Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Training starts again......

Utey

eelavation said:
lets have a look at the competion Wags and V face, and this is why I believe we'll see the best of them.

Wagon's nemesis

Feleti
Widdo
Henry Peranara
Jack afa
Glen Morrison
Guy Williams [dark horse]

Vella's nemesis

Cannings
Caylo
Springer
Tsolous
Robinson
Fui
Peek
Lewis

lesser extent

Corboda
Weller
Taia brothers

f**k me!!... :shock: I didn't realise the sort of depth we had upfront before I compiled that list. He needs to be on his toes from Wednesday IMO!!

Mate that looks great. But will the best players be chosen. The backline is where we will suffer IMO. Unless they stay uninjured and fire early. The combinations need to gel immediately.

eelsta

Jake the snake said:
Vella :lol: :lol: :lol: Strongest woMAN. If he is so strong why doesn't he show it, Ihope he goes to england next year and takes Wagon [-X [-X [-X

I'm sick and tired of hearing excuses and 2nd chances for these over paid players who do nothing but choke. These 2 players would struggle to make Manly and Souths teams this year. Its embarassing everytime they line up for us and come up with nothing all the time, they had one good year in 2001 too which we ended up with nothing and have just milked us for money and rested on there so called reputations for the next 3years 02 and 03/04.

SOme good off-season training for the boys eh????? :-k hmmmm

I've got some lawns that need mowing on a good sloping block....and the rest of the garden needs some work too....I think that'll be good for a start :D

Surely this early training start is all about setting up fitness programs, nutrition and creatine :roll: , bonding and maybe setting personal gaols etc, rather than skill or team focussed stuff?

We're still missing Cayless, Hindy, Petersen (USA), Reddy, Mateo (jnr Roos) and there's guys with injuries still recovering.

Not too much to worry about training=injuries, more just keeping the guys off the street and out of trouble. :lol:

bartman said:
Surely this early training start is all about setting up fitness programs, nutrition and creatine :roll: , bonding and maybe setting personal gaols etc, rather than skill or team focussed stuff?

We're still missing Cayless, Hindy, Petersen (USA), Reddy, Mateo (jnr Roos) and there's guys with injuries still recovering.

Not too much to worry about training=injuries, more just keeping the guys off the street and out of trouble. :lol:

infact it'll be a skeleton staff as the followng players will be in their own little re-hab group and away from tough stuff.

Tahu
Stringer
Tsolous
Graham
maybe Grothe, but he could be sweet
PJ
Prince

Jake the snake said:
I'm sick and tired of hearing excuses and 2nd chances for these over paid players who do nothing but choke. These 2 players would struggle to make Manly and Souths teams this year. Its embarassing everytime they line up for us and come up with nothing all the time, they had one good year in 2001 too which we ended up with nothing and have just milked us for money and rested on there so called reputations for the next 3years 02 and 03/04.

Yes, but they did play the occassional great game (Penrith for Vella, MAnly and Roosters @ Parra for Wagon).

Utey

Occasional isnt enough. But if they can play alongside others who are doing well watch Vella lift as does Wagon when things get moving. Consistantcy is what lets them down.

Utey

He defends them because we know what they are capable of. On their day they can be great players.

Jake the snake said:
eelementary

2 good games out of 26, how can u defend them??

Nah mate I'm not.

I know it's hard to understand, but for whatever reason I like Wags and Vella. Possibly because they bleed Blue and Gold.

But I do agree - they are not up to it anymore, and if it were up to me, my pack would look like:

8. Cayless
9. Riddell
10. Robinson
11. Hindmarsh
12. Morrison
13. Mateo

14. Marsh
15. Cannings
16. Tsoulos
17. Backo

Utey

Heres the best pack I reckon we could field.
8 Cayless
9 Riddell
10 Cannings
11 Hindy
12 Morrison
13 Mateo/Wagon

14 Marsh
15 Widders
16 Vella
17 Stringer

Thanks.

But my TRUE opinion is complicated.

I want Hindy, Caylo, Morrison and Mateo all in. And IMHO Cayless plays better in the second row.

I guess we could swap Morrison to prop, or have Mateo come off for Cayless.

8 Cayless
9 Riddell
10 Cannings
11 Hindy
12 Morrison
13 Mateo/Wagon

14 Marsh
15 Widders
16 Vella
17 Stringer

That's a great pack, UTE, but you forgot Robinson, who, IMHO, will be one of the signings of the year.

True EEL

Jake the snake said:
Those VW where a joke and embarresment to our club. How about some real training Smithy??? Make them run up the sand dunes. Or maybe get the female Vella to pump some weights like a real man.

well a couple of seasons ago, in pre-season, Vella reportedly asked for some new weights cause the ones at the club were no challenge anymore, so i don't think thats his problem.....

Utey

Eelementary said:
8 Cayless
9 Riddell
10 Cannings
11 Hindy
12 Morrison
13 Mateo/Wagon

14 Marsh
15 Widders
16 Vella
17 Stringer

That's a great pack, UTE, but you forgot Robinson, who, IMHO, will be one of the signings of the year.

Yeh I wanted to put him in. I still think Cannings might not be there at the start of next year. When we bought to many established first graders and he is still a rookier.

True EEL

Jake the snake said:

and i'm the one who is always bagged for being negative about the club and the players???? :roll: :roll: :roll:

and your arguement against them about "how many chances do they need or deserve" sounds very much like my much maligned arguement against BS???? and i know who i would prefer to have the final chance out of the trio???

I think we need either Cannings or Tsoulos in form and in the 17.

They are huge, aggressive blokes who make metres. Cannings this year dropped plenty of ball, but made lost of metres too.