Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

WA- did we miss the boat ?

greenBV4

How are the Storm going to transition junior recruits into first grade superstars without the best coach of the modern era?

Smith is the best player of the modern era.

How many of Bellamy's assistants were able to replicate his achievements when they were signed as head coaches for other clubs?

If it was as easy as following Bellamy then you would expect Walters to be a master coach, as he was at Melbourne. Robinson has had success, but we would be foolish to think their ability to sign the game's best players has had nothing to do with it.
Oh for sure our time at the very top will be over for a while, but i don't see us sliding way down the ladder, Bellamy and many of the supporting staff and coaches have been in place long enough for "the system" to be solid - bellamy is a big part of that but i think he will leave enough behind for us to stay in the 8.

Ryles to coach for a few years piggy backing off the system Bellamy has put in place, until Smith comes in as head coach, Slater to continue specialist fullback coaching

agreed, thats why brisbane 2 is guaranteed to be the 17th team

but the main arguement Ive seen for further teams is to "push AFL out of Brisbane" or "defend the heartland states that are under attack" - you can't have it both ways
People are referring to the next generation. That's who AwFuL focuses on converting to their game. VicKick and school clinics are their main lifeline to the next generation. More teams in Brisbane means more RL school clinics and media saturation. Kids love meeting a sports star. The Bears sent one around to the school I attended in the early 90s. The kids loved it ad they got to meet somebody famous, even though they had never heard of the f**ker. Thankfully there was no VicKick back then to capitalise on it.

Oh for sure our time at the very top will be over for a while, but i don't see us sliding way down the ladder, Bellamy and many of the supporting staff and coaches have been in place long enough for "the system" to be solid - bellamy is a big part of that but i think he will leave enough behind for us to stay in the 8.

Ryles to coach for a few years piggy backing off the system Bellamy has put in place, until Smith comes in as head coach, Slater to continue specialist fullback coaching
News Ltd's money is no longer there to fund all the staff that's needed to identify, poach and coach the game's best juniors into superstars. The Broncos still have all that money and will throw it at the likes of Bellamy, Slater and Smith.

greenBV4

News Ltd's money is no longer there to fund all the staff that's needed to identify, poach and coach the game's best juniors into superstars. The Broncos still have all that money and will throw it at the likes of Bellamy, Slater and Smith.
It hasn't been there for a while now and they still do it? (identify and coach that is, who was the last player Melbourne "poached" that was already estabished and playing well at another club?)

Melbourne are one of the few clubs breaking even each year, their financials are stable

It hasn't been there for a while now and they still do it? (identify and coach that is, who was the last player Melbourne "poached" that was already estabished and playing well at another club?)

Melbourne are one of the few clubs breaking even each year, their financials are stable
When News Ltd relinquished their 50% stake in the ARL they forced the ARLC to fund the Storm to the tune of $27.5 million between 2013 and 2018. So it's only been 2 seasons that they haven't had it. They lost Slater and Cronk around that period and needed to give Smith a testimonial game and two fund-raising dinners to get him to re-sign. Addo-Carr are Vunivalu are leaving.

J Hughes and B Smith weren't established, but they were poached from the Cowboys.

H Grant and B Smith will jump ship if Cam plays one more season. That ahit was unheard of when News Ltd and ARLC were throwing brown paper bags at Melbourne Two Books.

Munster is open to signing with Brisbane 2. Take Munster, C Smith, H Grant, JAC, Vunivalu and B Smith out of the Storm and it will be fighting to remain a top 8 team, especially if Bellyache goes to Brissie to be paid big bucks to sit on his arse in the background while The Idiot of Ipswich coaches the Donkeys.

greenBV4

When News Ltd relinquished their 50% stake in the ARL they forced the ARLC to fund the Storm to the tune of $27.5 million between 2013 and 2018. So it's only been 2 seasons that they haven't had it. They lost Slater and Cronk around that period and needed to give Smith a testimonial game and two fund-raising dinners to get him to re-sign. Addo-Carr are Vunivalu are leaving.

J Hughes and B Smith weren't established, but they were poached from the Cowboys.

H Grant and B Smith will jump ship if Cam plays one more season. That ahit was unheard of when News Ltd and ARLC were throwing brown paper bags at Melbourne Two Books.

