Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Welcome to the comp, Redcliffe.

westerntiger

helped by not having much competition in its heartland and the media spruiking it 24/7... there is definitely a cultish element to AFL's fanaticism though. I suspect the media in the southern states works closely with the AFL to block out and denigrate other codes as much as possible - just ask soccer fans... I've been to Melbourne enough times to know how suspicious of anything from NSW they are and how protective they are of their game....
ah yes the old C7 Sport NSL fiasco

mongoose

Cant speak for Melbourne but not found that in Perth. Plenty of ignorance still about the fact there are two Rugby codes but haven't come across much dislike of RL, in fact with origin here usually people are happy to have a chat about it, once they get over the fact I'm English and don't follow the EPL lol.
There is an interesting perception that comes up though that the game is only really played by Kiwis and Islanders and not really for white Australians. Other thing is the lack of connection between Touch Footy and RL. Met loads of people here who play touch footy but dont have any interest in the NRL as they dont really see it as a form of RL. That's certainly something the game could do better.

There is certainly strong support for their code and clubs and that goes across gender and class and even through to grassroots, the WAFL still has a very strong following. Media support definitely helps perception and exposure, again shame RL hasn't been able to influence the same in Sydney and to a lessor degree Brisbane. I suspect mass FTA exposure plays a big part of that, again a real risk of AFL chases the Fox $'s and loses that.
how can you not make the connection between Touch and RL? lol unless they play some weird version of it...

No idea tbh but for a lot its not there. Bringing it closer together in last few years has no doubt helped but it still isnt the vehicle it could be for getting people into RL when you look at the numbers playing it and school take up in non RL states.

I'm not sure Abdo's seen the team list lol.

NRL Chief Executive Officer Andrew Abdo says he's "incredibly impressed" with the commercial and football strength of the Dolphins as the game prepares for the introduction of its 17th team in 2023.
Abdo was joined by Dolphins chief executive Terry Reader and head coach Wayne Bennett in addressing the media after extensive meetings with club officials on Friday, with the NRL boss reaffirming the club's progress since officially gaining their licence from the ARLC on October 13 last year.
"We got an update and presentation from the leadership of the club and I am really impressed with the work they have done off-field as well as their plans for the long-term," Abdo said. "All [of it] is in alignment with what the ambition was for introducing a 17th team into the competition.
"This was always about growth. This was always about the acquisition of new fans and the development of new players (men and women) across rugby league."

While still ensuring that the club's short-term goals were being met in order to ensure a competitive outfit in 2023, Abdo said he was additionally impressed with the long-term focus from the Redcliffe-based club, highlighting the strength of pathways, game development, community engagement and commercial initiatives that had already been received with aplomb in the region.
"A key part of the presentation today looked at how the club is tracking from a commercial sense and the strong portfolio of sponsors the club has managed to secure," Abdo emphasised.
"They are tracking incredibly well from a membership perspective; there has been a huge take up from members which will hopefully translate into significant attendance across the stadiums that the club has planned for their fixtures next year.

"Commercially and from a structure perspective, the club is in incredible shape. We know it's a strong business with strong assets."
"We were incredibly impressed with the progress that has been made... [the Dolphins] are well and truly competing off the field."
Dolphins chief executive Terry Reader said the off-field growth around the club since gaining its licence justified the Commission's decision to introduce a second Brisbane team into the NRL.
"We're very proud of the commercial program the club has built," Reader said, "as it shows the Commission's decision-making in bringing in the Dolphins but also the strength of bringing a second team into Brisbane.

With the club confirming the appointment of Tonga coach Kristian Woolf to its coaching staff as the recruitment of the "hottest coaching property in world rugby league", head coach Wayne Bennett said he was pleased with how the club was progressing in its plans for 2023.
With "four or five" players still to be added to its top 30 for the 2023 season, Bennett said his recruitment priority was securing some high-profile outside backs.
"It hasn't been perfect but it was never going to be perfect," Bennett said. "We're not going to be a perfect football team and we'll have our moments.
"But we're pretty close to where we want to be.
"Our coaching staff is almost all organised — we have just one more coach to go now — and the physical and high performance guys are in place.

MugaB

I'm not sure Abdo's seen the team list lol.

NRL Chief Executive Officer Andrew Abdo says he's "incredibly impressed" with the commercial and football strength of the Dolphins as the game prepares for the introduction of its 17th team in 2023.
Abdo was joined by Dolphins chief executive Terry Reader and head coach Wayne Bennett in addressing the media after extensive meetings with club officials on Friday, with the NRL boss reaffirming the club's progress since officially gaining their licence from the ARLC on October 13 last year.
"We got an update and presentation from the leadership of the club and I am really impressed with the work they have done off-field as well as their plans for the long-term," Abdo said. "All [of it] is in alignment with what the ambition was for introducing a 17th team into the competition.
"This was always about growth. This was always about the acquisition of new fans and the development of new players (men and women) across rugby league."

While still ensuring that the club's short-term goals were being met in order to ensure a competitive outfit in 2023, Abdo said he was additionally impressed with the long-term focus from the Redcliffe-based club, highlighting the strength of pathways, game development, community engagement and commercial initiatives that had already been received with aplomb in the region.
"A key part of the presentation today looked at how the club is tracking from a commercial sense and the strong portfolio of sponsors the club has managed to secure," Abdo emphasised.
"They are tracking incredibly well from a membership perspective; there has been a huge take up from members which will hopefully translate into significant attendance across the stadiums that the club has planned for their fixtures next year.

