Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The run home

The real question has to be asked, why did it get to that point?

My personal opinion is too many coaches after Smith were brought in and were expected to bring instant success (a decade of near misses under Smith had made us desperate). This pressure forced them out within two years and the new coach always had to come straight in and start recruiting for a premiership tilt straight away. This is how you end up with a cap full of big back-ended contracts (which is not to say that every club doesn't have an amount of back-ended contracts on its books).

To clear them you need to play a year or two effectively not spending the full cap, as you let the biggest back-ended contracts run out. What new coach under pressure would agree to that?

As for the lack of talent coming out of the 'academy' there's really no excuse. But a f**ked up NRL salary cap can stop you retaining them when they graduate from NYC (e.g. Daniel Tupou).

Chipmunk

My personal opinion is too many coaches after Smith were brought in and were expected to bring instant success (a decade of near misses under Smith had made us desperate). This pressure forced them out within two years and the new coach always had to come straight in and start recruiting for a premiership tilt straight away. This is how you end up with a cap full of big back-ended contracts (which is not to say that every club doesn't have an amount of back-ended contracts on its books).

To clear them you need to play a year or two effectively not spending the full cap, as you let the biggest back-ended contracts run out. What new coach under pressure would agree to that?

As for the lack of talent coming out of the 'academy' there's really no excuse. But a f**ked up NRL salary cap can stop you retaining them when they graduate from NYC (e.g. Daniel Tupou).

I probably concur with this opinion,

But were some of these players like Tupou even identified to make a decent offer too.

We have appeared to in the past to identify the wrong players from the junior reps. Whats to say that we're still not doing that?

T.S Quint

I probably concur with this opinion,

But were some of these players like Tupou even identified to make a decent offer too.

We have appeared to in the past to identify the wrong players from the junior reps. Whats to say that we're still not doing that?

Probably the fact that we have had some 'academy' graduates come into First Grade now and have played well.
Before we would have some of our 'exciting' juniors make the step up only to disappoint.

We seem to have done well under Nolan to identify some good FG players.
The problem now is we don't know if it is going to continue now he's gone.

So it's simple: If Penrith win, the Storm win and we win, we're in.

After Penrith's game yesterday, them playing at home and the return of Segeyaro next week, I'd say they're in with a shot.

One would expect the Storm to win but they played pretty poorly against the Roosters so I'm not too sure.

Noise

After Penrith's game yesterday, them playing at home and the return of Segeyaro next week, I'd say they're in with a shot.

One would expect the Storm to win but they played pretty poorly against the Roosters so I'm not too sure.

delete

Chipmunk

Storm were pretty good against Roosters. It was a tough tight game in attrocious conditions. If the Storm lose they are in danger of missing the Top 8. Bellyache and the Big 3 are too good to let that happen.

Penrith were unlucky against Manly, but that last minute loss might be a blessing in disguise as they will probably have a Top 4 spot on the line if they can win. In a game where the pressure is on both teams to perform, I think I will take Penrith over the Warriors.

Will we beat the Raiders if Melbourne beat the Broncos? I'm not so confident.

Yep.

Storm over Broncos (AAMI)
Eels over Faiders (Mordor)
Penrith over Warriors (Centerbet)

At face value, we're a chance.

Then we play Storm @ AAMI in the Qualifying final. :crazy:

Joshuatheeel

Yep.

Or cowboys, if they win their final two games. For / against is lot better then the storm and it should get another boast tonight.

Jodeci

probably the fact that we have had some 'academy' graduates come into first grade now and have played well.
Before we would have some of our 'exciting' juniors make the step up only to disappoint.

we seem to have done well under nolan to identify some good fg players.
The problem now is we don't know if it is going to continue now he's gone.

Absolutely spot on and this is what concerns me.

You just need to look at our SG Ball side from 2011. We have retained without a doubt the right players and we haven't done that in the past.

