Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Top ten things Rugby owes to league

ANTiLAG

The revolution in both rugby codes in Aust was well under way long before Ridge arrived.
http://news.google.com/newspapers?id=RDdWAAAAIBAJ&sjid=YegDAAAAIBAJ&dq=rugby%20corner%20kickers&pg=5943%2C2792594

By 1984 Rugby Union worldwide was round the corner. Hell by 1980 Rugby union was. If not mid 70's. Why was League 10 - 15 + years behind the times Mr RL? You really think Union goal kickers and Union goal kicking coaches did not speed up the approach? Or is simply that Australia just took longer to evolve than Britain, NZ and the rest of the rugby world? Is this common? Clearly from your articleeven within Australia the article identifies round the corner being more widespread in union than league.

But thanks for that article - next time dumb dumb loudstrat attempts to say toe poking gets more distance - I'll paste it to him ;) Clearly Bob Dwyer had a brain and knew what he was talking about. Lol at Arthur McGill seeing round the corner as a 'fad'. Wonder if thats what Jack Gibson thought of it too. Couldn't be - the man was infallable. And McGill's the man charged with teaching the method - thinking its only useful for one side of the field. No wonder it took Australian League took longer to catch on widespread if they listened to that idiot over Dwyer.

RL1908

By 1984 Rugby Union worldwide was round the corner. Why was League 10+ years behind the times Mr RL? You really think Union goal kickers and Union goal kicking coaches did not speed up the approach?

Huh? Where did I deny that round the corner was more prevalent in international RU than before RL? All I did was post a link showing the change in kicking in Sydney was well underway before Ridge.

ANTiLAG

Huh? Where did I deny that round the corner was more prevalent in international RU than before RL? All I did was post a link showing the change in kicking in Sydney was well underway before Ridge.

And what Im saying is that after Ridge's impact all clubs were influecned into thinking they HAD to HAVE a round the corner kicker. Then we see a total throw out of the the toe pokers in the 90's. Clubs even bought union goal kickers like Crossan. They thought they'd they would not be competitive and miss out ona finals spot without a decent gun shooting round the corner man.

Stats for goal kicking went through the roof - compare the toe poking NSWRL 80's with the round the corner mid 90's and today. Massive improvements in accuracy.

Tees, grounds, sand, leather balls vs synthetic balls are smoke screens because round the corner kicking is more accurate in all conditions with all equipment.

Everlovin Antilogic:

Why would I discuss John Gray when I discussed Willie Horne? The 40's were before the 70's, mate. John Gray did not cause a lasting change in the way goal kicks were executed. But Ridge and the converts did. By the time Ridge retired - everyone was round the corner? When he entered - well that just wsn't the case. The change happened in the 90's not the 70's. Cronin, Menegina, Matterson were all toe poking their way through the 80's and the latter two into the 90's.

Yeah the 40's were before the 70's and the 70's were before the 1980's and 1990's you dense gimp.

Gray was before the guys you say revolutionised goalkicking in Rugby League.

Face facts dimwit, the only reason you're saying it is becuse you're pushing a pro-Union barrow.

Notice in the article RL1908 posted, that John Gray was seen as more of a catalyst than any NZ Union player. And also notice the article is from 1984. Which of the players you're always banging on about played in the NSWRL before that?

Ridge?

Botica?

I think you mean goal kicking coaches.... that were signed.... you mean like Botica? Apprently he doesn't count. Maybe you meant like Allan Hewson? But now you'll just give a rant of how you do not care for union idenitities.

Feel free to link those any time you like to anything that confirms what you're saying so can then hang sh*t on it.

Ouija - I could not be bothered grabbing a dictionary. Thanks for correcting myspelling but what I am most impressed with - you comprehended the gist. This is possibly a first for you. Well done.

You didn't misspell it, no one could claim to misspell ouija as widgee. You have one letter correct but in the wrong place, that's not a spelling error.

It's an idiot error. Only an idiot would make it.

But I never went to wikipedia to search for toe-hacking, toe-poking or crap goalkicking technique.

The only place I've ever seen it called toe-hacking is on wikipedia.

This thread and conversing with you does not require my needing to find a dictionary and check the spelling of words because you're simply not worth it.

You're attempting to take the intellectual high ground constantly. You're the one holding yourself up as an intellecutal superior, be it to any other poster or to everyone.

If it bit you on the arse thanks to a "widgee", that's hardly anyone else's fault.

