Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Trade Ivan to Penrith for 2019

Western Stand

And I'm not sure why we'd care what Penrith fans think is our best growth strategy is. We already have a larger supporter base.[/QUO

Historically speaking, that is without question. Will that continue in 2040 after the Tigers play 3 games at Campbelltown and 3 at Leichhardt and another couple of generations get to make their choice based on affiliation or lack thereof.

You people are right, why would you care what a Penrith supporter thinks. Your management know the club and I don't. I just think long term, the strategy to spread yourself around to please everyone may fail.

Crazyperpman

Interesting words. You always know when someone has lost a discussion when name calling is the first port of call.

Its quite funny we have had so many nice Penrith fans come into the forum in the last couple of days with so much helpful advice.

With absolutely no disrespect intended for anyone who has come here for a genuine footy chat I have to say:

• Penrith football operation actually lost money last year where Wests Tigers made money.
  • Wests Tigers have more paid up members than Penrith (Even without an all you can eat Buffet)
  • Penrith Crowds last year averaged 3,000 less than Wests Tigers
  • Penrith will pretty much start 2019 with the same team as 2019 minus Peachy, CHN & Chrichton
Now its all well and good to come in with advice, but from what I can see Penrith just have a mammoth leagues club pumping money into the football operation. No great master plan or any large degree of forward thinking when you consider they are "in the process" of hiring someone they sacked only 3 years ago.

If there is any advice WT should follow it is to build a massive club with heaps of pokie machines.

I wouldnt mind seeing Penrith win a comp in the near future as it is so boring watching the same teams go at it year after year, I truly wish Penrith luck in the years to come with no hard feelings, but please dont be so delusional that the system out west is so far superior then anywhere else.

Western Stand

A larger view presents a different picture....firstly....after 19 years of at times very painful existence WT has the largest supporter base of ALL the Sydney based clubs...Panthers ( after 50 + years included). ..now that's not such a big a deal untill you consider it agsinst the backdrop of how our society in regards business..entertainment and transportation is changing. You're offering a viewpoint that a business should only concentrate on it's local area to survive longterm in a changing world. If that was the one size fits all way to go then rhe Beatles wouldn't have needed to play outside of Liverpool ....If WT can continue to grow as the team in Sydney to follow because kids ( from wherever) like who and what they are then they will support them no matter whete they're from...i supported ( lived for) Balmain as a kid living 15 minutes from Penrith for just that reason. "Tigers" is an iconic sporting name ..logo and identity across Australia and the U.S. and is most probably the most commonly used name in Australian regional Rugby League ....Magpies would be right up there as well. Just as bands tour to build and support their fan base WT should continue to capitalise on and grow the large fan base we have outside of our traditional areas. Can any Panthers or Roosters fan explain how WT can get more to a home game played at Tamworth or in NZ than those two very rich teams COMBINED can muster for a knockout semi played here in Sydney?
Panthers were 24 hours away from being wound up by creditors and were only saved by a last minute loan from James Packer so rhe carefully honed 59 year building is a little illusionary....as with other clubs your money comes from the pockies....your mini Las Vegas generates more than most BUT..just as everything else is changing so will the pokie laws one day. ..you wont have them as they are forever or perhsps eben for much longer as the rich / poor divide becomes increasingly politically uncomfortable. WT should look to the future as having rhe widest most diverse supporter base where we can take games and fill grounds where no one else can as well....our perceived handicap should be our strength...imagine having 10,000 plus supporters in all the major cities and all regional areas plus continue to grow the supporter base we have all across Sydney . I believe that's where our future is. ..we dont NEED to anchor ourselves within 10 minutes of mum and dad's place...the 50 year old hardware store serving the local community is dying off in all it's guises. Grow or be left behind but re adjust the thinking of what " grow" means in a changing sporting demographic"

Disclaimer...for amusement purposes only... results may vary

And guess who came in and saved us....Gus. He was our savior. He is the reason I am lucky enough to have a club to support. The crap people like Rothfield write about 5 years plans etc are so misleading they aren't funny.

My club was a basket case. Poor management, terrible coaching, hideous salary cap management. However, it is heading down the right path now, hence Ivan being lured back and Nathan prepared to commit for five more years.

I am just offering an opinion from an outsider. As you probably don't care what I think, I don't care what your club does. It's just my opinion.