1. Corey Makelim
2. Jeremy King
3. John Folau
4. Ethan Tangeria
5. Jake Fuller
6. Troy Errington
7. Ryan Walsh
8. Pauli Pauli
9. Kaysa Pritchard
10. Junior Paulo
11. Kelepi Tanginoa

12. FJ Mauala
13. Sean Jackson

14. Jordan Latham
15. Chad McGill
16. Sione Hehepoto
17. Sean McGuinness

ZDC and Tepai were part of the Harold Matts Team.

Looking at the top 8 sides from SG Ball in 2011, excluding Parra, only about 4 players have made First Grade where just in our side we have 5 players. That's an amazing effort.

http://www.ourfootyteam.com/2011_nswrl_junior_rep_teamLists.php

Chipmunk

Yep.

I think if we make the Top 8 from here that will be a massive over achievement. I wouldn't worry too much about performances in a final series, where not a Top 8 team yet and will get blown away in any case.

Chipmunk

[/SIZE]

Absolutely spot on and this is what concerns me.

You just need to look at our SG Ball side from 2011. We have retained without a doubt the right players and we haven't done that in the past.

1. Corey Makelim
2. Jeremy King
3. John Folau
4. Ethan Tangeria
5. Jake Fuller
6. Troy Errington
7. Ryan Walsh
8. Pauli Pauli
9. Kaysa Pritchard
10. Junior Paulo
11. Kelepi Tanginoa
12. FJ Mauala
13. Sean Jackson

14. Jordan Latham
15. Chad McGill
16. Sione Hehepoto
17. Sean McGuinness

ZDC and Tepai were part of the Harold Matts Team.

Looking at the top 8 sides from SG Ball in 2011, excluding Parra, only about 4 players have made First Grade where just in our side we have 5 players. That's an amazing effort.

http://www.ourfootyteam.com/2011_nswrl_junior_rep_teamLists.php

Would they all have played NRL had they been at other Clubs though?

I'm not sure all of those players would have been required to play NRL at this stage had they been at other Clubs. These players have more often than not played NRL already at Parra, due to the amount of sub-standard players at the Club, rather than how good they actually are.

Who are the other players from other clubs 2011 SG Ball sides who have played NRL?

Jodeci

Would they all have played NRL had they been at other Clubs though?

I'm not sure all of those players would have been required to play NRL at this stage had they been at other Clubs. These players have more often than not played NRL already at Parra, due to the amount of sub-standard players at the Club, rather than how good they actually are.

Who are the other players from other clubs 2011 SG Ball sides who have played NRL?

Klemmer, Mbye, Nights winger Mata-tuia (I can't spell it), Lichaa, might be one other.

Would our kids play NRL at other clubs? Hard to answer, I think most clubs would of played these kids for sure. At the time of them resigning, the interests from other club was huge so if they weren't at Parra, they would be at other clubs and playing for sure.

Joshuatheeel

I think if we make the Top 8 from here that will be a massive over achievement. I wouldn't worry too much about performances in a final series, where not a Top 8 team yet and will get blown away in any case.

If we make the top 8, how are we then not a 8 side? I don't see the logic, does that mean if we make the 8, and another side like the broncos or warriors don't make the 8, they are still really are a top 8 side? But if they were really a top 8 side wouldn't they make the 8?

Joshuatheeel

Also of the sides above us on the ladder, we have defeated 7 of the 9 sides this year. Only storm/souths we have not defeated. Not a bad effort.

Chipmunk

Klemmer, Mbye, Nights winger Mata-tuia (I can't spell it), Lichaa, might be one other.

Would our kids play NRL at other clubs? Hard to answer, I think most clubs would of played these kids for sure. At the time of them resigning, the interests from other club was huge so if they weren't at Parra, they would be at other clubs and playing for sure.

I've looked at your link you had with all the SG Ball squads, and from quick run down of the team lists, the following other players from the 2011 SG comp have also played NRL.

Adam Clydesdale
Samisoni Langi
Brendan Santi
Jeremy Hawkins
Mitchell Cornish
Scott Sorenson
James Tedesco
Dylan Walker (was probably still eligible for Matthews)
David Nofoaluma
Mitchell Moses
Kyle Lovett
Tautau Moga
Bryce Cartwright
Jack Ahearn

Alex Johnston, Dallin Watene-Zelezniak and Sione Mata?utia were still playing Harold Matthews.