Toe hacking is a terrbily crap technique that did not survive evolution. It is embarrassing for rugby league that it took so long to evolve.

Toe-poking was fine for the eras it was used in.

Get over it.

All toe poking = crap. Even the best toe pokers were crap. Round the corner kickers are advanced in every manner in every scenario. Distance, accuracy, tee, sand, just grass divet, leather ball, synthetic ball. Thats why round the corner kicking remains alive and well at all levels, at all grounds, and also the reason why toe poking is extinct. Hope that little bit of logical syllogism was not too much for you. But feel free to correct my spelling and grammar. Just leave the thinking to me sunshine - you can proof read my posts for me and grab me a coffee too whilst you're at it.

Leave the thinking to you? :lol:

The last time I did that you came up with "widgee".

Typicla Union fan, nothing but a pretentious wanker with delusions of grandeur. You have no argument and a chip on your shoulder that a deaf dumb and blind dwarf would be embarrassed to have. Go back to PR you self-absorbed phlegm-snorting peasant.

Here, this is the bloke you remind me of;

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4yWPV-jCoME

greg

From memory the pommy league player Lee Crooks was also an early exponent of the round the corner kick with Wests in the mid eighties. Good ball playing 2nd rower who could kick goals. Like John Gray earlier I say he also was influential in the gradual change over.

ANTiLAG

Yeah the 40's were before the 70's and the 70's were before the 1980's and 1990's you dense gimp. Gray was before the guys you say revolutionised goalkicking in Rugby League.
And Willie Horne was also before Gray, which was before the guys I say revolutionised goalkicking in League. YOU HAVE NO POINT>

Face facts dimwit, the only reason you're saying it is becuse you're pushing a pro-Union barrow. Notice in the article RL1908 posted, that John Gray was seen as more of a catalyst than any NZ Union player. And also notice the article is from 1984. Which of the players you're always banging on about played in the NSWRL before that?
Notice from the article that 75% of union kickers were round the corner and only FOUR kickers in the NSWRL were round the corner. Notice from the article the Australian kicking coach thinks round the corner kicking is a fad. Notice from the article being 1984 that subsequent years NSWRL was still dominated by toe pokers. Notice that from Ridge's retirment there are no regular first grade toe pokers. Notice that you are a moron. I am not pro union. I support rugby league. I am just objective and know where today's widespread round the corner kicking in league came from. Union. Ridge caused it to come in at revolutionary speed. The revolution IN UNION WAS OBVIOUSLY PRE RIDGE! HE WAS A UNION PLAYER YOU DUMB ARSE! HOW THICK CAN YOU BE?!

Ridge?

Botica?

Union players who came to league.

Feel free to link those any time you like to anything that confirms what you're saying so can then hang sh*t on it.
What?

You didn't misspell it, no one could claim to misspell ouija as widgee. You have one letter correct but in the wrong place, that's not a spelling error.
If I didn't misspell it - are you saying I have spelt it correctly. I don't think I have spelt it correctly, thus I misspelt it. YOU F*N IDIOT. I DIN't SAY I TYPO'd. I SAID I SPELT IT INCORRECTLY. Christ this is laughable.

The only place I've ever seen it called toe-hacking is on wikipedia.
Toe Hack is a wide spread term for it in NZ and Britain.

You're attempting to take the intellectual high ground constantly. You're the only holding yourself up as an intellecutal superior, be it to any other poster or to everyone.
No I just point out that I utilise logic and others utilise illogical statements and mere assertions with syllogistic fallacies.

If it bit you on the arse thanks to a "widgee", that's hardly anyone else's fault.
Toe-poking was fine for the eras it was used in.
Get over it.
And the dinosaurs were fine for the environment they lived in. But they're extinct now - like the toe poke. They couldn't adapt to the demands of the new environemnt. They failed. Like toe poking. They were a crap design that evolution did away with.

Leave the thinking to you? :lol: The last time I did that you came up with "widgee".
Thinking and spelling are two different things Everloving.

Typicla Union fan, nothing but a pretentious wanker with delusions of grandeur. You have no argument and a chip on your shoulder that a deaf dumb and blind dwarf would be embarrassed to have. Go back to PR you self-absorbed phlegm-snorting peasant.
How is this an argument? Even if true this would only be a personal attack. Are you an agry man? Have you failed in life? Did the boy inside you who had big dreams of success become a little frustrated at the trials of life's challenges? I am not a union fan. I am a league fan. My argument is league was behind the times of goal kicking with regards union, and with union players help - ala Ridge, Halligan, Crossan, Schuster, Botica and with coaches such as Alan Hewson; got with the times.

