Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

We don't deserve to be in the finals simple!

Sanchez

All I had to do was look at the team sheet to not get upset by the result. Had nothing to do with effort IMO, but people often get their expectations too high and over rate our talent on what they could do rather than what they actually produce.

Our team is simply not that good yet that they can consistently win or have the strength/composure to grind out these tough ones.

Thats BS, this team on paper was way better than last week with the exception of Johnson

ozbash

If Tui was halfback, why did he spend a large part of the game on the wing ?
Why have they gone back to the left hand, right hand style of play ?
Pomkins may as well have had his eyes taped shut, he looked totally lost without his bro..
Chad busted his arse and therein lies the problem, he doesn't possess the skills to steer a team around the paddock. He try too hard.

McFadden should be on notice..

If Tui was halfback, why did he spend a large part of the game on the wing ?
Why have they gone back to the left hand, right hand style of play ?
Pomkins may as well have had his eyes taped shut, he looked totally lost without his bro..
Chad busted his arse and therein lies the problem, he doesn't possess the skills to steer a team around the paddock. He try too hard.

McFadden should be on notice..

Feel better after a good sleep and heaps of water. McFadden is a cool bloke but he has the worst use of the interchange something Cleary was awesome at. He should of used Lolohea better and credit to Tui for a good game in yet another position the kid deserves to be in our team permanently at Centre. Chad is likeable guy but shouldn't be in our team as the main chief running the show. I would like to see 800k man used in the halves even if it's too late.

Do we give Cappy another year? Or get someone like Toovey or Jones to take over. After calming down I'm willing to give Cappy 1 more season but I understand if some here would like someone else to take the reigns

And Oz I did wonder why a I never saw much of Tui in the middle it was weird dumb etc

ozbash

He was out on the wing with manu..almost as though he was being 'kept out of the firing line'.

Iro coached him in U20's. .surely he knows his freakish ability in the halves ?

KeepingTheFaith

Thats BS, this team on paper was way better than last week with the exception of Johnson

Games aren't played on paper and they're not decided by potential.

Anyone who has watched us play and watched the Sharks play could have seen it coming. Was always going to be very tight at the end and in the end it didn't fall our way.

Iron Lion

Games aren't played on paper and they're not decided by potential.

Anyone who has watched us play and watched the Sharks play could have seen it coming. Was always going to be very tight at the end and in the end it didn't fall our way.

The team is mentally weak. The leadership is especially weak. Mannering needs to be dumped as captain like yesterday. His comments afterwards were disgusting. Saying you just basically have to admire the sharks trys, what can you do ? and we will just have to fire up for St George. That is a straight out a loser in human form. It doesnt matter how many tackles he makes, how many offloads he gets and how he plays through pain, if the Warriors captain thinks like that then it is bad bad bad for the Warriors future.

Mannering and cappy need to take the next month off and shadow the All Blacks team, learn what accountability is, learn what a powerful leaders mindset is.

Losing faith in Doyle, he may be able to get signings from players he already previously knew but our team culture remains the same - losers who have more in common with marshmallows than world class footballers.

On a positive note though RFM, Sam Lisone and possibly Albert Vete seem to made from a different breed all together. They are leaders on the field in the way they play. Quite impressed. Lisone should be our future lock.

Sanchez

I like the fact Doyle is getting rid of the guys who are clear coasters like Lousi and Ika and fringe guys who havent kicked on like Bhana and Palavi

KeepingTheFaith

The team is mentally weak. The leadership is especially weak. Mannering needs to be dumped as captain like yesterday. His comments afterwards were disgusting. Saying you just basically have to admire the sharks trys, what can you do ? and we will just have to fire up for St George. That is a straight out a loser in human form. It doesnt matter how many tackles he makes, how many offloads he gets and how he plays through pain, if the Warriors captain thinks like that then it is bad bad bad for the Warriors future.

Mannering and cappy need to take the next month off and shadow the All Blacks team, learn what accountability is, learn what a powerful leaders mindset is.

Losing faith in Doyle, he may be able to get signings from players he already previously knew but our team culture remains the same - losers who have more in common with marshmallows than world class footballers.

On a positive note though RFM, Sam Lisone and possibly Albert Vete seem to made from a different breed all together. They are leaders on the field in the way they play. Quite impressed. Lisone should be our future lock.

Of course it's mentally weak, has been for some time.

Rich102

He was out on the wing with manu..almost as though he was being 'kept out of the firing line'.

Iro coached him in U20's. .surely he knows his freakish ability in the halves ?

Bit like SJ. Maybe that's where Cappy wants his halves.
None of the backs seems to know where they are supposed to be.

Iafeta

His tries have dried up this season. Any thoughts as to why?

Easy. He's checking out. And, frankly, already has checked out. How does a bloke have a try scoring record like him in the ESL but have absolutely no running game? He's not fast. He's so weak he couldn't bruise a grape. He doesn't have a tricky side step on him. All he has is a tip on play. Thats it. I can honestly recall the lad having ONE line break from a kick return in his entire time as a Warrior. Value for money? Yeah right. If you're on that sort of quid you need to provide a return, it can't just be a simple link man player.

Iafeta

What?

That was one of the best physical 80 minute efforts I've seen from us this year.

We smashed them.

We lost because we didn't have any halves, simple.

