Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The final ANZAC Day clash to be Pay TV only...I hope

Yay....more ads

Yay...live

Yay....free and accessible!!!!!!!!!

FTA would ruin the ANZAC match

its not ARLC's fault people cant afford foxtel
Thanks for that brainless post you dense baboon.

Poxtel can f*ck of and go bankrupt for all I care.

And if C9 cant show Dragons v Chooks, I hope they have the sense to run Chips Rafferty and Rats of Trobruk, so I can tape it and replay it after I listen to Wok and Thirsty!

JamesBrandy

I don't see why when there is 2 games on at the same time, they can't have one on 90 and the other Go or Gem.

Does anybody actually tune in to watch 'Fresh Prince of Bel Air' re-reruns on Anzac Day afternoon?

Parra

It is a good day for footy.

A bit like the thanksgiving game in NFL. Will be followed regardless of the quality of the game or the teams involved. Probably needs to involve other teams.

It is a good day for footy.

A bit like the thanksgiving game in NFL. Will be followed regardless of the quality of the game or the teams involved. Probably needs to involve other teams.

Whatever the match-up - FTA.

Why would a live broadcast of the ANZAC Day RL match on free-to-air ruin the ANZAC match? The coverage wouldn't be any different to what we get during Origin on FTA (one ad after a try ect..)

Don't you think allowing anyone who has a TV to watch an NRL "event style" game played in front of a big crowd would be a good thing??

I've got Pay TV so on a personal level it doesn't bother me. But I like to look at the bigger picture and it really shits me that for years most of the QLD and NSW population can access FTA AFL on ANZAC Day yet that is not the case with RL (unless ANZAC Day falls on a Fri or Sun).

NSW has a 40 percent Pay TV take up rate.

Showcase RL games deserve better.

channel 9 would ruin it and everyone knows it

9 ruins every sport it shows

Earl

Channel 9 can't show the Anzac Day games unless they change the scheduling to include a Brisbane game

Well it would be.

I'm certain the ARLC have seen that RL fans crave live footy and this will be taken into account in the next TV deal.

If the AFL can have their ANZAC Day game live on FTA around the country then so can we.

If you make all games live then broadcasters won't pay as much as they can't fit as many ads in. So what do you do, can't have it both ways.

Didgi

I have to lol @ people who think the independent commision will solve every minute grievance with the game.

I particularly like the ones precluded by "if the ARLC are serious..." "if the ARLC are doing their job..." "if the ARLC want to be seen as fair dinkum..."

BunniesMan

If you make all games live then broadcasters won't pay as much as they can't fit as many ads in. So what do you do, can't have it both ways.
AFL now has 4 FTA games live nationwide. EVERY game is live on Fox. They managed to get a decent amount in their deal.

If the NRL/ARLC negotiates competently they can get enough money as well as a lot more live footy.

IMO more live football on nationwide FTA is more important than getting the biggest possible $ figure. That kind of exposure is worth money.

Lambretta

Not really.

They cant have a game every day and the Broncos will be playing on Friday Night which always draws a crowd

Brisbane people will watch league on Foxtel, down the pub whilst skulling XXXX