Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

WA- did we miss the boat ?

I hate this 1997 super league mentality that you simply put teams in afl cities & sport will flourish there & become national. Last night NRL did rating of 75k on main FTA channel in Melbourne. Club has existed for over 20 years - sport will never catch on there.
Meanwhile 1/2 of the rugby league market being qld, which in not too distance future will be 2nd biggest state, is being neglected to point were afl team is getting clean air & out rating NRL.
... & idiots talking about getting Adelaide team. The viewers & audience are in qld!!!
I'll never understand their mindset. There's still the belief on here that Perth is going to be the 18th franchise, despite the bloke who runs the game publicly ruling it out on more than one occasion.

In 20 years there will be Brisbane 2 and probably talk of Brisbane 3, dependant on how well the 2nd team is supported. Make no mistake about it, when Brisbane 2 rates its arse off in south east Queensland the broadcasters will want another team. David Gyngel admitted that when Broncos play the network makes 100 cents on the dollar, whereas for everyone else it is 40 cents. Brisbane 2 just needs ro provide a similar return that's better than 40c to be a valuable addition. If it's right up there with the Broncos then they will want Brisbane 3.

There are at least two viable bids from powerhouse Brisbane clubs that are asset rich and have a long and large following within the community. A third bid from power brokers who were involved with the Broncos.

Perth's bid is farcical. It's run by the bloke who was involved in the Reds venture that went bust during their 1st season and needed to be bailed out by News Ltd just to get through it. He's no Twiggy Forrest and his business is struggling for survival. He doesn't earn enough per year to cover the annual $25+million expenditure that the club will need just to survive.

Does the Perth bid own its own ground and have a read made centre of excellence that all clubs need to keep their players in peak physical condition?

Redcliffe owns over $100m in assets, including its own ground, Leagues Club and shopping mall. If Redcliffe are the next team, then that leaves plenty of room in the southern and western area of Greater Brisbane area for a 3rd team.

mongoose

There is not going to be a 3rd or 4th Brisbane team any time soon. The Broncos, Titans and Dolphins or whoever it is would be up in arms. I think you have this wishful idea that if you saturate Brisbane with Rugby league teams it will kill off the Lions (lol) and weaken the Storm. But this idea isn't based in reality.

typicalfan

There is not going to be a 3rd or 4th Brisbane team any time soon. The Broncos, Titans and Dolphins or whoever it is would be up in arms. I think you have this wishful idea that if you saturate Brisbane with Rugby league teams it will kill off the Lions (lol) and weaken the Storm. But this idea isn't based in reality.
There will be a Brisbane 3 before an Adelaide team. Adelaide would have to be just above Tassie as probably would never happen definitely not in our lifetime.

Storm have their place as Melbourne is Australia's second biggest city.

I hate this 1997 super league mentality that you simply put teams in afl cities & sport will flourish there & become national. Last night NRL did rating of 75k on main FTA channel in Melbourne. Club has existed for over 20 years - sport will never catch on there.
Meanwhile 1/2 of the rugby league market being qld, which in not too distance future will be 2nd biggest state, is being neglected to point were afl team is getting clean air & out rating NRL.
... & idiots talking about getting Adelaide team. The viewers & audience are in qld!!!

and the afl outrated the nrl on tv in Brisbane on Friday night! Now either afl is just a better sport or they are much better at expansion Take your pick!
The code that is truly national wins. End of.
afl has in fact already won, nrl Continues to be on the back foot believing it needs to fight afl in nsw and qlnd which is exactly what they want. Fans like you make their job so much easier. All the time we look inwards they know they have no worries in their own heartlands.

mongoose

and the afl outrated the nrl on tv in Brisbane on Friday night! Now either afl is just a better sport or they are much better at expansion Take your pick!
afl has in fact already won, nrl Continues to be on the back foot believing it needs to fight afl in nsw and qlnd which is exactly what they want. Fans like you make their job so much easier. All the time we look inwards they know they have no worries in their own heartlands.
nah mate, just give Brisbane another 3 teams and 1 at gosford and no one will ever watch AFL again in the northern states LOL

Pippen94

Storm on main FTA channel in Melbourne did 75k - afl did 430k.

Lions rating was 144k - NRL did 100k.
Broncos finals match in Brisbane would do well over 200k.

Forget lions NRL needs more Brisbane content

Pippen94

nah mate, just give Brisbane another 3 teams and 1 at gosford and no one will ever watch AFL again in the northern states LOL

21 seasons in Melbourne & storm get main channel FTA rating of 75k. Tell me again why we should expand to afl cities??

