Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The T.V Rights Thread Part III

How much will the Total Broadcast Rights Deal be?

Bluebags1908

Well we have Toyota cup nsw/q'land cup, ESL, French league etc that could go on it as filler.

Don't forget, In New Zealand Maori TV televises the domestic Kiwi comp, and I'm pretty sure PNG TV televises the local Digicel Cup. Plenty of content to fill in with, and it would be cheap to get hold of.

Ronnie Dobbs

Ps it's great getting SL on eurosports live. loved last weeks challenge cup games.

Agree.

Its brilliant.

6000 people to games in stadiums that should be condemned and it sounds like 60,000. They are about 2 metres from the action.

Old school.

The NRL channel is feasible however if it were to occur I would think it would replace fox sports 3 i.e. only have foxsports 1 and 2 plus the 2 dedicated channels. I can’t see them having enough content for 3 multi sport channels if both the NRL and AFL have their own channels.

http://www.adnews.com.au/adnews/packer-finally-to-sell-foxtel-stake
Packer finally to sell Foxtel stake

03 May 2012

By David Blight

After much speculation, media and gaming mogul has finally moved to cash in his $1 billion stake in Foxtel, in a move that could start a bidding war between News Limited and Telstra.

According to reports, investment bank UBS has been employed to handle the sale, which would see Packer sell off his 50.1% stake in Consolidated Media Holdings, which has a 25% stake in Foxtel and a 50% stake in Fox Sports Australia, formerly Premier Media Group.

The sale would aim to fuel Packer's plans to merge his Crown casino group, which owns Crown Melbourne and Burswood in Perth, with Echo group, which owns The Star in Sydney. The move would see the formation of a $10 billion gaming behemoth.

The sale would see Packer essentially remove himself from the media industry to focus on his gaming interests. In 2006, he sold off his stake in the Nine Network for $4.5 billion.

According to reports, Packer has said the most likely buyer is Rupert Murdoch's News Corp. This would see News Corp become 50% owner of Foxtel and 100% owner of Fox Sports Australia. Foxtel is currently 50% owned by Telstra and 25% owned by News Corp, while Fox Sports Australia is a joint venture between Consolidated Media and News Corp.

However, pundits have argued telco giant Telstra will also be interested. However, the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission has already said it would be concerned if Telstra was able to gain a 75% stake in Foxtel.

Kerry Stokes has also been signalled as a potential suitor through his Seven Group Holdings.

It has been speculated for some time Packer would sell his stake.

It needs to happen, but I just dont see it.

Have a look at Fox Footy there are so many other afl related shows on throughout the week.

Are they gonna produce the same for NRL

AFTER THE BOUNCE
Sundays, 7.30pm
Premieres Sunday, February 19
A review program hosted by Jason Dunstall and featuring Danny Frawley and Damien Fleming every Sunday night.

EMT - EDDIE McGUIRE TONIGHT
Sundays, 8.30pm
Premieres March 11
This is where the biggest names in football, sport and sports entertainment go head-to-head with Eddie. EMT gives the headline-makers the chance to have their say on the big issues.

2012 AFL Fixture
Fixtures: Every match of the 2012 AFL Fixture

AFL 360
Monday-Thursday, 7.30pm
Premieres Monday, February 20
Will look at every angle of the week's biggest issues in AFL and scrutinizes and dissect them. Football's odd couple, Gerard Whateley and Mark Robinson, argue and laugh their way through the day in footy as seen through the eyes of the media.

ON THE COUCH
Mondays, 8.30pm
Premieres Monday, February 20
A weekly look at the news, views, drama and intrigue surrounding the AFL through the eyes of some of the most respected AFL analysts and former players including Gerard Healy, Mike Sheahan, Paul Roos and guests.

AFL INSIDER
Tuesdays, 8.30pm
Premieres Tuesday, February 21
Hosted by Jason Dunstall and Alastair Lynch, AFL Insider exposes the inner workings of elite AFL clubs and provides insights into the innovations that clubs are introducing to give themselves the competitive edge.

OPEN MIKE
Wednesdays, 8.30pm
Premieres March 21
Former Herald Sun chief football writer Mike Sheahan hosts this interview series featuring some of the greats of the game.

LEAGUE TEAMS
Thursdays 8.30pm
Premieres Thursday, February 23
A look at who's in, who's out - and why - as footy fans look for the team news, and subsequent reaction, to selections for the upcoming round. Hosted by Dermott Brereton and a rotating panel of experts.

Well the NRL chanel could have simeler shows like.

