Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Grand Final 'I was there" thread

pretty sure st.george only made 3 grand finals in the 90s

An Irish mate of mine whom goes for the dogs came to Aust in 1984. Anyway in 1999 this Saints women was giving the dogs fans heaps at Canterbury Leagues Club all during the Grand Final. Anyway when Melbourne won my mate gave her some. She asked "Anyway ya Irish git how long have you been In Aust anyway" and he replied with "Long enough to see your team play in 5 losing grand finals".

Must admit that was funny stuff.

I have been to Grand finals in 86,87,00,02,03,04.

As a neutral whom didn't mind Parra back in the 80's I saw Cronin and Price go out together. The last ever GF at the SCG. The last day Grand Final. The Roosters I believe played in the last Saturday afternoon GF in 1980 and the last Sunday day GF in 2000.

The Roosters first comp for 27 years.
Sattlers tackle on Byrne.
Whilst it will never live in folklore like Sattlers will I am sure Canterbury fans will rememberAndrew Ryan on Crocker in 2004.

Have seen a few famous GF moments in my time.

Knightmare

There were people trying to play tennis in the courts beside the stadium, but they were just standing there watching all these red-and-blue maniacs going absolutely ballistic, shouting NEW-CAS-TLE NEW-CAS-TLE and singing 'We're Here Because We're Here ..' (Knights fans about my age and older will know what this is all about).

"We're here because
We're here because
We're here

We are the Knights, the mighty Knights
And that is why we're here

We're here because
We're here

And this will be our year!"

I actually sang that after the 2001 GF.

Have you ever attended a Grand Final that your team was in? How was a) The week leading up to the game b) The day of the game c) The game itself and d) After the game, for you?

For me, it was the 2001 Grand Final.

a) The week leading up to the game for me was enjoyable. I didn't mind at all how the media seemed to be treating Parra winning like it was a given. The less people talked about the Knights, the better as far as I was concerned. I remember in the Telegraph they had an Eels Grand Final poster which depicted the Eels mascot wrapped around the NRL trophy pumping its' fists triumphantly. The next day, the Knights Grand Final poster depicted a Knight charging forward with the bolts in its' armour coming loose. That for me symbolised the expectations of Grand Final week. I remember at school that week and the night before the game I was at a party and people were saying "You do realise Newcastle are going to get their arses kicked?" and I would laugh, saying "Just play the game."

b) The day of the game I remember travelling down on the train and having flashes of doubt, wondering if maybe I was too quietly hopeful and that maybe the Knights would do as well as Melbourne did in last season's decider and perhaps I should get off the train and go home now? I also kind of envied the Parra fans and how un-fazed they seemed to be, like they had no doubts whatsoever that they'd win it. When I got to the ground it was good though, we were up high in the stand with all the Knights fans and the view of the ground was awesome. I started really looking forward to the game beginning. Then when they showed inside the dressing rooms before the game, the Parra players all looked as though they were about to go and ask the hottest girl in school to the dance. The Knights boys, by contrast, looked like they were in the middle of throwing the biggest house-party ever seen. Even as a 16 y/o I thought "That's a good sign!"

c) During the game itself I was never actually nervous. Right from the kick-off Newcastle looked unstoppable. After Kennedy got the second try, and how quickly it came, I actually felt pretty comfortable that we'd hold that lead for the rest of the game. Going into half-time, my only vague worry was that we'd also blown a 24-0 lead against the Tigers a month before, but I knew it was a very slim chance of repeating itself. In the second half even when Parra narrowed the gap to 12 points I was frustrated more than anything that the boys had lapsed defensively. When they scored again to trail by only 6 points I was still sure that we'd win it. The only way they'd score again would be a major blunder which I didn't see happening again.

d) I actually felt pretty calm after the final whistle. Obviously I was really pleased to win the Premiership, but I suppose for most of the game it'd been simply counting down the time until Newcastle officially had it in the bag, rather than snatching victory at the last moment like in '97. I was also quietly smug, thinking about all the people who'd been acting like the Eels winning the Grand Final was a foregone conclusion and that the only Knights player they'd have to worry about was Joey. :lol: I was also hpy that I could sleep perfectly fine that night (or morning as it turned out) and not spend the next week thinking "F**k, if only this player had done that instead!" or "Damn, if only Harrigan had made that call!"