Round the corner > Toe poke

Ridge goal kicking > Cronin goal kicking

Before Ridge - toe pokers throughout NSWRL

After Ridge - no toe pokers.

And Willie Horne was also before Gray, which was before the guys I say revolutionised goalkicking in League. YOU HAVE NO POINT>

You're a mental.

Notice from the article that 75% of union kickers were round the corner and only FOUR kickers in the NSWRL were round the corner. Notice from the article the Australian kicking coach thinks round the corner kicking is a fad. Notice from the article being 1984 that subsequent years NSWRL was still dominated by toe pokers. Notice that from Ridge's retirment there are no regular first grade toe pokers. Notice that you are a moron. I am not pro union. I support rugby league. I am just objective and know where today's widespread round the corner kicking in league came from. Union. Ridge caused it to come in at revolutionary speed. The revolution IN UNION WAS OBVIOUSLY PRE RIDGE! HE WAS A UNION PLAYER YOU DUMB ARSE! HOW THICK CAN YOU BE?!

It says 75% of Union kickers in the Sydney Union competition you frigging nimnal.

It was also in 1984 you spastic. Years before Ridge, Botica etc. But years after John Gray.

And don't bullsh*t, if you're a Rugby League fan first and foremost, I'm the Sultan of Brunei.

Who gives a f**k about the revolution in Union. In Rugby League here, it started with John Gray and gradually took over. According to you it was gradual because it was hard to learn.

It must have been tough to learn if Ron Giteau taught himself. Was he a Kiwi Union kicking coach in disguise?

Union players who came to league.

Well after John Gray came to the NSWRL.

God you're an idiot.

Post links to prove that Kiwi Union kicking coaches were employed in the NSWRL in the 1970's and 1980's.

Your word is worth a pinch of Pelican piss.

If I didn't misspell it - are you saying I have spelt it correctly. I don't think I have spelt it correctly, thus I misspelt it. YOU F*N IDIOT. I DIN't SAY I TYPO'd. I SAID I SPELT IT INCORRECTLY. Christ this is laughable.

No, laughable is typing widgee when the word is ouija then claiming it as a spelling error.

You spelt it phoentically. It was correct to you, just not to the English language. That isn't a spelling error, it's stupidity. It's not like you didn't have any way to look the word up is it?

Toe Hack is a wide spread term for it in NZ and Britain.

Is it.

FFS....

No I just point out that I utilise logic and others utilise illogical statements and mere assertions with syllogistic fallacies.

See, the intellectual high-ground again.

Didn't I already call you a pretentious wanker?

I think I did....

And the dinosaurs were fine for the environment they lived in. But they're extinct now - like the toe poke. They couldn't adapt to the demands of the new environemnt. They failed. Like toe poking. They were a crap design that evolution did away with.

Toe-poking was fine in the eras it was used in.

You can dispute it all you like but the fact that they didn't move en masse to around the corner kicking until the 1980's rolls your theory up into a little ball and flushes down the toilet.

Thinking and spelling are two different things Everloving.

Seriously?

How is this an argument?

An argument is a collective series of statements intended to establish a proposition. With apologies to Monty Python...

Is that not what is happening here?

It's not just the automatic gainsaying of anything the other person says, is it?

Even if true this would only be a personal attack.

Don't dip your toes in the water if you're afraid of getting wet little man.

Are you an agry man?

I'm awfully agry.

Have been all my life.

Have you failed in life? Did the boy inside you who had big dreams of success become a little frustrated at the trials of life's challenges?

Nope, not at all.

Keep going though.

I am not a union fan. I am a league fan.

Yeah, you are a Union fan.

My argument is league was behind the times of goal kicking with regards union, and with union players help - ala Ridge, Halligan, Crossan, Schuster, Botica and with coaches such as Alan Hewson; got with the times.

Yeah, except they were well after around the corner kicking had been established in Rugby League.

Still waiting for that link to the Union coaches in the NSWRL.

Round the corner > Toe poke

You're entitled to your opinion.

Ridge goal kicking > Cronin goal kicking

Before Ridge - toe pokers throughout NSWRL

After Ridge - no toe pokers.

