Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

TV rights thread part 4

Lockyer4President!

I am hoping for ANZ to get on board. AFL have NAB (Auskick and Preseason), Cricket have Commonwealth. ANZ is in Australia and New Zealand, and because of that with a good pitch from the ARLC could get a significant upgrade on even the AFL naming rights.

ANZ sponsor the netball championships so it's possible. Wonder when that sponsorship runs out

Cumberland Throw

Thanks for the compliment on the NRL AUSKICK farce...Throw ol' mate.
Bit on the CRL/myriad RL duplication - You must remember that the incestuous self-interest "blazer brigade" is hard to shift from power.
Jobs for the boys is the charter of all corrupt,nepotistic organisations.
eg Labor party/AWU & HSU unions,Cricket Australia,ARU,NSWRL.
Ask yourself how Colin Love (ARL) can pay himself $1.35 mil for a RL world cup promo fizzer.
Why has NSW not jagged one first up Origin game (Game One) in 7 years?
Geoff Carr to G.Hughes July 2010 after another belting:
"bit harsh Graeme...we're goin' good,Graeme...we're close...we usually only lose 2-1..."
Carr appoints and PAYS BIG to an imposter from QLD to take 7 months to tell us what we had all known for 5 years...Bellamy up against his own big four doesn't work...more palm-greasing with our money.
So now - having appointed Ricky Stuart in January,2011 (after numb nuts Canavan review i could have compiled in 5 minutes)...and despite SOO interest flagged by Gus Gould 10 DAYS AGO...
this quarter-wit Carr has to rush in and appoint the nuff nuts FOX jibberer LOZ Daley in August...a clueless NSW selector for years...and a failed rep coach who can't even get a superstar CRL team up for a win against 3rd grade CITY nuffies like BJ Leilua...and "i love Ben Creagh & Jamie Buhrer & two props" fail FULTON is his selector.
Gallop to G.Hughes four years ago re 80% of fans wanting Try or draw:
"we've looked at GOLDEN TRY/10 minutes...and um um well um...what if you kicked 3 penalty goals (unheard of in 104 years of RL) and um um ...you led 16-10 and um..the other team scored a GOLDEN TRY and beat you 14-16...that's not fair..."
Way to go Gallop you moron - ever heard of 14-16...kick to come?
Terry QUINN CRL keeps the $3k the NRL clubs pay for CRL kids for "beers,prawns & bbq's" with his mates.This money is supposed to go direct to the country clubs.The Broncos & Sharks (& probably lol@50uff$) don't even bother sending the money - just steal kids from Orara like Jason McGrady & Nick Reed and Quinn doesn't even chase it up.
How do these RL administrator Tards stay outta gaol?
$1.25mil for that puppet stool-pidgeon Gallop as ARLC CEO when Bondijack could have run it on his ear for the past 7 years at $130mil pa not $60mil :
Reserve grade/under 23s - 3 or 4 daytime games - 6 interchanges - an 8-metre rule - Salary Cap discounts for juniors & 6-year veterans - HD monitors in the video box/not 15" grainy screens - downward pressure for a TRY - a SHEPHERD rule...
Look on the bright side THROW - as lame-duck and reactive as John Grant is looking on the seven issues above and many more - there WILL BE a reduction in the duplication of the "blazer brigade" for one reason - Grant is egotistical and wants to run it all anyway.
The CEO will be a puppet and so - like Gallop being sacked in disgrace and kept away from the new TV negotiation...and the 1v8 version of the McIntyre system - Grant won't cop co-existing with total failures like Geoff Carr and Terry Quinn for too long.
As for AFL's 13-year total domination of 12 noon - 5pm Saturday arvo ABC radio & FTA footy...

Nice post mate

With a shit load of cash the nrl will be hiring heaps of staff I reckon

You should put your hand up.

