Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

TV rights thread part 4

I Bleed Maroon

Well the Broncos show has been a surprising success; it rates alright for a Sunday Arvo and the production quality isn't that bad.

I Bleed Maroon

Also, after having a couple of days to let it sink in, If Gyngell really was that arrogant and indignant during the negotiations, I would have told him to f**k off and enjoy his sinking ship if I were Grant.

i'd cut him some slack seeing they'd been up all night and Ian Elliot had made him cough up much more than he wanted too

carlosthedwarf

The Game Plan saying they've got an exclusive that will rock League.

Here's one out of left field - Ten win mobile/IPTV rights. NFI how it would work but it would be interesting.

Edit: nevermind, just saw the Footy Show thread.

https://twitter.com/DanGinnane/status/238576637841653762
dan_ginnane_new_twitter_normal.jpg
Dan Ginnane ‏@DanGinnane
Molan 1, Ten 0

Dan Ginnane ‏@DanGinnane
Blame Ten for pumping it up for three hours RT @ReadingThePlay: you're kidding. Molan -100. What gutter work.

undertaker

I've said this before but after reading that Ch9 will broadcast three Thursday night games, two of them will obviously be the season opener and the Thursday night before Good Friday. Question is, when will the third one be held?

I'd like to know if ch 9 still have a clause banning radio stations from covering the non-live friday night into a particular city.

undertaker

I'd like to know if ch 9 still have a clause banning radio stations from covering the non-live friday night into a particular city.

They better not. It would be absolutely disgraceful if that was permitted to continue, just like the status quo was pre-2007 where they had absolute control over external sources of coverage during their Friday night match (the only way you could circumvent that was to hear the scoreline from the news updates at 8pm, 9pm and 10pm). I still can't believe that the NRL allowed them to get away with that for so many years.

On the topic of radio coverage (I should post this in the radio rights thread I started), given the way the results have panned out this week regarding the TV rights, I have a very bad feeling that 2GB will get the "exclusive" rights again. Fair dinkum, as Mr Saab said, if the ARLC stuff THIS up, they are no better than the previous administration.

Is the plan to have the 6:30pm game live on Fox sports?
This is why I can't understand how they could say a 9th game had no value. Surely for Fox having Super Saturday remain with its 3 exclusive games PLUS a live Sunday evening game would have been worth a great deal in terms of encouraging more fans to subscribe?

carlosthedwarf

One of the Fox guys said something about Sunday games allowing them to get rid of the red button. I think they know that the 9:30pm delayed game is never going to rate as well as a live game, let alone a live Sunday night game.

I think we'll eventually move to a schedule with zero overlapping games.

THE CHAMP

Don't forget the Darren Lockyer Bundy Rum that was released in May this year to commemorate his retirement, yet it has been aged for 6 years. methinks they put some stickers on a batch and voila Derpy QLDERS will buy their "Darren Lockyer rum".

Wow! You are a f**kwit.
Anyway if it wasn't for the mighty broncos the deal would have been half and that's a fact.

Cumberland Throw

I don't think its a ninth timeslot that has no value...

They think there is no value with WC Pirates v Canberra Raiders for example..

I feel for you PR, the AFL has cost you another 5 years on the sidelines, with the crap they have dished up with GWS and GC...

The detail they didnt realise is that to have 2 competitive AFL teams you need 70 odd pretty good athletes...

To fill 2 more RL teams, we would need 50 good athletes and we have 100 in SL , and 10-20 toyotas, and 10 RU converts we could poach...

Look how quick GC Titans became competitive

I don't blame the AFL, if GWS or GC had the support and grass roots strength RL has in Perth they wouldn't be the basket cases they are. You cannot compare how succesful an NRL expansion team in Perth would be to either of the AFL expansion teams in areas no one wants them.

If I am blaming anyone (and I am presuming here the ARLC have binned expansion for 5 years though there has been no confirmation of this) it is the NRL/ARLC for stringing us along making us believe we had a real chance of getting in for 2015 when all along it seems it was just a value fall back for a 9th game if they needed to boost the $ value by a bit to get nearer what everyone was expecting.

All I hope is we do not lose the last 5 years of hard work that has been going on in WA to re establish the game here. It needs to be sustained and added to. We may not get a team just yet but the ARLC needs to get some resources over here to continue the games growth and not pi** away 5 years of damn hard work and investment.

I still say that a 9th game had to be worth at least the $20mill a year it would have cost to expand and grow the game.

OFFSET ALPINE

What's up with Gallop getting praise for this deal?

Son are you seriously this mentally challenged ?
GALLOP just cost our game $360 million over the past 7 years...a NEWS LIMITED stooge who stitched up a gutless deal with Packer & his own NEWS paymasters for half what we were worth...at $65 million a year -
that means half-priced players and no player LOYALTY without Salary Cap discounts for Juniors & long term loyal players...get it now ?
Without this totally failed Superleague "lame duck" Soccer tool involved we are now worth over $200 million a year...how's your maths?
This NEWS puppet never did a thing for the game...on interchange,salary cap,Reserve grade/under 23s,daytime footy,McIntyre system,10-metre rule...nothing.
He was so lame that 80% of us have told him for 8 years to flick the GOLDEN POINT chook raffle...and it's still there.
Quote:GALLOP nearly 4 years ago on why his research shows GOLDEN TRY/10 MINUTES won't work better than his 2003 field goal mess:
"um well we looked at it...and um...and um...well...wotif you kicked three penalties goals in extra time...and um...um..led 16-10...and um...the other team scored a TRY and um...won 14-16...that wouldn't be fair..."
Well guess what David you dope?
3 penalty goals haven't been kicked in 10 minutes in 100 years.
And if they were - You play on,David...14-16 kick to come.

Cumberland Throw

I don't blame the AFL, if GWS or GC had the support and grass roots strength RL has in Perth they wouldn't be the basket cases they are. You cannot compare how succesful an NRL expansion team in Perth would be to either of the AFL expansion teams in areas no one wants them.

If I am blaming anyone (and I am presuming here the ARLC have binned expansion for 5 years though there has been no confirmation of this) it is the NRL/ARLC for stringing us along making us believe we had a real chance of getting in for 2015 when all along it seems it was just a value fall back for a 9th game if they needed to boost the $ value by a bit to get nearer what everyone was expecting.

All I hope is we do not lose the last 5 years of hard work that has been going on in WA to re establish the game here. It needs to be sustained and added to. We may not get a team just yet but the ARLC needs to get some resources over here to continue the games growth and not pi** away 5 years of damn hard work and investment.

I still say that a 9th game had to be worth at least the $20mill a year it would have cost to expand and grow the game.

Well Gyngell pretty much said that he sees no value in a 9th game due to the afls 9th game...

So you kinda can blame them,,,

they are cagey pricks if it was all planned this way.. to keep RL in the east

If there's one thing that's come out of this deal it is that, without doubt, the last rights were way undersold.

I've got no doubt that without the News stooge & News' involvement in the game we would have reached at least $650 million over the 5 years.