Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Todd Carney agrees to terms with the Roosters.

Jebediah

His goal kicking is fairly average when things are going wrong for him. He is the type of player who can be put off by things going bad in his life and in the game etc

Our goal kicking has improved quite a bit since Campese took over.

Surely an improvement on Kenny-Dowall. SKD looks shaky from infront.

Timbo

I genuinely feel sorry for you Rooster fans (never thought I'd say that).

This guy is such a bonehead there's no way he won't stay out of trouble. I can see it now: First Friday night game, back to Easts Leagues after the game, over the road to Tea Gardens for a 'few quiet ones'...

One positive for you guys: No way on earth will his contract last its full term. He'll be sacked after six months.

dice

bullcrap...how many 400k superstars can one team have...what happened to not being able to afford mason so back loading his contract. How do they magically have the money to do this.

Roosters now from all reports have Minichiello on 400k, Anasta on 450k, Pearce on 400k, Myles on 350k, Mason on 400k, O'Meley on 400k. Thats 5 players on $2,000,000 between them. Add Carney on his huge contract and that gives you 19 players in a $1.6 mill salary cap (less than 85k per player). I doubt this very much considering they have Fitzgibbon, Soliola, Sa, Aubusson etc. in that mix who would also be on considerable money. Add to that all these superstars are on really long term deals.

Anasta
O'Meley
Mason
Nate Myles

SBW
Thurston
Price
Asotasi
Tonga
Ryan

The irony and hypocrisy is quite funny really.

bulldogs and souffs supporters are having a dribbling competition in here to see who can come up with the most sh*t. Anytime the hypocrisy is pointed out they go strangely quiet though...

I more disagree with this on a football level than a Todd Carney is a f**king moron level. I'm yet to be convinced Anasta can be a good lock, I guess Id be happy to be proven wrong though. No Greg Bird please.

Pass the Ball

It would appear that there is still plenty of water to pass under the bridge before Carney pulls on the red, white and blue...

Save the hate...let it boil and boil....

Tom Ace

52 - 12 :lol:

What's that got to do with Carney?

You'd obviously like to have a player like him at your club, despite any lies you may sprout in here otherwise.

Hence your jealousy.

By the way, get all you can out of that 52-12 champ. I have a feeling it's going to be the only highlight of your season.

I genuinely feel sorry for you Rooster fans (never thought I'd say that).

This guy is such a bonehead there's no way he won't stay out of trouble. I can see it now: First Friday night game, back to Easts Leagues after the game, over the road to Tea Gardens for a 'few quiet ones'...

One positive for you guys: No way on earth will his contract last its full term. He'll be sacked after six months.

It's all hope at the moment, I can't say at all we can change him around, because only himself can do that.

BeeeeeRad

What's that got to do with Carney?

You'd obviously like to have a player like him at your club, despite any lies you may sprout in here otherwise.

Hence your jealousy.

By the way, get all you can out of that 52-12 champ. I have a feeling it's going to be the only highlight of your season.

No way mate. They have the best halves in rugby league history based on thats one game against us. There is no way an average player like Carney could ever improve them at all.

Anyway Im bloody thrilled that this could happen. Pearce and Carney (not official yet I know) signed 'til 2013, future looking bright for Easts. I think having Freddy at coach being a mentor for Carney will be great as he himself overcame a rough off field start, and having a 6 day alcohol ban certainly has to help his chances.

Danish

I'd imagine we'll be hearing it for 4-5 years given how long the 18-6 calls lasted.

Perhaps one day they'll be able to brag about something other than a regular season win, but I doubt it.

Tokyo_Raider

Carney is one of those players who can divide a team. He's a friendly enough chap, but an absolute magnet for trouble. A few drinks in him, and he's a wanker of the highest order. Watch him form a clique at the Roosters of all the players with marginal behaviour.

This one is a real gamble for the chooks. It could come off, or we might find ourselves with yet another mid-year sacking and the resultant chaos.

On balance, I'd have left him in the bush.

Lambretta

this coming from a dogs fans who's team goes out and rapes the broncos and buys every player on the market,has a reserve grade team full of nrl players and still has to cheat to get 2 points.

I would hardly call giving contracts to players another team cannot fit under their salary cap "raping".

Well, unless pulling pants down and inserting objects up the bottoms of the owners of a football team is now part and parcel of signing a new player.

Roosterphin1

Carney is one of those players who can divide a team. He's a friendly enough chap, but an absolute magnet for trouble. A few drinks in him, and he's a wanker of the highest order. Watch him form a clique at the Roosters of all the players with marginal behaviour.

This one is a real gamble for the chooks. It could come off, or we might find ourselves with yet another mid-year sacking and the resultant chaos.

On balance, I'd have left him in the bush.

So who are all the players with "marginal behaviour". Hang on what is "marginal behaviour".

Lambretta

So who are all the players with "marginal behaviour". Hang on what is "marginal behaviour".

Maybe it involves contract negotiations and using dairy products instead of KY when the aforementioned "raping" is taking place.

You might need to ask the CEO of the Broncos for clarification.

Scarves

Not sure if this has already been said, however Dean Ritchie and Telegraph have given Carney, the roosters and the NRL an absolute belting over his 2010 return in todays paper. This youngster Todd Carney is obviously an over drunk anti social idiot who's out of the game until 2010 - pretty much a year and a half and deservedly so.

But turn that back page and in a feel good moment the Telegraph serenades the "mesmerising" Ben Cousins a drug associated AFL champion with past links to the Perth underworld.

Whatever your feelings on Carney, this paper and it's sports editor have double standards to the point of complete hypocrisy. I'd almost understand if I were reading an AFL propaganda Melbourne Rag but - a Sydney Paper. This tabloid probably lost most of it's cred years ago but they need to get out of the game now now now.

They smash League when ever they can but stroke their belting rods over something the same by someone plenty worse in another code. Backs to them.