Do you think it is beneficial for your team to play out of 3 home grounds? What advantage does that give you?

Good luck Tigers. I hope you do well next year. I have hijacked your topic enough.

I'm still a big believer that we need to make events out of games against certain other Sydney clubs I.e Souths, Dogs, Eels. Those games should be looking to attract 30k+ every game.
100% Vic, I'd add that the promotion of these games and events around these games, should be something that becomes the envy of other supporters. Look how the Canberra Raiders have used the Iceland national football teams Viking Clap. No other team gets near that in the NRL.

The West Tigers really need marketing people who know how to sell a product. Perhaps the marketing people can use members and friends to come up with ideas, tailgate parties at Leichhardt or Cambelltown, why not try something, look at the Green Bay Packers - cheeseheads (not saying we use that) we need something for game day.

We need a song that everyone knows and can be proud of You Never Walk Alone is not only used by Liverpool FC. Something better than Eye of the Tiger or Goodbye Tiger (for retirements) We nned marketing people !!

There's a new airport being built out west, there will be plenty of international names and perhaps dollars from sponsorship going forward.

This was Penrith in the early 80's. Penrith supporters in Penrith were rare breeds.
You are wrong there Western Stand, not that far east you had Mt Druitt, that was the area where supporters would not have been Penrith supports, the the south you had the new area of South Penrith and the the north Castlereagh but you always had old Penrith supporters prior to 67 and then the 70's and 80's.

Penrith is only now starting to bare the fruits of a long term existence. Our club is 50 years old
a lot older than that, 50 years since they joined the NSWRL. I had relatives who lived in Penrith and as a kid we visited them from Leichhardt, This was the 60's and it was a trip to the country. They cousins etc still live out there so I do know what I'm saying. A famous old school like St Dominics are not even RL schools like they were. I hear that that is the same at St Gregorys at Campbelltown.

Anyway, who's the coach next year ?

Western Stand

You are wrong there Western Stand said:
I didn't say that we didn't have a supporter. We didn't have a big supporter base. There was still a lot of other clubs being supported in those days.

Testament to this was that we only averaged 12,000 to home games in the year we won our first premiership.

Das Hassler

And guess who came in and saved us....Gus. He was our savior. He is the reason I am lucky enough to have a club to support. The crap people like Rothfield write about 5 years plans etc are so misleading they aren't funny.

My club was a basket case. Poor management, terrible coaching, hideous salary cap management. However, it is heading down the right path now, hence Ivan being lured back and Nathan prepared to commit for five more years.

I am just offering an opinion from an outsider. As you probably don't care what I think, I don't care what your club does. It's just my opinion.

Do you think it is beneficial for your team to play out of 3 home grounds? What advantage does that give you?

Good luck Tigers. I hope you do well next year. I have hijacked your topic enough.

Relax...i respect your viewpoint....just offering a different one from our perspective..that is that your model will not work for us with a rapidly changing Sydney landscspe....you guys have your own little country there to manage how you will....we're in a demographic war zone and need to adapt in a different way to what you have there. Yes Guss saved you by using his phone and calling Packer....that doesn't make him right in all his moves after that. ..if he was he would never have fired Ivan or hired Griffin and saying he was wholly incapable of doing the job that Gus himself had earlier declared he was the most capable ( in the game) of doing.
Anyway....again....welcome your thoughts.

Western Stand

Classic about Gus using his phone to call Packer. You're 100% right and some people just have a bigger bag of tricks than others. We'd be stuffed without him.

Interesting words. You always know when someone has lost a discussion when name calling is the first port of call.

I didn’t call you a name, I told you to f*#k off.

This is a Tigers forum, you’re spending a huge amount of time in here telling us what we should and shouldn’t be doing. I’ve found a lot of Panthers fans offering good discussions and having a bit of fun. Those ones I will happily converse with. You are in here purely to be condescending. So I’ll speak to you how you deserve to be spoken too, f*#k off.

Aliceinwonderland

I didn’t call you a name, I told you to f*#k off.

This is a Tigers forum, you’re spending a huge amount of time in here telling us what we should and shouldn’t be doing. I’ve found a lot of Panthers fans offering good discussions and having a bit of fun. Those ones I will happily converse with. You are in here purely to be condescending. So I’ll speak to you how you deserve to be spoken too, f*#k off.

I'm sure I've seen you over on the Panthers forum.

