Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Punk/Hardcore/Emo/Ska Show Thread

RedVDave

Got 2 spare tickets to Pennywise tonight. Can't even give them to mates for free...stupid boring merkins. Anyone want them?

Hey mate, just a friendly tip if you bought the tickets before the initial Pennywise tour cancellation (August 25th) you can refund the tickets and get the full $60 back all you need to do is go to the Ticketek in Pitt St Mall and say to them that you can't make it and they are obliged to give you a full refund. As I did due to not being able to make it, unfortunatley.

Found 1 other mate to come and gave away one ticket at the door. Same old awesome pennywise show. My body is ruined

LESStar58

Face to Face were amazing but Fmd Trevor Keith likes to talk!

The reaction to Bro Hymn was odd. Nobody allowed on stage for it and security beat down anybody who tried.

LESStar58

How were Dropkick Murphys? Their last two albums have been pretty crap, sorta think they're past their prime but wouldnt have minded seeing them live. What about frank turner?

On the contrary; I think their last 3 albums have been very, very solid. I've been a fan of them for about 12 years and if anything they have gotten so much better since they decided to drop the whole "Paddy punk" angle and concentrate on being a good rock and roll band. The songwriting and musicianship (if that's a word!) from "Meanest of Times" to "Signed and Sealed and Blood" is so much improved from where it was in the "Do or Die" "Gang's All Here" and "Sing Loud Sing Proud Years". They still play a lot of the old stuff but they are far from a spent force IMHO.

Frank Turner wasn't bad for a Pommy git. Sometimes I wonder if he'd be better with just an acoustic guitar rather than having a backing band. Pretty damn solid though and a lot of people where there just to see him I reckon.

Red Bear

I really like The Meanest of Times, What I heard off their last couple though didnt really do much for me. Also quite like The Warriors Code, Sing Loud SIng Proud and some stuff off blackout (Bastards on Parade is their best song IMO)

LESStar58

Just saw that Quicksand are on the Reading festival line up.

I will lose my shit if they tour here!

Most people probably have their albums but anyone get The Beat collection box set? The Dub album is nice! Nice quality box too, simple but cool

LESStar58

Ended up with a ticket for the sold out Gaslight Anthem show in Melbourne on Tuesday so now going both nights. Win.

LESStar58

They played Blue Dahlia on the first night in Melbourne. Not even am album track but is my favorite song off the Handwritten sessions. Lost my shit.

Also, as for that Flag video, check out Riot Fest in Humberton Park Chicago in September. It is jaw droppingly excellent save for the which bands get yje highest billing but just for a taste there's gonna be rancid, motorhead, rocket from the crypt, x, bad brains, quicksand, Blondie and heaps more. On phone so can't post flyer.

LESStar58

260395_10151444147308737_1076656636_n.jpg