"Commercially and from a structure perspective, the club is in incredible shape. We know it's a strong business with strong assets."
"We were incredibly impressed with the progress that has been made... [the Dolphins] are well and truly competing off the field."
Dolphins chief executive Terry Reader said the off-field growth around the club since gaining its licence justified the Commission's decision to introduce a second Brisbane team into the NRL.
"We're very proud of the commercial program the club has built," Reader said, "as it shows the Commission's decision-making in bringing in the Dolphins but also the strength of bringing a second team into Brisbane.

With the club confirming the appointment of Tonga coach Kristian Woolf to its coaching staff as the recruitment of the "hottest coaching property in world rugby league", head coach Wayne Bennett said he was pleased with how the club was progressing in its plans for 2023.
With "four or five" players still to be added to its top 30 for the 2023 season, Bennett said his recruitment priority was securing some high-profile outside backs.
"It hasn't been perfect but it was never going to be perfect," Bennett said. "We're not going to be a perfect football team and we'll have our moments.
"But we're pretty close to where we want to be.
"Our coaching staff is almost all organised — we have just one more coach to go now — and the physical and high performance guys are in place.

I reckon he has, you seem to think having a whole heap of experienced storm forwards, and fringe penrith backs are a bad thing...
They'll make finals or close to it next season, if bronx almost did, surely these guys should shit it in

haha, I hope you're not a gambler! Bookies are paying $3.80 for them to make the 8, the odds are lower for them taking the spoon lol.

MugaB

haha, I hope you're not a gambler! Bookies are paying $3.80 for them to make the 8, the odds are lower for them taking the spoon lol.
None of that matters, look at the tigers in 05, they too were getting huge long odds and yet they won the GF, cowboys this year were tipped by many to get the spoon, yet are running in the top 3 for the bulk of the season, and shortest odds in history on my panthers, yet we still need to win in it.... no presure

Colk

They will be fine in the long run in terms of sustaining themselves because they have money. The issue will be their identity and who they attract as supporters. I hope they become more like a Broncos in terms of support then a Manly or Titans.

They will probably struggle a little on the field in the first couple of years but that is fairly par for the course with any team in RL and probably most other sports as well (outside of the Storm and maybe the Broncos)

If they brand themselves as Moreton Bay Dolphins then their support will be limited to Moreton Bay. If they call themselves the Brisbane Dolphins their support might be citywide, but they'll have to play all 12 games at Lang Park to make it work.

The Penguin #6.

No idea tbh but for a lot its not there. Bringing it closer together in last few years has no doubt helped but it still isnt the vehicle it could be for getting people into RL when you look at the numbers playing it and school take up in non RL states.
I stood on a sports field in the eastern suburbs of Sydney in the early 1990`s where there was literally hundreds of people, of both sexes and multiple backgrounds, playing Touch ( Rugby League ) football and thought to myself why isn`t the NRL ( or whatever it was called back then ) all over this. Every one of those participants a potential player or at least a supporter. 20 years later with the formation of the commission the link between Touch football and the NRL was finally formalised.
The good news like you say is its` popularity in heartland and non-heartland states alike, and the fact that it is not going to go away as a popular non-contact sport. The non-contact versions ( both Touch and Tag ) of our sports` potential remains to be fully tapped and remains a major asset moving forward.

Brian potter

If they brand themselves as Moreton Bay Dolphins then their support will be limited to Moreton Bay. If they call themselves the Brisbane Dolphins their support might be citywide, but they'll have to play all 12 games at Lang Park to make it work.
Personally and for selfish reasons I’d like to see them eventually revert to the Moreton bay Dolphins but like you I think if they go with being the Brisbane dolphins playing out of suncorp stadium they become a far better supported team.

Other names to be considered could be the :-

Queensland Dolphins.

south Queensland dolphins.

east coast dolphins.

Whatever the name they settle on it must not be “The dolphins.”

Personally and for selfish reasons I’d like to see them eventually revert to the Moreton bay Dolphins but like you I think if they go with being the Brisbane dolphins playing out of suncorp stadium they become a far better supported team.

Other names to be considered could be the :-

Queensland Dolphins.

south Queensland dolphins.

east coast dolphins.

Whatever the name they settle on it must not be “The dolphins.”
If they go with "Moreton Bay Dolphins" then they need to extend their range from Sunshine Coast down to the Gold Coast so they cover the coastline adjacent to Moreton Bay. Team up with the Wynnum Manly Seagulls and become a rival to the Broncos and Titans.

Iamback

I reckon he has, you seem to think having a whole heap of experienced storm forwards, and fringe penrith backs are a bad thing...

Yep. They have some handy kids in their side, They will win 10-14 games

Iamback

They will be fine in the long run in terms of sustaining themselves because they have money. The issue will be their identity and who they attract as supporters. I hope they become more like a Broncos in terms of support then a Manly or Titans.

They will probably struggle a little on the field in the first couple of years but that is fairly par for the course with any team in RL and probably most other sports as well (outside of the Storm and maybe the Broncos)

Which is why not relying on Brisbane money entirely early on is a good plan. They can re-assess in 5 years or so

Dolphin Oval would be perfect for NRLW games. The Dolphins NRL team should just play at Lang Park and let their future NRLW team and Queensland Cup team play double headers at Dolphin Oval.

mongoose

If they go with "Moreton Bay Dolphins" then they need to extend their range from Sunshine Coast down to the Gold Coast so they cover the coastline adjacent to Moreton Bay. Team up with the Wynnum Manly Seagulls and become a rival to the Broncos and Titans.
that's the problem with "Moreton Bay". It can mean two different things - you have the actual Moreton Bay which covers Bribie Island down to the Gold Coast or you have Moreton Bay regional council which only covers a bunch of suburbs north of Brisbane, some of those suburbs which would already be heavily Broncos supporters.

Does anyone actually describe themselves as being from Moreton bay? couldn’t imagine telling people I live in a particular suburb or council area when asked.