Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Wentworthville Magpies NSW State cup champions 08 official thread.

Sounds like a great comeback, the sign of a side with confidence in itself... should be a great game next Sunday.

Surprise that the bears were bundled out. I've got a soft spot for the Jets, and hope they win through.

Sounds like a great comeback, the sign of a side with confidence in itself... should be a great game next Sunday.

Surprise that the bears were bundled out. I've got a soft spot for the Jets, and hope they win through.

i was shocked at the way they capitulated tbh..poor ole Jeremy Smith had a day he'sd rather forget.

Attention all Wenty/Parra supporters!!

there will be a supporters bus departing Wentworthville leagues club next sunday to go to Campbelltown.

Time: TBA

Cost: $5.00

interested people can PM me for further information to book their seat.

peace.

and no Twizzle we won't be picking you up.

**bump**

Hellsy

I'm thinking I'll drive TBH... I'm not much in for working to other peoples schedules on footy days :lol: :lol:

mate I did on fox IQ however I'm not technoligically minded enough to put it on a disk, i'll talk to my wife about the possibility of doing it as she's more techno cluey than I am, in the meantime MITS may of recorded the game and can probably send you a copy if he has.

stay tuned.

Sorry to Reply Late, I have been away for 5 Days.

Yeah I recorded the game on IQ as far as I can see, so I will play it back and record it to the DVD recorder, once I am positive I will get back to you.

wittyz chick

Anyone know when the team is named?? Isn't it normally Wednesday arvo?? I'm desperate to see the team this week!! [If you knew me you'd know why]

http://parraeels.com.au/news/news1901.shtml

Parraeels.com.au said:
news1901-WEBWentyvManly.jpg

WENTY SET FOR SEA EAGLES
9.41am, Thursday 25 September 2008

[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Wentworthville is the highest ranked team remaining in the running for the VB NSW Cup title ahead of Sunday’s qualifying final against Manly at Campbelltown Stadium.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif][/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]The Eels-aligned Magpies finished the regular season in second place on the ladder and will play third place getters Manly on Sunday at 1.30pm for a spot in next week’s Grand Final.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Minor premier North Sydney was bundled out of contention last week by late season surprise packets Western Suburbs, who also defeated Manly in week one of the Finals after finishing the year in sixth position.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]The Wentworthville-Sea Eagles clash follows on from a midday encounter between Wests and Newtown, the Jets having finished the regular season in fourth spot on the ladder.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Wenty comes into the match with a settled line up and refreshed after a week off they earned through their big win over Cronulla in week one of the playoffs.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Coach Rip Taylor has named a full strength team to play the Sea Eagles, which includes First Grade experience in lock Joe Galuvao and prop Broderick Wright.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Taylor is looking for his second straight appearance in a decider, after guiding the Eels Premier League to the 2007 title, while a Wenty berth would also provide the Eels with their fourth straight presence on the final day of the Rugby League year having also taken out Premier League titles in 2005 & 2006. [/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Gates open on Sunday at 11.30am, with the Wenty-Manly match kicking off at 1.30pm.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]VB NSW CUP[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]PRELIMINARY FINAL[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]WENTWORTHVILLE (2) V MANLY (3)[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Campbelltown Stadium[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]1.30pm Sunday 28 September 2008[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]WENTWORTHVILLE[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]1. Tim Mortimer[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]2. Iwi Hauraki[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]3. James Grehan[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]4. Etu Uaisele[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]5. Jonathan Wright[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]6. Mark O’Grady[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]7. James Maloney [C][/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]8. Broderick Wright[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]9. Martin Mitchell[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]10. Jeremy Latimore[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]11. Brett Blaker[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]12. Justin Horo[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]13. Joe Galuvao[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]14. Jacob Byrne[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]15. Natthan Cleaver[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]16. Alfred Betham[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]17. Justin Wood[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]18. Matthew Raftery[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]19. Mitchell Stanfield[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]20. Ben Taia[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]COACH: Rip Taylor[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]MANLY[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]1. Sean Meaney[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]2. Andrew Suniula[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]3. Shane Neumann[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]4. Jon Grieve[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]5. Gideon Mzembe[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]6. Nick Bradley-Qalilawa[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]7. Clint Halden[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]8. Phil Morwood[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]9. Trent Rose[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]10. George Rose[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]11. Jack Afamasaga[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]12. Chris Trembath[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]13. Jared Waerea-Hargreaves[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]14. Jeff Robson[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]15. Jason Wells[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]16. Tim Browne[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]17. Mark Offerdahl[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]18. John Grey[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]19. Ray Nasso[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]22. Junior Palau[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]COACH: Craig Sandercock[/FONT]

there are other games on Sunday aswell? before and/or after?

