Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Todd Greenberg has pretty much said one Sydney team will be relocated.

Absolutely! I used to be one of those who would run out on to Waverley Oval each weekend, or out of Henson Park playing in the Roosters HM’s squad. My club is my club and it has been that way forever, and will be that way forever. If I’m living in Sydney and that was the only way to see the Roosters run around, then sure!

In a digital age there’s no shortage of having games and scores live streamed. I’d watch them that way if I had to. Even pay a subscription to the club just to do it if I’m out of state. I support them whether I get to see them or not. Hell, I still check up on my old junior clubs to see how they are travelling.

I support Rugby League, whether it’s the guys in the NRL, a nothing comp playing over in the RLEF, or juniors at the local field.

I do that with my club. In the lottery, buy a jersey, pay for digital subscription, I watch every game streamed and I get to see them live once every 4-5 years. When I got to Perth thought Id try AFL as knew we were not getting an NRL club any time soon and enjoy going to live games, went to about 4 games and couldnt get into it. When Force entered vaguely considered going, then punched myself in the face and told myself to stop being a dck. I dont get people who walk away from a sport they really enjoy to follow one they dont care that much about.

Jimmy Wiggle

You'd get a few of the old faithfuls watching, but I feel the majority would just lose interest with the Adelaide Sharks as an example.The name's there but the tribalism's not.More so when you have a decent size junior league.

Me I'd become more interested in International rugby league, of which even now I have an interest.

@taipan, that’s what I’m talking about you would still watch but in a different way. I truly don’t understand how someone can just go to another sport, especially one they haven’t watched before. They must have had some sort of an interest to change so easily.

Stallion

Two additional clubs very soon! You would certainly think so! It's supposed to be the most popular tv sports product in Australia? Otherwise something dodgy is going on. Meaning this competition is being deliberately held back by people within the administration IMO.

Diesel

Interstate fans seem to be more willing to see a relocation rather than ones that live in the same area.

Vee

But would you go to Waverley Oval watching Easts playing RG with 100 fans knowing the players playing can never help you win a NRL premiership ever again
I drove from Mt Isa to Tsv to watch NQ play the Redcliffe Dolphins in the old state league.

Still glad i didn't waste my time driving Cns/Tsv to watch that dross tonight.

taipan

@taipan, that’s what I’m talking about you would still watch but in a different way. I truly don’t understand how someone can just go to another sport, especially one they haven’t watched before. They must have had some sort of an interest to change so easily.

I would still watch International rugby league.not my relocated team.I wouldn't go to another sport, as I have other interests.But I do know quite a few fans of my club who would either give up completely or go to another sport.
I do know when the Bears were flicked ,their fans did not go to other NRL clubs, else Manly crowds would be up substantially.I do know some who went to the Tahs. When people feel they have something they value taken away ,they react in many different ways, other sports is now an option.

Perhaps if I moved interstate eg Gold Coast I would watch my team play on TV, but not if it was taken away from my area where I actually live and go to games.It's the tribalism.

The sense of belonging just isn't there anymore.And when you have juniors that lose their club, you say to them 'oh it's Ok you get to play for your parent club in Adelaide.
It is very easy to sit in judgement from afar.

If the club was going broke and it was the only way,I'd accept the fact, but I would still lose the "umbilical cord" of attachment.
It's human nature, and I think the NRL H/O is beginning to realise the fact, and will go with 18 teams for expansion.

I could handle playing games at the new SFS if it meant survival, and would make an effort to go when practical.

The thing I would add.When you move outside the area, from where the club is domiciled, it's the choice of that person to do so.When a club is moved, that choice is taken away from the individuals of the club ,who attend regularly or even intermittently..

MrE_Assassin

The thing I would add.When you move outside the area, from where the club is domiciled, it's the choice of that person to do so.When a club is moved, that choice is taken away from the individuals of the club ,who attend regularly or even intermittently..
Not all individual moves are by choice, my friend. Some are out of the hands of the individual, as is in my case. If I could have stayed in Sydney then I would have, or had an option to come back then definitely. Unfortunately I have circumstances which stop that from happening. Doesn’t mean that if my team stopped representing Sydney and HAD to represent a new city that I would stop following... different courses for different horses I guess.

As far as juniors are concerned, if I were a young guy in Sydney, and my team was affiliated with an NRL team in another city and it was a chance at an NRL career then I wouldn’t care. It’s still a shot at the big time. It already happens so why would it be an issue just because there isn’t an NRL club on your door step? Melbourne is a prime example as their affiliated club is in QLD. Canberra have Mounties, a Parramatta Jnrs club, feeding them. I’d be happy as a youngster just to have a shot.

Kids will play the game because they love the game and want to replicate their idols.... and they aren’t always from their local clubs.

Stallion

Not all individual moves are by choice, my friend. Some are out of the hands of the individual, as is in my case. If I could have stayed in Sydney then I would have, or had an option to come back then definitely. Unfortunately I have circumstances which stop that from happening. Doesn’t mean that if my team stopped representing Sydney and HAD to represent a new city that I would stop following... different courses for different horses I guess.

