Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Timana Tahu out, Joel Monaghan in for State of Origin II

spartan2153

Rubbish.
Racism goes beyond team boundaries.

Bullcrap. People face racism all day long. It is a part of life. That fact he quit on the team means he let johns get the better of him.

I was the 1 of 3 ethnics growing up at school out of 600 kids. I used to get called everythjing under the sun. I still went to school & gave as good as i got. But i did not let them get the better of me. I held my head up high.

There are otherways to take a stand & this is not 1 of them because he is letting down 16 other players for a drug addict

Dean widders was called a black merkin on the field. Why didnt he walk off & say i refuse to play against red necks like fletcher. HE played on than took a stand after the game. He didnt quit. I luv tahu as a player but in my opinion he should have taken action with nswrl & coaching staff. Give them them a ultimatem either they take action against johns or then he walks. Not just walk.

yy_cheng

He stands up to it in the dressing room and possibly gets into fisticuffs with johns.

It can be hushed up and nothing real can come of it.

He is now standing up and walking away. Now it will be noticed more than if they had just fought about it.

By walking away, he is making more noise.

But it has mate.
Neither you nor I know what has happened in the past, but I'd suggest for Tahu to take this extreme reaction suggests that it's far more than we know about.
It's not up to us to be making assumptions.

dunno why you are getting narky with me over this??? :lol: ... i'm not having a go at tahu or anything - just saying i assume his mind isn't really on the job cos something has upset him alot - hence his decision to leave :?

Runaround Man

Bullcrap. People face racism all day long. It is a part of life. That fact he quit on the team means he let johns get the better of him.

I was the 1 of 3 ethnics growing up at school out of 600 kids. I used to get called everythjing under the sun. I still went to school & gave as good as i got. But i did not let them get the better of me. I held my head up high.

There are otherways to take a stand & this is not 1 of them because he is letting down 16 other players for a drug addict

You don't get it do you.....
Tahu's actions WILL lead to change. They already have.
If he just kept his mouth shut or had it out with Johns it alll would still be kept in house.
By his actions we are now all debating this.
Like it or not, Tahu's actions are leading to positive change.
Do you deny this?

I can completely understand your stance and take my hat off to you for making it.
But, that was your choice to take that approach.
This is a bigger world and this has been Tahu's decision make his stance in this way. I also take my hat off to him.
One way or another, this sort of talk has no place in today's society. It's just childish and shows a lack of maturity, acceptance of one's fellow human beings and an immature, if not naive mindset.
We all bleed red.

I am dissapointed in tahu because in my eyes he has quit

Well he has quit; he quit the team.

But he also got this story all over tomorrow's papers and he's gotten Andrew Johns arsed from his job with the Blues.

This will have had a far bigger effect on changing the entrenched NSW bogan culture than if he'd kept it in-house. This is the same bogan culture which has led to Kurt Gidley continually being picked as captain, and Jarryd Hayne being picked on the wing.

And the NSW lack of unity that has led to 4 straight series losses. Does anyone here think the term 'black merkin' is thrown around amongst the Maroons? Not f**king likely.

dunno why you are getting narky with me over this??? :lol: ... i'm not having a go at tahu or anything - just saying i assume his mind isn't really on the job cos something has upset him alot - hence his decision to leave :?

Mate, not getting narky with you, it's just obvious what has upset him, and find it intolerable - as he has.

He stands up to it in the dressing room and possibly gets into fisticuffs with johns.

It can be hushed up and nothing real can come of it.

He is now standing up and walking away. Now it will be noticed more than if they had just fought about it.

By walking away, he is making more noise.

absolutely!

this will potentially bring Johns unstuck - possibly like his brother came unstuck .... be interesting to se what ch9 do

spartan2153

You don't get it do you.....
Tahu's actions WILL lead to change. They already have.
If he just kept his mouth shut or had it out with Johns it alll would still be kept in house.
By his actions we are now all debating this.
Like it or not, Tahu's actions are leading to positive change.
Do you deny this?

What he should have done is approach nswrl. Force there hand make johns quit. The fact he walked well have people saying he is a quitter.

Could you imagin NSWRL telling him we will keep it in house. They would have forced johns to quit & by doing that they would have had to explain why & if they did not tell us the reason then tahu can reveal to us all why he forced there hand.

This way he still plays for his state johns quits & gets oousted for the grub we all know he is & racism is bought to the forefront.

Runaround Man

Are you a laywer or something??

A bit too structured in your approach.
A wham bam thank you mam approach creates bigger waves

eels_fan

the fact the incident occurred wednesday night and he didnt leave til Friday tells me he probably did contact Bellamy or the NSWRL and was told to stay quiet or they didnt act the way he expected, so he acted accordingly

Good on him i say for sticking up for his morals and ethics

Johns has always been a clown, but now i've lost all respect for him.

T would have known putting his neck out was going to bring on a lot of negative press, and he did it anyway. He's no sook, whinger or dummy spitter, he is a strong minded values-focused family man and no one should be saying a negative word about him for being that way.

yy_cheng

What he should have done is approach nswrl. Force there hand make johns quit. The fact he walked well have people saying he is a quitter.

Could you imagin NSWRL telling him we will keep it in house. They would have forced johns to quit & by doing that they would have had to explain why & if they did not tell us the reason then tahu can reveal to us all why he forced there hand.

This way he still plays for his state johns quits & gets oousted for the grub we all know he is & racism is bought to the forefront.

And how do you know he didn't talk to some powers to be.

i don't think it would have worked out that way

i don't know if tahu meant it to all pan out like this or, as I am rightly or wrongly assuming (and yes it is just my assumption) it was eating him up and he felt he couldn't continue on wanted to get away from it when he didn't get supported by others

regardless, i think this is the biggest hoohar that could have come out from it all ... yeah, so people might call him a quitter, meh

Haynzy

Sorry but comparing Indigenous Aussies with other ethnic communities doesn't brush in my opinion.

White Australia has a long history of not just demeaning indigenous Aussies but oppressing them to the point of eroding their culture and in many cases actually killing it off.

For T to react like this the talk has obviously got too much. My GUESS is that he received little support from the coach and team mates and decided to walk.

Good on him....like i said earlier...

'if you don't stand for something you'll fall for anything'

Buuut we are all still guessing and making assumptions.

Hallatia

I am sad because I had Tahu down for at least 2 tries on Wednesday

That said, I am really proud of him for the stand he took, that sort of stuff is not on. I don't think it was an easy decision for him, but I think that's what he felt he had to do, it showed cajones and conviction and I really respect that. He could have gone about it in a different way, but I doubt many would have been likely to get as much attention as this, and create waves like this way is doing.

He did say
“If what eventuates is not just Joey but others becoming more aware of the need to show respect for different cultures then I feel the stand I have taken will be worthwhile. "

spartan2153

the fact the incident occurred wednesday night and he didnt leave til Friday tells me he probably did contact Bellamy or the NSWRL and was told to stay quiet or they didnt act the way he expected, so he acted accordingly

If that is the case i want to read that in the papers. Not that he walked out

If he has approached nswrl. The whole board should be sacked & every coach & manager involved in nsw SOO for not sacking johns first. Bellamy is ghone anyway but there no point asking for him to be called.

This situation is going to open a big can of worms.

I even remember after last years game 3 all the indig9inous boys from qld had there picture taken with the trophy.

Its rampant amougnst the league

1 Eyed TEZZA

lol at pete.

Having a go at Stagger for making a statement for claiming the CRL think pete is annoying without any facts, yet in the same thread, says Tahu needs to harden up without knowing what was said.

Hypocrite.