Great post

2005 Wests Tigers 30 Cowboys 16

a) The week leading up to the game

We went to the major semi V saints, wasnt all too confident but I did take a small sign readin "GF Tix wanted" for after the game...none of the Saints fans could read it thru the tears.
My sons jnr club got a heap of free Parra Cowboys tix, so we went to that game the next day, but my mind was on the following w/end, leaing telstra i saw a mass qeueu already at the homebush bay ticketek, checked parra leagues as well on the way home...same deal...Ive got no GF tix!!!!!:crazy:
Ring around a few friends, texting and mssging, decide with a friend and her kid to try for a family pkge, and I went to castle hill hills centre ticketek at about 11pm to camp out...was 22nd in line and a small game of cricket was in progress.
The stories were there was only 4000 tix left I think everyone knew online and phone sales would open when the doors opened at 9...people were worried about missing out...all tigers fans there.
Thankfully there was two terminals with very efficient operators and the 22nd person in the queue got to the counter at about 9.06am...hot tix in the hand was almost as good a feeling as f/time the previous saturday night at the SFS.
Collected all papers and news articles , magazines etc thru the week, actually made myself ill with worry I think, was crook for two days, they had a open traing at Concord on the Thurs I think...the bandwagon was in full cry, fans in circa 2000 t-shirts everywhere *Yeh I remember those old shirts, aint seen one in years*

b) The day of the game

All a bit of a blur, I remember my cameras batteries going flat with no time to recharge them, took that as a bad omen and it put me in a bad mood. Got there nice and early

c) The game itself

Again, all a bit of a blur at the time though Ive watched the replay about 6 times, was sitting in the corner Marshall was heading to when he gave the flick pass of all flick passes to Patty....he was heading straight towards us. Grateful my friend took some great photos of my son and me at the game, ones in a personal memorobilia frame along with my ticket and some photos harvey norman handed out, GF team in the week before, team celebrates post GF and prince with trophy, hung around after the game for what seemed like about 2 hours, bumping into friends and sharing the experience.

and d) After the game

Headed to Wests Ashfield, it was like NYE there, though with my young bloke with me didnt go in, just soaked up the celebrations. Then headed over to rozelle, and BLC...same deal there, main road closed, NYE type celebrations, ...couldnt sleep at all that night, got home at about 2am...watched the replay twice...sleep about 6am.

Nuke

"We're here because
We're here because
We're here

And that is why we're here

We're here because
We're here

And this will be our year!"

That's the one! Sung to the tune of Auld Lang Syne. Very simple, but very effective song.

SaveTheChildren

Great post

2005 Wests Tigers 30 Cowboys 16

a) The week leading up to the game

We went to the major semi V saints, wasnt all too confident but I did take a small sign readin "GF Tix wanted" for after the game...none of the Saints fans could read it thru the tears.
My sons jnr club got a heap of free Parra Cowboys tix, so we went to that game the next day, but my mind was on the following w/end, leaing telstra i saw a mass qeueu already at the homebush bay ticketek, checked parra leagues as well on the way home...same deal...Ive got no GF tix!!!!!:crazy:
Ring around a few friends, texting and mssging, decide with a friend and her kid to try for a family pkge, and I went to castle hill hills centre ticketek at about 11pm to camp out...was 22nd in line and a small game of cricket was in progress.
The stories were there was only 4000 tix left I think everyone knew online and phone sales would open when the doors opened at 9...people were worried about missing out...all tigers fans there.
Thankfully there was two terminals with very efficient operators and the 22nd person in the queue got to the counter at about 9.06am...hot tix in the hand was almost as good a feeling as f/time the previous saturday night at the SFS.
Collected all papers and news articles , magazines etc thru the week, actually made myself ill with worry I think, was crook for two days, they had a open traing at Concord on the Thurs I think...the bandwagon was in full cry, fans in circa 2000 t-shirts everywhere *Yeh I remember those old shirts, aint seen one in years*

