Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Welcome to the comp, Redcliffe.

westerntiger

you could say that lol. Dragons and Tigers have hardly been raging successes.
when they merged they should have ditched the history and forged onwards into the 21st Century. We should have been called the Western Suburbs Tigers and made the Olympic Stadium our fortress from 2000 onwards. Instead we're 90% owned by the Wests Leagues club and we have a buffoon chairman who wants to take us back to the dark ages. Dragons are marginally better with a more even ownership structure but still a basket case.

jim_57

its 74km from redcliffe to SC stadium. It would make no sense at all lol.
The last thing NRL needs is another small regional club. Dolphins need to commit to being a northern Brisbane club playing 100% at Suncorp and stop with this playing across 3 venues rubbish.

I said “if” that were to happen in response to the post I quoted, I’m not saying it should. A genuine Brisbane 2 with Sunshine Coast or Ipswich stand-alone teams if/when they were ever justified was always my preferred option.

Point is, it would be better long term to have 2 Brisbane clubs and Sunshine Coast as a stand alone team in the long run. As opposed to having 1 Brisbane team and 1-2 nomad teams playing in Sunny Coast-Redcliffe-Suncorp and/or Ipswich-Toowoomba-Suncorp.

I said “if” that were to happen in response to the post I quoted, I’m not saying it should. A genuine Brisbane 2 with Sunshine Coast or Ipswich stand-alone teams if/when they were ever justified was always my preferred option.

Point is, it would be better long term to have 2 Brisbane clubs and Sunshine Coast as a stand alone team in the long run. As opposed to having 1 Brisbane team and 1-2 nomad teams playing in Sunny Coast-Redcliffe-Suncorp and/or Ipswich-Toowoomba-Suncorp.
Sunshine coast should not get a team for same reason Central Coast shouldn't. Too many other more lucrative big cities to be in. Ideally a very well supported and successful North Brisbane Dolphins 100% at Suncorp would be the genuine Brisbane2 club and we wouldn't even need to to be talking about another qlnd club for the next 30 years plus when we might start taking about a South Brisbane somethings once the city cracks 4mill.

titoelcolombiano

You are delusional if you truly believe that they'll only play 1-2 games outside of Suncorp going into the future.

Most seasons that would mean either Redcliffe or the Sunshine Coast missing out, which isn't realistically going to happen. For example, they'll almost certainly have/end up with a contract with the Sunshine Coast Council that obliges them to play x amount at the Sunshine Coast Stadium each season.

Early in their bid, well before they'd tacked the token representation of the Sunshine Coast on, they were suggesting that they'd play between 3-5 at Dolphin Oval each season. So it's a safe assumption that, at least initially, they'll aim to play at least 3-5 home games away form Suncorp most seasons.

Yep, utterly f**king delusional...

You know what I'll never understand about people like you; what you really want already exists, yet instead of just supporting that, you insist on trying to force the national product into becoming it as well...
Yes, commercial realities will mean that the overwhelming majority of the games are at Suncorp. Do you think the corporates that are jumping on board want a box at Suncorp for 10 games a year? I reckon they do. Like I said, 1 to 2 games - probably 2, one at Dolphin Oval and one at Sunshine Coast. I would prefer 12 at Suncorp but they are the ones running the club and know which markets they want to target.

Please do tell me wise Master Yoda... why would people from the southside of Brisbane not jump on board as Dolphins members if they grow to like the club? There is zero reason you can give for this. Most people don't care where their training base and will just love going to more footy games and then become Dolphins fans over time.... you know like how most clubs start out.

