Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Wally Lewis..

MightyBronco

I've already been through this but:

Warren - Barely counts as pro-NSW, he's basically a play-by-play and nothing more.

Gus - passionately NSW without a doubt, and can make some painful comments as some have pointed out, but more often than not tends to just go with the team who is on top and talk them up in an effort to prove himself right.

Sterlo - probably the most level-headed and impartial regular commentator of all especially considering he is a former NSW player, don't think he could be accused of regular or obvious bias.

And you're right, Wally probably said the least all night, which made the times when he did hear his 'commentary' all the more inept and ludicrous.

Forget the other blokes for a second, go back and listen to all the times Wally opens his mouth last night and tell me it's not an embarrassing performance.

Dont forget a miked up Fittler as the NSW runner. Yeah, thats not normal. "we are going great - lots of talk - pearce is still directing the play"

Rod

It's part the parcel and I find it humerous that you nearly allowed the King to ruin the coverage for you when he could barely get a word in edgewise for the majority of the game.

I know. The fact that he probably spoke for less than 3 minutes the whole game just goes to show the level of verbal diarrhea he must have been spewing to have such a negative effect on the game.

Mortar

I know. The fact that he probably spoke for less than 3 minutes the whole game just goes to show the level of verbal diarrhea he must have been spewing to have such a negative effect on the game.
The butt hurt is strong with this one.

Get over yourself dickhead as Big Pete said QLD has had to put up with your NSW'ker bias shit for decades.

You have so much sand in your vag atm you are looking for anything to have a cry about...wont be long til you bring up knee crowding. :roll:

Shorty

That makes two of us then.

My point didn't have anything to do about his style. Lewis' influence on the coverage was minimal in comparison to Rabs and Gould who spoke mainly from a NSW POV and have done so for years.

It's part the parcel and I find it humerous that you nearly allowed the King to ruin the coverage for you when he could barely get a word in edgewise for the majority of the game.
It's really an insight into the mind of someone cockroaches that, us Qlders have been putting up with crap for years and years yet when Wally is on for a small period of time they're sooking like a bunch of todlers:lol::lol:

Dont forget a miked up Fittler as the NSW runner. Yeah, thats not normal. "we are going great - lots of talk - pearce is still directing the play"

The funniest comment of the night. Pearce directing the play....yep thats an oxymoron.

Glen

Wasn't this thread started by a whinging Queenslander? Wally is a moron who adds nothing during the game. Understandable he'd be involved in the overall broadcast given his stature but he just can't add anything insightful during the call. Maybe get another halfwit Queensland legend to replace him - Tallis?

Glen

Oh yea and Freddy was embarrassing as well. Especially since they kept cutting to him while the game was playing

Rod

The butt hurt is strong with this one.

Get over yourself dickhead as Big Pete said QLD has had to put up with your NSW'ker bias shit for decades.

You have so much sand in your vag atm you are looking for anything to have a cry about...wont be long til you bring up knee crowding. :roll:

Haha just when think you've spent 6 pages getting somewhere they take it back to square one.

Cool mate, sorry I found something about Wednesday night to criticise, god forbid everything wasn't perfect that night. Can't wait to hear Wally making animal noises in the comm box next year, and you guys clearly will be grunting along with him as you obviously have no problem with it.

firechild

Yeah ... had a laugh at the "Queensland are staggering" comment, which was made as the camera showed a shot of the entire team preparing for a drop out all looking very keen and enthusiastic.

Let's not forget that Mr Gould made THE BIGGEST DUD CALL in league history when eight years ago he called on Darren Lockyer to step down from the Queensland team.

Lockyer went on to win four of the five next Origin series, multiple Test matches for Australia, two premierships and numerous other awards and accolades.

And yet Gould still has the hide to portray himself as some know-all guru.

Pfft.

2 premierships in the last 8 years eh? 1 was obviously with the Broncos. Who was he pretending to be the other time?

Knightmare

Remember two years ago when the Qld media complained about Andrew Johns daring to cheer when NSW scored the winning try in Game 2, and they complained about it so much that it lead to there being an alternative Qld commentary team on the radio for Game 3? Fair dinkum, the Qld media would have you believe anybody who doesn't blow smoke up their collective arses is biased!

I personally don't mind past Origin greats showing their passion for their team, it livens the commentary up a bit, but it's hypocritical to have a go at either state for biased commentators because nobody comes out squeaky clean.

As I like to say, what is good for the goose is good for the gander

Maroon4life

Remember two years ago when the Qld media complained about Andrew Johns daring to cheer when NSW scored the winning try in Game 2, and they complained about it so much that it lead to there being an alternative Qld commentary team on the radio for Game 3? Fair dinkum, the Qld media would have you believe anybody who doesn't blow smoke up their collective arses is biased!

I personally don't mind past Origin greats showing their passion for their team, it livens the commentary up a bit, but it's hypocritical to have a go at either state for biased commentators because nobody comes out squeaky clean.

As I like to say, what is good for the goose is good for the gander

Sure is.

We just need another 3 QLD commentators in the box and doing assorted feeds from the field and were sweet.

If you don't want to do that feel free to shut your f**king mouth and swallow everything Wally gives you. Show respect to the king.

Knightmare

You'll have to show me where I said anything negative about Wally Lewis. I couldn't give a F**k where the commentators come from, as long as they are not always biased towards one team. People hating on Gus must have put their fingers in their ears every time he has talked up Qld over the last 5 years. But the moment he says a single thing negative about them OMG! NSW BIAS!

Ghoulies

Wally was just dictating terms to the rest of the commentary team. If Blues supporters can't handle that then they should listen to a different call.

aads

I detest bias in commentators - and i do think Gus is sometimes guilty - i was waiting for the usual Queensland are out on their feet" call and of course it came - well both sides were gone - he says it every year/game

Ads