Last week nrl game only drew 100k viewers in Brisbane after 100 years of RL in the city, hmmmm.
Maybe because big city one club teams are nationally popular?
Storm top 3 for attendances, memberships and tv audiences. Hmmmmmm.

I’ll tell you what the real worry is, afl drew 434k in Melbourne for its sat night final whilst only 218k could be bothered to tune in to nrls game in Sydney! No wonder they keep getting bigger tv deals!

T-Boon

I think if the Bears are serious about wanting back into the league they should relocate to Perth call themselves the Western Bears and play in the NSW cup or the Qld cup that way. The Bears are a good brand but they are treading water in North Sydney.
Build a following over in WA so that when they do expand to Perth they are the obvious choice.

2012....Sharks Year

Logic would say that the main reason why league is on the nose in Queensland is the fact that their beloved Broncos claimed the wooden spoon and the Cows finished 14th. When a club and/or state is used to success on the field they struggle to accept and support mediocrity. It also works in reverse... With the Brisbane lions being genuine contenders for the flag this year there is increased support and bandwagoners attracted to watch the AFL. If I was in Brisbane and my Donkeys were claiming the spoon and the Lions were battling it out for the minor premiership....I know what I’d be watching.

I'm not under any illusion that there is going to be a 3rd or 4th Brisbane team any time soon. I just say what I think should happen because I believe it is best for the game. I accept that my views might be unpopular.

The Storm's success will take a dive when Smith and Bellamy ride into the sunset. There's no Bellamy 2 on the sidelines to carry on where he left off. Smith is a once in a generation player.

The Lions were $14 million in debt 6 years ago. That was with just 1 underperforming NRL club to compete against. How do you think they'll fare when they have to compete with 2 or 3 NRL for sponsors and media space?

The Fitzroy Bears will need more than VicKick and free McHappy Meals to win over the next generation when there are 2 or 3 NRL clubs running school clinics in the Greater Brisbane area.

There will be a Brisbane 3 before an Adelaide team. Adelaide would have to be just above Tassie as probably would never happen definitely not in our lifetime.

Storm have their place as Melbourne is Australia's second biggest city.
As much as I hate seeing Melbourne win every year, I admire what they've done for the game. They've raised the profile of the game in Australia's 2nd largest market.

Perth could succeed if it's given the same support that News Ltd/ARLC threw at the Storm from 98-18, but the rewards will be much lower and for that reason I cannot see them getting the same concessions to stay afloat and thrive.

Adelaide is no chance.

greenBV4

I'm not under any illusion that there is going to be a 3rd or 4th Brisbane team any time soon. I just say what I think should happen because I believe it is best for the game. I accept that my views might be unpopular.

The Storm's success will take a dive when Smith and Bellamy ride into the sunset. There's no Bellamy 2 on the sidelines to carry on where he left off. Smith is a once in a generation player.

The Lions were $14 million in debt 6 years ago. That was with just 1 underperforming NRL club to compete against. How do you think they'll fare when they have to compete with 2 or 3 NRL for sponsors and media space?

The Fitzroy Bears will need more than VicKick and free McHappy Meals to win over the next generation when there are 2 or 3 NRL clubs running school clinics in the Greater Brisbane area.
People said this when cronk left, then when slater left, this year we were told we wouldn't make the top 4 and maybe struggle for the 8, that was forgotten and now its when Smith and Bellamy leave.
I'm confident enough in our recruiting we will stay close enough to the top for the forseeable future, and I'm sure Bellamy and the club have had a sucession plan for him for a while now (I'd put my money on Jason Ryles after his year in the UK)

As for the Lions I think you are underestimating the number of Vic expats in SE Qld, and the seemingly limitless money tree the AFL must have growing. I dont think a 3rd or 4th team will really effect the Lions at all, its not like AFL supporters will all of a sudden start following league because there is 2 more teams.

I hate to say it, but there are a lot of people up here who will jump on the bandwagon of whichever team is the flavour of the month. But this happens all over the world.

The loss of the BRL created a void. The tribalism that existed in Brisbane was replaced with a "representative" themed team that was meant to invoke people's love for Queensland and hatred of NSW. Over the years that resentment has dwindled somewhat, especially amongst the younger generation who weren't around to witness the injustices and hardships that plagued RL in Queensland prior to 1988.