As far as juniors are concerned, if I were a young guy in Sydney, and my team was affiliated with an NRL team in another city and it was a chance at an NRL career then I wouldn’t care. It’s still a shot at the big time. It already happens so why would it be an issue just because there isn’t an NRL club on your door step? Melbourne is a prime example as their affiliated club is in QLD. Canberra have Mounties, a Parramatta Jnrs club, feeding them. I’d be happy as a youngster just to have a shot.

Kids will play the game because they love the game and want to replicate their idols.... and they aren’t always from their local clubs.

The point about juniors is fair. Although proximity to family and friends is a major consideration. What is noticeable is that junior numbers increase when opportunity increase . Another compelling case for much needed additional clubs in the top flight.

MrE_Assassin

The point about juniors is fair. Although proximity to family and friends is a major consideration. What is noticeable is that junior numbers increase when opportunity increaseso. Another compelling case for much needed additional clubs in the top flight.
I don’t disagree with the need for more clubs but I’d prefer to see it go outside of NSW to start improving the talents in other regions.

I like what the NRL VIC and NRL WA are doing with the Thunderbolts and Pirates respectively. Having them play regular footy against well established junior locations in Sydney/QLD by way of the RM Cup and such allows these youngsters to see what the standard is in the heartlands of RL.

It is unfortunate that at the moment they guys get a cricket score put on them, and I hope they don’t get disheartened or disenfranchised by it as they are pioneering the way forward for future VIC and WA NRL stars, it just takes time.

taipan

I understand your view, that jobs, family situations mean moving away, but that is an individual situation.It could happen to me went close to moving North in my early married years, anyone of us perhaps.There are numbers of Shark's fan on the Far Nth Coast and SE Qld.Yet some even here, have stated they'd give up if the club was moved.

I would really find it hard, if I had to move Interstate,so I'm not an expert re that aspect.

I'm drawing a comparison with the fanbase, many I suggest who attend regularly or irregularly and are relatively close geographically.Not on your doorstep,I know people from near Blacktown who are Shark's season ticket holders, but they live in Sydney.

Perhaps ask ET where he'd prefer to play, close to home, where his families,friends and fans are located or say Adelaide.Homesickness does affect players at times.I know it sometimes comes down to the highest bidder.Kids playing the game, who want to play for the club that now operates in their area and the players to whom they idolise.

Melbourne have players from everywhere the stars given a chance because they couldn't get it at the Broncos ,a relocated team would mean the team (emphasis on team)that is shifted, would have their players in the main move away from home or their place of abode.

I'd accept as I have stated prior, a relocation for a club going broke, but I can assure you what you gain in fans there, you lose in fans here.And who fills the void,I have a fair idea .

Stallion

I don’t disagree with the need for more clubs but I’d prefer to see it go outside of NSW to start improving the talents in other regions.

I like what the NRL VIC and NRL WA are doing with the Thunderbolts and Pirates respectively. Having them play regular footy against well established junior locations in Sydney/QLD by way of the RM Cup and such allows these youngsters to see what the standard is in the heartlands of RL.

It is unfortunate that at the moment they guys get a cricket score put on them, and I hope they don’t get disheartened or disenfranchised by it as they are pioneering the way forward for future VIC and WA NRL stars, it just takes time.

Fully agree. By ensuring and planning proactively for additional clubs it sends a positive message to all juniors. Another club in Brisbane would significantly increase interest and juniors in Qld/Brisbane. A West Coast club in Perth would also increase junior numbers and interest in the code. It's logical. Let's hope this happens very soon. Kids & fans are missing out!

jim_57

If a Sydney club were to relocate whatever the circumstances, there would be nothing stopping them from setting up "away" memberships I'd imagine.

They could still actively try to entice Sydney fans to stay with the club and support them when they play in Sydney 5+ times a year. I'm sure a lot of fans would take that option over the club going extinct. With 8 other Sydney clubs it's not like any club relocated isn't going to be still playing in Sydney regularly anyway.

We do keep getting hammered in SG Ball but we dont have the funds or the pool of jnrs of NSW SG Ball sides so the scores, as disheartening as they can be for the lads, are not that important. I also reconcile it that we are playing in the best U18's comp in the world, whoich for a non RL city with so much travel involved is pretty impressive to start with.
We've had about 30 kids go on from our SG Ball to play in the next level at NSW or Qland cup and will see more Waqa Blakes and Curtis Rhonas emerge. SG Ball for them is about putting their individual talent in the NRL shop window. Would be nice to start closing the gap though!

I do agree having a local club to aspire to can make a difference, especially when you are so far away. A lot of our Jnrs still end up in Union with the Farce or elsewhere, that would definitely stop if they had progression into NSW Cup then NRL local club.

If a Sydney club were to relocate whatever the circumstances, there would be nothing stopping them from setting up "away" memberships I'd imagine.

