Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Welcome to the comp, Redcliffe.

xe_kilroy

There is no money in Tasmania though. They might go there because they are pestering them enough but it is akin to us looking at Central Coast
It is kind of akin to the CC, but worse behavior because it's a whole state, AFL-centric/mad, and "should" have a team in a national sport really, so too ACT and NT (one day).

For league....we're ok because the big money/pop is nsw/qld, which we dominate, but can't be negligent of, gotta include a SC team asap imo with Dolphins rebranding as Nth Brisbane. At the very least. Still need to rationalize Sydney somehow and try owning Campbelltown, include CC one day.

xe_kilroy

Look I think a team in the Southern Brisbane area will happen (whether it is south west or south central who knows) but you’d want the cross town rivalry with the Broncos and them playing at Suncorp rather than having based at Ipswich and playing out there.

Surely the Dolphins can cover the Sunshine Coast area (that’s probably what will happen anyway) and CQ is surely too small to have a side.

You would then have Perth and another NZ side in a 20 team competition. Wouldn’t that be a better spread?
Oh don't take what I said as tho CQ will happen anytime soon. I was peering like 30 years into the future. Broncos can try to stave off Ipswich/AFL, GC can try grabbing Logan, Dolphins keep SC affiliated to league. The next best step in 2-10 years is to have Perth in, SC in, NZ-2 in.

Brisbane - Nth Bris - GC - SC - NQ is a great spread. All i reckon is eventually one decade CQ will come too to make it 6 and a total ownership / spread of QLD

Colk

It is kind of akin to the CC, but worse behavior because it's a whole state, AFL-centric/mad, and "should" have a team in a national sport really, so too ACT and NT (one day).

For league....we're ok because the big money/pop is nsw/qld, which we dominate, but can't be negligent of, gotta include a SC team asap imo with Dolphins rebranding as Nth Brisbane. At the very least. Still need to rationalize Sydney somehow and try owning Campbelltown, include CC one day.

I am not in favour of this. I’d much prefer the Dolphins just to be the second Brisbane side but if there was a south Brisbane side in the future why couldn’t the Dolphins be a Sunshine Coast side.

I don’t really get the idea of adding a CQ, Sunshine Coast side and the Dolphins side representing North Brisbane. It seems way too much and would result in having three smaller and ineffectual clubs. If the growth area is from Sunshine Coast and Moreton Bay let them represent that in this scenario rather than having two clubs in that area

Colk

Oh don't take what I said as tho CQ will happen anytime soon. I was peering like 30 years into the future. Broncos can try to stave off Ipswich/AFL, GC can try grabbing Logan, Dolphins keep SC affiliated to league. The next best step in 2-10 years is to have Perth in, SC in, NZ-2 in.

Brisbane - Nth Bris - GC - SC - NQ is a great spread. All i reckon is eventually one decade CQ will come too to make it 6 and a total ownership / spread of QLD

It is a forum mate so I enjoy the debate.

My argument against the CQ is determining whether or not they have the population. I can understand Sunshine Coast because of the natural population growth but CQ is a big area with very small population.

xe_kilroy

It is a forum mate so I enjoy the debate.

My argument against the CQ is determining whether or not they have the population. I can understand Sunshine Coast because of the natural population growth but CQ is a big area with very small population.
Dolphins trying to embrace Brisbane 2, Moreton Bay and SC will be for x amount of years. It wont last, it can't. There's clearly a reasoning behind it (NRL push).

Seems reasonable to assume Dolphins will revert to being Bris-2 to bring in SC via Falcons or relocated team. It's possible Dolphins end up being SC and a new Bris-2 enters. Either or tho that seems to be a clear strategy moving forward to have a bris-2 and a SC team.

For sure CQ is way too premature to talk of expansion. Just reckon eventually, who knows how long away, 30? 50? years it would be another choice region, an even spread across QLD

S
All I'm saying is that eventually The Dolphins not only have to but will replace "the" with a region/name.

It could be Brisbane, Moreton Bay/Redcliffe, or Sunshine Coast. It will be one of the three.

The northern corridor is the fastest growing region in Australia. Why I think the NRL isn't done with QLD. If the Dolphins end up solidifying as Brisbane-2 out of Suncorp permanently then SC will get its own team in the not too distant future be it #18 or #19 or a relocated club.

The Broncos could be tasked with growing support west to Ipswich, affiliated to it, to keep the AFL at bay, but there could be an Ipswich based team as #18, #19, or #20 in the long run.

I don't think the NRL grand plan has ceased with QLD. QLD is the most vital state alongside NSW and I think they realize that now and will expand (over x years) and have Cowboys - CQ Capras - SC Falcons - Nth Brisbane Dolphins - Ipswich - Brisbane Broncos - Gold Coast in an 18-20 team league.
Sc won’t get a ft club for the same reasons as why Wollongong and gosford will never have ft clubs.

xe_kilroy

S

Sc won’t get a ft club for the same reasons as why Wollongong and gosford will never have ft clubs.
Perth and that northern corridor are growing rapidly, fastest growing in Australia. Why we'll see SC and Perth continue to become important. More marquee sports and entertainment events in Perth.

As a head on chopping block ..i guarantee Perth will be #18 and SC will have an NRL team in the not too distant future.

Wollongong population about 270k, Gosford about 170k, SC 350k and rising quickly.

If Wollongong was on a growth rise, and/or hit 500k I'd like to see the Dragons relocate there permanently, and maybe thats what their long term vision already is. Gosford still a fair way away from being a viable standalone NRL destination.