So your comments are quite fascinating.

macnaz

I'm sure I've seen you over on the Panthers forum.

So your comments are quite fascinating.
Im sure you wouldnt find his posts to be bad natured and disrespectful , so while we are happy to have anyone post here please try to keep it topic related and not purely to create dramma :sunglasses:

Hoofhearted

Any chance the integrity unit having a look at the Cleary deal, would be fairly easy to pay Dad a bit extra in order to keep sons salary cap wage down.

Pilot house

I am visiting here to support the tigers and throw some ideas about mainly for their benefit.

There was some earlier sting with the panther people here, a bit of face rubbing, it wasn’t necessary and not very nice.

Gus has lost a lot of time and respect from people all over the nrl over this business. Certainly from me.

Even if panthers do well, it has been at the expense of the tigers, so it’s already discredited and questionable in a lot of people’s eyes.

This winning at all costs stuff is nonsense and not what real footy is about.

Pilot house

Just heard Benny Elias on the news having a go at Cleary. I guess that’s all part of the narrative now.

Madge wants the job I hear.

Pilot house

Madge would be in there.

But I’m not sure hard nuts are the thing these days.

Tooves will get the Manly gig although dce was right to say today that manly management are mucking about with it.

A coach would do a bit better with more prep time. I would think anyway.

Takes a week just to meet and greet all the staff.

Bennett will need to sweep a few of ics people out. Unless panthers pick them up, good bye and so long.

And the panthers may have to sack folk for ic people.

That builds resentment in Pantheria straight away.

So many repurcussuons....

super_coach

From a pure coaching perspective I would vote for Madge, but what Bennett my drop in the coaching department he makes up in attracting players, sponsorship and other things.

Tuff call for Pascoe and Go, but as I keep saying, there is no room for Cleary anymore and right from day one the fat toad Gould and Cleary knew how the cards would fall.

Good guys don’t always win, and it seams to me the baddies are winning this little battle, but I would rather run stone motherless last and being associated with either of the low lifes

Pilot house

You think the pantherians would have learnt from the Moylan experience.

They filled his head full of nonsense, made him captain and he went mad and left!

If nc is badly injured ( not just playing) this whole show is over. They shouldn’t let him cross the street alone!

I am not sure his dad has set him the best example for adult life.

It was a selfish act to abandon the tigers when things were turning around. To give people hope and then turn them away.

The nc kid is cool but still too young to understand the world.

The coach is in charge of young and impressionable men and ics lesson is “ do what you want, stomp on people.”

And with that, his legend and impact on the game becomes diminished.

He becomes another bozo who won’t answer questions to nrl integrity folk...and blame them.

Now he’s a liability. A rogue immortal!

The Rosco

This whole fiasco has actually been orchestrated by Go from the very beginning. She has a hankering for a bit of "Little Wayne" Poor Gus has just been a pawn in her evil plan.

https://westernweekender.com.au/2015/09/panthers-boss-quits-to-join-tigers/

A little light reading for those that are indignant about head hunting.

soc . .. . While this is a similar track, there is a world of difference between an NRL head coach and office staff, no matter how high up the office staff are.
Secondly, it seems that Pascoe went for the interview, then was upfront and honest when he handed in his resignation and was terminated as the situation might have been untenable.
If Cleary had the decency to go for the interview and act even remotely upfront and honestly . . . . either immediately after his secret meeting, but especially when his situation became untenable . . . well, I don't think so many people would be " indignant "
If Cleary conducted himself as a crooked, lying, absolute merkin with zero morals . . . then nobody would be all that surprised. But the way he bullshitted and came across as someone of integrity is what has pissed off most of us. If you are an out and out merkin . . . and act as such without pretending to be a decent bloke . . . mate, I have no problem with you. I know your a merkin and don't expect anything differently from you. Now I know this sounds altruistic . . . . but if you paint yourself as a decent bloke with standards, but are really just a shifty merkin, in my books at least you are 10X worse than the merkin that is honest about him being a merkin.
BUT . . . I did have a laugh at " Poor Gus has just been a pawn in her evil plan"
Enjoy Ivan. The merkin in me would love to see it all go arse up and for Gould to E A D for years to come.
Most folk here . . . including many 'Riff fans . . . seem to have a similar opinion on this. Not that that helps WT fans mind you . . . .