Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

TLT -RD 12 Friday 19/5 v Trellmit and the Fluffy Bunnies

JokerEel

There’s only so many runs in a set and in an 80 minute game of footy. Davey has made 19 runs (mostly settlers to set up a more important play) in 146 minutes since coming back to the club. That is significantly lower than our more dangerous attacking players, and if he was taking any more runs than that it would detract from our attack.

That is all we require from our right side edge forward, in attack. If there’s any opportunity wide on the right you can be sure we will be looking to get early ball to Penisini, not waste it on Andrew Davey. Not everyone is equally important in attack. You have your stars and your support players. Matterson is one of our most important players and we want him making a lot of carries, using his footwork against the opposition’s big, tired plodders. It is working well and he is having a career best season.

Meanwhile Davey has made a bunch of tackles (68 with 2 missed) at an important defensive position. That’s why he’s in the team.

All this and more is why we are sitting out of the 8.

Guy who works for me, who is a Rabbits supporter, gave me 18 points start on a 6 pack for Friday night. I wanted 24.
Its only a 6 pack. Take him up on the 18.

Tbh, this is the kind of game we often turn shit around and win when no f**ker expects us to ..... i dont think we will, but i reckon we will do better than expected .... i dont really think it will be 30

IFR33K

Or have they been given decent minutes because they improved the things that were holding them back?

there shouldn’t be anything holding them back. What they needed was game time to get their fitness up.

a 4.5 minute cameo was never helping their cause. Even if they needed to “improve the things that were holding them back”, As you’ve stated, there’s no way they’ll be able to improve with such small minutes and opportunity

Its only a 6 pack. Take him up on the 18.

Tbh, this is the kind of game we often turn shit around and win when no f**ker expects us to ..... i dont think we will, but i reckon we will do better than expected .... i dont really think it will be 30
I fear this game will expose us for the pretenders we are. I said it a few weeks ago, if we get annihilated here and then lose to the Cowboys at home I’d be sacking Arthur on the spot.

No more f**king around, I’d start fresh and end the Brad Arthur tenure.

eels_fan

I’d be sacking Arthur on the spot.

There is no point even discussing this. There is zero chance BA is sacked mid season this year. Just none.

And tbh, nor should he. Make a judgement call at the end of the season based on our finishing position and performances over the entire season.

emjaycee

There is no point even discussing this. There is zero chance BA is sacked mid season this year. Just none.

And tbh, nor should he. Make a judgement call at the end of the season based on our finishing position and performances over the entire season.
I think @Avenger knows this mate - he is just having one of those crazy Balkan moments he sometimes has. Mustn't had his dinner yet.

I fear this game will expose us for the pretenders we are. I said it a few weeks ago, if we get annihilated here and then lose to the Cowboys at home I’d be sacking Arthur on the spot.

His KPI-triggered extension should have also included a KPI-failure condition, that if we don't make the 8 in any season he is sacked.

emjaycee

What happens if we get the spoon this year? What would you do? @Poupou Escobar will tell us that it’s the same as coming 9th but give me your thoughts anyway.

Serious question.
He is currently signed until the end of '25 so IF we were to get the spoon this year, I would sit him down and say that 2024 will be his last year unless he can get us to the GF. If at any time during 2024 it is guaranteed that we will not make the 8, then we would be looking at an immediate replacement. Take it or leave now.

Why prolong the clubs lack of success for another year mate? The fear of a massive payout?

I also see what you did there in your comment.

"If we were to get the spoon".
So, if we come 16th, it's ok?

We really should be planning for next year NOW and putting a transition plan into place.
Arthur is not going to win us anything in the next 2 seasons so it is time to cut our losses now.
37 years.

Thats just the wishful thinking of your gut