Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Wests Tigers vs St George Illawarra Dragons - Match Discussion - Build Up

As far as i am concerned Champion your as good as your last game. You one last year it in the past.
and you go on about the tigers and Wests not winning lalalal. They togther have more Premerships then your club.
Wait we can X2 the the dogs premerships and we still dont have the amount the tigers/wests (Wests Tigers) do.

Mighty Tiger said:
Wests Tigers never moved to Campbelltown unlike the Doggies giving up all the tradition of belmore and moving to the Homebush

Yes, we gave up tradition of Belmore :roll:

tiger_nick

Risky_6 said:
So how will Whatuira and Fitzhenry contain Gasnier this Saturday.... what will be different?

14 tries in 5 matches against the Tigers, thats a scary little stat.

You can carry on about the last time you beat us, but Gasnier and Ennis wont be the halves this Saturday night.

I love how Saints fans try and dismiss the Kogarah loss as Barrett was out and Hornby got injured.

Never mind we had Fatz and O'Neil out, and a 19 year old in his 3rd first grade game marking Gasnier (Dean Collis). Plus it was already 18-6 when Hornby went off. Its not our fault Browns game plan of playing a bench of all forwards and Simms at lock back fired.

Personally I hope Elford is switched to mark Gaz, his defence has been superb all season. He was all over Berrigan like a bad rash on Sunday. Fatz is usually safe however he can have an off day and has a habit of not moving up when defending on the goal line.

In the game that Saints won earlier in the year we personally handed the Dragons 2 tries with stupid turn overs 10ms out from our line and another try was a clear knock on.

Saints will start the game as favourites and deservably so. Even if we get pumped by 60 this season has far exceeded my expectation and I will be proud of the boys.

Risky_6

tiger_nick said:
I love how Saints fans try and dismiss the Kogarah loss as Barrett was out and Hornby got injured.

Never mind we had Fatz and O'Neil out, and a 19 year old in his 3rd first grade game marking Gasnier (Dean Collis). Plus it was already 18-6 when Hornby went off. Its not our fault Browns game plan of playing a bench of all forwards and Simms at lock back fired.

Personally I hope Elford is switched to mark Gaz, his defence has been superb all season. He was all over Berrigan like a bad rash on Sunday. Fatz is usually safe however he can have an off day and has a habit of not moving up when defending on the goal line.

In the game that Saints won earlier in the year we personally handed the Dragons 2 tries with stupid turn overs 10ms out from our line and another try was a clear knock on.

Saints will start the game as favourites and deservably so. Even if we get pumped by 60 this season has far exceeded my expectation and I will be proud of the boys.

How was he marking Gasnier if Gasnier played 5/8th?

Risky_6

anyways the 2 teams

Dragons
spacer.gif

Clint GreenshieldsColin BestMark GasnierMatt CooperWes NaiqamaTrent BarrettBen HornbyLuke BaileyDean YoungJason RylesBen CreaghLance ThompsonShaun Timmins
InterchangeMichael HendersonJustin PooreCorey PayneMichael EnnisAshton Sims
spacer.gif

Wests Tigers
spacer.gif

Brett HodgsonDaniel FitzhenryShane ElfordPaul WhatuiraPat RichardsBenji MarshallScott PrinceAnthony LaffranchiRobert FarahJohn SkandalisBen GaleaMark O'NeillDene Halatau
InterchangeLiam FultonChris HeighingtonBryce GibbsTodd Payten
spacer.gif

tiger_nick said:

QUOTE]

Nice generalisation.

I've said before in other threads, Tigers have dominated 3 out of 4 halves against us this year, regardless of who was on the paddock.

But that's old news now. You can live in the past but its what happens this Saturday night that matters. These sides have evolved from those earlier in the year - both for the better.

Southernsaint

tiger_nick said:

Take your halves out & we'd run up a cricket score on you, probably...

Mighty Tiger

Bring back John Fifita said:
I've said before in other threads, Tigers have dominated 3 out of 4 halves against us this year, regardless of who was on the paddock.

But that's old news now. You can live in the past but its what happens this Saturday night that matters. These sides have evolved from those earlier in the year - both for the better.

100% spot on!

Last week was enough proof of that happening against the Broncos!

Lets hope its a close game because niether side deserves to be thinking the game is gone at halftime let alone after 60minutes!

super_coach

I look at both teams,and i think late september,cream rises to the top--dragons by plenty.But you know,the tigers have changed the style of league in one year.They play this weird game,where everything hapens at 100 miles an hour.Super fit,heaps of skill and a dash of luck--and i think they may make the big one---but beware if the win it will be by 13 plus,but if they loose it could be by 50--they are that sort of team

Dragon_psa

Mighty Tiger said:
100% spot on!

