Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Footy Show Thread 2007

Typical snoozefest footy show tonight....notice how when it came time to talk about the eels, they said they were disgraceful, and yet, when it came time to tip the knaughts and raiders, all chief could say was that mullen is back and its gonna be tough for us away......

Dont make mention of the fact that we scored 4 converted tries within 12 minutes last week, dont make mention of the fact that the last time the two sides met (with newcastle at nearly full strength with both mullen and johns) we flogged them.....disgraceful.

Geohood

It was really good today.. best show of the year I reckon. :)

And Victor you're talking about something directly about your team you didnt like.. Thats 'typical snoozefest' for ya.. and you watched the whole show. ;)

Best show of the year? LMFAO.......

And yeah, I was talking about something that had to do with my team....every other team gets moderate coverage yet when we flog the hell out of "premiership contenders" they just say the other team was disgraceful.

Like I said in the earlier post, all they could say about the newcastle and canberra game on monday was that jarrod mullen was back and that we would struggle away from home (we do occaisionally play well away), nevermind the fact that the last time the two sides played, mullen was there, and so was johns.....but its ignored because we aren't manly or newcastle, lol.

Geohood

VictorTheViking said:
With a sig like that you'd have to have a sense of humour

shh.. I made it at the start of the year.. and as any true fan, I won't give up hope. :) *wears cape*

mongoose

VictorTheViking said:
Best show of the year? LMFAO.......

And yeah, I was talking about something that had to do with my team....every other team gets moderate coverage yet when we flog the hell out of "premiership contenders" they just say the other team was disgraceful.

Like I said in the earlier post, all they could say about the newcastle and canberra game on monday was that jarrod mullen was back and that we would struggle away from home (we do occaisionally play well away), nevermind the fact that the last time the two sides played, mullen was there, and so was johns.....but its ignored because we aren't manly or newcastle, lol.

It annoyed me when cheif was pushing mullen for NSW 5/8 ingame 3. Ummmm wasn't he suppose to be our future halfback? suddenly he's become "better as a 5/8th". There was also no mention of robbie farrah.

Jobdog

Dont make mention of the fact that we scored 4 converted tries within 12 minutes last week, dont make mention of the fact that the last time the two sides met (with newcastle at nearly full strength with both mullen and johns) we flogged them.....disgraceful.
That is true, but you're forgetting that Canberra are nearly unbeatable at home and the Knights record in Canberra is disgraceful. IMO the Raiders are nowhere near as good away from Canberra Stadium.

Jobdog said:
That is true, but you're forgetting that Canberra are nearly unbeatable at home and the Knights record in Canberra is disgraceful. IMO the Raiders are nowhere near as good away from Canberra Stadium.

Thats true we have been a bit woeful away from home, but sooner or later we will crack it for a decent win away, whether it happens this weekend or not remains to be seen though.

Knight87

I just read that article on news.com.au site about the cost cutting initiatives going to occur at Ch9. I can see how come Ch9 has racked up such a huge deficit in their financial matters.

(Quoting from previous posts now)

Firstly, El Diablo said that Matty Johns getting $600,000/year is a joke. I fully 100% agree with that. I knew he was getting a lot more this year (since the amount Fatty took as a paycut went to Johns and also Sterlo left the Footy Show), but I didn't think it would equate to $600,000:? :? :? . That is about the same amount as his brother Andrew was getting when he was playing at the Knights, except that Matty can act stupid, get away with it and doesn't have to worry about ppl constantly writing about him in the tabloids and media.

Secondly, to Mr Saab's comment on Sam Newman. I already knew that he was getting $800,000/year, as it was released last year after that World Cup Footy Show (which I won't start rambling on) incident where Sam tried to punch that drunken yobbo. He was also getting $200,000/year from commentating on Triple M. This is the article below:

http://au.news.yahoo.com/060619/23/p/zftq.html

Again, it is a joke. How you can justify paying someone $800,000/year with all his crazy shenanigans he does, both in the spotlight and in public, is beyond me? Oh wait, thats right! Another mate of Eddie's, I see......

But to the non-related football ppl at 9. Ray Martin = $2 million/year!!????:lol: I cannot believe that. He has barely done any on camera stuff since he stood down from his hosting role at A Current Affair. Like Vautin, was great in his day, multi-logie winner, but was past his use-by-date a long time ago. Either way or another, there's no justification for the salary. Same can be said about Bert Newton. Being a Knights fan, the structure and management at Ch9 is very similar to that of the Newcastle Knights during the Michael Hagan era: Keeping the same players who haven't been producing sufficient results and are past their date, but still retaining them cause theyre a Newcastle boy. Ridiculous:crazy:

In conclusion, with Fatty, Fatty was getting near $700,000/year, before the accident he had. Afterwards, he was pulled off commentary duties (which is ironic, as he was brought to Ch9 as a commentator in the first place). So, he's had to take more than a 50% pay cut. Personally, I know I've said this before on other threads, but I won't be upset if the plug gets pulled on Vautin. He was great in his day, no doubt about it, but he has been past his use-by-date for a while. As someone else posted earlier in this thread, he still clearly hasn't recovered from the accident a couple of years ago and the show (with him as the captain) has completely lost all direction and any sort of remaining credibility it use to have.