There could be others, but I don't know every player in the NRL who has played a couple of games here and there... I'm sure there are players from the Queensland teams who have played NRL as well.

84 Baby

Yep.

You guys have so little faith.

All we have to do is score a try every 2 minutes against Canberra & the other results won't matter

Chipmunk

If we make the top 8, how are we then not a 8 side? I don't see the logic, does that mean if we make the 8, and another side like the broncos or warriors don't make the 8, they are still really are a top 8 side? But if they were really a top 8 side wouldn't they make the 8?

I think that there will be other teams that will make the Top 8 that will not be Top 8 sides.

I think Souths, Roosters, Manly, Bulldogs and Melbourne are your genuine Top 8 sides. I would also classify the Cowboys as a Top 8 side.

The other 10 teams in the comp are all middle of the road teams, fighting out for the remaining 2 spots in the Top 8. From their performances on this season alone Penrith have become a genuine Top 8 side, but I would classify them at this point as a middle of the road team, who have performed very well this season. If they continue next season to do the same thing, then I would move them into genuine Top 8 team category.

The rest are all middle of the road, fighting out for a spot in the Top 8 from one season to the next... Some of them make the Top 8 one year, but could quite easily run last as well.

Kornstar

Yeah a real castle. He inherited the 12th place 2010 side minus Cayless, Inu, Keating, Grothe, Mateo and Tahu.

But it's cool - he was able to fill gaps in the NRL roster with graduates from our NYC side which ran last in 2010.

At least he left the club in better shape than he found it.

I am talking purely performance on the field! Off the filed, as i said a few times already can be debated and he surely started the right things in motion but having the keys to the kingdom surely helped, along with Nolan!

As first grade coaches ON THE FIELD they (Kearney and Stuart) were shit for us!

Stuart has also a big enough sample size since 2005 to suggest that whatever he did right in his first 3 years as coach stopped working as the years proceeding verified. Apart from that one decent year with the Sharks, everything else has been garbage!

Using your own arguments to belittle everyone's opinion of any coach, SK not coaching in the NRL anymore is evidence that he's not good enough.

I look forward to you spinning more of your shit though, spin away......

Cheers mate. Don't mind if I do.

I am talking purely performance on the field! Off the filed, as i said a few times already can be debated and he surely started the right things in motion but having the keys to the kingdom surely helped, along with Nolan!

I'm sure it did.

As first grade coaches ON THE FIELD they (Kearney and Stuart) were shit for us!

Surely you'll agree that what happens on the field is mostly determined by the strength of the playing roster.

I reckon we were solid (for the roster we had) in 2011 and I thought we underachieved in 2012 until we went even worse in 2013. I think this year proves we underachieved last year but we also have a better squad.

Anyway, apparently Kearney had an excuse for underachieving in 2012 when the board turned on him and chased a replacement. Plus Hayne picked up a serious injury in the pre-season and missed twelve games.

Anyway, Kearney got sacked like the last bloke and no other club picked them up, so it justified the board's decision. It also justified Stuart's decision to walk long before he was pushed.

Stuart has also a big enough sample size since 2005 to suggest that whatever he did right in his first 3 years as coach stopped working as the years proceeding verified. Apart from that one decent year with the Sharks, everything else has been garbage!

The important point with Stuart is that only desperate clubs have hired him since he derailed the Chooks. I also reckon he re-signed some players that Kearney/Nolan/Arthur didn't intend to retain back in 2012. That might have set us back. Peats and Edwards were great signings though. Credit where it's due.

Using your own arguments to belittle everyone's opinion of any coach, SK not coaching in the NRL anymore is evidence that he's not good enough.

If you feel belittled that's your problem. You should feel honoured that I take the time to discuss this with you as an equal.

I look forward to you spinning more of your shit though, spin away......

Blah blah blah the end.