Munster is open to signing with Brisbane 2. Take Munster, C Smith, H Grant, JAC, Vunivalu and B Smith out of the Storm and it will be fighting to remain a top 8 team, especially if Bellyache goes to Brissie to be paid big bucks to sit on his arse in the background while The Idiot of Ipswich coaches the Donkeys.
With a salary cap extra funds don't mean anything for player retention - no shit cheating allowed players to be retained, that's the reason for cheating - but unless your accusing Melbourne of still being over the cap then none of those arguments hold any weight

End of the day I guess we will just have to wait an see how the hooker situation plays out, as far as I'm aware B Smith doesn't have a clause in his contract, and like JAC I doubt Melbourne will grant his release without a like for like replacement

Munster is on good money and I'm sure will get an upgrade when cam leaves, he's also been marked as the future captain of the club so id say he'll be around for a while

JAC, like cronk, is leaving for family reasons.
Vunivalu - not a big loss with the number of mistakes he makes tbh

No one disputes Brisbane needs a second successful club. But NRL needs a national footprint. Unless of course we happy to be the second placed footy code way behind AFL , in which case we can stay a two state code and jerk off how the pinnacle of the game is NSW v Qlnd.

mongoose

I will add that Canberra had a big following in Queensland back in the 80s and 90s, largely because they raided the shit out of the BRL and were successful, so people saw them as a quasi-Brisbane team giving it to the Sydney sides. They loved seeing local heroes from the BRL carving it up. That support dried up pretty quickly when the flow of Queensland greats to Canberra dried up and the Raiders slid down the ladder. Melbourne took over that mantle with the likes of Smith, Slater, Cronk, Folau, Inglis and more recently Munster. Most of Storm's off-field success is in Brisbane. That's a worry as history shows it will dissipate when the Storm are brought back to Earth.

You act like the Raiders relied solely on Queenslanders during their golden era.

Stuart, Daley, Clyde, Lazarus (poached by Brisbane), Mullins, O'sullivan, Furner, Jason Croker, Wiki, Nandruku, Nagas, Chicka Ferguson were not queenslanders

Daley from Junee, Stuart from Captains flat, both towns outside Canberra owned QLD in state of origin from 1990 - 1994.

Pippen94

You act like the Raiders relied solely on Queenslanders during their golden era.

Stuart, Daley, Clyde, Lazarus (poached by Brisbane), Mullins, O'sullivan, Furner, Jason Croker, Wiki, Nandruku, Nagas, Chicka Ferguson were not queenslanders

Daley from Junee, Stuart from Captains flat, both towns outside Canberra owned QLD in state of origin from 1990 - 1994.

Raiders had Brisbane South's connection with Mal, Jackson, Wayne, Belcher

2012....Sharks Year

Hey mate.... not sure where you got that quote from but it’s not mine. Cheers

The Great Dane

agreed, thats why brisbane 2 is guaranteed to be the 17th team

but the main arguement Ive seen for further teams is to "push AFL out of Brisbane" or "defend the heartland states that are under attack" - you can't have it both ways
It's also not how the market works. You could have 50 NRL clubs in Brisbane and the AFL would still have a reasonable following in a big city like Brisbane.

It's a bit like saying 'if only Pop music could just produce more content it'd kill Classical', when in reality peoples taste in music, and sport, is totally subjective and dependant on their own personal taste. So no matter what Pop does there will always be people that simply prefer Classical music, and the same is true of RL and Aussie Rules.

greenBV4

It's also not how the market works. You could have 50 NRL clubs in Brisbane and the AFL would still have a reasonable following in a big city like Brisbane.

It's a bit like saying 'if only Pop music could just produce more content it'd kill Classical', when in reality peoples taste in music, and sport, is totally subjective and dependant on their own personal taste. So no matter what Pop does there will always be people that simply prefer Classical music, and the same is true of RL and Aussie Rules.
Boom, exactly

T-Boon

I don't agree with this.
If Brisbane RL is cooking with 2 or 3 strong NRL teams and a good rivalry it will definitely hurt the Lions.
Plus we don't want to kill the Lions you want them on life support for ever.

greenBV4

I don't agree with this.
If Brisbane RL is cooking with 2 or 3 strong NRL teams and a good rivalry it will definitely hurt the Lions.
No matter what itll always have a decent enough base following to keep it putting along, and I think your underestimating how many Vic expats live in SEQ

Plus there'll always be the years where the lions do good and your Brisbane team doesn't.

