Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What do people think about the australian team???

knights 2004

What do people think abotu the australian team?

i reckon crocker shouldnt have gotten in

i also think that the could have choosen a full time lock like waterhouse or ricketson to play lock instead of timmins

Australia has alot of ball players - whereas NZ have alot of big forwards

If the forwards have any say in the result of the game then NZ will win

The exclusion of stacey jones along with his experience is a risky one. Interesting to see if there choice backfires or works

Sonny Bill Williams inclusion is heaps good

Go Australia and the knights

thuganomics

Crockers been playing well, he deserves it.
Sonny Bill Williams was luckey to get in
Ricketsons retired from rep footy and Timmins is a full time lock.

Well if Australia don't win this game there is something seriously wrong, the NZ is pretty average. After seeing how some of the Warriors played on Friday night they barely deserve to be in the Jim Beam Cup let alone the NZ team.

De Vere is a pretty average selection, but I guess they needed a goal kicker. Crocker isn't test standard to me, but good to see Berrigan in there.

aqua_duck

To my way of thinbking Brent Tate gets in as a poltically influenced token QLD selection, if the bloke was a new south welshman he'd be at best a city country player.

I have to say after seeing some absolute S#!t Australian sides over the last few years Im pretty happy with this one.

Sure it not perfect, but its one that you can cheer for instead of being embarrassed that Player A got in the side so reasons no one seems to know.

I really like the look of the Kiwi's....but no halves and a crap hooker..... :roll:

ParraEelsNRL

about bloody time they let the english superleague players play for there country,hope this leads to more english clubs letting the players play for there nations :clap:

iggy plop

aqua_duck said:
To my way of thinbking Brent Tate gets in as a poltically influenced token QLD selection, if the bloke was a new south welshman he'd be at best a city country player.

Be happy with your 11 players in the 17 man squad.

Rich

ParraEelsNRL said:
about bloody time they let the english superleague players play for there country,hope this leads to more english clubs letting the players play for there nations :clap:

Let's hope so...but if Bradford lose to Hull on friday they won't be so keen to release Vainikolo and Paul (as well as possibly Swann, Vagana and Vaikona) next year.

Razor

Be happy with your 11 players in the 17 man squad.

QLD has 20% of NRL players
NSW has 58% of NRL players

So of all Aussies QLD has 25% of the players, with NSW having 75% of Aussie players. So in theory NSW should have 3 times as many players in the side than QLD using your "Be happy with your 11 players" comment

miccle

Look guys let's not get on this whole QLD vs. NSW thing, it's old and it's been done to death. Who cares about stats? Just go by the quality of the players and I'm pretty sure you can't have much to argue about here.

All I've been hearing for the past three weeks is: "They didn't even include Hindmarsh in the 25 man swuad, this is a farce!". Well he is a starting second rower, so your prayers have been answered. Also: "Gower is the form halfback, if they put Kimmorley in there that will be such a farce." Well, Gower is chosen at halfback, so you can quit your whinging.

imo this side was very much picked on form, and I think (with a couple of little changes, ie. Bailey to starting prop and clinton to the bench) that it's about the best side they could've possibly picked.

For those saying Tate shouldn't be there, name another centre that's doing better than him, particularly when you think about combinations with Lockyer and De Vere.

Would have thought there would have been a high amount of Broncos players in the side with Wayne Bennet as coach. Tate and De Vere are quality players but I don't think they rate as the standouts in their positions this year. There are others who should have gotten in ahead. Commendations to the selections of Hindmarsh, Gower, and Clinton though.

I am quite confident that we will beat the Kiwis convincingly with that side. Not the 17 I would have picked but close to it. Kimmorley was hard done by but I think Gower would hace been in the other instance. As a sharks fan I am kinda glad he didn't get picked although I really feel for the bloke.

Parra_Boy

miccle said:
For those saying Tate shouldn't be there, name another centre that's doing better than him, particularly when you think about combinations with Lockyer and De Vere.

I reckon De Vere would play well in the Centers with Eric Grothe moved onto wing to take on big Meli.