http://parraeels.com.au/news/news1900.shtml

Parraeels.com.au said:
WENTY ONE WIN AWAY FROM GRAND FINAL BERTH
10.25am, Tuesday 22 September 2008

[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Wentworthville is just eighty minutes away from a berth in the VB NSW Cup Grand Final with Sunday’s preliminary final match up against Manly standing between the Magpies and a shot at the 2008 title.[/FONT]

[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Refreshed from a week off the Magpies will play the Sea Eagles at 1.30pm at Campbelltown Stadium, with the winner to take on either Newtown or Western Suburbs in the decider.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Manly won through to the preliminary final by staging a come from behind win over Balmain-Ryde, scoring 28 unanswered points on the way to a 34-18 victory at Campbelltown at the weekend.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Wentworthville reached the preliminary final stage thanks to a 46-16 defeat of Cronulla in the semi finals.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]The clash between Wenty and Manly will be the second of three fixtures on the card for Sunday at Campbelltown, following on from the Jets-Wests clash, which is set to kick off at 12-noon.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Following on from the VB NSW Cup preliminaries will be the Jim Beam Cup Grand Final between Winsdor and the Sydney Bulls, with kick off set down for 3pm.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]VB NSW CUP PRELIMINARY FINALS[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Sunday 28 September 2008[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]130pm – Wentworthville Magpies v Manly Sea Eagles[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]12 noon – Newtown Jets v Western Suburbs Magpies[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]JIM BEAM CUP GRAND FINAL[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Sunday 28 September 2008[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]3pm – Windsor Wolves v Sydney Bulls[/FONT]

[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]ENTRY CHARGES – GATES OPEN 11.30 AM[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]ADULT: $10.00[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]CHILDREN (16 & under): $2.00[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]PENSIONERS: $2.00[/FONT]

and is there a good place to park out there? .... i remember last time i went the parking right next door was packed (altho i was lucky to get a spot as someone left) - is there parking down the road a bit?

eelaholic

wow no mention of KK or t-rex in the team list!!

I imagine that WC will have a big sigh of relief when she see's this!

Good to see them not mess around with the team that got them this far by "dropping" guys down into it.

Strides, re parking. Long time since I went there but if you head to Campbelltown and then north up to the oval at Leumeah, then you should find heaps of parking on streets on the way there rather than the normal parking lots, just a little further out to walk?

Hellsy

Id have been soo pissed if they would have messed with the Wenty team.
Great stuff!!!!
Hopefully it is sunny... my tan is apparently fading (thanks Leo for the paranoia.....) so I need to top it up :D

Nikki

Parking should be a breeze as no one is really interested in these games. Mind you, I will be there for all 3 games so will probably beat the rush

hmmmm - might be a bit of a turn out - 2 prelim finals and a GF - lots of friends and family at least :lol:

wittyz chick

wow no mention of KK or t-rex in the team list!!

I imagine that WC will have a big sigh of relief when she see's this!

I was SO relieved when I read that in BL this morning.. I mean don't get me wrong you guys know how much I support KK.. but I would've been SO angry had they been picked!!

Btw.. is anyone else nervous??

Calexico

I see Adam Cuthbertson is named 18th man in the FG line up so I guess every chance he'll front against Wenty on Sunday. Sounds like he was in fairly devastating form last week.

he will play based on on 2 scenero's which mat occour on saturday night.

1) whether or not he plays for Manly

2) whether or not Manly wins or not.

I have a feeling that he won't be qualified if Manly get knocked out on Saturday night.