b) The day of the game

All a bit of a blur, I remember my cameras batteries going flat with no time to recharge them, took that as a bad omen and it put me in a bad mood. Got there nice and early

c) The game itself

Again, all a bit of a blur at the time though Ive watched the replay about 6 times, was sitting in the corner Marshall was heading to when he gave the flick pass of all flick passes to Patty....he was heading straight towards us. Grateful my friend took some great photos of my son and me at the game, ones in a personal memorobilia frame along with my ticket and some photos harvey norman handed out, GF team in the week before, team celebrates post GF and prince with trophy, hung around after the game for what seemed like about 2 hours, bumping into friends and sharing the experience.

and d) After the game

Headed to Wests Ashfield, it was like NYE there, though with my young bloke with me didnt go in, just soaked up the celebrations. Then headed over to rozelle, and BLC...same deal there, main road closed, NYE type celebrations, ...couldnt sleep at all that night, got home at about 2am...watched the replay twice...sleep about 6am.

I will tell you this story for your amusement inky.

I was so pumped after the GF, I decided to share some of my ideological leanings with our friends from the thin blue line.

I'd been back to the relos in Tigertown, and was finally heading home via burns bay road at I don't know what hour. The coppers were breath testing and pulled over one of NSW's model citizens. I explained to our friendly boys in blue that I am ideologically opposed to breath testing, don't appreciate handing over my license prior to breath testing etc -> and we wound up being hauled out of our car and being searched and having our car searched etc for a good half hour.

Disgusting!

I am yet to brag about being to a Grand Final, shame enough. None of my family are big on going to the football. I've heard stories from my grandfather about games in the 50's though. Love the stories.
Like the one during a test match where it was foggy as hell or something, and an Aussie got sent off, and took a lap around the field because he couldn't see where the sideline was clearly. :lol:

Nuke

Twigg, can I ask you a question? As a Brisbane supporter, did you find that game particularly dull? I'm asking a genuine question here (I'm not taking a dig at the Broncos).

I was there that day, and as a general fan of League and not of either Brisbane or the Roosters, I was absolutely bored sh*tless. I have heard many other people say the same thing.
Obviously you would've been excited with the result, but can you see it as being a boring game?

This Year?

The only GF I went to was in '05. It seemed to be like a carnival atmosphere to me and the Tigers fans were quietly confident. The seat I was in was terrible but it was still a great day regardless.

mave

'08. The day i worked out that there is no "u" in forty.

Great times, even better than '96.

alien

I went to the 2005 grandfinal to watch the mighty Wests Tigers beat the Cowboys.

I was lucky to get tickets. When Parramatta lost the qualifer against the Cowboys a Parramatta supporter went onto the Wests Tigers forum to sell 3 grandfinal tickets. He said the first person to send him a private message could buy his tickets for the price that he originally paid for them, and they were quite good seats! He even drove to my house, which took him about 1 hr, to hand me the tickets that very night! Lucky I sent him a message when I did. He let me know that about 100 people sent him a private message right after I did. I was in the right place at the right time. I was meant to be there.

I went to the other Wests Tigers finals games and I was also lucky to get 2 tickets to the game against the Dragons in our qualifier. They had a raffle at Wests Leagues in Leumeah for the last few tickets for that game. Alot of Wests Tigers supporters missed out because the Dragons supporters already bought most of the tickets. Most people probably remember this. This couple won the tickets but they didnt seem like they really wanted to go so I asked them straight away if I could buy the tickets off them. They agreed. I was meant to be there. I am glad they didn't move that game to Homebush. The atmosphere at that game was amazing, something I will never forget. That victory was sweet. Alot of Dragons supporters looked very angry after that game.

