Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Three years jail for ex-Knight Danny Wicks

lolesi

Picked up some interesting info off FoxSportsNews just then. Wicks apparently has been granted bail and will plead not guilty. Burraston also said something along the lines of "had we found out about this earlier than he would be gone for sure"

Who doesnt plead not guilty? not interesting at all.

And the CEO said he would of sacked him before if he knew? well holy moly! what a guy! that must of taken some thinking..

no but seriously..

sting

Mate I am telling you now, they don't investigate something like this for 5 months then arrest the wrong blokes. Maybe you don't know him as well as you think.

haha between this and the return of clintdogg, what a thread!

Cockadoodledoo

Who doesnt plead not guilty? not interesting at all.

And the CEO said he would of sacked him before if he knew? well holy moly! what a guy! that must of taken some thinking..

no but seriously..

Reminds me of Leslie Nielson as Frank Drebin in Police Squad visting a woman whose husband was murdered. "We would have come earlier but your husband wasn't dead then". lol

Chook Herron

Picked up some interesting info off FoxSportsNews just then. Wicks apparently has been granted bail and will plead not guilty. Burraston also said something along the lines of "had we found out about this earlier than he would be gone for sure"

I wonder what his defence is going to be considering he plans to plead not guilty. Did he think it was powdered sugar he was supplying? Does he have a golfing buddy to put the blame on?

BrisVegas

http://news.smh.com.au/breaking-new...-faces-drug-supply-charges-20091216-kw8b.html

NRL star Wicks faces drug supply charges

December 16, 2009 - 7:04PM
AAP

The NRL career of promising young Newcastle Knights player Danny Wicks is in tatters after he was among four people charged over a northern NSW drug syndicate.

In the latest off-field scandal to rock rugby league, Wicks faces eight counts of supplying and possessing illegal drugs, including ecstasy and amphetamines.

During the 24-year-old's appearance in Newcastle Local Court on Wednesday, his lawyer Mark Hanlon said Wicks intended to plead not guilty to the charges.

Magistrate Sharon Holdsworth granted Wicks bail, despite police prosecutor Jillian Kelton submitting he was a "flight risk".

However, late on Wednesday, Wicks still faced the prospect of a night behind bars after failing to come up with a $30,000 surety.

Outside court, Mr Hanlon said Wicks was holding up well and was delighted to have been granted bail.

"He's got bail. We're just waiting for the money. Hopefully, that should be here by this afternoon, but at this hour it may not be," he told reporters.

"I hope to see him on Friday for more instructions and at this stage he is going to fight the charges."

The Newcastle Knights have stood Wicks down indefinitely as a result of the charges.

A 25-year-old woman and a 22-year-old man were also arrested in connection with the alleged drug ring at a separate address in Grafton on Wednesday.

They each face five charges of supplying drugs and were bailed to appear before the Grafton Local Court on January 25.

A 29-year-old man from Newcastle was arrested during the same investigation and charged with one count of supplying drugs.

Wicks is charged with six counts of supplying prohibited drugs and two counts of possessing a prohibited drug.

In opposing his bail, the prosecutor said police had recordings of coded phone conversations and had conducted surveillance between August and November this year.

"We believe the crown case is a strong one," Ms Kelton told the court.

However, Mr Hanlon successfully argued his client's high profile in the community negated any chance of him fleeing.

The magistrate imposed bail conditions, including that Wicks surrender his passport and report daily to Charlestown police station.

He has also been ordered not to contact his three co-accused or former flatmate and Knights teammate Chris Houston, who is expected to be called as witness in the case.

The matter was adjourned to the same court for mention on February 3.

Police said the arrests flowed from a joint operation targeting the supply of amphetamines, cocaine and ecstasy in the Clarence Valley on the NSW north coast.

Wicks, a prop and second rower who made his NRL debut for the St George-Illawarra Dragons in 2006, signed with Newcastle in 2007 and is contracted to the club until the end of 2012.

Newcastle chief executive Steve Burraston says the club's suspension takes effect immediately.

This appears to mean Wicks will not play for the club until the case has been decided by the courts, which could take more than a year.

"These allegations are of the most serious nature, and we are treating them accordingly," Mr Burraston said in a statement before Wicks' court appearance.

"Everyone at the club is aware of our values and policies and is aware of how important they are to our relationship with all stakeholders."

The swift action was necessary to protect the reputation of the club and its sponsors, he said.

If the police have his voice on tape talking about deals (albeit in code) over a period of 4 months he is in big trouble.

Also interesting to see that he has been barred from contacting Chris Houston, who could be called as a witness.

Apey

gong_eagle

The NRL career of promising young Newcastle Knights player Danny Wicks is in tatters after he was among four people charged over a northern NSW drug syndicate.

would change it to Over

Kiki

So why hasn't El D come on here to defend him and say he is innocent till proven guilty, it's a media conspiracy, it's Jaquelin Magnay's fault, blah blah blah AFL blah blah blah etc etc.

hahaha i thought the same thing

Kiki

i can't stop thinking about this and it just dumbounds me completely. i think players should be allowed a bit of leeway and be allowed to make some mistakes like normal people do, but being arrested for being part of a drug ring???? that ain't normal.