Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Footy Show 2014

undertaker

Beau with Beau Knows segments are a joke, let's go into a bogan town and rip on some unsuspecting homeless idiots

In my opinion...

Matthew Johns ain't the funniest man in this country, but I watched a bit of the Reg Reagan "All of Me" DVD the other night and have to say that Beau Ryan doesn't come close to Johns in the comedy department. The big difference is Beau doesn't have the repertoire and variation in character that Johns showed when he was on The Footy Show. Johns had Reg Reagan and Trent the flight steward (his 2 main characters), Warren Robson, Randy Discotelli, and Percy Le Blanc (his last character before he was sacked from the show). Then he did more sanitised versions of those characters when he went to the Ch7 show in 2010 (e.g. Harry the garbo was a ripoff of Reg Reagan, the news reporter character he did was a ripoff of Warren Robson etc.)

Beau Ryan got his start on The Footy Show later in 2009 doing his "Beau Knows" segments after Johns left the show for reasons we all know. His "Beau Knows" segments when he was at the Tigers were mostly alright (loved his one on the AFL), but his true comedic limitations showed when he started with the DJ Yallah character (which was a flop) and then just became plain stale with the whole Benji/SBW/Burgii boys/Thurston TV gags. Yeah, it was a bit humorous in the beginning with the changes in mirror gag (which The Footy Show always used to do to Mario Fenech back in the late '90s during his What's Doin? segment), but after a while it was the exact same mannerisms week-in, week-out.

I guess Beau's got his work cut out next year with SBW and Sam Burgess leaving the NRL. I wonder who he will pay out on next.

Yvonne is a great reporter, and I like her pieces on the Thursday show. I reckon that she would be a great addition to the Sunday show as a panellist. Its more suited to her.

Also, how crap is "Crack a Fatty"?

Agree with your point on Yvonne. If they were going to go for a female panellist, she should've definitely got the nod over Molan. Yvonne's interview with Will Hopoate was one of the best segments on the show I've seen for many years, and the show needs more of those player interviews, rather than the crappy one Brett Finch did with Josh Dugan which was more like a catch-up between two old mates who haven't seen each other for a long time. Ch9 should can Finch and have given his segment to Yvonne instead. Everytime I think of Finch, I think of those F'off Finch banners at some RL games I went to when his father was referee's boss of the NRL, as well as that leaked clip of Finch having an on-field blow-up with Fitzgibbon in Canberra when he was at the Roosters:lol:. Too bad that video got deleted from YouTube. I still remember it.

I tuned in last night and have to say I agree with the new Crack A Fatty being crap. Completely pointless having that stupid plastic hamster wheel in the swimming pool rubbish.

I don't know if this is the right spot but Am i the only person annoyed with the Sunday footy show Panel. 3 legends have all played for their state, country and won premierships with their clubs. Then there's James f**king Hooper

Can't stand Hooper.

I've said this before about James Hooper and will say it again: he looks and reminds me of the typical jock in high school who tries to act and speak tough etc. Have absolutely no idea who people like him get the main gigs on all these shows, yet there's plenty of other talents in the media like Jimmy Smith who pretty much get the breadcrumbs off a plate. The fact Hooper also works for the Telegraph (and was one of those involved in that Jon Mannah story last year) gives me another reason to dislike him.

Hooper reminds me of those blokes you see at the pub acting tough and interfers in a conversation with a bunch of blokes talking about Rugby League, only to have one of the blokes to tell him to get lost (maybe not in those words.;-)).

He's usually one the Back Page but its been a breath of fresh air lately, he hasnt been on it the last few weeks.

In my opinion...

Matthew Johns ain't the funniest man in this country, but I watched a bit of the Reg Reagan "All of Me" DVD the other night and have to say that Beau Ryan doesn't come close to Johns in the comedy department.

Have to agree. Even now he doesnt come close. Not saying Beau isnt funny, but Matty Johns' material was done well and quick.

One moment I found funny was when Reg Regan was on Boots n All showing clips of old Rugby League matches. One game where Geoff Robinson barged through the famous Parramatta wall, Reg's response "They couldve used him in Berlin 25 years ago". :lol:

undertaker

Have to agree. Even now he doesnt come close. Not saying Beau isnt funny, but Matty Johns' material was done well and quick.

