolombiano

Sure but the White-breasted Sea Eagle (i.e. the type in Manly) are found across half the globe, so it's not that impressive lol.

Removing the only team in North Sydney just doesn't make any sense.

I don't think it's a big deal for the Sydney Roosters to take over the area in partnership with the North Sydney Bears. Manly do little for greater northern Sydney anyway. AFL and Union don't need a pro team based on the north of the harbour to have a following from there.

I think that's certainly the way forward for clubs. Pokies have been as much a crutch as a revenue stream (maybe more), and if curtailing them - and the damage they do to communities - forces clubs to find more constructive revenue streams, it's a GOOD THING.

If it also means some clubs have to relocate to open other revenue streams & stay in the top tier, so be it - the game will benefit from a wider footprint. We just have to be sure that the NRL co-ordinates things to re-zone Sydney appropriately to cater to any changes in the top tier. A big ask, but necessary.
Pokies aren't a good thing by any means, but getting rid of them won't rub gambling out of society.

Gamblers will just become more internet savvy and go online to trawl gambling sites, and lose a hell lot more as there's more games for them to choose from and they can do it any time, from the comfort of their home and work. Any attempt by the government to censor them will just lead to people using a proxy service to access these sites.

The one benefit from Leagues Clubs is the money goes back into the community.

I don't think it's a big deal for the Sydney Roosters to take over the area in partnership with the North Sydney Bears. Manly do little for greater northern Sydney anyway. AFL and Union don't need a pro team based on the north of the harbour to have a following from there.

I agree with this. Manly's attendances when they were winning premierships were mediocre. Brookvale Oval is not up to NRL standard. Manly has an "us vs them" mentality that limits their appeal to a small area of Sydney. Many of their fans appear to prefer RU anyway.

If Swans and Waratahs fans from Manly and its surrounds can travel across the bridge to the SCG/SFS then there's no reason Sea Eagles fans cannot do it. Getting from the outskirts of Brisbane to Lang Park on a Friday night is a nightmare, but plenty of people manage it.

Roosters can absorb Manly and North Sydney territory and promote the shit out of their brand to the kids who are yet to form an allegiance. That's where the growth for the Roosters will come.

Manly could easily become a Gosford or Adelaide club. Both cities have great stadiums and are ready for a team. Regional NSW is crying out for better representation and it would be easier to convince clubs to choose places like Gosford and Illawarra over Adelaide and Perth.

Western Tigers/Magpies > Perth
Illawarra Dragons > Wollongong
Central Coast Sea Eagles > Gosford
OR
Adelaide Sea Eagles > Adelaide

Need to swap the white for yellow and you’re there.

Or this to be exact..

state-colours.jpg

reanimate

I agree with this. Manly's attendances when they were winning premierships were mediocre. Brookvale Oval is not up to NRL standard. Manly has an "us vs them" mentality that limits their appeal to a small area of Sydney. Many of their fans appear to prefer RU anyway.
People here follow the Shute Shield- the attraction? The local based teams, people like the Rats vs Marlins derbies (and versing Norths and Gordon to a lesser extent) and even then the appeal is small. Not many people care about the Waratahs, as their attendances and tv ratings would attest. They’d probably go and see them more often if there was a good Northern stadium with modern facilities that the Waratahs could take regular games to.
If Swans and Waratahs fans from Manly and its surrounds can travel across the bridge to the SCG/SFS then there's no reason Sea Eagles fans cannot do it. Getting from the outskirts of Brisbane to Lang Park on a Friday night is a nightmare, but plenty of people manage it.
It’s actually faster for people from Parramatta to get to the SFS via public transport than it is for people living on the Northern Beaches, yet no one begrudges them getting a new stadium, or ever suggests they (or any of the other teams near them like the Bulldogs etc) should go and play out of the SFS. And between Parramatta and the SFS you also have ANZ.

People here follow the Shute Shield- the attraction? The local based teams, people like the Rats vs Marlins derbies (and versing Norths and Gordon to a lesser extent) and even then the appeal is small. Not many people care about the Waratahs, as their attendances and tv ratings would attest. They’d probably go and see them more often if there was a good Northern stadium with modern facilities that the Waratahs could take regular games to.

It’s actually faster for people from Parramatta to get to the SFS via public transport than it is for people living on the Northern Beaches, yet no one begrudges them getting a new stadium, or ever suggests they (or any of the other teams near them like the Bulldogs etc) should go and play out of the SFS. And between Parramatta and the SFS you also have ANZ.

RL needs to maintain a presence north of Bradfield highway. Ie Manly, barring any financial catastrophe, needs to remain locked in as far as I’m concerned.

expansionist

My little input on this..

My company supports RL quite a lot.. and all of that is as im based in Brisbane, however my head office is actually Adelaide!

I can confirm that they know of 'rugby'.

My CEO went to Rams games! think about this, the CEO of a multinational company went to Rams games, and since then has had no one to support.

He said they all support their AFL team and then if theres an ADL rugby team they support it.

Sponsor dollars are there, population is there, facilities are there.

My little input on this..

My company supports RL quite a lot.. and all of that is as im based in Brisbane, however my head office is actually Adelaide!

I can confirm that they know of 'rugby'.

My CEO went to Rams games! think about this, the CEO of a multinational company went to Rams games, and since then has had no one to support.

He said they all support their AFL team and then if theres an ADL rugby team they support it.

Sponsor dollars are there, population is there, facilities are there.

Cheers mate!

Some good insight.