Let's say Easts and Dolphins get in, if there's a rivalry (which let's be honest thats the whole point) and you support the Dolphins, the dolphins don't make the 8, but the Broncos, Firehawks and Lions all do. The typical casual supporter is more than likely to jump on the Lions bandwagon than a rival NRL team..

It happens all the time down here with AFL fans of knocked out teams all of a sudden becoming invested Storm supporters, they fill the "second team" spot, as do the lions (and swans), and its not a necessarily bad thing for those clubs

The Great Dane

I don't agree with this.
You can disagree all you like, but you're going against human nature.

You can try to force feed people something all you like, but no matter what you do there'll always be a percentage of them that simply prefer other things.

T-Boon

You can disagree all you like, but you're going against human nature.

You can try to force feed people something all you like, but no matter what you do there'll always be a percentage of them that simply prefer other things.

Are you saying a second Brisbane NRL team will not hurt the Lions?

mongoose

No matter what itll always have a decent enough base following to keep it putting along, and I think your underestimating how many Vic expats live in SEQ

Plus there'll always be the years where the lions do good and your Brisbane team doesn't.

Let's say Easts and Dolphins get in, if there's a rivalry (which let's be honest thats the whole point) and you support the Dolphins, the dolphins don't make the 8, but the Broncos, Firehawks and Lions all do. The typical casual supporter is more than likely to jump on the Lions bandwagon than a rival NRL team..

It happens all the time down here with AFL fans of knocked out teams all of a sudden becoming invested Storm supporters, they fill the "second team" spot, as do the lions (and swans), and its not a necessarily bad thing for those clubs

It's not just expats following AFL, this is a myth. Younger people born in QLD are following it and playing it in larger numbers, maybe they are following League also but there are no battle lines drawn anymore. When I went to high school here in the 90s it was definitely uncool to admit you followed AFL, you would probably get teased mercilessly, at least in state schools but it's just not like that anymore. The attention the Lions are getting right now with the League teams down in the doldrums would be a massive win for AFL in the sunshine state and dinosaur League fans are burying their heads in the sand - "it's just band wagoners, who cares"

This is why the NRL should be serious about Perth as well as Brisbane 2, there is no reason the same thing can't be replicated over on the west coast for League.

greenBV4

It's not just expats following AFL, this is a myth. Younger people born in QLD are following it and playing it in larger numbers, maybe they are following League also but there are no battle lines drawn anymore. When I went to high school here in the 90s it was definitely uncool to admit you followed AFL, you would probably get teased mercilessly, at least in state schools but it's just not like that anymore. The attention the Lions are getting right now with the League teams down in the doldrums would be a massive win for AFL in the sunshine state and dinosaur League fans are burying their heads in the sand - "it's just band wagoners, who cares"

This is why the NRL should be serious about Perth as well as Brisbane 2, there is no reason the same thing can't be replicated over on the west coast for League.
Oh for sure I only meant a large portion of TV views and attendance would be expats but not all

I grew up in Northern NSW, I know just as many people from up there who follow AFL than they do NRL, I would probably also say the AFL supporters were more "fanatic" than the NRL ones, as following league is just "what you do"

The schools also got much more visits and clinics from Auskick, with maybe a once every 2 years visit from someone from the Titans

The AFL HS games also seemed more popular and played more often than the League one

The NRL is just so far behind the AFL in every area, and over expanding into heartland states won't magically fix this, its the development and engagement that needs fixing, and having the actual NRL do this rather some some guy in the closest clubs polo shirt

greenBV4

Oh for sure I only meant a large portion of TV views and attendance would be expats but not all

I grew up in Northern NSW, I know just as many people from up there who follow AFL than they do NRL, I would probably also say the AFL supporters were more "fanatic" than the NRL ones, as following league is just "what you do"

The schools also got much more visits and clinics from Auskick, with maybe a once every 2 years visit from someone from the Titans

The AFL HS games also seemed more popular and played more often than the League one

The NRL is just so far behind the AFL in every area, and over expanding into heartland states won't magically fix this, its the development and engagement that needs fixing, and having the actual NRL do this rather some some guy in the closest clubs polo shirt
In saying this league was still the most popular, the NRRRL was much bigger than the AFLs one, and league would dominate everything come origin time (unfortunately qlders almost outweighed blues). It's just within the school systems where you start to see the lack of actual engagement from the nrl