Last week was enough proof of that happening against the Broncos!

Lets hope its a close game because niether side deserves to be thinking the game is gone at halftime let alone after 60minutes!

Spot on the both of you.

After reading 8 pages of Wests/Tigers/Dogs banter it's good to see some talk on the thread topic.

This game is shaping up to be the best of the season. I really hope Saints come out on top, and that the game is down to the wire at 79 minutes. The thought of the two best attacking sides in the comp flying at each other for 80 minutes is a mouth watering one from a footy fan's perspective.

In the unlikely (touch wood) event that Saints do lose this match, I do really hope the Tiges go on and win it, as it would be good to see the crown go to someone else who hasn't won one in 25+ years.

Good luck Tiges, and Go the Dragons!

Nickeel

Dragon_psa said:
The thought of the two best attacking sides in the comp flying at each other for 80 minutes is a mouth watering one from a footy fan's perspective.

Parra aren't playing on Saturday night, are they? ;-)

You're right though, this game will be highly entertaining - a 'cracker,' if you will.

Nick

brooksy19

If only we could delete pages 2 - 9 which were filled with absolute garbage, seriously if you (Tigers, Dogs & dragons fans) just wanna argue with each other over useless sh*t, you can do it in a 3 way msn chat.

Do the mods actually do anything here. FFS.

Back to the game.

IMO the dragons are still the team to beat, great forward pack, great 5/8, great centres.

I think the tigers are all over them in the 1, 5, 7 , 9 ( 9 the only Dubious one )and the bench.

If the Tigers are in the game with 20 mins, the Tigers will win.

Dragons can win this in the first half, i doubt the Tigers can.

The tigers would be well served looking at the tapes of saints v cronulla, parra v saints and saint v newie, cronulla got in their faces early and rattled the saints into errors. Parramatta showed that the dragons forwards coming off a bye will tire, newcastle showed that if your halves can hold their own you can crack the saints defence.

simon says said:
I seem to remember the Tigers winning 8 in a row....including a demolition of Saints at oki...vanilla...choctop soon to be gaytime jubilee stadium.

I think thats pretty impressive.

Not too mention two finals games where we have kept the opposition to six while racking up 84 points.....i think thats impressive.

I will mention that I wasnt impressed by the Illawarra socks last game against the Sharks.....just scraped in.

Simon it seems some in here tend to write off the Wests Tigers victories some what due to the supposed terrible opposition whilst Saints victories against the Broncos and the Cowboys are seen as amazing the Tigers victories are downplayed. If you look over there second half of the season The Tigers have not only won games but completely blown teams away

RD 14 v Sharks 34-16
Rd 16 v Saints 32-6 after 60 minutes
Rd 17 v manly 49-24
Rd 20 v Souths 42-20
RD 21 V Cronulla 46-6
Rd 23 V Cowboys 28-4 after 60 minutes
Rd 24 v Bulldogs 54-2
Rd 1 QF v Cowboys 50-6
RD 2 QF V Broncs 34-6

it that is not as impressive a form as Saints ill eat my hat

simon says

TV Ted Ellery said:
Simon it seems some in here tend to write off the Wests Tigers victories some what due to the supposed terrible opposition whilst Saints victories against the Broncos and the Cowboys are seen as amazing the Tigers victories are downplayed. If you look over there second half of the season The Tigers have not only won games but completely blown teams away

RD 14 v Sharks 34-16
Rd 16 v Saints 32-6 after 60 minutes
Rd 17 v manly 49-24
Rd 20 v Souths 42-20
RD 21 V Cronulla 46-6
Rd 23 V Cowboys 28-4 after 60 minutes
Rd 24 v Bulldogs 54-2
Rd 1 QF v Cowboys 50-6
RD 2 QF V Broncs 34-6

it that is not as impressive a form as Saints ill eat my hat

Brilliant....love yer work mate.

hybrid_tiger

Southernsaint said:
Take your halves out & we'd run up a cricket score on you, probably...

Attitudes like this could come back and bit you - hard. Why bother posting crap like that for?

Take the two most important players out of any team and they'd struggle. Pointless.

chemicalstorm said:
In my opinion,

CARE FACTOR OF THIS GAME

So why bother posting for then?

simon says said:
Pffft.....yeah,why would you be interested in the biggest game of the year??

What a loser.:lol:

LOL, I thought the Grand Final is the Biggest Game of the year.

Please wake me up when September ends please.