Mal Meninga was a toe poker and his last kick at goal was in September 1994.

Matthew Ridge's first kick was in 1990.

Bzzzzzzzzz.

dannyboy

Is my memory that bad 'cause I'm sure that Simms (toe poke) > Gray (corner) from the same playing era

ANTiLAG

Ever Last:
1 A spelling mistake is spelling a word incorrectly
2 Ridge's nrl career finished in 1999. So no Meninga toe poking kicking in 1994 is irrelevant.
3 Anyone can teach themselves things through trial and error mixed with some luck - but the fastest, easiest and most efficient way is to have someone knowledgeable teach you. Its why we have education and training systems for many tasks. If accurate round the corner kicking was easy to learn - why is every teams kicker not kicking at 80+ %?
4 An argument is not merely a collective statements to establish a proposition. That proposition must logically follow the premises. Yours do not. Thus you found assertions and fallacious illogical conclusions.
5 I am well aware it says 75% of the union kickers in teh sydney competition... Where did I say otherwise? What, did you interpret me as meaning something different? 75% of Sydney Union kickers were round the corner and only 4 in the NSWRL. Seems to me like NSWRL was behind Australian union. Thus Union was head of NSWRL even in Australia. What is your point?
6 When Ridge came to the NSWRL toe poking and inaccurate round the corner kicking was the norm. By the time Ridge left - kicking accuracy and goal kicking coaching had greatly increased. Ridge and Halligan have become very successful goal kicking coaches for league following Botica and Hewson's footsteps.
7 Even RL1908 concedes Union had far more earlier widely embraced the round the corner revolution.
8 Crossan, Halligan and Schuster were signed for goal kicking. In 1992 what group of regular kickers (more thyan 50 kicks) has the greatest accuracy for goal kicking? Ah yes - the union convert 4.
9 You're not even comprehending my posts, arguing or making sense. You are literally just name calling and repeatedly pointing out I spelt a word incorrectly. Good for you. You're still an idiot who cannot comprehend nor form a logical argument.

So are you still saying the toe poking is better than round the corner? Or do you admit that toe poking is not as good as round the corner?
Do you now admit that union converts averaged were better goal kickers than born and bred NSWRL goal kickers?
Do you now admit that in the 90's goal kicking accuracy greatly increased as opposed to stats of the 80's?
Do you now admit that toe poking is extinct for the reason it just was not good technique?
Do you now admit that union had the widespread round the corner first?
Do you now admit League was behind for the times?
Do you now admit that Ridge, Halligan, Schuster and Crossan influenced this transition in the NSWRL?
Do you now admit considering every team has a round the corner kicker that maybe Jack Gibson could not find one available to him. Or do you stand by your view that Jack Gibson did not think think around the corner was the right thing to do and that toe hacking is better? (I really doubt Jack thought this - but you seem to seeing he was so 'innovative' and would have got a round the corner kicker if they were better. I know, instead of trying to cover your HUGE illogical statement here - why don't you attack my spelling of ouiji again. ;)

ANTiLAG

Did the change in weight,shape and fabric of the ball help eradicate the toe poker?

No . A round the corner kicker uses the inside of his foot thus meets the ball with more 'hoof' allowing for more power to be struck on the ball, and greater accuracy because the ball is being hit with a wider surface.

Toe poking had very limited power transferred onto the ball because the surface contact is smaller (not to mention round the corner kickers are able to kick through the ball) and also meant that the chances of miss kicking are far greater. We have all seen the Colin Scott kick from Origin. But the number of kicks from under the black dot missed by toe hackers displays why it is such a horrible technique causing great inaccuracy.

Round the corner kicking is more accurate and more more powerful with any kind of ball. Its just the laws of physics.

ANTiLAG

I'll say it again, if a coach like Jack Gibson thought that an around the corner kicker would have given his team an advantage then he would have had more than one of his players learning it so it could be game-used.

Anyone with even a modicum of knowledge of Jack Gibson would know that he was an innovator. If he believed that an around the corner kicker would have given his team an advantage, he'd have been all over it.

errr, what the f**k is a widgie board you simpleton. Are you trying to say Ouija board?

He didn't need it, that's why he didn't use it. I'm pretty sure Jack was aware of instep kicking considering his time spent in the US with NFL teams.