Colk

Perth and that northern corridor are growing rapidly, fastest growing in Australia. Why we'll see SC and Perth continue to become important. More marquee sports and entertainment events in Perth.

As a head on chopping block ..i guarantee Perth will be #18 and SC will have an NRL team in the not too distant future.

Wollongong population about 270k, Gosford about 170k, SC 350k and rising quickly.

If Wollongong was on a growth rise, and/or hit 500k I'd like to see the Dragons relocate there permanently, and maybe thats what their long term vision already is. Gosford still a fair way away from being a viable standalone NRL destination.

Yep agree with most of that. Majority of people will be living in 4 areas within 20- 30 years based on projections SEQ and SC (about 6 million) Perth (4.5million), Greater Sydney including Newcastle, CC and Wollongong (about 9 million) and Greater Melbourne (8-9 million). That’s going to be around 75% of the population so that’s where you want your representation.

I don’t know if the Dragons will relocate to Wollongong fully but they could play a majority of their games at the Gong with their big games against their traditional rivals at Accor.

CC on the other hand I don’t think would be worthwhile. Maybe Manly could have a few games there to broaden their support

xe_kilroy

Yep agree with most of that. Majority of people will be living in 4 areas within 20- 30 years based on projections SEQ and SC (about 6 million) Perth (4.5million), Greater Sydney including Newcastle, CC and Wollongong (about 9 million) and Greater Melbourne (8-9 million). That’s going to be around 75% of the population so that’s where you want your representation.

I don’t know if the Dragons will relocate there fully but they could play a majority of their games at the Gong with their big games against their traditional rivals at Accor.

CC on the other hand I don’t think I’d worthwhile. Maybe Manly could have a few games there to broaden their support
Those are some standout numbers! Cannot be ignored or underplayed.

None of us know exactly how we get there, who does and when it happens, but I'd say Perth and SC are targets, on the agenda. Dolphins are doing the SC thing for now, for x years till SC can stand-alone with 500k+, and Perth is already ready to embrace league and has more juniors etc than Melbourne that it can build upon, and Perth already getting attention as an entertainment venue for lots of things.

Colk

Those are some standout numbers! Cannot be ignored or underplayed.

None of us know exactly how we get there, who does and when it happens, but I'd say Perth and SC are targets, on the agenda. Dolphins are doing the SC thing for now, for x years till SC can stand-alone with 500k+, and Perth is already ready to embrace league and has more juniors etc than Melbourne that it can build upon, and Perth already getting attention as an entertainment venue for lots of things.

Thanks mate. You can find population projections on state government websites. Federal government has one as well.

I find those types of statistics interesting. Maybe in another life I might have gotten involved in demographics

Colk

Ipswich should be a top priority for the NRL. The fact that the AFL is building a training facility out there keeps me up some nights

Yes/no. We can always do something about it and even if you are somewhat proactive about it they won’t make too much of a dent.

The biggest issue is the emigration of Victorians into QLD but at this stage they are a long way behind.

westerntiger

Yes/no. We can always do something about it and even if you are somewhat proactive about it they won’t make too much of a dent.

The biggest issue is the emigration of Victorians into QLD but at this stage they are a long way behind.
hate how they behave like conquerors when they go up there. Think everyone should be forced to know everything about their lame sport.

I don't think the Sunshine Coast will ever have the capital to support a club of its own. It's a smaller version of the Gold Coast and more isolated from Brisbane. Falcons struggle financially.

I am interested in seeing how the Dolphins brand evolves over the next decade.

Ipswich will always be too small and poor compared to other cities in SEQ.

It is like a cult. If you talk to any AFL fan they talk like religious people talk about God.
Passionate sports fans, they remind me of soccer fans in England. What I've found interesting in AFL land is that there is massive interest across genders, women talk about it as much as men do, I've not seen that before in any sport.
Shame RL fans aren't as committed, more of them might get off their settees and get to games.

mongoose

Passionate sports fans, they remind me of soccer fans in England. What I've found interesting in AFL land is that there is massive interest across genders, women talk about it as much as men do, I've not seen that before in any sport.
Shame RL fans aren't as committed, more of them might get off their settees and get to games.
helped by not having much competition in its heartland and the media spruiking it 24/7... there is definitely a cultish element to AFL's fanaticism though. I suspect the media in the southern states works closely with the AFL to block out and denigrate other codes as much as possible - just ask soccer fans... I've been to Melbourne enough times to know how suspicious of anything from NSW they are and how protective they are of their game....

Perth has a professional sports club in every sport bar RL, not sure you can say there isnt any competition? The fact there is no NRL club is a sad reflection of our sport, not Perth.

Cant speak for Melbourne but not found that in Perth. Plenty of ignorance still about the fact there are two Rugby codes but haven't come across much dislike of RL, in fact with origin here usually people are happy to have a chat about it, once they get over the fact I'm English and don't follow the EPL lol.
There is an interesting perception that comes up though that the game is only really played by Kiwis and Islanders and not really for white Australians. Other thing is the lack of connection between Touch Footy and RL. Met loads of people here who play touch footy but dont have any interest in the NRL as they dont really see it as a form of RL. That's certainly something the game could do better.

There is certainly strong support for their code and clubs and that goes across gender and class and even through to grassroots, the WAFL still has a very strong following. Media support definitely helps perception and exposure, again shame RL hasn't been able to influence the same in Sydney and to a lessor degree Brisbane. I suspect mass FTA exposure plays a big part of that, again a real risk of AFL chases the Fox $'s and loses that.