Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The product of League is being ruined by David Gallop and he has to go

The Brain

I have to Agree with a lot of ML says but Gallop is a Newsman Appointed,Now the biggest issue is the underselling of the game TV ,Pay and Radio -*edited*
I think Gallops alright and if he had a free hand the game would be better he is probably part puppet.

1-The clubs need more money in there coffers (since Pokie Tax and smoking laws etc)

2-Juniors of all clubs must be looked at ,all juniors throughout the whole state should be carved up evenly through out all clubs and country divisions also appointed to the clubs.

3- Referees - for gods sake Finch is sending them all backwards ,replace him with some one with knowledge of how to teach these guys urgently.

4-Up the anti in all rights and distribute more cash to the clubs (in saying that the clubs them selves have a responsibility in raising revenue with sponsorship and good luck to them because in tye business world there are some dark days heading this way with the economy.)

5-Like the queensland cup gets recognition and support do the same for country

6- Kids game -organise through out the state a school touch footy comp some kind of hybrid game to encourage and entice the kids back into league have it that may be they cant play tackle until lets say 10 years old or some thing ,less players -take note of soccers new mini league comp and rules -the kids are better players for it.

7- Heres an idea for country - not sure if its workable but how about and all stars country side in the comp and that team can play at several grounds in the country areas??? its a good idea but a hard one to impliment its possible of even Canberra becoming that club super big games at canberra stadium and the other games in other areas that can accommodate a croud televise all their games as well through a public channel.

Im no expert but a few suggestions for the sleeepy heads.

melon....

Michelle Leslie said:
I just do not understand how this poorly qualified man escapes any public scrutiny for the deterioration of rugby league since he has taken over.

1)the under selling of the television rights

2)there should be no exclusive radio deal fullstop.

3)The politically correct agenda when dealing with the "image" of the game. The changes to the rules that allow video ref scrutiny that is ruining the rhythm of the game.
The judiciary has lost credibility.

4) is without doubt the most "REACTIVE" man in the history of the job.
a)warning about shoulder charges after Craig Wings hit is oh so typical of his knee jerk persona.

5)he lacks a distinct vision. Where is rugby league going??

6) he lacks the corporate skills to generate further income for the good of the game.

7)blames the mess of super league for punctuation in growth.

8)has had a good go and its time to move on.

f#ck off Dave.
keep rowing bitch.

Gallop's screwed a few things up, but considering the near-death experience we had courtesy of Super League, Rugby League has still gone ahead under him.

Sure, not as ahead as some people think we should be, but still ahead.

butchmcdick

Hanscholo said:
Long term its Murdoch's vision to merge all rugby codes, this has been well known for many years. I dont so much have an issue with that vision, i do however take issue with a media company driving the agenda. The ARL and ARU should be in control of it, and clearly they are adminstrative bodies that have lost their executive power due to TV money.

On the back of that long term goal, i see both codes suffering as there is no real point in growing either at this point. Both forms of the game exist for one reason only and that is to sell Foxtel subscriptions for the east coast market and international filler.

I agree with your post regarding the way news is using both codes to sell foxtel subscriptions.

I don't agree with the whole merging of the codes bit. WHen has murdoch or anyone else seriously suggested a merger ? I am not talking some fat bastard of a sports jounro speculating in a column but an actual serious push to get the two rugby codes back together by a heavy hitter.

LeagueXIII

Wasn't Gallop in the News Ltd camp during the war? So wouldn't he be part of the reason that league hit it's lowest point?

mongoose

Kurt Angle said:
Records crowds.
The most 2nd successful expansion team after the broncos ever on the gold coast.
Record TV ratings.

That's where it's going.

crowds are still complete rubbish though and could be far far better.

the gold coast is the fastest growing area in australia in terms of population and commercial growth. The place has changed dramatically in the past 10 years - britney spears could have set the titans up to be a success.

interesting that we have record tv ratings - the coverage of games is poor and there is stuff all marketing and promotion or rugby league on TV. I don't think gallop has really contributed to that. Not to mention the complete lack of league coverage in victoria.

mark123

Brycey said:
Thats the thing though he shouldnt be making those comments. It portrays he is scared of public scrutiny, it portrays weakness. A leader is somebody who sometimes knows a good thing and does not budge no matter what the public cry out for.

Our CEO should be untouchable to the media, ffs get in a spokesperson, let him do the job of being a CEO, and it sure as hell isnt getting done infront of a camera.

