Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Todd Carney

Vicious

crouching_tiger said:
I believe ya Vish......i don't need to rely on public media announcements before calling someone a liar or full of BS.....

:crazy: :sarcasm:

Ink, what has happened to you, to make you such a bitter and twisted person ???
You fair dinkum wouldn`t smile if you won powerball !!!

Mish

innsaneink said:
istockphoto_3809007_blow_your_own_trumpet.jpg

It must be true then.

love that pic.. I'll be borrowing that one.

I am sure I have seen Alien and Mish walking hand in hand behind Telstra from the western side towards maccas before a Fri night game (easts from memory) ... could this be the first WTF wedding ... the only bone of contention, so to speak would be whether campbelltown or penriff park got to host the big event ...

mean_maori_mean

Vicious said:
I don`t know how much over, but my info is from someone close enough to the club to know exactly what`s going on, yet far enough away to not be real impressed with how the club has progressed since `2005. The man in question has quite a close connection with quite a few other NRL clubs as well and openly states what a laughing stock the size and aggression shown from our forwards is !!!
When talking about our lack of size and my disappointment in how players such as Halatau have progressed since `2005, he stated that he knows for a fact that he`s on over $150,000 per season and he knows for a fact that no other NRL club would pay him within $50,000 per season of what we`re paying him.
And for the record, this man lays a lot of the blame on Noyce, says that he incompetent, spends the money in wrong areas and is the main reason a lot of proposals are blocked and the main reason we have gone so far backwards since `2005.
To be honest i wasn`t real sure what to take of that comment, but this person would know far more than me !!!

I heard halatau took a pay-cut during the offseason. not a downgraded contract but an actual pay-cut of a contract he had already signed. Either b'coz tigers exceed cap.

Betch Fulton, Gibbs and co will all be on similar money.

Forget halatau - what about Ryan O'Hara I heard tigers were paying him pretty big money - he supposed to be their forward leader - how many games did he play???
I seen him play twice - he looked liked the second coming of both Lang/Long - hit the line and get absolutely smashed but no where near as a effective.
How can u bag halatau? when this guy is on more money and even worse.

Galloway has improved still a bit to sluggish.

mean_maori_mean

Vicious said:
Fats never has and never will be a good defender, hence the reason no NRL club was willing to pay anywhere near the money he was wanting, hence the reason he was offloaded by the Warriors, the Storm and the Panthers before we signed him in desperation, as anything was an improvement on the likes of those Balmain products in O`Halloran and Bradley-Qualilawa.
. You`ll see how good a defender he is once again when he gets carved up this weekend and like good `ole Mark O`Neill, he`ll even prove to be a flop in the Super League.
Halatau quite simply hasn`t had a go since `2005 yet commands over $150,000 of our salary cap, you tell me what he should be worth ???
And as for Warren McDonnell, it`s very debateable as to whether he was responsible for signing Peter Lewis, i`m more inclined to believe this was a Tim Sheens brainstorm, but when bagging Warren McDonnell, don`t forget about the 4 Junior Kangaroos he recruited, can`t be doing too bad a job ??? Since McDonnell starting as our recruitment officer, every promising junior that we`ve wanted to keep has been retained, would you rather go back 5 or so years and see all our best local talent snapped up by rival NRL clubs, yet superstars such as O`Halloran and Bradley-Qualilawa be given the saloon passage into first grade ???

Fats has never been a good defender - crap. He was until this year but everyone in the tigers backline sucked this year even the gold child - Chris Lawrence.

Also Fats wasnt offloaded by the warriors - he was a young gun and felt he wasnt getting a shot that why he left.
With Panthers - he got better offers.

As to the ESL - he wont flop - Jamaal Lolesi has been carving up at centre from what I've seen. Shows you how he was wasted at the tigers

Navjot

Your right about o'hara he is on big money to be playing PL, Fats was a decent defender but tailed off towards the end of the year got a bit grabby, and hardly passed the ball, and Lawrence knows himself that hes attack is ok, but his defence needs a lot of work if hes to become a permanent centre.