Sport succeeds when it taps into a community's need to belong to something that they can identify with or aspire to be. When the tribalism of the BRL was replaced with a glamour club that "flew the flag for Queensland" in the Sydney competition it meant something at first, but over time it grew boring and created a generation of entitled brats who thought they were owed a successful team that gets whatever it wants. It's a recipe for disaster when the shit eventually hits the fan, as it did this year. Those entitled brats jumped on the bandwagon of the nearest club that was successfully "flying the flag for Queensland". It just so happened to be the AwFuL club from the Gabba. The only way to safeguard against this is to reintroduce tribalism. Three teams will erode the "we must beat Sydney" mentality and lead to people in Brisbane caring only about their team finishing ahead of their nearest rivals. The Cowboys VS Broncos rivalry is the nearest thing we have right now and it is huge all over Brisbane. Crowds and TV ratings for these games are always strong. Let's recreate that.

I support NQ Cowboys and hate the Broncos. I hated the way we played this year, but I loved the fact we finished ahead of our nearest and biggest rival. It elicited the same feelings of joy as 2015 when we consigned those bastards to their first wooden spoon. I wouldn't be feeling this joy if it wasn't for tribalism. We should be looking to replicate it with 2 or 3 more Brisbane teams.

Pippen94

Last week nrl game only drew 100k viewers in Brisbane after 100 years of RL in the city, hmmmm.

I’ll tell you what the real worry is, afl drew 434k in Melbourne for its sat night final whilst only 218k could be bothered to tune in to nrls game in Sydney! No wonder they keep getting bigger tv deals!
Solution; no fake ass teams like storm in places that don't care about RL

Storm on main FTA channel in Melbourne did 75k - afl did 430k.

Lions rating was 144k - NRL did 100k.
Broncos finals match in Brisbane would do well over 200k.

Forget lions NRL needs more Brisbane content
The NRL cannot afford to lose the Brisbane market. The lack of tribalism, caused by being a one team town, is hurting our game. It's why we need the Sydney clubs plus more teams in Brisbane.

People said this when cronk left, then when slater left, this year we were told we wouldn't make the top 4 and maybe struggle for the 8, that was forgotten and now its when Smith and Bellamy leave.
I'm confident enough in our recruiting we will stay close enough to the top for the forseeable future, and I'm sure Bellamy and the club have had a sucession plan for him for a while now (I'd put my money on Jason Ryles after his year in the UK)

As for the Lions I think you are underestimating the number of Vic expats in SE Qld, and the seemingly limitless money tree the AFL must have growing. I dont think a 3rd or 4th team will really effect the Lions at all, its not like AFL supporters will all of a sudden start following league because there is 2 more teams.
How are the Storm going to transition junior recruits into first grade superstars without the best coach of the modern era?

Smith is the best player of the modern era.

How many of Bellamy's assistants were able to replicate his achievements when they were signed as head coaches for other clubs?

If it was as easy as following Bellamy then you would expect Walters to be a master coach, as he was at Melbourne. Robinson has had success, but we would be foolish to think their ability to sign the game's best players has had nothing to do with it.

You've got it all wrong.

Fumbleball retained its tribalism in Melbourne. Arthurson and Quayle killed the tribalism for RL in Brisbane and replaced it with a quasi-Origin team that was marketed as "flying the flag for Queensland" in the Sydney competition. The problem with that is a local team from a rival code can jump in and do exactly the same thing by winning when your team finishes last.

The only way to safeguard against this isn't by killing tribalism in Sydney, but by recreating it in Brisbane.

I will add that Canberra had a big following in Queensland back in the 80s and 90s, largely because they raided the shit out of the BRL and were successful, so people saw them as a quasi-Brisbane team giving it to the Sydney sides. They loved seeing local heroes from the BRL carving it up. That support dried up pretty quickly when the flow of Queensland greats to Canberra dried up and the Raiders slid down the ladder. Melbourne took over that mantle with the likes of Smith, Slater, Cronk, Folau, Inglis and more recently Munster. Most of Storm's off-field success is in Brisbane. That's a worry as history shows it will dissipate when the Storm are brought back to Earth.

greenBV4

Ultimately who cares what afl do - NRL is clearly lacking content for Brisbane fans
agreed, thats why brisbane 2 is guaranteed to be the 17th team

but the main arguement Ive seen for further teams is to "push AFL out of Brisbane" or "defend the heartland states that are under attack" - you can't have it both ways