I know you hate the Dolphins and are super salty that they got in, but if you are so convinced they will fail, then at least let them do so before you start shitting on them. Because right now you are just coming across as petty.

titoelcolombiano

I think they are lucky that the demand for more NRL in Brisbane is so strong. There is a critical mass of people who are willing to support any new team.
Yes and any of the Brisbane 2 bids that won would have benefited from this ready-to-go support.

mongoose

Sunshine coast should not get a team for same reason Central Coast shouldn't. Too many other more lucrative big cities to be in. Ideally a very well supported and successful North Brisbane Dolphins 100% at Suncorp would be the genuine Brisbane2 club and we wouldn't even need to to be talking about another qlnd club for the next 30 years plus when we might start taking about a South Brisbane somethings once the city cracks 4mill.
The thing is, with the Olympics coming to SEQLD in 2032 the Sunshine Coast stadium is more likely to get a significant upgrade than Redcliffe plus additional infrastructure. The QLD Govt will want to show off the Sunshine Coast to International audiences over Moreton Bay. I agree that the Dolphins should be targeting Brisbane and playing pretty much all games in Suncorp however a move to becoming a permanent Sunshine Coast team down the track is a possibility, especially if they are already talking about representing that area...

Wb1234

If that were the plan I think it would make more sense for Dolphins to become the Sunshine Coast/Moreton Bay team and play all of their games at Sunshine Coast stadium (rebuilt to 25k). Then have a genuine go at a second Brisbane/Suncorp club for team 19 or 20, assuming team 18 won’t be SEQ.
Broncos will never allow it

not happening

it will be south west Brisbane

Wb1234

The thing is, with the Olympics coming to SEQLD in 2032 the Sunshine Coast stadium is more likely to get a significant upgrade than Redcliffe plus additional infrastructure. The QLD Govt will want to show off the Sunshine Coast to International audiences over Moreton Bay. I agree that the Dolphins should be targeting Brisbane and playing pretty much all games in Suncorp however a move to becoming a permanent Sunshine Coast team down the track is a possibility, especially if they are already talking about representing that area...
Play the other qld clubs and the big Sydney clubs and warriors at Suncorp

play the rest at Sunshine Coast and Redcliffe

xe_kilroy

All I'm saying is that eventually The Dolphins not only have to but will replace "the" with a region/name.

It could be Brisbane, Moreton Bay/Redcliffe, or Sunshine Coast. It will be one of the three.

The northern corridor is the fastest growing region in Australia. Why I think the NRL isn't done with QLD. If the Dolphins end up solidifying as Brisbane-2 out of Suncorp permanently then SC will get its own team in the not too distant future be it #18 or #19 or a relocated club.

The Broncos could be tasked with growing support west to Ipswich, affiliated to it, to keep the AFL at bay, but there could be an Ipswich based team as #18, #19, or #20 in the long run.

I don't think the NRL grand plan has ceased with QLD. QLD is the most vital state alongside NSW and I think they realize that now and will expand (over x years) and have Cowboys - CQ Capras - SC Falcons - Nth Brisbane Dolphins - Ipswich - Brisbane Broncos - Gold Coast in an 18-20 team league.

Colk

All I'm saying is that eventually The Dolphins not only have to but will replace "the" with a region/name.

It could be Brisbane, Moreton Bay/Redcliffe, or Sunshine Coast. It will be one of the three.

The northern corridor is the fastest growing region in Australia. Why I think the NRL isn't done with QLD. If the Dolphins end up solidifying as Brisbane-2 out of Suncorp permanently then SC will get its own team in the not too distant future be it #18 or #19 or a relocated club.

The Broncos could be tasked with growing support west to Ipswich, affiliated to it, to keep the AFL at bay, but there could be an Ipswich based team as #18, #19, or #20 in the long run.

I don't think the NRL grand plan has ceased with QLD. QLD is the most vital state alongside NSW and I think they realize that now and will expand (over x years) and have Cowboys - CQ Capras - SC Falcons - Nth Brisbane Dolphins - Ipswich - Brisbane Broncos - Gold Coast in an 18-20 team league.

That would be too many QLD sides. Unless you are relocating NSW sides, then you are forgetting about NZ, Perth and any other area you might want to go.

xe_kilroy

That would be too many QLD sides. Unless you are relocating NSW sides, then you are forgetting about NZ, Perth and any other area you might want to.
The NRL imo should do Perth asap. Not let it rot away. And they might be #18. But i believe the NRL truly appreciates QLD now (finally) and it is the battleground too between the AFL and NRL. Fastest growing region in Australia pretty much. Untapped potential down the track. The war over youth participation and pathways programs.