Vicious

mean_maori_mean said:
I heard halatau took a pay-cut during the offseason. not a downgraded contract but an actual pay-cut of a contract he had already signed. Either b'coz tigers exceed cap.

Betch Fulton, Gibbs and co will all be on similar money.

Forget halatau - what about Ryan O'Hara I heard tigers were paying him pretty big money - he supposed to be their forward leader - how many games did he play???
I seen him play twice - he looked liked the second coming of both Lang/Long - hit the line and get absolutely smashed but no where near as a effective.
How can u bag halatau? when this guy is on more money and even worse.

Galloway has improved still a bit to sluggish.

If he did take a pay cut, it would be much deserved, he`s a reserve grader, both he and Fatz will both be shown as reserve graders this weekend and i can`t wait !

Vish if you want a reserve grader to cast some venom on look at the spastic tommy shines signed to replace prince. His attempts at the show and go prince does are a bit like the ron jeremy moves i try on in the cot. I try my best but like johnny i don't have the talent.

mean_maori_mean

Vicious said:
If he did take a pay cut, it would be much deserved, he`s a reserve grader, both he and Fatz will both be shown as reserve graders this weekend and i can`t wait !

yeah well - Filipaina was a 'reserve' grader and totally owned the 'king' in '85 - maybe some aussies dont know how to get the best of the kiwi players.

Tigers would be nothing with out their kiwi connection - well they would be something - they would be a 2nd canberra.

Fatz - is playing in-front of his home crowd I bet he will have a big one.

with farah consistently overlooked and cam smith being only young - halatau might be the only international hooker you's have for a while.

Halatau ain't a hooker mate.
I am a Halatau fan but one thing he ain't is a hooker
This Phats hatred vish ... be careful what you wish for ... before phats just remember the sh*t we had in that jersey

Vicious

themanonthehill said:
Halatau ain't a hooker mate.
I am a Halatau fan but one thing he ain't is a hooker
This Phats hatred vish ... be careful what you wish for ... before phats just remember the sh*t we had in that jersey

I just want centres that are fast, will run the ball hard at all times, tackle with aggression (preferably with the shoulder) and most impotantly have a few brains about them. I`m a Collis fan, but his aggression needs to improve dramatically next season or he`ll never quite make the grade. Lawrence has class in every area except for his attrocious grabbing defence. I think he has the scope to improve in this area and it needs to happen fast. I quite like the idea of Fulton possibly playing as a centre. Sheens doesn`t try too much, so i doubt it will be given a go and i know that Liam isn`t exactly lightning fast, but he does run onto the ball and hit a hole well, plus his inspector gadget arms should be able to create for his winger should he play in the centres. We also have a couple of younsters in Blake Ayshford and a young Magpie i`ve seen play briefly, but was most impressive in Simon Dwyer amongst others.
As for the Kiwis, Ben Te`o is a brilliant young prospect, Taniela Tuiaki is the real deal and will trouble the Aussies, i`ve always had time for Bronson Harrison and if he ever gets out wider as a lock or second rower i`m sure he could be a big danger man for us and of course Benji is a class act, but i`m not sure if his attitude is where it should be to further advance his career at this stage ??? Nothing personal against Halatau, he played a huge part in us winning the comp in `2005, but he`s small for a modern day forward and when you add to the fact that he`s very one dimensional, not a great one on one defender and very rarely if ever hits hard in defence, it`s hard to imagine where his first grade NRL career is heading ???
I`ve said enough about Fatz, but he`s an imposter who was gifted alteast 75% of his tries and he was finally found out this season when we needed him to stand up and create something on his own. To be fair dinkum, even the very average Shane Elford occasionally looked like he was Gene Miles playing outside the wizardry of Prince, Marshall, Hodgson and Farah of `2005 !!!
Sure John Morris and Ryan O`Hara are in the same well over paid boat, but there`s no denying that.

Callan Pk

I'd love to see carney at WT next year.
I'd love to never have to work again too & live on a tropical island surround by naked glammas