This may be all well and good, but Brycey, how do you cater to everyone? You, me, the guy in the street?

If you got in a spokesperson, then by your view, would not david be seen as even 'weaker'? After all, now you aren't even letting him speak for himself!! Oh great leader you want him to be...

I think people are just confused in what they are asking of the ceo, and indeed what the ceo's job exactly is.

He is not the only one at the head of the ship. There's a whole bunch of directors out there too, there are club ceo's and referee's, players, coaches, and nrl administrators.

Management is never easy. But let me say that to you: you must judge management on the overall trend, and you cannot accept a short-term hickup, or indeed even a short-term 'surge' as the overall picture....you must focus on the trend....and under Gallop, if indeed he is responsible for everything good and bad in the game (and I find that hard to believe he is responsible for every indiscretion etc)....then you would have to say RL's trend has continued upward, at a pleasing gradient for some time, and looks to be continuing.

Well done to David Gallop and the RL officialdom, and thankyou for your hard work. I only wish, should you choose it, you would be able to have more resources to work more efficient, as given the state of things in the 'office', we hear, its a tough slog.

Focus on the overall trend, and you will see how great its been with these guys. From where we came is a dark and stench-filled pit, remember that too.

mark123

Another thing people must consider is this:

Are there a bunch of readily available answers for all our problems out there?

I think we all want instant solutions to all the problems, and the fact of the matter is we have to wait for, and alas, sometimes never receive fixes to certain things; maybe because of the way everything is tied together, you will never get 100% in everything.

Its ok to say you want better, and you can acheive better, but perfection is never really a reality, just something you strive for.

If there are not a bunch of readily-available answers, then seeking answers is the next best thing, and in league now we are seeing that. Clubs seeking solutions to money problems, etc.

A case in point. Man UTD. Well they were bought by the Glazer's. Now they lose 5M pounds a month due to the interest of the loans used to buy them being so high. They need to win competitions to get by. Glazer knew this when he bought them, and their financial trouble is as a result of their finances being rearranged to take on all the debt of the loans that were used to buy them. The risk he needed to take to buy them was so great, and he was so short of money, that when he went to borrow he had to accept higher than market rates for his loans.....the end result is him buying the clubs shares for inflated prices, THEN having all the debt as a responsibility of the club and not himself. So he is protected from bankrupcy but the club isnt.

To help allieviate the prospect of the projected 5M shortfall once the deal was tabled and made public, the board was asked if they could meet the 5M shortfall.

Because the deal was not yet done, and the gigantic risk was made known of (1) the huge debt the club would have to face (remember man utd was currently a very wealthy club and the prospect of having a massive almost inservicable debt was horrid; if they did owe any money at the time, it was easily serviceable) and 2. that they would have to raise even more money, the board was at wits end. They told Glazer "If you think we havnt before tried to find more money for ourselves, you are wrong. We are one of the biggest business' in sport, and our reach is worldwide, we have many teams dedicated to finances: if there was more money to be made out there, don't you think we would have already found it?"

Under the new financial set-up, a shortfall of 5M pounds per month in interest was probably impossible to make up, even for a club as big as Man UTD.

Quoted from Wiki:

In July 2006 the club announced a refinancing package. The debt taken on by the Glazers to finance the club was split between the club and the family, Approximately £256 million is secured against Manchester United's assets. The total amount will be £660 million, on which interest payments will be £62 million a year. The club stated, "The value of Manchester United has increased in the last year, which is why lenders want to invest in the club.... 'This move represents good housekeeping and it ensures that Sir Alex Ferguson will be provided with sufficient funds to compete in the transfer market." The Manchester United Supporters Trust responded, "'The amount of money needed to be repaid overall is huge.... 'The interest payment is one thing but what about the actual £660million? It is difficult to see how these sums can be reached without significant increases in ticket prices, which, as we always suspected, means the fans will effectively be paying for someone to borrow money to own their club."

End quote

Its strange to think that even the greatest club of them all, Man Utd, is now racked in 5M pounds per month debts from loan interest and 660M pounds in actual loans, because a man wanted to simply "own" them. They now look for ways to get by, and the only solution is to win games. Worrying won't help them. Glazer wants it to succeed, but it doesnt matter if Man utd go under. He stands to lose nothing....but a great club stands to die.

To be sure, Man Utd are increasing their profitability at last hearing, with increased sponsorships, stadium expansion, ect, and that may all be fine and good. Buts its a long way to go before light.

