Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

TV rights thread part 4

Frailty

it will be on GEM

it was said at the press conference

Just because they say it will be on GEM does not mean it will be on a decent time. That being said, I expect them to keep the status quo in Melbourne (normal times, but on GEM) and hope we get the additional rugby league material on channel 94

BuffaloRules

So.. what about expansion? are we still going ahead with that or has that been flushed.. and Surely.. i mean SURELY if expansion does go ahead the extra game will be televised on FTA... right????

There wont be an extra game before the next deal is done...

Panfas

Please correct me if i am wrong but doesnt the new anti-syphing laws require games to be aired within 4 hours for category 2 games? If this is correct then the latest they could start the 2nd game would be 11.30pm

Lockyer4President!

I'd be surprised if we don't have a Perth team within say 3-4 years. Very surprised.

When the ARL finish their planning I'm sure they'll come out and announce something, until then we're just guessing based on a nod from Gyngell.

jonno_knights

I reckon Perth will come in within the next 5 years. Still keeping it at 8 games a week, and then an 18th team will come in for the next deal.

joshreading

I actually wonder whether Perths best plan of attack it to volunteer to take ALL the east coast Sunday evening games (the 13 that have been said are coming) on their Sunday afternoon and then that can be beamed back into the East Coast Live on Sunday evening. Most Clubs will hate these as much as Monday nights.

West Coast Pirates should lobby to take these. The Clubs themselves may then weirdly lobby for them to avoid such a bad time slot (it would also create a consistent time slot for WC Pirates in Perth for fans)

I actually wonder whether Perths best plan of attack it to volunteer to take ALL the east coast Sunday evening games (the 13 that have been said are coming) on their Sunday afternoon and then that can be beamed back into the East Coast Live on Sunday evening. Most Clubs will hate these as much as Monday nights.

West Coast Pirates should lobby to take these. The Clubs themselves may then weirdly lobby for them to avoid such a bad time slot (it would also create a consistent time slot for WC Pirates in Perth for fans)

Thats an awsome idea, even tho I dont think they will let them take all 13.

whall15

Good news for the viability of IPTV.

The Moving Picture Experts Group (MPEG) has produced a draft standard for a new video-compression format that delivers the same video quality in half the bandwidth of the current H.264 standard.

The draft, High Efficiency Video Coding (HEVC also known as H.265 and MPEG-H Part 2), announced today, agreed on at an MPEG meeting in Stockholm in July attended by 450 delegates from the telecoms, computer, TV and consumer electronics industries convened to approve and issue the new standard.

The chair of the Swedish delegation and organiser of the meeting, Per Fröjdh, manager for visual technology at Ericsson Research, said the outcome would have "an enormous impact on the industry."

"There's a lot of industry interest in this because it means you can halve the bit rate and still achieve the same visual quality, or double the number of television channels with the same bandwidth," he said.

"The availability of a new compression format to reduce bandwidth, particularly in mobile networks where spectrum is expensive [and] paves the way for service providers to launch more video services with the currently available spectrum."

He added: "Video accounts for the vast majority of all data sent over networks, and that proportion is increasing: by 2015, it is predicted to account for 90 percent of all network traffic."

Fröjdh said he believed that the HEVC format could be implemented in commercial products as early as in 2013. "It will take time before it's launched for a TV service, but adoption is much quicker in the mobile area, and we'll probably see the first services for mobile use cases next yea."

In June MPEGLA, an organisation that claims to be "the world's leading packager of patent pools for standards and other technology platforms," issued a call to holders of patents essential to the new standard to come forward.

"By starting the joint license facilitation process now, the market can enjoy the earliest opportunity to plan for deployment of this promising new technology," said MPEG LA president and CEO Larry Horn. "MPEG LA is pleased to assist in facilitating a convenient, independently administered, one-stop patent licensing alternative to assist users with implementation of their technology choices and invites all patent holders to participate."

Meanwhile Fröjdh's Visual Technology team at Ericsson is working with MPEG on a new 3D video compression format that would enable the development of 3D video systems that did not require 3D glasses. Fröjdh said the technology could be standardised by 2014.

"Future 3D technology will have more advanced displays, which will enable different views," he says. "The simpler versions of this technology will still just offer the two views we have today – left and right – without the need for glasses. But in the future, there will be many views next to each other, so you will simply move your head to the left or the right to give you a stereo impression of an object."

http://www.itwire.com/business-it-n...d-halves-video-bandwidth-with-no-quality-loss
A bit of a tl;dr but it generally just means that there will be a new form of MPEG which means it will be the same quality at half the size which will make it easier to stream.

Knightmare

It has been pretty laughable how silent the AFL media have been about our T.V Deal.

I watched the AFL Footy Show tonight out of curiousity, to see if they would try and rubbish it. Not a peep was said about it. Clearly, they've ignored the details of the deal, taken one look at the dollar value and realised it is nothing but bad news for the AFL, especially in regards to the viability of GWS and GC.

The fact of the matter is this: If the AFL were only providing half the funding they currently are to those two clubs, they would be on deaths door already. Both their crowd attendances and their T.V ratings are quite frankly embarrassing, and Channel 7 are inevitably going to crack the shits and have the same attitude as 9 does with the NRL and refuse to give them the best time slots if they don't drastically improve over the next year or so.

I know there is a lot that can be criticized about this new deal, but if there's one good thing we can take away from it, it is that it has shut the AFL up good and proper; and at some point, the AFL are going to have to realise that NSW and QLD will never be AFL strongholds, despite what their delusions of grandeur might suggest.

I will say though, that if the ARLC rules out expansion for the period of this deal, I will officially think of them as gutless penny pinchers who aren't interested in making our game bigger then it is. There should be at least 1 club introduced over the next 5 years, and it should be the Pirates.

Pirates and the Bears, as both require minimal outside support (from the NRL or its' TV money).

Central Queensland would be the best of the rest...

That's my gut feeling Pirates will be admitted 2016 with an 18th team 2018. 9th game looks pretty much dead in the water but expansion door hasn't been closed:

"The proof of this deal is there's not a lot of value placed on that ninth game," said Grant, as Gyngell sat nearby and nodded.
"That doesn't necessarily negate the expansion opportunities, but it certainly forces us to put much more rigour around it in terms of financial analysis and long-term sustainability.

And you're good for talking out of your arse. I stand by my original comment.

You are on drugs pal. Nobody gives a f**k about the Southport Sharks. Not even the friends and relatives of the players. They're all inside the clubhouse playing the pokies.

Panther_Daz

Pirates and the Bears, as both require minimal outside support (from the NRL or its' TV money).

Central Queensland would be the best of the rest...

Read an article in the RLW suggesting Central QLD will be the richest sporting organisation in Australia if admitted to the NRL.

Red&BlackBear

Read an article in the RLW suggesting Central QLD will be the richest sporting organisation in Australia if admitted to the NRL.

Well until the mining boom runs out and like a labour senator said earlier this week, the signs of the boom slowing down are already here. Either way I strongly believe that Central QLD need a team but also need a back up to mining and a growth in overall population + infrastructure and public transport. All which are achievable.

my understanding is that this conversation has already taken place, NRL acting CEO a few weeks ago came out and said as much with him suggesting they would play 3 NRL games in Perth next year in this time slot. Would suit us just fine. 4:30pm KO, still daylight, weather usually ok, give us 10 games in this slot and a couple on a Saturday night to give you a live 9:30pm. 6:30pm on the East coast is going to end up another dog crowd situation imo. with families refusing to attend on a school night.