If he didn't implement it, it's because he felt he didn't need it. But feel free to crack open the "widgie" board and ask him yourself you disrespectful toad.

Everlovin' Antichrist said:
If Jack Gibson thought he could get even a slight advantage over other teams he would have done it in a heartbeat. Hell, throw in any coach for that matter. They would be remiss in their duty if they didn't based on your thoughts. You seem to be again suggesting that over the course of a career, goalkickers from certain eras weren't able to be taught how to kick a ball around the corner.
SO WHY DOES EVERY COACH NOW HAVE A ROUND THE CORNER KICKER? Are they all sabotaging their teams? You idiot. Round the corner is better because of the foots contact on the ball. ALL OTHER FACTORS ARE IRRELEVANT. Dwyer states himself in that article.

ANTiLAG

Changing to synthetic as well.

The old leather ball weighed a ton in the wet and mud, something kickers of the 1970's were very familiar with.

Irrelevant. If something weighs more then you need more power to move it, therefore the round the corner was even more effective with the old leather balls when wet and weighing a tonne.

Ever Last:
1 A spelling mistake is spelling a word incorrectly

Sure, as long as you have a small understanding of the word you're trying to use is spelt.

You didn't.

Spelling error just doesn't cover it champ.

2 Ridge's nrl career finished in 1999. So no Meninga toe poking kicking in 1994 is irrelevant.

If you say so.

Toe-poking was more than on the way out when Ridge began his career in the NSWRL.

Feel free to list the first choice goalkickers in 1990 in the NSWRL and let us all know who the toepokers were.

3 Anyone can teach themselves things through trial and error mixed with some luck - but the fastest, easiest and most efficient way is to have someone knowledgeable teach you. Its why we have education and training systems for many tasks. If accurate round the corner kicking was easy to learn - why is every teams kicker not kicking at 80+ %?

According to you, no one took it up because it was too hard to learn, yet Ron Giteau taught himself.

As I said before, Coaches have always looked for an edge, it's their job to look for an edge. If the coaches of the time thought that they could gain an advantage using it, they would have used it. To think otherwise is borderline geniused.

Which is where you come in.

4 An argument is not merely a collective statements to establish a proposition. That proposition must logically follow the premises. Yours do not. Thus you found assertions and fallacious illogical conclusions.

errr, no it isn't.

God you're a wanker.

5 I am well aware it says 75% of the union kickers in teh sydney competition... Where did I say otherwise?

You said "Notice from the article that 75% of union kickers were round the corner".

No interpretation required.

What, did you interpret me as meaning something different? 75% of Sydney Union kickers were round the corner and only 4 in the NSWRL.

See above.

Seems to me like NSWRL was behind Australian union. Thus Union was head of NSWRL even in Australia. What is your point?

lol

But you're not a Union fan?

Don't be so f**king wet. The last time Union was ahead of Rugby League in NSW in any way, shape or form was the day before Rugby League began in NSW.

A bunch of Pimms drinking Godfrey-Smythes kicking around the corner at places like Gordon and Eastwood is about as relevant as Rugby Union is in NSW right now.

6 When Ridge came to the NSWRL toe poking and inaccurate round the corner kicking was the norm. By the time Ridge left - kicking accuracy and goal kicking coaching had greatly increased. Ridge and Halligan have become very successful goal kicking coaches for league following Botica and Hewson's footsteps.

errr, no.

Ridge and Halligan were top shelf kickers but they didn't revolutionise sh*t. They just did it better than most.

Who the f**k is Hewson and why do you have such a hard-on for ex-Union Kiwis?

7 Even RL1908 concedes Union had far more earlier widely embraced the round the corner revolution.

And?

Read this name;

John Gray.

His first kick at goal in the NRL had more effect than all the players you mentioned combined.

You want to know how I know that?

I was there. I saw it. I saw first hand the reaction to it in the following months.

8 Crossan, Halligan and Schuster were signed for goal kicking. In 1992 what group of regular kickers (more thyan 50 kicks) has the greatest accuracy for goal kicking? Ah yes - the union convert 4.

I see, you can bag Cronin for kicking 50% in 1986 over 30 kicks, but when it comes to this one, you want a minimum of 50 kicks?

Life just doesn't work that way dopey.

In 1992, Tim Brasher had a better percentage than Crossan, Schuster and Ridge. Terry Lamb had a better percentage than Schuster.

And just because you seemed a bit too keen on picking out 1992...