Now that I think about the "All of Me" DVD I made reference to, I agree with the part in bold. I definitely noticed the skits and sketches didn't drag out like I've noticed with Beau's material, especially with the SBW/Burgii TV gags.

One moment I found funny was when Reg Regan was on Boots n All showing clips of old Rugby League matches. One game where Geoff Robinson barged through the famous Parramatta wall, Reg's response "They couldve used him in Berlin 25 years ago". :lol:

Parra_Fan, this is for you. Enjoy!:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=94bBVp1i8ow

I've never seen Gus pissing himself laughing so much like that. Man, I wish I could go back in a time machine about 5-10 yrs ago, where compulsory Sunday morning viewing for me was the Sunday Footy Show, followed by half hour shows of The Roast (before it became a one hour show...even then, it was still fantastic whilst Voss was host until end of 2011) and Boots N All. Too bad there isn't a show like Boots N All anymore. If there was, there's heaps of requests of incidents from old RL matches I'd be emailing them for (that can't be found on YouTube):lol: Regarding the Roast, Vossy, Gus, MG and Matty was the best panel by a country mile, they gelled very well together. Even when TK replaced Matty, I'd still watch right through the whole hour any day of the week over the current schmozzle The Roast has now become, being a show within a show.

Oh, another thing about 5-10 yrs ago, NO TIM GILBERT HOSTING THE ROAST!

forward pass

Anyone see Cheyse Blair show off his camel tattoo on his toe ie Cameltoe.

Keeping it classy Cheyse - realty classy......

Now that I think about the "All of Me" DVD I made reference to, I agree with the part in bold. I definitely noticed the skits and sketches didn't drag out like I've noticed with Beau's material, especially with the SBW/Burgii TV gags.

Parra_Fan, this is for you. Enjoy!:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=94bBVp1i8ow

I've never seen Gus pissing himself laughing so much like that. Man, I wish I could go back in a time machine about 5-10 yrs ago, where compulsory Sunday morning viewing for me was the Sunday Footy Show, followed by half hour shows of The Roast (before it became a one hour show...even then, it was still fantastic whilst Voss was host until end of 2011) and Boots N All. Too bad there isn't a show like Boots N All anymore. If there was, there's heaps of requests of incidents from old RL matches I'd be emailing them for (that can't be found on YouTube):lol: Regarding the Roast, Vossy, Gus, MG and Matty was the best panel by a country mile, they gelled very well together. Even when TK replaced Matty, I'd still watch right through the whole hour any day of the week over the current schmozzle The Roast has now become, being a show within a show.

Oh, another thing about 5-10 yrs ago, NO TIM GILBERT HOSTING THE ROAST!

Reg on the Roast is a fav of mine, Vossy does a great job on that segment too.

undertaker

Ah, good old Percy Le Blanc. Had a few hearty guffaws at this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=udwGAq-DGc4

Quite ironic that A Current Affair appeared in the parody, given that Matty would then be appearing on A Current Affair several weeks later for reasons we all know.

LOL! at Percy's response to that first Asian girl, and then that Indian/Pakistani guy "You go and tell the team or I'll send you for an early shower. God knows you'll need one":lol:

Zigwaa

Is it just me or was that Fatty gets botox segment the worst thing in the history of television?

aads

Didn't watch it - I'm voting with my feet from now on - this, the back page and most of the roast can go get faaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

captainwarrior

Great story from Erin Molan tonight on Matt Locke. One of the best things I've seen on the Footy Show in years. Real quality.

Actually as a whole it's been a really good episode tonight. A great tribute to all our ANZACs.

taipan

Gee have to admit for once(and I cringe at many of their antics) ,last night's show was one of the best they have produced.

The ANZAC issue was spot on,the support for the servicemen and women ditto.

Joely01

Thought it was a good show last night.

The Mark Hughes story was very touching, and another well presented story.
The footy show really excels when it comes to these stories.

Noname36

That story on Boozy was great. Really pulled at the heart strings.

Such a tough bugger. Still remember him playing almost an entire game with a badly broken foot back in 2005 when he couldn't come off because the knights were in the midst of an injury crisis.