Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Rumours Thread

since77

enjoys slotting into receiver too to spark the back line
Lol lol lol lol. Since when has JDB been ‘slotting into receiver to spark the back line”? I’ve seen him slot into first receiver many times but I’ll give you my house if you can tell me one time since his return from stand down that he’s sparked anything in the backline except clunky disruption to an already hopeless attacking structure. Why on earth they’ve persisted with that slow motion tactic for years is beyond me.

oh and our best lock since Chook? You’re a comedian

Rocket Rod

I'll be watching Jack finally play international footy this weekend after being denied that honor for his own nation. He and the under rated Dan Russell will add starch to the Kumul middle defense, while Jack will slip into a receiver position to add some back line spark. Interested in seeing how Lachlan Lam goes as I reckon he'd be a good fit for a play making role with the Dragons.
Addo Carr wants out of Belmore. I would not pay his full freight but he has speed something we have not.
Now that would be a signing if flanno could pull that off

Rocket Rod

Lol lol lol lol. Since when has JDB been ‘slotting into receiver to spark the back line”? I’ve seen him slot into first receiver many times but I’ll give you my house if you can tell me one time since his return from stand down that he’s sparked anything in the backline except clunky disruption to an hopeless attacking structure. Why on earth they’ve persisted with that slow motion tactic for years is beyond me.

haaaaaa that is funny
Btw he mustn’t have seen Jeremy Smith play and also JDB is a tackler and not much else these days

Lol lol lol lol. Since when has JDB been ‘slotting into receiver to spark the back line”? I’ve seen him slot into first receiver many times but I’ll give you my house if you can tell me one time since his return from stand down that he’s sparked anything in the backline except clunky disruption to an already hopeless attacking structure. Why on earth they’ve persisted with that slow motion tactic for years is beyond me.

My sentiments exactly 77. Nothing more frustrating than seeing JDB at first receiver thinking he’s a halfback. Our attack is bad enough without him in there. I think our coaching staff see him as another Yeo. They are the only ones.

redv13

U guys a weird man , you say no to 95% of the players that a brought up
Agree with you mate. Everyone is jumping up and down wanting signings then as you say most names are shit canned for being over the hill, too much $$$, loose cannons etc etc. People on here are hard to please and forget that we have been absolute dog shit since 2019. I’m sure Flanno can take control and sort some rough edges out.

If Saints signed Tracey, Curran, Addo Carr and Brown plus add Sele and Flanagan then I’ll be more than happy for 2024 and a good move in the right direction for bigger fish in 2025

TheRev

100% lol.. its very easy to pick out the negatives in players.. but identifying the ones with the potential to handle 1st grade footy (whether an unproven junior or out of favour veteran).. that's the million dollar skill.. and Flanno may have to opt for Plan B, C or D in his quest to find em..

But I need to stress that another year like 2023.. will be 'very very bad' for our longer term prospects...so we need to find a way to extract blokes out of their current contracts, so they can bolster us in 2024.

justadragon

Agree with you mate. Everyone is jumping up and down wanting signings then as you say most names are shit canned for being over the hill, too much $$$, loose cannons etc etc. People on here are hard to please and forget that we have been absolute dog shit since 2019. I’m sure Flanno can take control and sort some rough edges out.

If Saints signed Tracey, Curran, Addo Carr and Brown plus add Sele and Flanagan then I’ll be more than happy for 2024 and a good move in the right direction for bigger fish in 2025
I think its a phobia of previous history and getting burned bad with nothing to show for it. But i do agree we will have to come to the realisation that we need to be a touch more accepting.

thebigredv

Recruitment for this year should look very different than usual and we have nothing to lose. We can sign some players to help us out. The likes of The Fox, Tracey, Curran far exceed the likes of Turner, Woods and Musgrove in any case. Can’t say no to them all or we are left with not even a hope of achieving anything this year.

BLM01

I’d rather Brodie Jones as built low to the ground and a real goer from the Knights as does not have a contract over Brown
The others Yes from me

rasaint

In regard to Josh Ado Carr. Maybe I’m wrong but doesnt appear to have settled into Bulldogs that well; yet scoring plenty of try’s because he is a high end speedster and great positional winger.

He was electric at Melbourne and a big part of their success in recent years. He had that ability to turn a break into a try even in traffic with remarkable explosive speed. He has built up a little in recent years and may have lost a little speed but not much.

I think he would fit with Flanno as coach; my intuition is that he would be reasonably settled at Dragons. If it ever happened a great addition if not too pricey. You basically can not coach speed. Josh is a flying machine.

TheRev

I'm not sure we would go 'hard' after the Fox tbh.. even if the Dogs actually want him gone to clear cap space (which is only a media rumour and might be complete BS).. a fast winger (although cool) would be a long way down the list of priority positions we would be hunting.

The Fox does cover fullback technically, but I think there is a reason why he hasnt succeeded there at a couple of clubs.. I think Flanno would favour Tracey as a Ramsey style all effort player at the back instead.. and when we heard there were several contracted players that would be super keen to be coached by Flanno.. I'd say Tracey as a family friend and without a Top 13 position.. was top of the queue.. I dont think we will mess this one up.

dragon thomo

Sorry people, when i commented about Addo Carr i did not see his comments about Palestine. Its funny how Israel Faloua made a statement about same sex relationships and has been banned from the NRL. Sonny Bill and Addo Carr make comments in regards to the Israel and Palestine conflict and there is complete silence.
Addo Carr is a loose cannon off the field.