1. Before the Whistle
2. After the Siren
3. NRL Teams
4. NRL Tactics
5. Matt and Andy show or Matthew Johns show
6. The Legue Lounge

+ ESL, NYC, RG, NSWCup, QCup, etc.

Just noticed that Ch7 now own The West Australian newspaper. Now I'm even keener for Ch7 to get the rights!

Cumberland Throw

This maybe a stupid idea, but would there by a way that "FOXRL"

Could have a Wednesday night Toyota Cup double header

Say 6.30 pm and 8.30 pm every Wednesday, it would have to rate 100k plus every week

Would just have to work out how to get a crowd to the game ??

Canard

Well April 30th has come and gone and according to the Melbourne tv guide league is still on GEM tonight.

So was that previous poster in thread, making it up or have nine decided the ratings are good enough to continue it?

Thank f**k for that anyways, especially considering my team is playing tonight.

bobmar28

This maybe a stupid idea, but would there by a way that "FOXRL"

Could have a Wednesday night Toyota Cup double header

Say 6.30 pm and 8.30 pm every Wednesday, it would have to rate 100k plus every week

Would just have to work out how to get a crowd to the game ??

tickets $5.

Well April 30th has come and gone and according to the Melbourne tv guide league is still on GEM tonight.

So was that previous poster in thread, making it up or have nine decided the ratings are good enough to continue it?

Will wait & see what happens next week.
If or should i say WHEN the IC tells nine they are rejecting their offer then you will probably see the dummy spit .
Enjoy tonight .

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/spo...-drain-this-time/story-fnca0von-1226346256170

NRL rights: We won't be sold down drain this time

by: Brent Read
May 04, 2012 12:00AM

CLUB chief executives yesterday predicted next week would be a watershed for the game as the ARL Commission prepares to put its broadcasting rights on the open market.

Existing broadcasters Network Nine and Fox Sports have until Monday to make their opening bids for the rights. Regardless of those offers, the commission is expected to enter the marketplace as it looks to secure a billion-dollar deal.

Network Seven has foreshadowed plans to make an offer, with a particular focus on State of Origin, while the Ten Network has expressed interest.

"It's going to be a watershed time for the game," Canberra chief executive Don Furner said.

"The good thing is, from all the reports, there is interest from all stations. That's a great position to be in. They're interested in the game. It's the highest-rating sport in Australia. All the indications are great."

The opening gambit from Network Nine and Fox Sports is expected to be short of the $1 billion mark, but officials remain confident they can get there and beyond once the rights go to the marketplace.

"We have done a lot of work on this as clubs and with the NRL," South Sydney chief executive Shane Richardson said.

"We have a very good idea of what we can and can't offer.

"We're not going to be sold down the drain this time.

"If we need to hold out, we will hold out. We want a good deal going forward and a fair deal for everybody.

"It's a defining day for the game."

Asked whether he expected the Seven and Ten networks to enter the bidding, Richardson said: "They would be crazy if they didn't. I think that's good for us."

docbrown

They weren't making it up. Obviously I despise 9. They're the worst network to work for and they seem to be steering the Titanic straight into the iceberg and asking for 'ramming speed'!

I agree with the others. 9 will have a dummy spit if/when they lose the rights and they will piss all over the NRL when that happens.

Again one simple question has not been answered - why isn't the exemption date all year like the AFL's? 9 are purposefully asking for it on a month by month basis rather than a full year basis.

They weren't making it up. Obviously I despise 9. They're the worst network to work for and they seem to be steering the Titanic straight into the iceberg and asking for 'ramming speed'!

I agree with the others. 9 will have a dummy spit if/when they lose the rights and they will piss all over the NRL when that happens.

Again one simple question has not been answered - why isn't the exemption date all year like the AFL's? 9 are purposefully asking for it on a month by month basis rather than a full year basis.

Doc, we all know that the ratings on Gem in the southern states and the west aren't great (but keep in mind the lack of promotion and irregular telecasts), but do you know how it rates compared the "usual" guff that Nine would likely to be showing on Gem in place of the footy? Or indeed Mate or Seven2? Surely the footy would rate at least as good if not better than the alternate programming, but with zero "cost" because the telecast has already been produced for the eastern states.

Like you, it appears to me that it is a very deliberate ploy by Nine, and hopefully one that is going to back fire on them.

some11

9 will have a dummy spit if/when they lose the rights and they will piss all over the NRL when that happens.

Wouldnt be surprised if they just showed ads for 80 mins then 10 minutes of highlights called by SBW while spruiking Union and the Olympics.