Moral of the story is. Just live life. You can't win them all. Clubs focus on winning. Fans should focus on supporting. You only control so much. Don't worry about it all.

shaggy

people are always going to think refs are doing a bad job, especially with all the cameras and instant replays we get from multiple angels,

people are always going to be unhappy with administrators thinking they often make the wrong descions and they could do a better job

everyone must remember david gallop is the ceo of a nine man board, 4 representiting news and 4 representing the arl, their is also the ceo, coach & player conference and the parternship comitte, all these groups make decisions on the running of the nrl, david gallop is just the figurehead

Michelle Leslie

Another thing people must consider is this:

Are there a bunch of readily available answers for all our problems out there?

I think we all want instant solutions to all the problems, and the fact of the matter is we have to wait for, and alas, sometimes never receive fixes to certain things; maybe because of the way everything is tied together, you will never get 100% in everything.

Its ok to say you want better, and you can acheive better, but perfection is never really a reality, just something you strive for.

If there are not a bunch of readily-available answers, then seeking answers is the next best thing, and in league now we are seeing that. Clubs seeking solutions to money problems, etc.

A case in point. Man UTD. Well they were bought by the Glazer's. Now they lose 5M pounds a month due to the interest of the loans used to buy them being so high. They need to win competitions to get by. Glazer knew this when he bought them, and their financial trouble is as a result of their finances being rearranged to take on all the debt of the loans that were used to buy them. The risk he needed to take to buy them was so great, and he was so short of money, that when he went to borrow he had to accept higher than market rates for his loans.....the end result is him buying the clubs shares for inflated prices, THEN having all the debt as a responsibility of the club and not himself. So he is protected from bankrupcy but the club isnt.

To help allieviate the prospect of the projected 5M shortfall once the deal was tabled and made public, the board was asked if they could meet the 5M shortfall.

Because the deal was not yet done, and the gigantic risk was made known of (1) the huge debt the club would have to face (remember man utd was currently a very wealthy club and the prospect of having a massive almost inservicable debt was horrid; if they did owe any money at the time, it was easily serviceable) and 2. that they would have to raise even more money, the board was at wits end. They told Glazer "If you think we havnt before tried to find more money for ourselves, you are wrong. We are one of the biggest business' in sport, and our reach is worldwide, we have many teams dedicated to finances: if there was more money to be made out there, don't you think we would have already found it?"

Under the new financial set-up, a shortfall of 5M pounds per month in interest was probably impossible to make up, even for a club as big as Man UTD.

Quoted from Wiki:

In July 2006 the club announced a refinancing package. The debt taken on by the Glazers to finance the club was split between the club and the family, Approximately £256 million is secured against Manchester United's assets. The total amount will be £660 million, on which interest payments will be £62 million a year. The club stated, "The value of Manchester United has increased in the last year, which is why lenders want to invest in the club.... 'This move represents good housekeeping and it ensures that Sir Alex Ferguson will be provided with sufficient funds to compete in the transfer market." The Manchester United Supporters Trust responded, "'The amount of money needed to be repaid overall is huge.... 'The interest payment is one thing but what about the actual £660million? It is difficult to see how these sums can be reached without significant increases in ticket prices, which, as we always suspected, means the fans will effectively be paying for someone to borrow money to own their club."

End quote

Its strange to think that even the greatest club of them all, Man Utd, is now racked in 5M pounds per month debts from loan interest and 660M pounds in actual loans, because a man wanted to simply "own" them. They now look for ways to get by, and the only solution is to win games. Worrying won't help them. Glazer wants it to succeed, but it doesnt matter if Man utd go under. He stands to lose nothing....but a great club stands to die.

To be sure, Man Utd are increasing their profitability at last hearing, with increased sponsorships, stadium expansion, ect, and that may all be fine and good. Buts its a long way to go before light.

Moral of the story is. Just live life. You can't win them all. Clubs focus on winning. Fans should focus on supporting. You only control so much. Don't worry about it all.

you really have lost track of what this was all about havent you, you poor dear?

Nothing you have raised changes the fact that there are a hell of a lot of better ceos for this job and this puppet Gallop is hanging on by the skin of his nose because he is a YES MAN!!!!

Yes men dont change the world, they only manage it.
They lack vision, creation and inspiration.

David Gallop is a puppet and the sooner he goes the better it will be for every league supporter.

mark123

you really have lost track of what this was all about havent you, you poor dear?