Billythekid

Thanks for the compliment on the NRL AUSKICK farce...Throw ol' mate.
Bit on the CRL/myriad RL duplication - You must remember that the incestuous self-interest "blazer brigade" is hard to shift from power.
Jobs for the boys is the charter of all corrupt,nepotistic organisations.
eg Labor party/AWU & HSU unions,Cricket Australia,ARU,NSWRL.
Ask yourself how Colin Love (ARL) can pay himself $1.35 mil for a RL world cup promo fizzer.
Why has NSW not jagged one first up Origin game (Game One) in 7 years?
Geoff Carr to G.Hughes July 2010 after another belting:
"bit harsh Graeme...we're goin' good,Graeme...we're close...we usually only lose 2-1..."
Carr appoints and PAYS BIG to an imposter from QLD to take 7 months to tell us what we had all known for 5 years...Bellamy up against his own big four doesn't work...more palm-greasing with our money.
So now - having appointed Ricky Stuart in January,2011 (after numb nuts Canavan review i could have compiled in 5 minutes)...and despite SOO interest flagged by Gus Gould 10 DAYS AGO...
this quarter-wit Carr has to rush in and appoint the nuff nuts FOX jibberer LOZ Daley in August...a clueless NSW selector for years...and a failed rep coach who can't even get a superstar CRL team up for a win against 3rd grade CITY nuffies like BJ Leilua...and "i love Ben Creagh & Jamie Buhrer & two props" fail FULTON is his selector.
Gallop to G.Hughes four years ago re 80% of fans wanting Try or draw:
"we've looked at GOLDEN TRY/10 minutes...and um um well um...what if you kicked 3 penalty goals (unheard of in 104 years of RL) and um um ...you led 16-10 and um..the other team scored a GOLDEN TRY and beat you 14-16...that's not fair..."
Way to go Gallop you moron - ever heard of 14-16...kick to come?
Terry QUINN CRL keeps the $3k the NRL clubs pay for CRL kids for "beers,prawns & bbq's" with his mates.This money is supposed to go direct to the country clubs.The Broncos & Sharks (& probably lol@50uff$) don't even bother sending the money - just steal kids from Orara like Jason McGrady & Nick Reed and Quinn doesn't even chase it up.
How do these RL administrator Tards stay outta gaol?
$1.25mil for that puppet stool-pidgeon Gallop as ARLC CEO when Bondijack could have run it on his ear for the past 7 years at $130mil pa not $60mil :
Reserve grade/under 23s - 3 or 4 daytime games - 6 interchanges - an 8-metre rule - Salary Cap discounts for juniors & 6-year veterans - HD monitors in the video box/not 15" grainy screens - downward pressure for a TRY - a SHEPHERD rule...
Look on the bright side THROW - as lame-duck and reactive as John Grant is looking on the seven issues above and many more - there WILL BE a reduction in the duplication of the "blazer brigade" for one reason - Grant is egotistical and wants to run it all anyway.
The CEO will be a puppet and so - like Gallop being sacked in disgrace and kept away from the new TV negotiation...and the 1v8 version of the McIntyre system - Grant won't cop co-existing with total failures like Geoff Carr and Terry Quinn for too long.
As for AFL's 13-year total domination of 12 noon - 5pm Saturday arvo ABC radio & FTA footy...

I don't mean to pick on you but what is up with posts formatted like this? Were you just randomly pressing enter as you typed? It's so hard to read.

TheRam

The Herald reported that Channel Ten had offered $800 million for four games a week, and many people have said that would have been preferable to the deal negotiated by the ARLC, under which three games will be shown on free-to-air TV a week, only one of which will be a live broadcast.

Nine and Fox Sports tendered a joint bid, whereas Ten and Seven did not have a pay-TV partner.
If the ARLC had chosen one of those networks as the game's free-to-air broadcaster, they would have had to find another outlet to show the remaining matches. The overall value of the deal would have been significantly less than the $1.025 billion that Nine ($475 million) and Fox Sports ($550 million) have agreed to pay, including $50 million each in advertising.
A 20 per cent reduction in the value of the broadcasting deal, which Ten's offer effectively was, would have lessened the amount of money to fund struggling NRL clubs and increase players' wages.

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...-years-away-20120827-24wqj.html#ixzz24lzNtTd2

Is this guy for real? The ARLC has four more games to sell, albeit lesser valued ones, but come on, I would suggest blind Freddy could get at least 150-200 million for them on a bad day at the least. Who are these guys kidding?

To who?

Fox said no, 9 wouldn't have bit after being cast aside and 7 could have bought them for $11.50 because no one else would have bid.

Why do you think 10 didn't bid for all the games, even though they didn't have a pay partner?

It's because they couldn't onsell the other 4 games.

Canucks

No ten would have bought 8 games, then sold 4 to fox... The money from fox would go to ten, not the NRL... So 800m for NRL no matter what...

bobmar28

Not saying that. Saying that you guys are happy with staying at ch9

Hence my comment. I'm not saying that everyone here wanted it, it's aimed at those who splooged over the deal

f**k channel 9. No compromise. We had options outside of ch9[/www

None of those options involved a billion dollars.

