Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The TV rights thread part II

Providing the price is right which is your preferred FTA broadcast option?

• All games on Seven

Votes: 11 4.2%
  • All games on Nine

Votes: 17 6.5%
  • All games on Ten

Votes: 59 22.6%
  • Seven/Nine split

Votes: 10 3.8%
  • Seven/Ten split

Votes: 109 41.8%
  • Nine/Ten split

Votes: 55 21.1%

I would hope it goes something along the lines of The same as the 7/Fox deal,(maybe 7/10 share FTA coverage)& then AFL gets shown on the main station of a Fri night in AFL states with the NRL live on 7mate,& vice versa in the Northern states.
That would kill off ch9..f**k i would be happy.

ParraEelsNRL

doc-hollywood_528_poster.jpg

Nice pig Doc, now spill it ;-)

Canard

Why can;t we get Q'land cup and NSW cup on ABC live nationally? some of the minority sports they show on the ABC on a Saturday is laughable, surely there would be a greater audience for RL? It would also provide a massive boost for those struggling clubs to have national exposure making them more attractive to sponsors. I'd give the rights awayto ABC as long as they agreed to those conditions.

VFL is shown in Melb in the Sat Arvo slot that the ABC in Victoria, and I imagine its the same in SA and WA etc.

I f**king love for QCup to be shown, but thats a massive pipedream.

I reckon the ABC having ZERO league presence is a bad situation, as others have said Nine will snap up the rights and park it at 3am on Wednesday night after three rounds, and the ABC will give even less coverage to our game.

As much as we would love to hear,i dont think he can tell...
When he does give a snippet it is usually 100% spot on...
Patience ,my fellow RL lovers.
We have waited a long long time to get what we deserve...

As long as Doc is pming everybody - I wouldn't mind recieving one please....

me too me too!

Please Doc, pretty please .I need some news good or bad.confidentiality will remain so with me.

Baah, thought it was a given Doc, me 2.

doc should just PM everyone posting in this thread :)

Please Doc.

I'd love to join the PM crew too.

Last edited by a moderator:

Flapper

Dan Ginnane just tweeted tomorrows Tele back page, which featured the 10 logo. Headline? WE WANT IT ALL
:D

carlosthedwarf

I'm somewhat excited for 10 getting the coverage. They've got the platform, and shown they'll treat it with more respect than Nine.

dgsfan

Says they've already started budget work to televise all 8 matches a week. Interesting. Great for the game.

dgsfan

Good. They massively underpay anyway and have been neglecting League as of late. Their summer advertising has been AFL overload and very little League.

Doubt they could afford all 8 games? How would they show them all? Maybe they want to buy them all and on sell like the last AFL deal?

I think if we go to 9 games and 5 end up being on FTA nationally Fox is stuffed. It's why I can see Fox going hard, despite what they say, to have all games simu cast with exclusive Saturday 3 games and Monday night. I can see 2 Friday, 3 Sunday games being on FTA It's the only way they will keep NRL subscribers.

Razor

Seven/Ten/Nine & Fox Sports split. All to have rights.

The system that has been used in Italian & Spanish soccer where teams sold the rights to their home games themselves isn't fair to a lot of teams - also won't work well when we only have 1 pay TV sports channel that caters to Australian sport.

Look at the NFL as an example - CBS, NBC, FOX, ESPN, Fox Sports and NFL Network all have rights to various games.

Example

Friday Night - Nine
Saturday Night - Seven & Fox Sports
Sunday Afternoon - Seven & Fox Sports
Sunday Night - Ten
Monday Night - One