Nothing you have raised changes the fact that there are a hell of a lot of better ceos for this job and this puppet Gallop is hanging on by the skin of his nose because he is a YES MAN!!!!

Yes men dont change the world, they only manage it.
They lack vision, creation and inspiration.

David Gallop is a puppet and the sooner he goes the better it will be for every league supporter.

I dont see anyone in rugby league offering any solutions for the problems.

Hell people come on here to complain.

And i hate complaining without any intent to do something about the problem.

To people as such I say "Shut the F... up, you're a pussy, otherwise you would be changing it. Don't whinge at me."

RL has a problem. Inaction.

If you think Gallop is to blame. Lets hunt him down and burn him at the stake, he's obviously a witch, right!?

Come on man....you are the one with no idea....

You are just a sheep, like the rest.

Out of a population you are number 2-1million....

Gallop is number 1.....1 in a million, he's a leader, a do-er...you are not.

If there is a better leader, go find him.

But stop coming on here and having a sook because Gallop is still around.

You and the fool who started the thread.

Life's complex....get from it what you can, and don't fuzz about crap you can't change. Work on what you can.

The relevance of my other post was about Man utd

Hell, mate!

They are getting on with life atm, winning competitions. And they get more people to ONE GAME than the ENTIRE ESL ROUND!

OH MY...

Now i expect the likes of you to break down in tears...

Get lost sook, go cry to mommy.

I am rooting hot blondes, and living in big houses, and you are on here having sooks at me for crap you have no idea about.

Thats because 'I KNOW WHAT MAKES THE WORLD TICK, KIDO.'

Billythekid

^Mark, i can't speak for everyone but i know i'm not going to go through and read that due to your grammar being an abomination to man. Also using that ridiculous font is just geniused.

If your plan was to sound like an immature little kid posting in anger than you succeeded quite well.

sharko

It is common knowledge that Gallop was integral in palnning the attck on ARL aligned clubs during the Super League war. He was their legal affairs manager and later promoted to Director of Operations. Hi job was to represent the interests of News Ltd and to directly target the ARL aligned clubs and kill them off where possible..he took to this with relish.
He is still paid by News Ltd and represents their interests over and above that of the clubs..he should be moved on forthe good of the game..clubs are being short changed millions because of him.

All these people who think the role of a CEO is just to be the mouthpiece of the board have clearly never worked in a organisation with a quality CEO!

Michelle Leslie

It is common knowledge that Gallop was integral in palnning the attck on ARL aligned clubs during the Super League war. He was their legal affairs manager and later promoted to Director of Operations. Hi job was to represent the interests of News Ltd and to directly target the ARL aligned clubs and kill them off where possible..he took to this with relish.
He is still paid by News Ltd and represents their interests over and above that of the clubs..he should be moved on forthe good of the game..clubs are being short changed millions because of him.

clarity.

Time to go David.

Michelle Leslie

I dont see anyone in rugby league offering any solutions for the problems.

Hell people come on here to complain.

And i hate complaining without any intent to do something about the problem.

To people as such I say "Shut the F... up, you're a pussy, otherwise you would be changing it. Don't whinge at me."

RL has a problem. Inaction.

If you think Gallop is to blame. Lets hunt him down and burn him at the stake, he's obviously a witch, right!?

Come on man....you are the one with no idea....

You are just a sheep, like the rest.

Out of a population you are number 2-1million....

Gallop is number 1.....1 in a million, he's a leader, a do-er...you are not.

If there is a better leader, go find him.

But stop coming on here and having a sook because Gallop is still around.

You and the fool who started the thread.

Life's complex....get from it what you can, and don't fuzz about crap you can't change. Work on what you can.

The relevance of my other post was about Man utd

Hell, mate!

They are getting on with life atm, winning competitions. And they get more people to ONE GAME than the ENTIRE ESL ROUND!

OH MY...

Now i expect the likes of you to break down in tears...

Get lost sook, go cry to mommy.

I am rooting hot blondes, and living in big houses, and you are on here having sooks at me for crap you have no idea about.

Thats because 'I KNOW WHAT MAKES THE WORLD TICK, KIDO.'

It seems quite clear that you have no problem with self confidence.

It is also apparent that you are an idiot.
Once again, you cannot construct a clear reply without bouncing around the subject and going off in tangents.
If that is a reflection of your mind, it is no surprise that you think David Gallop is a) a leader(ha ha) b) doing a satisfactory job.