No ten would have bought 8 games, then sold 4 to fox... The money from fox would go to ten, not the NRL... So 800m for NRL no matter what...

The Herald report apparently said that 10 only bid for 4 games, my understanding was the same as yours but it accoridng to that article the ARLC would have had to sell the remaining 4 games..

If the ARLC had chosen one of those networks as the game's free-to-air broadcaster, they would have had to find another outlet to show the remaining matches.

Either way, we took the better deal.

trudge

The Sunday Game can start live and move to delay after the first ad break.

The NRL can move the fixture from 3pm to 4pm. Start live, pump your ads, make your money and delay your audience by minutes rather than hours.

carlosthedwarf

Not totally related but interesting nonetheless

http://www.nbl.com.au/news/article/2012/august/landmark-broadcast-deal/

[FONT=&quot]In an Australian first, Basketball Australia has signed a landmark broadcast deal with PERFORM Media that will see all games of the iiNet National Basketball League Championship televised live and in full across multiple digital platforms.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]The multi-year partnership – effective from the start of the 2012/13 NBL season – provides basketball fans unprecedented coverage of the competition:[/FONT]
- Every NBL game will be broadcast live via an NBL.TV subscription service for mobile, tablets, PCs and IPTV;
- Fans will be able to view television matches simulcast, plus all other NBL matches live anywhere and on any platform using a single login to NBL.TV;
- Games and highlights will be available on demand, giving fans the freedom to choose how and when they watch the NBL;
- PERFORM will produce five-camera live broadcasts of all NBL games not being shown by the league’s free-to-air television partner Network Ten and New Zealand broadcast partner; and
- The deal also includes production and distribution of national team games hosted in Australia – meaning fans can for the first time digitally access any home games played by the Boomers and Opals, subject to television broadcast arrangements.
[FONT=&quot]Basketball Australia Chief Executive Officer Kristina Keneally said the new agreement would complement the NBL’s existing broadcast agreement with Network Ten – which will show one game live nationally every Sunday afternoon on TEN and one game per round at the regular timeslot of 9:30PM on Network Ten’s digital channel ONE.
[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot][/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]
[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]About NBL.TV[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]A full season pass with full access to all NBL.TV features will be priced at $79. A monthly pass will also be available for $19. [/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]From today, Basketball Australia is also offering a pre-registration launch special for the full season pass – with fans able to pre-register to receive a special sign-up of offer of $59.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Fans can visit http://www.nbl.tv/earlyRegister to pre-register for a season pass now.
[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot][/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]The fact the NBL is doing this before one of the major sporting codes is very interesting.
[/FONT]

Pedro Collins

Brilliant idea. It can still run into the 6 O'Clock news and we wouldn't have the hour and longer delay.

The only problem could be Golden Point and there is no way the news could be delayed as it would upset every 80 year old lady and there would be many cranky phone calls.:crazy:

Panfas

IMO the best option would be a telecast from 3.30pm through to 6pm with a kick off at 3.50pm. I am ok with some delayed coverage as the game goes on so they can fit more ads in. So live at kick off and 20min delayed by 6pm. This would be enough to cover their ads before the game, during the break and a few long ones during the actual game. Everyone wins

BranVan3000

IMO the best option would be a telecast from 3.30pm through to 6pm with a kick off at 3.50pm. I am ok with some delayed coverage as the game goes on so they can fit more ads in. So live at kick off and 20min delayed by 6pm. This would be enough to cover their ads before the game, during the break and a few long ones during the actual game. Everyone wins

No. Nine need to save that 330 time slot for Gilligans Island, some fishing show or a movie about World War 1. Big money makers there, what would an extra half hour of football coverage add on the prime time Sunday afternoon slot add?

Quidgybo

Not totally related but interesting nonetheless

http://www.nbl.com.au/news/article/2012/august/landmark-broadcast-deal/

The fact the NBL is doing this before one of the major sporting codes is very interesting.

From everything I've read so far, although Fox have the right to stream their five games to their own subscribers, it sounds to me like the NRL still have the right to offer a package like this with all eight games live. Now that really would be a massive change from the previous deal. It might even make a few of the critics reconsider their position.

Leigh.