And thats the disappointment of it all. Gubb, Matulino, Lillyman, Mannering, I thought they were quite dominant at times. But I wouldn't necessarily say the halves cost us, I put it down to the following critical moments (and, for at least the last 4-5 years its been critical moments in games where we are dominating that we lose all momentum that destroys us.... and generally they are really basic soft errors)

* Friend's ankle grubbing pass to old mate Townsend
* Old mate Townsend (who has also checked out early) throwing a similar pass to Lolohea
* RFM deciding not to put his body on the line to effect what should be a very simple tackle on Tagatese
* Manu dropping a chip bomb when it was harder not to catch it - he really is lazy with his hands at time
* Manu coming off his wing when there was absolutely no reason whatsoever to do so to allow Valentine Holmes to score
* Tui not going for the grubber off Ennis from the kick off, yes, it meant nothing score wise because it was half time, but it shows a lot about the mentality
* Albert Vete had a 2 on 1 outside him (those blokes being Hurrell and Vatuvei) with 5 metres to go, decides to trot across field essentially allowing Cronulla to slide because he couldn't pass the ball 10 metres to his left
* Friend being stripped one on one, so weak
* Tomkins not being urgent in getting to the football, knocking the ball on into the post (Basic basic error due to lethargy). This guy really hasn't had a go the last month or so. I bet the little tosser has his airline ticket already booked. Deadset, has he ever heard of a squat or a bench press? Honestly, he is so frail it looks like he puts no time in at the gym so he can try to break tackles.
* As much as Matulino was excellent, I can't for the life of me understand why Chad didn't play out the back once or twice ... it went to Matulino as the front runner every time so Cronulla were able to adjust to the knock out tactic the Warriors were aiming for. This is why Chad is a very average half, no deception in his game at all. Adequate runner, adequate kicker, no trickery at all and soft defensively (Graham was rolling him easily)

Now when I see Charlie Gubb tackling like an targeted missile, Matulino run with intent, Lisone throwing himself around with no thought of preservation, Ikahihifo trying his guts out, the handling errors, the simple misses from Manu and RFM... ARGHH!! One game, yeah no worries, I'd tolerate that, but its been happening for the last 4-5 years.

jamaman

And thats the disappointment of it all. Gubb, Matulino, Lillyman, Mannering, I thought they were quite dominant at times. But I wouldn't necessarily say the halves cost us, I put it down to the following critical moments (and, for at least the last 4-5 years its been critical moments in games where we are dominating that we lose all momentum that destroys us.... and generally they are really basic soft errors)

* Friend's ankle grubbing pass to old mate Townsend
* Old mate Townsend (who has also checked out early) throwing a similar pass to Lolohea
* RFM deciding not to put his body on the line to effect what should be a very simple tackle on Tagatese
* Manu dropping a chip bomb when it was harder not to catch it - he really is lazy with his hands at time
* Manu coming off his wing when there was absolutely no reason whatsoever to do so to allow Valentine Holmes to score
* Tui not going for the grubber off Ennis from the kick off, yes, it meant nothing score wise because it was half time, but it shows a lot about the mentality
* Albert Vete had a 2 on 1 outside him (those blokes being Hurrell and Vatuvei) with 5 metres to go, decides to trot across field essentially allowing Cronulla to slide because he couldn't pass the ball 10 metres to his left
* Friend being stripped one on one, so weak
* Tomkins not being urgent in getting to the football, knocking the ball on into the post (Basic basic error due to lethargy). This guy really hasn't had a go the last month or so. I bet the little tosser has his airline ticket already booked. Deadset, has he ever heard of a squat or a bench press? Honestly, he is so frail it looks like he puts no time in at the gym so he can try to break tackles.
* As much as Matulino was excellent, I can't for the life of me understand why Chad didn't play out the back once or twice ... it went to Matulino as the front runner every time so Cronulla were able to adjust to the knock out tactic the Warriors were aiming for. This is why Chad is a very average half, no deception in his game at all. Adequate runner, adequate kicker, no trickery at all and soft defensively (Graham was rolling him easily)

Now when I see Charlie Gubb tackling like an targeted missile, Matulino run with intent, Lisone throwing himself around with no thought of preservation, Ikahihifo trying his guts out, the handling errors, the simple misses from Manu and RFM... ARGHH!! One game, yeah no worries, I'd tolerate that, but its been happening for the last 4-5 years.

more 20 years barry

ozbash

interesting watching Widdop and Benji v Knights,, they had no structure, seemingly no plan. Their play was off the cuff, but they supported each other,, they were each others shadows..

and it worked very well.

jamaman

interesting watching Widdop and Benji v Knights,, they had no structure, seemingly no plan. Their play was off the cuff, but they supported each other,, they were each others shadows..

and it worked very well.

..after losing 7 games

Juju

That is a straight out a loser in human form.
I'd say making up rumors on foran signing, matai signing, watmough signing, super league players is more straight up loser than how mannering conducts himself in a presser. Not to mention sticking up for a wife better Tony Veitch.

Blair

Our undersized forwards build a solid platform (as they've been doing for most of the season), and our oversized outside backs run over the top of them (why else would we have a big, grinning oaf like Hurrell in the side?)

Somewhere in the middle our halves have to click. That'd be where the coach would be sweating the most. Along with all the other stuff Iafeta laid out for us.