When Matty Bowen scored the first try in the grandfinal I was actually quite calm. I knew we had the strike power to come back. Infact i was confident all week leading up to the grandfinal.

When Patty Richards scored that try from Benjis flick pass I had tears in my eyes. I knew then, we wouldn't be stopped that night. It was our night, our year. It was meant to be, Finally.

yeah i was there on 05

my uncle (old tigers man from way back) was nervous throughout but i thought "theyll win this". it was ain interesting feeling actually.

as soon as they scored the try from the botched pass from bowman was it?

we were high up at the top of the stadium. the stuff you can see opening up from there is great. benji cutting through was great.

it was a great day too. you had the fans of the cowboys..who as a team were crap for basically the first 8 years of their existance..suddenly in the grand final.

mixed with the balmain and wests fans.

fantastic atmosphere.

gunnamatta bay

A mate had a spare ticket for the 87 GF Manly vs Raiders. I was kind of reluctant but ended up having a memorable day. It was the last time the GF was held at the SCG and it was one of those Autumn day's when the temperature ends up feeling like mid Summer. I think it reached about 35c +. There was a big model of the harbour bridge. Kevin Ward was rushed back from England and was man of the match. Bob Hawke got booed. Fatty was Manly captain and said something about the fairy tale (about the Raiders losing 18-8) being over. The piss up after is just a blur.

boxa777

I went to 96 and 99..

96 was the best year. The team played with awesome spirit and as a young teen managed to get to a lot of games that year. Cityrail got a workout. Also camped out for GF tickets all the way down at Wollongong for some reason but it was a great experience.. Painted hair, face paint, clown hats, confetti, Bay 26. It didn't get any better than that.

Well, until Manson the f**kface decided that Matt Ridge needed to be tackled twice.

99 was a good year also. A quiet confidence. 14-0 at the half. Nothing more can be said after that.

Godz Illa

Well, until Manson the f**kface decided that Matt Ridge needed to be tackled twice.
I wonder how things might have turned out if Tim Mander was our ref in 96 and David Manson was our ref in 05. The world would probably be a lot more wonderful, I imagine.

2004, obviously... been to many GF's but nothing will beat it.

a) The week leading up to the game... was a blur. Just knowing our club was there... closely following the fate of Pricey - it was all insane.
b) The day of the game... another blur. Couldn't tell you who won Flegg or PL, I can vaguely remember Grinspoon performing.
c) The game itself - I remember every second vividly. From the crazy Chris Walker try early on to the Ryan-on-Crocker tackle in minute 79, every nerve-racking moment. Watching Pricey and Bobcat lift the trophy 100m away from me is something I'll never forget.
d) After the game - was weird. I was wandering back to the train and with all the flag waving and abusive and upset Roosters fans, it somehow felt like any normal post-game walk. Back on the train, I had to rush back to my girlfriend of the time and ultimately ended up not absorbing everything til a day later.

Eagle_Rocker

I wonder how things might have turned out if Tim Mander was our ref in 96 and David Manson was our ref in 05. The world would probably be a lot more wonderful, I imagine.

The Ridge tackle was a very controversial decision, however, Manly were the much better team on the day, and throughout the year, and the end result was always going to be the same.

boxa777

The Ridge tackle was a very controversial decision, however, Manly were the much better team on the day, and throughout the year, and the end result was always going to be the same.

Manly were definitely the best team all year, probably the best team from 95-97 winning only the one premiership..

However, there was a fairytale evolving from a team of no names that played with the spirit that I haven't seen in a Saints team since. Winning against Canberra week 1, Roosters Week 2 and tearing apart the Bears in the qualifier. We will never know how that game would have panned out. When you cop blatant bullsh*t like the Manson decision right on half time, it makes winning very improbable.

I wonder how Bozo would have reacted to such a decision? Guessing not very well..