In 1991 Halligan kicked at 63%. (no need to wonder why you went for 1992 now is there?) :lol:

Schuster was behind Jason Taylor and Rod Maybon. Halligan was behind, well, almost everyone.

In 1993 it was Cleary's turn to get beaten. By Jason Taylor and Chook Herron.

In 1994 Crossan kicked at 62%.

Your argument is falling apart at the seams.

9 You're not even comprehending my posts, arguing or making sense. You are literally just name calling and repeatedly pointing out I spelt a word incorrectly. Good for you. You're still an idiot who cannot comprehend nor form a logical argument.

Would you like a tissue?

And stop talking wank. You've just tried to bullsh*t your way through your stupid argument.

Minimum 50 goals?

1992?

Ring any bells?

You want the argument using only your "special" parameters corkhead. the sure sign of someone whose argument has gone to pack.

So are you still saying the toe poking is better than round the corner?

Where did I say that?

Here's your big chance.

Or do you admit that toe poking is not as good as round the corner?

Toepoking suited the eras it was used in. Do I have to say it over and over again?

Are you really that thick?

Do you now admit that union converts averaged were better goal kickers than born and bred NSWRL goal kickers?

Post them.

Career averages.

NSWRL games only.

Your parameters this time.

Off you go.

Do you now admit that in the 90's goal kicking accuracy greatly increased as opposed to stats of the 80's?

Why wouldn't I accept that as fact?

You're f**king mental.

But for sh*ts and giggles, post them.

Off you go.

Forums aren't a matter of making a point that you think is correct, it's a matter of proving your point.

Off you go.

Do you now admit that toe poking is extinct for the reason it just was not good technique?

Why would you think toepoking is extinct?

Because it isn't used in the NRL?

LOL

You seem to think i have this inbuilt determination that toepoking is better than around the corner.

Feel free to quote hwere I said that or even hinted at that.

Do you now admit that union had the widespread round the corner first?

Who said it wasn't?

Do you now admit League was behind for the times?

Absolutely not.

Do you now admit that Ridge, Halligan, Schuster and Crossan influenced this transition in the NSWRL?

Sure they did.

You're so stupid.

Do you now admit considering every team has a round the corner kicker that maybe Jack Gibson could not find one available to him.

err, no.

FFS, I should get a macro for this sentence;

If Jack Gibson thought for one moment he could have gained an edge on the opposition he would have taken it. The fact that he and other coaches of his era didn't choose to train around the corner kickers kills your arguments stone dead.

Or do you stand by your view that Jack Gibson did not think think around the corner was the right thing to do and that toe hacking is better? (I really doubt Jack thought this - but you seem to seeing he was so 'innovative' and would have got a round the corner kicker if they were better. I know, instead of trying to cover your HUGE illogical statement here - why don't you attack my spelling of ouiji again. ;)

You didn't know how to spell ouija until you came here. I mean, seriously, you give the old thesaurus a work out but you didn't think to look up the spelling of ouija?

As for the rest of your mindless pap;

You actually seem to be saying you know better than Jack Gibson.

Your answer to the simplest question as to why they didn't use around the corner kickers earlier is; It was too hard to learn.

:?

Give me a break. ....:lol:

SO WHY DOES EVERY COACH NOW HAVE A ROUND THE CORNER KICKER? Are they all sabotaging their teams? You idiot. Round the corner is better because of the foots contact on the ball. ALL OTHER FACTORS ARE IRRELEVANT. Dwyer states himself in that article.

It's like trying to explain theoretical physics to a stapler.

The balls, grounds and equipment used now suit the around the corner kickers.

The balls, grounds and equipment used in Gibson's era, didn't. If they did, there would have been a plethora of around the corner kickers in his era.

*this a recording*

ANTiLAG

It's like trying to explain theoretical physics to a stapler.

The balls, grounds and equipment used now suit the around the corner kickers.

The balls, grounds and equipment used in Gibson's era, didn't. If they did, there would have been a plethora of around the corner kickers in his era.

*this a recording*

Is physics alright - but you're missing the point.

Round the corner kicking allows for a longer leg swing and more power.

It means the ball is kicked with the inside of the boot which means a larger contact zone thus the extra power generated is transferred to the ball in a larger point of contact thus idecreasing the likelihood of miskicking, missing the necessary point of contact.

Its very simple physics. Bob Dwyer does a nice gold analogy if you want to read that.