Probably why the Dolphins have secretly been tasked with adopting The and trying to attach/serve the northern corridor, and why the Broncos may be asked to serve Ipswich and why the Titans may be asked to serve Logan. Those three clubs trying to keep the AFL at bay, the youth into league....but eventually (10-20-30 years) they may well end up having their own clubs in the NRL.

Colk

The AFL are spending big in Ipswich trying to steal the youth/pathways.

They spend money everywhere though. Isn’t Springfield the base for the Brisbane fumbleball side? We really should be having two sides playing their home games at Suncorp

Colk

The NRL imo should do Perth asap. Not let it rot away. And they might be #18. But i believe the NRL truly appreciates QLD now (finally) and it is the battleground too between the AFL and NRL. Fastest growing region in Australia pretty much. Untapped potential down the track. The war over youth participation and pathways programs.

Probably why the Dolphins have secretly been tasked with adopting The and trying to attach/serve the northern corridor, and why the Broncos may be asked to serve Ipswich and why the Titans may be asked to serve Logan. Those three clubs trying to keep the AFL at bay, the youth into league....but eventually (10-20-30 years) they may well end up having their own clubs in the NRL.

Look I get the importance of Queensland and I could definitely see another side in Queensland, probably either 19 or 20. However, you would not and should not need any more than 5 sides in QLD, considering fumbleball has only two sides and isn’t that popular in that state anyway (let’s be honest) You probably wouldn’t even need that many to be quite frank but any more than that seems definitely strange. Also CQ and Ipswich just don’t have the population - we have enough regional sides in the competition.

Anyway, there has been enough talk of New Zealand (definitely) and perhaps even Perth to suggest that they have some interest in going there and much more so than talk of the CQ for example.

xe_kilroy

They spend money everywhere though. Isn’t Springfield the base for the Brisbane fumbleball side? We really should be having two sides playing their home games at Suncorp
Eventually Dolphins will. For now say 6 Suncorp games + 3 Redcliffe + 3 SC serves an agenda.

Springfield is a neighbor of Ipswich. Just in front of it. Almost like a gateway or big brother warding off an enemy. The AFL are planting themselves in that south-western region. Either the NRL are gonna give it up to ensure they own the SC, or they're gonna still keep fighting for it

Colk

And still ignoring one of their 'heartland' states Tasmania that are begging for a team.

they're a disgrace of a sport.

There is no money in Tasmania though. They might go there because they are pestering them enough but it is akin to us looking at Central Coast

xe_kilroy

And still ignoring one of their 'heartland' states Tasmania that are begging for a team.

they're a disgrace of a sport.
Everybody chasing the money/population/tv subscriptions.

Tasmania keep making entry bids, if the AFL don't add them, indeed a disgrace. Tassie govt has said they might give up on AFL if it happens. Who knows what could end up happening there. A soccer state? League maybe in decades?

AFL have also ignored the ACT, which could be also considered a multi-sport heartland.

Colk

Eventually Dolphins will. For now say 6 Suncorp games + 3 Redcliffe + 3 SC serves an agenda.

Springfield is a neighbor of Ipswich. Just in front of it. Almost like a gateway or big brother warding off an enemy. The AFL are planting themselves in that south-western region. Either the NRL are gonna give it up to ensure they own the SC, or they're gonna still keep fighting for it

Look I think a team in the Southern Brisbane area will happen (whether it is south west or south central who knows) but you’d want the cross town rivalry with the Broncos and them playing at Suncorp rather than having based at Ipswich and playing out there.

Surely the Dolphins can cover the Sunshine Coast area (that’s probably what will happen anyway) and CQ is surely too small to have a side.

You would then have Perth and another NZ side in a 20 team competition. Wouldn’t that be a better spread?