They could still actively try to entice Sydney fans to stay with the club and support them when they play in Sydney 5+ times a year. I'm sure a lot of fans would take that option over the club going extinct. With 8 other Sydney clubs it's not like any club relocated isn't going to be still playing in Sydney regularly anyway.

Again I think it would depend on the circumstances of the relocation. If the club had no choice and was either that or go out of existence then I could see the "home" fans being ore up for continuing to support them and getting to away games in Sydney. If it was felt to be forced then the emotions would kick in and we would see the old jersey burning int he streets going on which I totally understand. It would only likely a generational thing I suspect though as long as RL at schools and grassroots and in the city stayed mainstream and strong. End of day kids follow a sport because their mates do, its played in school, its on the tv, its cool etc

titoelcolombiano

You fool! It takes more than a few years for people to change a culturally accepted norm! When the Bears were kicked out, rugby league lost 100000s of fans. You don't believe this , however when a longstanding footy club is axed due to a flawed agreement: it hurts . The sports fans have gone to alternate codes as a result of the Bears axing. You deny this constantly. Yet it's quite normal for disenfranchised fans to do so. THEY LEAVE rugby league ! They go elsewhere. 10000 crowds at local union games would not have happened in northern Sydney had the Bears been in the top flight . This doesn't compute with you. But it's quite rational and really natural . If the sport has been abandoned a response does occur and its well and truelly occured in northern Sydney.

Prior to Super Rugby the Shute Shield was the top flight of RU in Australia. Ironically that all happened in the 90's too so you argument doesn't stack up. Shall I assume that you don't have any real evidence then?

titoelcolombiano

Trust me and others. That is not happening. And the numbers are much greater than South-Logan. Clubs like the Bears received massive exposure and notoriety thru tv exposure in the 70s,80s & 90s. This is a significant and major difference to compare. I respect Soutgs-Logan and various other rugby-league. But the ones that were part of the boom exposure period mentioned do not come near the popularity gained over that period in the BIG LEAGLE. Suppose it's a place in time thing however it's reality.

@Jimmy Wiggle mate Stallion is not aware of the popularity of the Queensland Cup today nor does he seem to be aware how big the BRL was back in the 80's (yes TV exposure and all). He is also blissfully aware that the NSW Cup had the funds to buy the best Queensland players and eventually allow the Broncos to enter because of poker machine money and pretty much no other factors. He doesn't seem to give a sh!t about traditional clubs if they are not from Sydney.

titoelcolombiano

I get where you are coming from.But if you lived within the area or not that far away, the physical attachment such as apart from going to games being local, but seeing the players in the streets also, plays a big part in the emotional attachment.

We went through that in Brisbane in the 80's. It is where the NSW Cup has to step in and cater for the locals like the QLD Cup did after the demise of the BRL. Obvioulsy harder if the team is relocated out of Sydney but I'm not infavour of that option.

taipan

We went through that in Brisbane in the 80's. It is where the NSW Cup has to step in and cater for the locals like the QLD Cup did after the demise of the BRL. Obvioulsy harder if the team is relocated out of Sydney but I'm not infavour of that option.

But you would agree since the arrival of the Broncs,that team has now taken over the news publicity, crowds merchandising ,that the old BRL enjoyed in the past .I understand it has picked up, but it's not as if a premiership club was relocated, just that the old BRL clubs have all taken 2nd place to the Broncs.\

Thats' why IMO, it's important Brisbane gets another top line NRL club, for so many monetary and fan friendly reasons.

The biggest question mark hanging over our code and indeed all the others, with Netflix,Stan, streaming etc biting into Fox and FTA, just what sort of monies will be around in 2023.
I'd be sucking up to ch10 if I was Greenburger & Co.CBS has the financial balls.

titoelcolombiano

But you would agree since the arrival of the Broncs,that team has now taken over the news publicity, crowds merchandising ,that the old BRL enjoyed in the past .I understand it has picked up, but it's not as if a premiership club was relocated, just that the old BRL clubs have all taken 2nd place to the Broncs.\

Thats' why IMO, it's important Brisbane gets another top line NRL club, for so many monetary and fan friendly reasons.

The biggest question mark hanging over our code and indeed all the others, with Netflix,Stan, streaming etc biting into Fox and FTA, just what sort of monies will be around in 2023.
I'd be sucking up to ch10 if I was Greenburger & Co.CBS has the financial balls.

True - I'm not a fan of relocation for the reason you have pointed out. For the Sydney clubs it is either NRL or NSW Cup for me. If the latter becomes a reality for a club, then that is where the NSW Cup needs to step up and make sure they cater better for fans of clubs in the second teir.

Stormwarrior82

Greenberg should walk into fox and nine studios and tell them that due to lack of crowds they would prefer the Thursday game to be on fta on Saturday arvo or night. If they want to keep the Thursday game prime time slot and broadcast the game to all of Australia they need to “show the Nrl the money”!